Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 9 be found allowable, claim 10 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Claims 5 and 14 recite “clamping device”. (A) the term device is a generic placeholder term; (B) “device” performs the function of clamping the fleece sheets; (C) there is no further structure to perform the claimed action. Therefore, the limitation will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as a device that contacts the surface of the fleece sheet as best understood from Figure 3.
Claims 6 and 15-16 recite “gluing device”. (A) the term device is a generic placeholder term; (B) “device” performs the function of applying glue; (C) there is no further structure to perform the claimed action. Therefore, the limitation will be interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) as a device that moves along the surface of the main body to apply glue as described in ¶0045.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the diameter of the springs of the plurality of first strings”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim 13 recites “the…third and fourth strings of pocketed springs”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. It appears Claim 13 was intended to depend from Claim 11, not Claim 15.
It is noted that a correction of the dependency will result in Claim 13 being added to the NSDP rejection based on Claim 15 of US115054498B2.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8, 10-11, 13-14, and 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11505449B2 in view of Jewett (US20180049559A1).
US Patent 11505449B2
US App 19/265,117
1. A method for manufacturing an innerspring unit comprising pocketed springs, the method comprising the steps of
(a) providing an innerspring main body comprising a plurality of first strings of pocketed springs; and
(b) attaching at least one second string of pocketed springs to a lateral surface of the innerspring main body, so that the at least one second string of pocketed springs extends in a longitudinal direction of the innerspring main body, wherein the springs of the at least one second string of pocketed springs have a spring characteristic or a spring geometry different from the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body, the at least one second string of pocketed springs forming together with the innerspring main body the innerspring unit,
wherein step (a) comprises attaching a pair of fleece sheets to upper and lower surfaces of the innerspring main body, so that the fleece sheets cover the innerspring main body and laterally extend beyond the innerspring main body; and
wherein step (b) comprises attaching the at least one second string of pocketed springs to the lateral surface of the innerspring main body such that it is arranged between the pair of fleece sheets.
1. A method for manufacturing an innerspring unit comprising pocketed springs, the method comprising the steps of
(a) providing an innerspring main body comprising a plurality of first strings of pocketed springs; and
(b) attaching at least one second string of pocketed springs to a lateral surface of the innerspring main body, so that the at least one second string of pocketed springs extends in a longitudinal direction of the innerspring main body, wherein the springs of the at least one second string of pocketed springs have a spring diameter different from the diameter of the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body, the at least one second string of pocketed springs forming together with the innerspring main body the innerspring unit,
wherein step (a) comprises attaching a pair of fleece sheets to upper and lower surfaces of the innerspring main body, so that the fleece sheets cover the innerspring main body and laterally extend beyond the innerspring main body; and
wherein step (b) comprises attaching the at least one second string of pocketed springs to the lateral surface of the innerspring main body such that it is arranged between the pair of fleece sheets.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein step (a) comprises providing the innerspring main body with at least one third string of pocketed springs at a first longitudinal end of the innerspring main body and with at least one fourth string of pocketed springs at a second longitudinal end of the innerspring main body,
wherein the springs of the at least one third string of pocketed springs and the springs of the at least one fourth string of pocketed springs have a spring characteristic or a spring geometry different from the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein step (a) comprises providing the innerspring main body with at least one third string of pocketed springs at a first longitudinal end of the innerspring main body and with at least one fourth string of pocketed springs at a second longitudinal end of the innerspring main body,
wherein the springs of the at least one third string of pocketed springs and the springs of the at least one fourth string of pocketed springs have a spring diameter different from the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein step (b) comprises attaching at least one second string of pocketed springs to a first lateral side surface and to a second lateral side surface of the innerspring main body, so that the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs form an edge area completely surrounding the first strings of pocketed springs.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein step (b) comprises attaching at least one second string of pocketed springs to a first lateral side surface and to a second lateral side surface of the innerspring main body, so that the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs form an edge area completely surrounding the first strings of pocketed springs.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs are configured such that a stability of the innerspring unit at an edge area thereof is increased compared to an area where the springs of the first strings of pocketed springs are arranged.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs are configured such that a stability of the innerspring unit at an edge area thereof is increased compared to an area where the springs of the first strings of pocketed springs are arranged.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein step (b) comprises clamping the fleece sheets by a clamping device and pushing the at least one second string of pocketed springs with a pusher between the fleece sheets to the lateral side of the innerspring main body.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein step (b) comprises clamping the fleece sheets by a clamping device and pushing the at least one second string of pocketed springs with a pusher between the fleece sheets to the lateral side of the innerspring main body.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein step (b) comprises applying a glue to the pair of fleece sheets by a gluing device prior to attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the innerspring main body.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein step (b) comprises applying a glue to the pair of fleece sheets by a gluing device prior to attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the innerspring main body.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed as a fully automated process by an innerspring unit assembly machine.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed as a fully automated process by an innerspring unit assembly machine.
10. A method for manufacturing an innerspring unit comprising pocketed springs, the method comprising the steps of
(a) providing an innerspring main body comprising a plurality of first strings of pocketed springs; and
(b) attaching at least one second string of pocketed springs to a lateral surface of the innerspring main body, so that the at least one second string of pocketed springs extends in a longitudinal direction of the innerspring main body, wherein the springs of the at least one second string of pocketed springs have a spring characteristic or a spring geometry different from the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body, the at least one second string of pocketed springs forming together with the innerspring main body the innerspring unit, wherein step (b) comprises compressing the springs of the at least one second string of pocketed springs prior to attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the innerspring main body and allowing the compressed strings to expand after attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the lateral surface of the innerspring main body.
8. A method for manufacturing an innerspring unit comprising pocketed springs, the method comprising the steps of
(a) providing an innerspring main body comprising a plurality of first strings of pocketed springs; and
(b) attaching at least one second string of pocketed springs to a lateral surface of the innerspring main body, so that the at least one second string of pocketed springs extends in a longitudinal direction of the innerspring main body, wherein the springs of the at least one second string of pocketed springs have a spring diameter different from the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body, the at least one second string of pocketed springs forming together with the innerspring main body the innerspring unit, wherein step (b) comprises compressing the springs of the at least one second string of pocketed springs prior to attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the innerspring main body and allowing the compressed strings to expand after attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the lateral surface of the innerspring main body.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the method is performed as a fully automated process by an innerspring unit assembly machine.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the method is performed as a fully automated process by an innerspring unit assembly machine.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the method is performed as a fully automated process by an innerspring unit assembly machine.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein the method is performed as a fully automated process by an innerspring unit assembly machine.
13. The method of claim 10, wherein step (a) comprises providing the innerspring main body with at least one third string of pocketed springs at a first longitudinal end of the innerspring main body and with at least one fourth string of pocketed springs at a second longitudinal end of the innerspring main body,
wherein the springs of the at least one third string of pocketed springs and the springs of the at least one fourth string of pocketed springs have a spring characteristic or a spring geometry different from the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein step (a) comprises providing the innerspring main body with at least one third string of pocketed springs at a first longitudinal end of the innerspring main body and with at least one fourth string of pocketed springs at a second longitudinal end of the innerspring main body,
wherein the springs of the at least one third string of pocketed springs and the springs of the at least one fourth string of pocketed springs have a spring diameter different from the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein step (b) comprises attaching at least one second string of pocketed springs to a first lateral side surface and to a second lateral side surface of the innerspring main body, so that the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs form an edge area completely surrounding the first strings of pocketed springs.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein step (b) comprises attaching at least one second string of pocketed springs to a first lateral side surface and to a second lateral side surface of the innerspring main body, so that the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs form an edge area completely surrounding the first strings of pocketed springs.
16. The method of claim 10, wherein step (b) comprises clamping the fleece sheets by a clamping device and pushing the at least one second string of pocketed springs with a pusher between the fleece sheets to the lateral side of the innerspring main body.
14. The method of claim 8, wherein step (b) comprises clamping the fleece sheets by a clamping device and pushing the at least one second string of pocketed springs with a pusher between the fleece sheets to the lateral side of the innerspring main body.
17. The method of claim 10, wherein step (b) comprises applying a glue to the pair of fleece sheets by a gluing device prior to attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the innerspring main body.
15. The method of claim 8, wherein step (b) comprises applying a glue to the pair of fleece sheets by a gluing device prior to attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the innerspring main body.
18. The method of claim 10, wherein step (b) comprises applying a glue to the lateral side of the innerspring main body by a gluing device prior to attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the innerspring main body.
16. The method of claim 8, wherein step (b) comprises applying a glue to the lateral side of the innerspring main body by a gluing device prior to attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the innerspring main body.
The different between the prior claims in US11505449B2 and the Application claims is the patent claims require “a spring characteristic or a spring geometry” and the Application claims require “a spring diameter”.
However, Jewett teaches a set of core and perimeter springs with differing diameters (See ¶0011-0012, Figure 9, Figure 11).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known diameter change technique of Jewett to the mattress manufacturing method of US11505449B2 in order to create a firmer perimeter (See Jewett ¶0013)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-10, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US20110107572A1).
Claim 1
Kim teaches a method for manufacturing an innerspring unit comprising pocketed springs (Figure 1 teaches an apparatus (1) for placing strings of pocketed springs (2) between plies of fabric (See Figure 10, Item 41).), the method comprising the steps of (a) providing an innerspring main body comprising a plurality of first strings of pocketed springs (Figure 3 shows sections of pocket springs (2) with two different types (2a/2b). Since the mattress is formed by building up along the L direction in Figure 3, there is a point in time where a section of Item 2a is bordered by pocket springs of Item 2a along the longitudinal direction (W). The three string section of 2a pocket springs is the claimed main body.); and (b) attaching at least one second string of pocketed springs (2b) to a lateral surface of the innerspring main body (Figure 3), so that the at least one second string of pocketed springs extends in a longitudinal direction of the innerspring main body (At the point of the first couple sections of 2a/2b pocket springs, the long side direction (or longitudinal direction) is along the “W” double arrow.), wherein the springs of the at least one second string of pocketed springs have a spring diameter different from the diameter of the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body (¶0046 teaches the 2a/2b springs have different diameters.), the at least one second string of pocketed springs forming together with the innerspring main body the innerspring unit, (Figure 3) wherein step (a) comprises attaching a pair of fleece sheets (41) to upper and lower surfaces of the innerspring main body (¶0079), so that the fleece sheets cover the innerspring main body and laterally extend beyond the innerspring main body (The sheets (41) cover the entire mattress core, so they extend beyond the interpreted “main body”.); and wherein step (b) comprises attaching the at least one second string of pocketed springs to the lateral surface of the innerspring main body such that it is arranged between the pair of fleece sheets. (The first string of 2b springs attached to the side of the 2a spring section is the claimed “second string”.)
Kim, Figure 3, Annotated
Claim 5
Kim teaches the method of claim 1, wherein step (b) comprises clamping the fleece sheets by a clamping device (¶0099 teaches the layering covers are compressed and securely held by the conveyor belts and rollers. This is interpreted as a functional equivalent to the claimed clamping device.) and pushing the at least one second string of pocketed springs with a pusher between the fleece sheets to the lateral side of the innerspring main body. (Figures 9A-9B show a transfer unit (20) that pushes the pocketed springs between the sheets (41).)
Claim 6
Kim teaches the method of claim 1, wherein step (b) comprises applying a glue to the pair of fleece sheets by a gluing device prior to attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the innerspring main body. (¶0079 and Figure 15 detail a spraying device (50) that applies glue to the sheets (41).)
Claim 7
Kim teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed as a fully automated process by an innerspring unit assembly machine. (¶0101 teaches the system is controlled by a control unit.)
Claim 8
Kim teaches a method for manufacturing an innerspring unit comprising pocketed springs (Figure 1 teaches an apparatus (1) for placing strings of pocketed springs (2) between plies of fabric (See Figure 10, Item 41).), the method comprising the steps of (a) providing an innerspring main body comprising a plurality of first strings of pocketed springs (Figure 3 shows sections of pocket springs (2) with two different types (2a/2b). Since the mattress is formed by building up along the L direction in Figure 3, there is a point in time where a section of Item 2a is bordered by pocket springs of Item 2a along the longitudinal direction (W). The three string section of 2a pocket springs is the claimed main body.); and (b) attaching at least one second string of pocketed springs (2b) to a lateral surface of the innerspring main body (Figure 3), so that the at least one second string of pocketed springs extends in a longitudinal direction of the innerspring main body (At the point of the first couple sections of 2a/2b pocket springs, the long side direction (or longitudinal direction) is along the “W” double arrow.), wherein the springs of the at least one second string of pocketed springs have a spring diameter different from the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body (¶0046 teaches the 2a/2b springs have different diameters.), the at least one second string of pocketed springs forming together with the innerspring main body the innerspring unit (Figure 3), wherein step (b) comprises compressing the springs of the at least one second string of pocketed springs prior to attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the innerspring main body (Figure 9A teaches tongs (21) of the transfer unit (20) grip the ends of the pocketed spring. The gripping is performed by a cylinder (21a) that actuates the tongs. This gripping is interpreted as a compression of each end of the pocketed spring.) and allowing the compressed strings to expand after attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the lateral surface of the innerspring main body. (After the transfer unit (20) places the spring between the two sheets (41), the compression is released.)
Claim 9
Kim teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the method is performed as a fully automated process by an innerspring unit assembly machine. (¶0101 teaches the system is controlled by a control unit.)
Claim 10
Kim teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the method is performed as a fully automated process by an innerspring unit assembly machine. (¶0101 teaches the system is controlled by a control unit.)
Claim 14
Kim teaches the method of claim 8, wherein step (b) comprises clamping the fleece sheets by a clamping device (¶0099 teaches the layering covers are compressed and securely held by the conveyor belts and rollers. This is interpreted as a functional equivalent to the claimed clamping device.) and pushing the at least one second string of pocketed springs with a pusher between the fleece sheets to the lateral side of the innerspring main body. (Figures 9A-9B show a transfer unit (20) that pushes the pocketed springs between the sheets (41).)
Claim 15
Kim teaches the method of claim 8, wherein step (b) comprises applying a glue to the pair of fleece sheets by a gluing device prior to attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the innerspring main body. (¶0079 and Figure 15 detail a spraying device (50) that applies glue to the sheets (41).)
Claim 16
Kim teaches the method of claim 8, wherein step (b) comprises applying a glue to the lateral side of the innerspring main body by a gluing device prior to attaching the at least one second spring of pocketed springs to the innerspring main body. (¶0079 and Figure 15 detail a spraying device (50) that applies glue to the pocket springs (2).)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form.
Document
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US20230146727A1
Figure 1 teaches an apparatus for compressing springs (100) prior to placing them between plies of fabric (130).
US20200138201A1
Figure 5 teaches pocketed springs of a mattress core that are placed between a top and bottom sheet (S).
US20180049559A1
Figure 8 and 9 teaches a mattress made from an inner core of pocketed spring strings and an outer perimeter made from pocketed springs of a different characteristic/diameter.
US20170008756A1
Figure 1 teaches an apparatus for pushing and compressing pocketed springs (16) between two plies of fabric (20).
US20160029809A1
Figure 8 teaches core and perimeter springs strings that are made from springs with different characteristics.
US20100326012A1
Figure 4 shows an apparatus for applying a pocketed string spring to the longitudinal side of a mattress core.
US20050257323A1
Figure 13A teaches a mattress with a distinct core and border section, with the border section using springs of a different characteristic.
US20020124321A1
Figure 1 teaches an apparatus for placing strings of pocketed springs between plies of fabric.
US6398199B1
Figure 6 teaches a mattress core having top and bottom sheets of fabric that are connected to the mattress core and extend beyond the edges of the core.
US6175997B1
Figure 1 teaches a method of placing strings of pocketed springs between plies of fabric.
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726