DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. If Applicant fails to provide a sufficiently descriptive title, Examiner will do so upon allowance of the claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 2 and 12 recite “wherein an operating power of the second light source group to be less than”. Examiner assumes this is a typographical error and Applicant intended to claim “wherein an operating power of the second light source group is less than”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dunn (US 2012/0147293).
Regarding claim 1, Dunn discloses a display control module, comprising: a first light source group comprising a plurality of first light sources (abstract, fig. 1, fig. 4, ¶ 3-7, ¶ 20-23, display backlight with first plurality of LEDs 105; see also ¶ 25-29);
a second light source group comprising a plurality of second light sources, the first light source group and the second light source group arranged alternately (fig. 1, fig. 4, ¶ 20-23, second (redundant) LEDs 120 adjacent to first LEDs 105; see also ¶ 25-29);
a sensing unit configured to detect whether the first light source group is abnormal (fig. 1, fig. 4, ¶ 20-23, system detects failure of first LEDs; see also ¶ 25-29, controller can detect failure in first LEDs by measuring current draw outside of an acceptable threshold);
and a control unit configured to control the second light source group to work when the first light source group is detected to be abnormal by the sensing unit (fig. 1, fig. 4, ¶ 20-23; see also ¶ 25-29, controllers 515 and 530).
Regarding claim 2, Dunn discloses wherein an operating power of the second light source group to be less than an operating power of the first light source group (fig. 1, fig. 4, ¶ 20-23; see also ¶ 25-29, LEDs powered enough for the image to be viewable to complete the mission).
Regarding claim 3, Dunn discloses wherein the sensing unit comprises a current sensing element, the current sensing element is configured to detect whether a current of the first light source group is greater than a preset current range (fig. 1, fig. 4, ¶ 20-23, system detects failure of first LEDs; see also ¶ 25-29, controller can detect failure in first LEDs by measuring current draw outside of an acceptable threshold),
when the current sensing element detects the current of the first light source group is greater than the preset current range, the first light source group is determined to be abnormal (fig. 1, fig. 4, ¶ 20-23, system detects failure of first LEDs; see also ¶ 25-29, controller can detect failure in first LEDs by measuring current draw outside of an acceptable threshold).
Regarding claim 6, Dunn discloses wherein the first light source group and the second light source group are arranged within an active area of a display panel; or the first light source group and the second light source group are arranged outside of the active area of the display panel (figs. 1-3, ¶ 20-28, back-lit and edge-lit embodiments disclosed).
Regarding claim 7, Dunn discloses wherein when the first light source group and the second light source group are arranged within an active area of the display panel (fig. 1, ¶ 20-24),
the display system comprises a first power supply circuit and a second power supply circuit, the first power supply circuit is electrically connected to the first light source group and is configured to supply power to the first light source group, the second power supply circuit is electrically connected to the second light source group to supply power to the second light source group (fig. 1, fig. 4, ¶ 20-24; see also ¶ 29, current sources 510, 525);
when the control unit is further configured to determine that a number of abnormal first light sources of the first light source group reaches a preset range, the control unit further controls the second power supply circuit to supply power to the second light source group (fig. 1, fig. 4, ¶ 20-24, system detects failure of first LEDs, i.e., abnormal light sources ≥ 1; see also ¶ 25-29, controller can detect failure in first LEDs by measuring current draw outside of an acceptable threshold).
Regarding claim 8, Dunn discloses wherein the sensing unit is arranged on the first power supply circuit, the first power supply circuit is configured to provide working current to the first light source group (fig. 1, fig. 4, ¶ 20-24; see also ¶ 29, controller 515 can detect failure in first LEDs by measuring current draw outside of an acceptable threshold).
Regarding claim 11, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn in view of Kim et al. (US 2004/0174332).
Regarding claim 4, Dunn fails to explicitly disclose wherein the current sensing element comprises resistance detection type sensing elements and magnetic field detection type sensing elements.
However, Examiner takes official notice that the use of resistance detection type sensing elements for current sensing is well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Dunn with the well-known resistance detection type sensing elements since such a modification achieves the predictable result of accurately measuring current with conventional sensors.
Kim teaches magnetic field detection type sensing elements (abstract, figs. 1-4, ¶ 47-51, electromagnetic induction sensors disclosed, see also ¶ 101).
Dunn and Kim are both directed to sensors for detecting a backlight malfunction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Dunn with the device of Kim since such a modification prevents deterioration of the lamps and increases the life expectancy of the lamps (Kim, abstract, ¶ 11).
Regarding claim 14, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn in view of Price et al. (US 2008/0100561).
Regarding claim 5, Dunn fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sensing unit comprises a voltage sensing element, the voltage sensing element is configured to detect whether a voltage of the first light source group is greater than a preset voltage range, when the voltage sensing element detects the voltage of the first light source group is greater than the preset voltage range, the first light source group is determined to be abnormal.
Price teaches wherein the sensing unit comprises a voltage sensing element, the voltage sensing element is configured to detect whether a voltage of the first light source group is greater than a preset voltage range, when the voltage sensing element detects the voltage of the first light source group is greater than the preset voltage range, the first light source group is determined to be abnormal (abstract, fig. 2, ¶ 16-18, voltage measured to identify faults, e.g., an increased termination voltage indicates a short in an LED with the number of shorts determined by the excess voltage).
Dunn and Price are both directed to sensors for detecting a backlight malfunction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Dunn with the device of Price since such a modification manages LED backlight performance (Price, ¶ 7) and provides failure of one or more LEDs is automatically compensated (Price, ¶ 8).
Regarding claim 15, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunn in view of Cheang et al. (US 2005/0242742).
Regarding claim 9, Dunn discloses wherein when the first light source group and the second light source group are arranged outside of the active area of the display panel (figs. 1-3, ¶ 20-28, edge-lit embodiments disclosed).
Dunn fails to explicitly disclose the display system comprises a switching unit and a driving integrated circuit, the driving integrated circuit is connected to the first light source group or the second light source group through the switching unit, when the first light source group has no abnormality, the control unit controls the switching unit to be connected to the first light source group to supply power to the first light source group, when the first light source group is abnormal, the control unit controls the switching unit to be connected to the second light source group to supply power to the second light source group.
Cheang teaches the display system comprises a switching unit and a driving integrated circuit, the driving integrated circuit is connected to the first light source group or the second light source group through the switching unit (abstract, figs. 2-3, ¶ 15-20, redundant light source management system 110 uses to feedback to determine when to activate redundant light source; see also ¶ 23-28, switch system 118 disclosed; activating only one light source at a time is possible),
when the first light source group has no abnormality, the control unit controls the switching unit to be connected to the first light source group to supply power to the first light source group, when the first light source group is abnormal, the control unit controls the switching unit to be connected to the second light source group to supply power to the second light source group (abstract, figs. 2-3, ¶ 15-20, redundant light source management system 110 uses to feedback to determine when to activate redundant light source; see also ¶ 23-28, switch system 118 disclosed; activating only one light source at a time is possible).
Dunn and Cheang are both directed to sensors for detecting a backlight malfunction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Dunn with the device of Cheang since such a modification produces light of a desired quality for longer (Cheang, ¶ 3) to extend the life of the system (Cheang, ¶ 4).
Regarding claim 10, Dunn discloses wherein the sensing unit is arranged on the driving integrated circuit, the driving integrated circuit is configured to provide working current to the first light source group (fig. 4, ¶ 29, controllers 515 and 530 may be any type of application-specific integrated circuit).
Regarding claim 19, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See attached Notice of References Cited.
/KEITH L CRAWLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626