DETAILED ACTION
The Action is responsive to Applicant’s Application filed July 10, 2025.
Please note claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings, filed July 10, 2025 are considered in compliance with 37 CFR 1.81 and accepted.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, 16-17, 19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 15-17, 19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,983,984. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant Application 19/265151
US Patent No. 10,983,984
1. A system comprising:
one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory machine-readable storage media containing instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations including:
receiving an identification of two or more media devices;
generating a device map by assigning one or more category segments to each
media device of the two or more media devices based on one or more characteristics associated with each media device;
receiving a dataset that includes viewing behavior of at least one media device of
the two or more media devices; and
modifying the device map based on the dataset, wherein modifying the device
map improves an accuracy of the one or more category segments assigned to the two or more media devices.
1. A system comprising:
one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory machine-readable storage media containing instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations including:
obtain a plurality of categories assigned to groups of media player devices, wherein the plurality of categories are determined using a device mapping system, and wherein a category includes a categorization for a group of the media player devices;
determine viewing behaviors of the groups of media player devices, wherein the viewing behaviors are determined using automated content recognition by matching viewed media content viewed by the media player devices with stored media content;
determine a correlation between the plurality of categories and the viewing behaviors of the groups of media player devices; determine an accuracy score for the device mapping system using the determined correlation; and assign the accuracy score to the device mapping system, wherein the accuracy score is used to improve the device mapping system.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include:
identifying, based on a statistical analysis of the dataset, correlations between media devices of the device map and at least one category segment; and
generating an accuracy score for the device map based on the correlations, wherein the device map is modified in response to the accuracy score being less than a threshold.
3. …performing a statistical hypothesis test to determine whether the correlation between the plurality of categories and the viewing behaviors of the groups of media player devices
5. The system of claim 4, wherein the accuracy score is determined for the device mapping system based on the comparison of the result of the statistical hypothesis test to the randomness threshold.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the correlations indicate a degree of variance in viewing behaviors among the one or more category segments.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the correlation between the plurality of categories and the viewing behaviors of the groups of media player devices is based on a variance in viewing behaviors among the plurality of categories.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein modifying the device map is further based on a quantity of time the two or more media devices were tuned to one or more channels.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the viewing behaviors include at least one or more of an amount of time of the groups of media player devices view one or more of a plurality of channels…
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the dataset is generated using data from an
automated content recognition system identifying media segments presented by the two or more media devices.
1. ... wherein the viewing behaviors are determined using automated content recognition by matching viewed media content viewed by the media player devices…
8. A method comprising:
receiving an identification of two or more media devices; generating a device map by assigning one or more category segments to each media device of the two or more media devices based on one or more characteristics associated with each media device;
receiving a dataset that includes viewing behavior of at least one media device of the two or more media devices; and
modifying the device map based on the dataset, wherein modifying the device
map improves an accuracy of the one or more category segments assigned to the two or more media devices.
8. A method comprising:
obtaining a plurality of categories assigned to groups of media player devices, wherein the plurality of categories are determined using a device mapping system, and wherein a category includes a categorization for a group of the media player devices;
determining viewing behaviors of the groups of media player devices, wherein the viewing behaviors are determined using automated content recognition by matching viewed media content viewed by the media player devices with stored media content;
determining a correlation between the plurality of categories and the viewing behaviors of the groups of media player devices; determining an accuracy score for the device mapping system using the determined correlation; and assigning the accuracy score to the device mapping system, wherein the accuracy score is used to improve the device mapping system.
9. The method of claim 8, further comprising:
identifying, based on a statistical analysis of the dataset, correlations between media devices of the device map and at least one category segment; and
generating an accuracy score for the device map based on the correlations, wherein the device map is modified in response to the accuracy score being less than a threshold
10. …determining the accuracy score for the device mapping system includes performing a statistical hypothesis test to determine whether the correlation between the plurality of categories and the viewing behaviors of the groups of media player devices is random.
12. … wherein the accuracy score is determined for the device mapping system based on the comparison of the result of the statistical hypothesis test to the randomness threshold.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the correlations indicate a degree of variance in viewing behaviors among the one or more category segments.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the correlation between the plurality of categories and the viewing behaviors of the groups of media player devices is based on a variance in viewing behaviors among the plurality of categories
12. The method of claim 8, wherein modifying the device map is further based on a quantity of time the two or more media devices were tuned to one or more channels.
14. The method of claim 8, wherein the viewing behaviors include at least one or more of an amount of time of the groups of media player devices view one or more of a plurality of channels…
13. The method of claim 8, wherein the dataset is generated using data from an
automated content recognition system identifying media segments presented by the two or more media devices.
8. …wherein the viewing behaviors are determined using automated content recognition by matching viewed media content viewed by the media player devices with stored media conten
15. A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing instructions that, when executed on one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations including:
receiving an identification of two or more media devices;
generating a device map by assigning one or more category segments to each
media device of the two or more media devices based on one or more characteristics associated with each media device;
receiving a dataset that includes viewing behavior of at least one media device of
the two or more media devices; and
modifying the device map based on the dataset, wherein modifying the device
map improves an accuracy of the one or more category segments assigned to the two or more media devices.
15. A computer-program product tangibly embodied in a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, including instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
obtain a plurality of categories assigned to groups of media player devices, wherein the plurality of categories are determined using a device mapping system, and wherein a category includes a categorization for a group of the media player devices;
determine viewing behaviors of the groups of media player devices, wherein the viewing behaviors are determined using automated content recognition by matching viewed media content viewed by the media player devices with stored media content; determine a correlation between the plurality of categories and the viewing behaviors of the groups of media player devices;
determine an accuracy score for the device mapping system using the determined correlation; and assign the accuracy score to the device mapping system, wherein the accuracy score is used to improve the device mapping system.
16. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the
operations further include:
identifying, based on a statistical analysis of the dataset, correlations between media devices of the device map and at least one category segment; and
generating an accuracy score for the device map based on the correlations, wherein the device map is modified in response to the accuracy score being less than a threshold.
17. …wherein determining the accuracy score for the device mapping system includes performing a statistical hypothesis test to determine whether the correlation between the plurality of categories and the viewing behaviors of the groups of media player devices…
19. …wherein the accuracy score is determined for the device mapping system based on the comparison of the result of the statistical hypothesis test to the randomness threshold.
17. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the
correlations indicate a degree of variance in viewing behaviors among the one or more category segments.
16. The computer-program product of claim 15, wherein the correlation between the plurality of categories and the viewing behaviors of the groups of media player devices is based on a variance in viewing behaviors among the plurality of categories
19. The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the
dataset is generated using data from an automated content recognition system identifying media segments presented by the two or more media devices.
15. …wherein the viewing behaviors are determined using automated content recognition by matching viewed media content viewed by the media player devices with stored media content;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0125471)
Regarding claim 1, Hsu teaches a system comprising:
‘one or more processors’ (¶0089)
‘one or more non-transitory machine-readable storage media containing instructions that, when executed on the one or more processors (¶0099), cause the one or more processors to perform operations including:
receiving an identification of two or more media devices’ as receiving device data records associated with various user devices (¶0027, 33)
‘generating a device map by assigning one or more category segments to each media device of the two or more media devices based on one or more characteristics associated with each media device’ as generating a device map and associating categories to each device based on user data associated with each device (¶0034, 39)
‘receiving a dataset that includes viewing behavior of at least one media device of the two or more media devices’ as tracking user behavior across the different devices to capture user viewing behavior (¶0039)
‘modifying the device map based on the dataset, wherein modifying the device map improves an accuracy of the one or more category segments assigned to the two or more media devices’ as synchronizing categories user devices based on received user data records (¶0027) to improve the effectiveness of assigned categories (¶0026)
Regarding claim 8., Hsu teaches a method comprising:
receiving an identification of two or more media devices’ as receiving device data records associated with various user devices (¶0027, 33)
‘generating a device map by assigning one or more category segments to each media device of the two or more media devices based on one or more characteristics associated with each media device’ as generating a device map and associating categories to each device based on user data associated with each device (¶0034, 39)
‘receiving a dataset that includes viewing behavior of at least one media device of the two or more media devices’ as tracking user behavior across the different devices to capture user viewing behavior (¶0039)
‘modifying the device map based on the dataset, wherein modifying the device map improves an accuracy of the one or more category segments assigned to the two or more media devices’ as synchronizing categories user devices based on received user data records (¶0027) to improve the effectiveness of assigned categories (¶0026)
Regarding claim 15, Hsu teaches a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium containing instructions that, when executed on one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations including:
receiving an identification of two or more media devices’ as receiving device data records associated with various user devices (¶0027, 33)
‘generating a device map by assigning one or more category segments to each media device of the two or more media devices based on one or more characteristics associated with each media device’ as generating a device map and associating categories to each device based on user data associated with each device (¶0034, 39)
‘receiving a dataset that includes viewing behavior of at least one media device of the two or more media devices’ as tracking user behavior across the different devices to capture user viewing behavior (¶0039)
‘modifying the device map based on the dataset, wherein modifying the device map improves an accuracy of the one or more category segments assigned to the two or more media devices’ as synchronizing categories user devices based on received user data records (¶0027) to improve the effectiveness of assigned categories (¶0026)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 9-11, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0125471) further in view of Wu et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0205761)
Regarding claim 2, Hsu teaches wherein the operations further include:
‘identifying, based on a statistical analysis of the dataset, correlations between media devices of the device map and at least one category segment’ as using the user data to categorize the user and user device (¶0034)
Hsu fails to explicitly teach:
‘generating an accuracy score for the device map based on the correlations, wherein the device map is modified in response to the accuracy score being less than a threshold’
Wu teaches:
‘generating an accuracy score for the device map based on the correlations, wherein the device map is modified in response to the accuracy score being less than a threshold’ as generating confidence scores that determine accuracy for a category correlation and modifying in response to the score being less than a threshold (¶0089-91)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the present invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the cited references because Wu’s would have allowed Hsu’s to execute dynamic categorization (¶0003)
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches ‘wherein the correlations indicate a degree of variance in viewing behaviors among the one or more category segments’ as calculating the degree of variance for each category (¶0195)
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches ‘wherein the statistical analysis includes executing an f-test, and wherein the f-test indicates whether there is a high amount of viewing behavior variance between category segments or a low amount of viewing behavior variance between category segments’ as an indication of high amounts or low amounts of variance between categories (¶0195)
Regarding claim 9, Hsu teaches wherein the operations further include:
‘identifying, based on a statistical analysis of the dataset, correlations between media devices of the device map and at least one category segment’ as using the user data to categorize the user and user device (¶0034)
Hsu fails to explicitly teach:
‘generating an accuracy score for the device map based on the correlations, wherein the device map is modified in response to the accuracy score being less than a threshold’
Wu teaches:
‘generating an accuracy score for the device map based on the correlations, wherein the device map is modified in response to the accuracy score being less than a threshold’ as generating confidence scores that determine accuracy for a category correlation and modifying in response to the score being less than a threshold (¶0089-91)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the present invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the cited references because Wu’s would have allowed Hsu’s to execute dynamic categorization (¶0003)
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches ‘wherein the correlations indicate a degree of variance in viewing behaviors among the one or more category segments’ as calculating the degree of variance for each category (¶0195)
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches ‘wherein the statistical analysis includes executing an f-test, and wherein the f-test indicates whether there is a high amount of viewing behavior variance between category segments or a low amount of viewing behavior variance between category segments’ as an indication of high amounts or low amounts of variance between categories (¶0195)
Regarding claim 16, Hsu teaches wherein the operations further include:
‘identifying, based on a statistical analysis of the dataset, correlations between media devices of the device map and at least one category segment’ as using the user data to categorize the user and user device (¶0034)
Hsu fails to explicitly teach:
‘generating an accuracy score for the device map based on the correlations, wherein the device map is modified in response to the accuracy score being less than a threshold’
Wu teaches:
‘generating an accuracy score for the device map based on the correlations, wherein the device map is modified in response to the accuracy score being less than a threshold’ as generating confidence scores that determine accuracy for a category correlation and modifying in response to the score being less than a threshold (¶0089-91)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the present invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the cited references because Wu’s would have allowed Hsu’s to execute dynamic categorization (¶0003)
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches ‘wherein the correlations indicate a degree of variance in viewing behaviors among the one or more category segments’ as calculating the degree of variance for each category (¶0195)
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches ‘wherein the statistical analysis includes executing an f-test, and wherein the f-test indicates whether there is a high amount of viewing behavior variance between category segments or a low amount of viewing behavior variance between category segments’ as an indication of high amounts or low amounts of variance between categories (¶0195)
Claim(s) 5-6, 12-13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0125471) further in view of Soon-Shiong et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0281756)
Regarding claim 5, Hsu fails to explicitly teach ‘wherein modifying the device map is further based on a quantity of time the two or more media devices were tuned to one or more channels’
Soon-Shiong teaches ‘wherein modifying the device map is further based on a quantity of time the two or more media devices were tuned to one or more channels’ as monitoring duration of time spent viewing content (¶0039)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the present invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the cited references because Wu’s would have allowed Hsu’s to improve display of relevant content to a user (¶0011)
Regarding claim 6, Soon-Shiong teaches ‘the dataset is generated using data from an automated content recognition system identifying media segments presented by the two or more media devices’ as utilizing methods of automatic content recognition (¶0037)
Regarding claim 12, Hsu fails to explicitly teach ‘wherein modifying the device map is further based on a quantity of time the two or more media devices were tuned to one or more channels’
Soon-Shiong teaches ‘wherein modifying the device map is further based on a quantity of time the two or more media devices were tuned to one or more channels’ as monitoring duration of time spent viewing content (¶0039)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the present invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the cited references because Wu’s would have allowed Hsu’s to improve display of relevant content to a user (¶0011)
Regarding claim 13, Soon-Shiong teaches ‘the dataset is generated using data from an automated content recognition system identifying media segments presented by the two or more media devices’ as utilizing methods of automatic content recognition (¶0037)
Regarding claim 19, Soon-Shiong teaches ‘the dataset is generated using data from an automated content recognition system identifying media segments presented by the two or more media devices’ as utilizing methods of automatic content recognition (¶0037)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0125471) further in view of Guan et al. (US Pat. No. 9,514,248)
Regarding claim 7, Hsu fails to explicitly teach ‘where modifying the device map includes modifying one or more one or more operations of a device mapping system that generated the device map’
Guan teaches ‘where modifying the device map includes modifying one or more one or more operations of a device mapping system that generated the device map’ as using a remapping module to modify generation of a map (Col. 18, Lines 44-67)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the present invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the cited references because Guan’s better organize a user across multiple devices (Col. 1, Lines 23-43)
Regarding claim 14, Hsu fails to explicitly teach ‘where modifying the device map includes modifying one or more one or more operations of a device mapping system that generated the device map’
Guan teaches ‘where modifying the device map includes modifying one or more one or more operations of a device mapping system that generated the device map’ as using a remapping module to modify generation of a map (Col. 18, Lines 44-67)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the present invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the cited references because Guan’s better organize a user across multiple devices (Col. 1, Lines 23-43)
Regarding claim 20, Hsu fails to explicitly teach ‘where modifying the device map includes modifying one or more one or more operations of a device mapping system that generated the device map’
Guan teaches ‘where modifying the device map includes modifying one or more one or more operations of a device mapping system that generated the device map’ as using a remapping module to modify generation of a map (Col. 18, Lines 44-67)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the present invention was effectively filed to modify the teachings of the cited references because Guan’s better organize a user across multiple devices (Col. 1, Lines 23-43)
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraphs and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP § 2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131(b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as “Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced” may be deemed insufficient.
Conclusion
/VAN H OBERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166