Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Zimmerman et al. Pub. No. US 2017/0068342 A1 [Zimmerman].
As to claim 1, Zimmerman discloses a stylus pen [Fig. 1B & 1 29] comprising: a hollow pen tube [104a & Par. 136 the barrel] having an open end [end holding nib 308b]; a pen head disposed at the open end [308b & 1 349 nib]; a cantilever plate disposed in the hollow pen tube [402 & 412 and see pars. 465-467], wherein the cantilever plate has a fixed side [404], a free side [402], and a first surface (the surface of 416 facing the open side of the stylus) and a second surface (the side of416 facing away from the open side of the stylus) opposite to each other [Par. 469 cantilever legs], the fixed side is fixed to the hollow pen tube, the second surface (416) faces away from the open end (as seen in figs. 4A & 4B, the second surface 416 is further away from the open end than the first end) and the first surface faces the open end [see generally Figs. 4A-4B]; a first strain electrode disposed on the first surface of the cantilever plate [Fig. 4C, 420a & par. 472 first strain-sensitive electrode where top portion is top surface]; and a second strain electrode disposed on the second surface of the cantilever plate [420b & id. Note that in paragraph 470, Zimmerman teaches that “with respect to FIGS. 4C and 4K-4M multiple strain-sensitive electrodes may be disposed on one or more surfaces of the rear cantilevered leg 416.” And therefore, it can be located on both sides of leg 416]; wherein the pen head is selectively movable with respect to the hollow pen tube to deform the cantilever plate [Figs. 4B-4C, for instance], thereby deforming the first strain electrode and the second strain electrode correspondingly [par. 470].
2. Zimmerman discloses a linkage member [Fig. 4A, 410 & par. 464 collar], wherein the linkage
member is movably disposed in the hollow pen tube, the linkage member has a first end and a second end which are opposite to each other [front and back end], the first end is connected to the pen head,
the second end has a protrusion, and the protrusion contacts the first surface of the cantilever plate and
is adjacent to the free side [as shown generally].
3. Zimmerman discloses wherein when the first strain electrode and the second strain electrode
are deformed, a resistance of one of the first strain electrode and the second strain electrode increases,
and a resistance of the other one of the first strain electrode and the second strain electrode decreases
[par. 472].
4. Zimmerman discloses a circuit board [Fig. 3A, 356 & par. 431], wherein the circuit board has a
sensing circuit, the sensing circuit has a first fixed resistor and a second fixed resistor [9] 525], the first
strain electrode and the first fixed resistor are connected in series to form a first series connection
circuit, the second strain electrode and the second fixed resistor are connected in series to form a
second series connection circuit, and the first series connection circuit and the second series connection
circuit are connected in parallel [as shown generally in Figs. 3A, 4C & 4K-4M].
5. Zimmerman discloses a third strain electrode and a fourth strain electrode, wherein the third
strain electrode and the fourth strain electrode are respectively disposed on the first surface and the
second surface [Fig. 4M]; when the cantilever plate is deformed, the third strain electrode and the
fourth strain electrode are deformed correspondingly [pars. 488-489].
6. Zimmerman discloses wherein the first strain electrode and the fourth strain electrode are
connected in series to form a first electrode group [Fig. 4M, one side electrode in vertical direction], the
second strain electrode and the third strain electrode are connected in series to form a second electrode
group [other side], and the first electrode group and the second electrode group are connected in
parallel [horizontal ones].
13. Zimmerman discloses a linkage member [Fig. 4A, 410 for instance], wherein the linkage
member is movably disposed in the hollow pen tube and between the pen head and the cantilever plate
[as shown generally], the linkage member has a first end and a second end which are opposite to each
other, the first end is connected to the pen head, and the second end contacts the first surface of the
cantilever plate [each surface].
14. Zimmerman discloses a supporting plate, wherein the supporting plate is disposed in the
hollow pen tube, and the supporting plate is connected to the linkage member and adjacent to the first
end of the linkage member connected to the pen head [Fig. 3A, 302a].
15. Zimmerman discloses wherein the supporting plate is connected to the cantilever plate [Fig.
3A, connected by means of 308].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be
allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any
intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The second surface limitations in combination with each and every other limitation and when
rewritten as detailed above make the claim allowable over the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to the amendment to claim 1, the rejection was updated to show the second surface (416) faces away from the open end.
Applicant argued that, “As shown in Fig. 4C and paragraph [0472] of Zimmerman, no strain-sensitive electrode is disposed on the front cantilevered leg 414. The first strain-sensitive electrode 420a and the second strain-sensitive electrode 420b are both disposed on the same surface of the rear cantilevered leg 416, specifically at the upper portion 416a and the lower portion 416b of the same surface. That is, the first strain-sensitive electrode 420a and the second strain-sensitive electrode 420b are not respectively disposed on the front cantilevered leg 414 and the rear cantilevered leg 416, nor are they disposed on two opposing surfaces of the rear cantilevered leg 416.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
It is correct that fig. 4c shows both strain electrodes are in the second surface. However, note that in paragraph 470, Zimmerman teaches that “with respect to FIGS. 4C and 4K-4M multiple strain-sensitive electrodes may be disposed on one or more surfaces of the rear cantilevered leg 416.” And therefore, it can be located on both sides of leg 416]. This is clear indication that the strain electrode can be any side of the second surface. Throughout Zimmerman’s invention, the location of the strain electrodes is not limited to the second surface and in par. 470, shows it can be in any surface of the leg 416.
The remaining of the argument is related to above argument and the expected result will follow if we establish that the strain electrodes maybe located in both sides of 416
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621