DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No.62/600,857, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. For example, Application No.62/600,857 fails to disclose “a method comprising: coupling a penetration system to an automated driver…driving the penetration system into a bone via the automated driver to position the cannula within the bone; retracting the elongated instrument in a proximal direction relative to the cannula while the cannula remains positioned within the bone and while the shield remains coupled to each of the cannula hub and the elongated instrument; and automatically locking the shield to the elongated instrument upon further retraction of the elongated instrument.” Accordingly, the present application has an effective filing date of 6/27/2017.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 5 recites “the bone penetration system” in line 1 which should read “the penetration system” for consistency purposes. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the shield" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-6 are rejected based on their dependency to rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (US 2008/0221580 A1) in view of Blanchard et al. (US 2018/0116693 A1) in view of Burkholz (US 9,399,120 B2).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6, Miller discloses a method comprising: coupling a penetration system (intraosseous device 160) to an automated driver (powered driver 230a; as opening 186 of device 160 is coupled to drive shaft 252 of driver 230a; Figs. 1A, 4A-4B; [0051]), the penetration system (160) comprising: a cannula hub (hub 200; Fig. 4A); a cannula (cannula 210) attached to the cannula hub (200) and defining a lumen (longitudinal passageway 184); an elongated instrument (inner penetrator or stylet 220) positioned within the lumen (184) of the cannula (210; Fig. 4A; [0063]), driving the penetration system (160) into a bone via the automated driver (30) to position the cannula (210) within the bone (as the tip 211 of outer penetrator 210 and/or tip 222 of inner penetrator 220 penetrate bone; [0065]); and retracting the elongated instrument (220) in a proximal direction relative to the cannula (210) while the cannula remains positioned within the bone (as the longitudinal ridges 190 allow connector 180 to be grasped for disengagement from hub 200 of cannula 210 when the outer penetrator 210 has been inserted into a bone and associated bone marrow; [0068]; thus, 180 and 220 thereon are retracted proximally relative to 210 and 200 while 210 is in a bone).
Miller fails to disclose a shield coupled to each of the cannula hub and the elongated instrument, the shield defining a distal tip; wherein the shield remains coupled to each of the cannula hub and the elongated instrument while retracting the elongated instrument in the proximal direction relative to the cannula; automatically locking the shield to the elongated instrument upon further retraction of the elongated instrument; automatically disengaging the shield from the cannula hub; wherein said automatically disengaging the shield from the cannula hub and said automatically locking the shield to the elongated instrument occur substantially simultaneously; and wherein the elongated instrument comprises a recess, and wherein said automatically locking the shield to the elongated instrument comprises permitting a portion of the shield to automatically enter into the recess of the elongated instrument.
However, Blanchard teaches a method of penetrating a bone (abstract) with a penetration system (intraosseous catheter 20; Figs. 5A-5D) comprising: a cannula hub (hub 42), a cannula (cannula 44) attached to the cannula hub and defining a lumen (Fig. 5C); an elongated instrument (needle/trocar 38) positioned within the lumen of the cannula (Fig. 5C); and a shield (telescoping portion 74) defining a distal tip (Fig. 5D), the shield coupled to each of the cannula hub (42) and the elongated instrument (38; Figs. 5A-5D), the method comprising retracting the elongated instrument (38) in a proximal direction relative to the cannula (44) while the cannula remains positioned within a bone (54, 56; Fig. 5D). Thus, Blanchard teaches a shield for an intraosseous device that prevents an inadvertent needle stick to the user as the elongated instrument is retracted proximally from the cannula ([0036]).
Burkholz teaches a shield (inner housing 80; Figs. 7A-7D) for a penetration system (Figs. 7A-7D), the penetration system comprising: a cannula hub (catheter adapter 120); a cannula (cannula surrounding needle 70; Fig. 7A) attached to the Hannula hub (120) and defining a lumen (Fig. 7A); an elongated instrument (needle 40) positioned within the lumen of the cannula (Fig. 7A), the shield (80) defining a distal tip (distal tip of 80), the shield coupled to each of the cannula hub (120) and the elongated instrument (40; Fig. 7A); retracting the elongated instrument (40) in a proximal direction relative to the cannula while the cannula remains positioned distally (Figs. 7A-7D) and while the shield (80) remains coupled to each of the cannula hub (120) and the elongated instrument (40; at least in the position shown in Fig. 7B); and automatically locking the shield (80) to the elongated instrument (40) upon further retraction of the elongated instrument (Figs. 7C-7D). Burkholz teaches automatically disengaging the shield (80) from the cannula hub (120; as transverse barriers, similar to 92 in Figs. 3A-3B close and move away from the inner walls of 120 as they capture a needle tip therein; Figs. 7A-7C); and wherein said automatically disengaging the shield (80) from the cannula hub (120) and said automatically locking the shield (80) to the elongated instrument (40) occur substantially simultaneously (due to closing the transverse barriers; Figs. 7A-7D). Burkholz teaches wherein the elongated instrument (40) comprises a recess (see cutouts near proximal engagement 72; Figs. 7A-7D), and wherein said automatically locking the shield (80) to the elongated instrument (40) comprises permitting a portion (proximal shoulders of 80 within cutouts; Figs. 7C-7D) of the shield (80) to automatically enter into the recess of the elongated instrument (Figs. 7C-7D). Thus, Burkholz teaches a shield similar to that claimed was known in the prior art for covering a sharp tip of a needle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the penetration system of Miller to include the shield and recess in the elongated instrument as taught by Burkholz in light of the teachings of Banchard, such that the method includes retracting the elongated instrument in a proximal direction relative to the cannula while the cannula remains positioned within the bone and while the shield remains coupled to each of the cannula hub and the elongated instrument; automatically locking the shield to the elongated instrument upon further retraction of the elongated instrument; automatically disengaging the shield from the cannula hub; wherein said automatically disengaging the shield from the cannula hub and said automatically locking the shield to the elongated instrument occur substantially simultaneously; and wherein said automatically locking the shield to the elongated instrument comprises permitting a portion of the shield to automatically enter into the recess of the elongated instrument. Blanchard expresses the need for a shield on an intraosseous device and Burkholz teaches the shield as claimed. Thus, the modification provides a shield for an intraosseous device that prevents an inadvertent needle stick to the user as the elongated instrument is retracted proximally from the cannula ([0036] of Blanchard).
Regarding claim 4, Miller modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Miller further discloses wherein the penetration system (160) further comprises a coupling hub (connector 180) that is coupled to the cannula hub (200; Fig. 4A), and wherein said coupling the penetration system (160) to the automated driver (230a) comprises coupling the coupling hub (180) to the driver (as opening 186 of connector 180 is coupled to drive shaft 252 of driver 230a; Figs. 1A, 4A-4B; [0051]).
Regarding claim 5, Miller modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Miller further discloses wherein said driving the bone penetration system (160) into the bone via the automated driver (230a) comprises rotating the penetration system at a speed of no less than 300 rotations per minute (as the motor and gear assembly are operable to rotate the drive shaft 252 at approximately twelve hundred revolutions per minute; [0014]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Woehr (US 8,979,802 B2) and Woehr et al. (US 2005/0027263 A1) are noted for teaching shields.
/SARAH A LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771