DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 09/05/2025, in which claims 21-35 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed before the mailing date of the Office Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of US 12,368,850 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as the reason and table provided below.
Instant – 19/265,248
US 12,368,850 B2
Claim 21 - A decoder for decoding an encoded bitstream representative of a block of a frame of video, the decoder comprising:
Claim 1 - A decoder for decoding an encoded bitstream representative of a block of a frame of video, the decoder comprising:
an inverse transform module comprising executable instructions that cause one or more processors to:
determine a set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices on the basis of a characteristic of the block to be decoded, wherein determining the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices comprises determining a candidate number, the candidate number determining how many candidate inverse secondary transform matrices are to be determined in the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices, the candidate number being determined on the basis of the characteristic of the block, wherein the characteristic comprises non-zero coefficients contained in the block,
an inverse transform module comprising executable instructions that cause one or more processors to:
determine a total number of non-zero coefficients contained in the block to be decoded, determine a set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices on the basis of the determined total number of non-zero coefficients contained in the block, wherein the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices comprises a plurality of inverse secondary transform matrices, and wherein determining the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices comprises determining a candidate number on the basis of the determined total number of non-zero coefficients contained in the block, the candidate number determining how many candidate inverse secondary transform matrices are to be determined in the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices,
select an inverse secondary transform matrix from the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices based on a signal received on the encoded bitstream, and
select an inverse secondary transform matrix from the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices based on a signal received on the encoded bitstream, and
apply an inverse matrix transformation to transformed residual information, to extract untransformed residual information,
apply an inverse matrix transformation to transformed residual information, to extract untransformed residual information,
the inverse matrix transformation being governed by the inverse secondary transform matrix and an inverse primary transform matrix; and an intra-prediction module comprising executable instructions that cause the one or more processors to compute a prediction of the block in accordance with an intra-prediction mode and reconstructing the block by combining the inverse transformed residual data with the prediction.
the inverse matrix transformation being governed by the inverse secondary transform matrix and an inverse primary transform matrix; and an intra-prediction module comprising executable instructions that cause the one or more processors to compute a prediction of the block in accordance with an intra-prediction mode and reconstructing the block by combining the inverse transformed residual data with the prediction.
Claim 22 - the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to determine the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices on the basis of whether the block comprises chrominance data or luminance data.
Claim 2 - the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to determine the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices on the basis of whether the block comprises chrominance data or luminance data.
Claim 23 - the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to determine the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices on the basis of a dimensional characteristic of the block.
Claim 3 - the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to determine the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices on the basis of a dimensional characteristic of the block.
Claim 24 - the dimensional characteristic comprises at least one of height or width of the block.
Claim 4 - the dimensional characteristic comprises at least one of height or width of the block.
Claim 25 - the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to select the inverse secondary transform matrix on the basis of the selection of a primary transform matrix.
Claim 5 - the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to select the inverse secondary transform matrix on the basis of the selection of a primary transform matrix.
Claim 26 - he inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to apply no secondary transform dependent on a primary transform matrix being a predetermined character.
Claim 6 - the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to apply no secondary transform dependent on a primary transform matrix being a predetermined character.
Claim 27 - the predetermined character of the primary transform matrix comprises that it be derived as an integer approximation of a discrete cosine transform used in the horizontal and vertical directions.
Claim 7 - the predetermined character of the primary transform matrix comprises that it be derived as an integer approximation of a discrete cosine transform used in the horizontal and vertical directions.
Claim 28 - the discrete cosine transform is DCT2.
Claim 8 - the discrete cosine transform is DCT2.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, because claims 21-28 of the instant application differs from claims 1-8 of US 12,368,850 B2 only in wordings, wherein each pair of corresponding claims have the same claim scope. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent art at the time of the invention to recognize that such distinction in wordings does not change the recited claim scope.
Claims 29-35 are directed to a method of decoding encoded transformed residual information for a block of a frame of video, the method comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 21-28, and are non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “inverse transform module … cause(s)” in claim 21-26, “intra-prediction module … cause” in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-24 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (WO 2017058615 A1) in view of Zhao’2 (WO 2017058614 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Zhao discloses a decoder for decoding an encoded bitstream representative of a block of a frame of video, the decoder comprising (Zhao; Fig. 6, 9, Para. [0210]. A decoding system/method is used to perform a decoding process, see Para. [0130].):
an inverse transform module comprising executable instructions that cause one or more processors to: determine a set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices, select an inverse secondary transform matrix from the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices based on a signal received on the encoded bitstream (Zhao; Fig. 6, Para. [0102, 123]. An inverse transform includes an inverse primary transform matrix and an inverse secondary transform matrix, wherein the inverse secondary transform matrix is determined from a set of transform matrix in accordance with a current block characteristic of quantized coefficient, including a number of non-zero coefficients, also see Para. [0124].),
apply an inverse matrix transformation to the transformed residual information, to extract untransformed residual information (Zhao; Fig. 6. Para. [0130]. An inverse matrix transformation is applied to a transformed residual block to obtain an untransformed residual block.), the inverse matrix transformation being governed by an inverse secondary transform matrix and an inverse primary transform matrix; and
an intra-prediction module comprising executable instructions that cause the one or more processors to compute a prediction of the block in accordance with an intra-prediction mode and reconstructing the block by combining the inverse transformed residual data with the prediction (Zhao; Para. [0120]. A predictive block (inter or intra) is determined to be summed with an inverse transformed residual block for performing reconstruction.).
But Zhao does not specifically disclose determine a set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices on the basis of a characteristic of the block to be decoded, wherein determining the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices comprises determining a candidate number, the candidate number determining how many candidate inverse secondary transform matrices are to be determined in the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices, the candidate number being determined on the basis of the characteristic of the block, wherein the characteristic comprises non-zero coefficients contained in the block.
However, Zhao’2 teaches determine a set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices on the basis of a characteristic of the block to be decoded, wherein determining the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices comprises determining a candidate number, the candidate number determining how many candidate inverse secondary transform matrices are to be determined in the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices, the candidate number being determined on the basis of the characteristic of the block, wherein the characteristic comprises non-zero coefficients contained in the block (Zhao’2; Para. [0163]. An available range of index/a candidate number is determined for indicating how many candidate inverse secondary transform matrices available in the set of transform matrices in accordance with a characteristics of how many non-zero coefficients contained in a block, wherein for a candidate number being 0 for the second transform not being applied, and a candidate number being greater than 0 for the second transform being applied according to whether a total number of non-zero coefficients being greater than a threshold or not..).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Zhao to adapt a transform matrix selection approach, by incorporating Zhao’2’s teaching wherein a number of non-zero coefficients are used to determine a set of candidate transforms, for the motivation to perform secondary transform on video blocks (Zhao’2; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 22, modified Zhao further teaches the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to determine the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices on the basis of whether the block comprises chrominance data or luminance data (Zhao; Para. [0157]. A current block characteristics includes chrominance data or luminance data.).
Regarding claim 23, modified Zhao further teaches the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to determine the set of candidate inverse secondary transform matrices on the basis of a dimensional characteristic of the block (Zhao; Para. [0124]. A current block characteristic includes a block characteristics of dimension/size.).
Regarding claim 24, modified Zhao further teaches wherein the dimensional characteristic comprises at least one of height or width of the block (Zhao; Para. [0124]. A current block characteristic includes a block characteristics of dimension/size of height and/or width).
Claims 29-31 are directed to a method of decoding encoded transformed residual information for a block of a frame of video, the method comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 21-24, and are non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason as previously indicated.
Claims 25-28 and 32-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (WO 2017058615 A1) in view of Zhao’2 (WO 2017058614 A1), as applied to claim 42 above, and further in view of Abe (“CE6: AMT and NSST complexity reduction (CE6-3.3)”, 07/10/2018).
Regarding claim 25, modified Zhao further teaches the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to select the inverse secondary transform matrix on the basis (Zhao; See remarks regarding claim 42 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to select the inverse secondary transform matrix on the basis of the selection of a primary transform matrix.
However, Abe teaches the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to select the inverse secondary transform matrix on the basis of the selection of a primary transform matrix (Abe; Heading “2 Proposed Method”. A secondary transform matrix is determined in accordance with the determining/selecting of a primary transform matrix.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the video coding system of modified Zhao to adapt a transform matrix selection approach, by incorporating Abe’s teaching wherein DCT2 is used to determine whether AMT and/or NSST is used, for the motivation to reduce coding complexity by skipping some combinations of AMT and NSST (Abe; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 26, modified Zhao further teaches the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to select the secondary transform matrix on the basis (Zhao; See remarks regarding claim 42 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to apply no secondary transform dependent on a primary transform matrix being a predetermined character.
However, Abe teaches the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to apply no secondary transform dependent on a primary transform matrix being a predetermined character (Abe; Heading “2 Proposed Method”. A secondary transform matrix is determined in accordance with the determining/selecting of a primary transform matrix being a predetermined character, e.g. DCT2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the video coding system of modified Zhao to adapt a transform matrix selection approach, by incorporating Abe’s teaching wherein DCT2 is used to determine whether AMT and/or NSST is used, for the motivation to reduce coding complexity by skipping some combinations of AMT and NSST (Abe; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 27, Zhao discloses the inverse transform module further causes the one or more processors to select the secondary transform matrix on the basis (Zhao; See remarks regarding claim 42 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose wherein the predetermined character of the primary transform matrix comprises that it be derived as an integer approximation of a discrete cosine transform used in the horizontal and vertical directions.
However, Abe teaches wherein the predetermined character of the primary transform matrix comprises that it be derived as an integer approximation of a discrete cosine transform used in the horizontal and vertical directions (Abe; Heading “2 Proposed Method”. A secondary transform matrix is determined in accordance with the determining/selecting of a primary transform matrix being a predetermined character, e.g. DCT2 as an integer approximation of discrete cosine transform for vertical and horizontal directions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding system of Zhao to adapt a transform matrix selection approach, by incorporating Abe’s teaching wherein DCT2 is used to determine whether AMT and/or NSST is used, for the motivation to reduce coding complexity by skipping some combinations of AMT and NSST (Abe; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 28, Abe of modified Zhao further teaches wherein the discrete cosine transform is DCT2 (Abe; Heading “2 Proposed Method”. A secondary transform matrix is determined in accordance with the determining/selecting of a primary transform matrix being a predetermined character, e.g. DCT2 as an integer approximation of discrete cosine transform for vertical and horizontal directions.).
Claims 32-35 are directed to a method of decoding encoded transformed residual information for a block of a frame of video, the method comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claims 25-28, and are non-patentable over the prior art for the same reason previously indicated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang (US Pub. 20230037443 A1) teaches a video coding system that uses enhanced secondary transform.
Fan (US Pat. 11575901 B2) teaches a video coding system that uses context modeling for side information for reduced secondary transform.
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485