DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klamm (5,746,495).
With respect to claim 1, Klamm photographic and video light (Fig. 1; *note that with the ubiquitous nature of cameras in phones, nearly any light is reasonably interpreted as a photographic/video light), comprising: a light head module (10), comprising a first housing (12) and a light source assembly (22), wherein an end of the first housing is an open end (23), and an end of the first housing opposite to the open end is set as an installation end (34), the light source assembly is provided in the first housing (Fig. 1), and light emitted by the light source assembly is emitted from the open end of the first housing (Fig. 1); an optical module (81), comprising a second housing (82) and a light effect lens (100) provided inside the second housing (Figs. 1 and 3), wherein the second housing is provided at the open end of the first housing (Fig. 1), two ends of the second housing are a light inlet and a light outlet respectively (Figs. 1 and 3), the light emitted by the light source assembly enters the second housing from the light inlet and is emitted from the light outlet through the light effect lens (Fig. 3); and a power supply module (column 2, lines 23-46), comprising a third housing (38), wherein an end (36) of the third housing is detachably connected to the installation end of the first housing (Fig. 1), and when an end of the third housing is docked with the installation end of the light head module, the power supply module is electrically connected to the light head module for supplying power to the light source assembly (column 2, lines 23-46), and the first housing, the second housing, and the third housing form a complete housing of the photographic and video light (Figs. 1-3).
As for claim 2, Klamm teaches wherein a snap or a snap slot (column 2, lines 39-42) is provided at the installation end of the first housing (Fig. 1), and a snap slot or a snap (44) is provided at the end of the third housing (Fig. 1), and when the snap of the power supply module is snapped in the snap slot of the light head module (Fig. 1 and column 2, lines 39-42), or the snap of the light head module is snapped in the snap slot of the power supply module, the light head module and the power supply module are detachably docked (column 2, lines 23-46).
As for claim 8, Klamm teaches wherein the light head module further comprises a first terminal provided on the first housing (column 2, lines 36-39), and the power supply module comprises a second terminal (40); when the power supply module is connected to the light head module, the second terminal is docked and electrically connected with the first terminal, to make the power supply module supplies power to the light head module; and wherein the power supply module comprises a battery provided in the third housing, and the end of the third housing is detachably connected to the installation end (column 2, lines 23-46 and Fig. 1).
As for claim 9, Klamm teaches wherein the first terminal comprises a plurality of connection pieces spaced apart (column 2, lines 36-39 and Fig. 1), the second terminal (40) comprises a plurality of connection grooves spaced apart (Fig. 1), and the plurality of connection pieces are correspondingly inserted into the plurality of connection grooves one by one, to make the power supply module electrically connect with the light source assembly (column 2, lines 36-39 and Fig. 1).
As for claim 10, Klamm teaches wherein the end of the second housing (81) provided with the light inlet (84) is detachably provided at the open end (23), so that the light emitted by the light source assembly passes through the light effect lens to generate a light effect and then is emitted from the light outlet (Figs. 1 and 3).
As for claim 11, Klamm teaches wherein the end of the second housing provided with the light inlet is movably sleeved on the open end, to make the second housing movable along an axial direction of the first housing, to make the light effect lens far away from or close to the light source assembly (Figs. 1 and 3).
As for claim 12, Klamm teaches further comprising a connection assembly, wherein the connection assembly comprises a first connection portion (99) provided on an outer side of the first housing (Figs. 1 and 3) and a second connection portion (98) provided on an outer side of the second housing (Figs. 1 and 3); and when the end of the second housing is docked with the end of the first housing, the first connection portion is adaptively connected with the second connection portion (Figs. 1 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klamm.
With respect to claim 3, Klamm teaches all of the claimed elements, as is discussed above, as well as teaching wherein the snap (44) is provided at the installation end of the third housing (38), and the snap is movable in a first direction relative to the first housing to disengage from the snap slot (column 2, lines 39-42) of the first housing (Fig. 1); the power supply module (column 2, lines 23-46) further comprises a pressure plate (surface of 42) and a pusher (42), and the pressure plate is provided inside the third housing (38), an end of the snap is fixed on the pressure plate (Fig. 1), and another end of the snap protrudes from the third housing for snapping with the snap slot (Fig. 1); an end of the pusher abuts against an end of the pressure plate (Fig. 1), and another end of the pusher protrudes from the third housing (Fig. 1); and the pusher is pushed to move in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, the end of the pusher pushes the pressure plate to move in the first direction, to make the snap disengage from the snap slot (Fig. 1).
Although Klamm teaches the snap is provided on the third housing/the power supply module and the snap slot is provided on the first housing/the light head module, it has been held that a mere reversal of parts is an obvious expedient. See In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to reverse the snap from the third housing/the power supply module to the first housing/the light head module while reversing the snap slot from the first housing/the light head module to the third housing/the power supply module, in order to provide more surface area for placement of the pressure plate/pusher (Fig. 1 of Klamm).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klamm in view of Hopkins et al. (11,732,847).
With respect to claim 7, Klamm teaches all of the claimed elements, as is discussed above, as well as teaching wherein the light head module further comprises a first connector (column 2, lines 39-42) provided at the installation end, and the power supply module further comprises a second connector (44) provided inside the third housing corresponding to the end of the power supply module (Fig. 1); and the power supply module is detachably provided at the installation end by fixing of the first connector and the second connector (Fig. 1).
Klamm does not explicitly teach wherein the connectors are magnets (claim 7).
As for claim 7, Hopkins also drawn to lights, teaches connectors are magnets (438).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use the magnets of Hopkins in the first and second connectors of Klamm, in order to provide easy attachment, detachment, and alignment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claims 4-5, the prior art does not teach or suggest wherein an end surface of the pressure plate for abutting against the pusher is a first inclined surface, and an end surface of the pusher for abutting against the pressure plate is a second inclined surface; and the first inclined surface is attached to the second inclined surface, and when the pusher moves in the second direction, the second inclined surface moves along the first inclined surface to push the pressure plate to move in the first direction; along with the other limiting elements of claims 1-4.
As for claim 6, the prior art does not teach or suggest wherein the light head module further comprises at least two flanges spaced apart and protruding from the first housing, an inner wall of each flange and an end surface of the first housing enclose to form the installation end, and the snap is provided between two flanges; the power supply module comprises a fixing portion protruding from the end of the third housing, an edge of an end surface of the third housing extends outward beyond the fixing portion, and the snap slot is opened in the fixing portion; and the fixing portion is detachably accommodated in the first housing, and an end of each flange abuts against the edge of the end surface of the third housing; along with the other limiting elements of claims 1, 2, and 6.
As for claims 13-14, the prior art does not teach or suggest wherein the first connection portion movably penetrates through a side wall of the first housing, the first connection portion is movable along a radial direction of the first housing, the first connection portion is configured as a pin, the second connection portion is recessed on the outer side of the second housing to form a groove, the groove extends along an axial direction of the second housing, and the pin is movable along an extension direction of the groove to make the optical module move in an axial direction of the light head module; along with the other limiting elements of claims 1, 10, 12, and 13.
As for claim 15, the prior art does not teach or suggest wherein the first connection portion is a thread flange, and the second connection portion is a spiral groove; the thread flange extends outward from the outer side of the first housing along a radial direction of the first housing, and the spiral groove is recessed on an inner side of the second housing and extends toward an axial direction of the second housing; and an outer end of the thread flange is extendable into the spiral groove and move relatively in the spiral groove to make the optical module move in an axial direction of the light head module; along with the other limiting elements of claims 1, 10, 12, and 15.
As for claims 16-20, the prior art does not teach or suggest wherein the power supply module comprises an adapter assembly and a power adapter connected with the adapter assembly; the adapter assembly is provided in the third housing and comprises an adapter circuit board and a first conductive connection portion, and the first conductive connection portion is electrically connected with the adapter circuit board; and the power adapter is configured for connecting with an external commercial power, an end of the power adapter is provided with a second conductive connection portion, the second conductive connection portion is detachably and electrically connected with the first conductive connection portion, and the power supply module is connected to a light holder or a commercial power socket to supply power to the light head module; along with the other limiting elements of claims 1 and 16.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J CARTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 1/10/2026