DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,032,622. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are an obvious variant of each other.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,032,622
Claim 21:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a server and from a user device, one or more payloads associated with respective one or more source files of reality capture data corresponding to one or more regions of interest, each payload including metadata of a corresponding source file;
classifying, by the server, each of the one or more source files of the reality capture data into an asset class that identifies a type of digital reality capture asset to be generated based on the source file, based on the payload including the metadata of the source file; and
providing, by the server and to the user device, information identifying the asset class of each source file to permit a digital reality capture asset, corresponding to the asset class, of a corresponding region of interest to be generated based on the source file, wherein the user device is configured to update or modify the information identifying the asset class or the corresponding source file based on the information identifying the asset class provided from the server.
Claim 1:
A method for classifying a set of source files of reality capture data into an asset class of digital reality capture assets, the method comprising:
receiving, by a server and from a user device, a set of payloads including metadata of the set of source files of the reality capture data corresponding to a region of interest captured by a camera;
classifying, by the server, the set of source files of the reality capture data into the asset class that identifies a type of digital reality capture asset to be generated based on the set of source files, based on the set of payloads including the metadata of the set of source files of the reality capture data; and
providing, by the server and to the user device, information identifying the asset class of the digital reality capture assets to which the set of source files are classified to permit a digital reality capture asset, corresponding to the asset class, of the region of interest to be generated based on the set of source files, wherein the information identifying the asset class includes an instruction for the user device to automatically update the source files to include the information identifying the asset class of the digital reality capture assets to which the set of source files are classified.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the same limitations. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to omit the additional elements " automatically update the source files to include the information identifying the asset class of the digital reality capture assets to which the set of source files are classified " of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,032,622 to arrive at the claims 21-40 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. "Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before." See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Regarding Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes (from 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance), claims 1-20 are directed to the statutory category of a method, device, and non-transitory computer-readable medium.
Regarding step 2A-1, Claims 21, 28, and 35 recite a Judicial Exception. Exemplary independent claim 21 and similarly claims 28 and 35 recite the limitations of
receiving, by a server and from a user device, one or more payloads associated with respective one or more source files of reality capture data corresponding to one or more regions of interest, each payload including metadata of a corresponding source file; classifying, by the server, each of the one or more source files of the reality capture data into an asset class that identifies a type of digital reality capture asset to be generated based on the source file, based on the payload including the metadata of the source file; and providing, by the server and to the user device, information identifying the asset class of each source file to permit a digital reality capture asset, corresponding to the asset class, of a corresponding region of interest to be generated based on the source file, wherein the user device is configured to update or modify the information identifying the asset class or the corresponding source file based on the information identifying the asset class provided from the server.
These limitations as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation cover concepts of receiving/analyzing/presenting data. The claim limitations fall under the abstract idea grouping of mental process, because the limitations can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper. For example but for the language of a processor and memory, the claim language encompasses receiving a set of payloads including metadata corresponding to an area of interest captured by a camera (i.e. human viewing images taken by a camera writes down metadata on paper, thus creating source files), classifying the source files (i.e. human mind classifies the files into categories), providing the classification information (Human writes the classification down on paper and presents it to another individual). The act of receiving data, classifying data, and providing the classification has been around for the technological age.
It is clear the limitations recite these abstract idea groupings, but for the recitations of generic computer components. The mere nominal recitations of generic computer components does not take the limitations out of the mental process and certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. The claims are focused on the combination of these abstract idea processes.
Regarding step 2A-2- This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, and the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The claim recites the additional elements of processor and memory. These components are recited at a high level of generality, and merely automate the steps. Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components or software. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Further, the claims do not provide for recite any improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field; applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition; applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; or applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The dependent claims have the same deficiencies as its parent claims 21, 28, and 35 as being directed towards an abstract idea, as the dependent claim merely narrow the scope of its parent claim.
Regarding step 2B the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because:
Claim 21-23, 28-30, 35-37 recites digital reality capture assets, user device, a camera, payloads
Claim 24, 31, and 38 recites an unmanned aerial vehicle
Claim 28-40 recites a processor and memory
When looking at these additional elements individually, the additional elements are purely functional and generic, the applicant specifications states a general purpose computer as seen in para [0030]-[0038].
When looking at the additional elements in combination, the applicant’s specification merely states a general purpose computer as seen in para [0030]-[0038]. The computer components add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. See MPEP 2106.05
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination and individually adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use generic computer components, recitations of generic computer structure to perform generic computer functions that are used to "apply" the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-26, 28-33, and 35-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Speasl et al (US 2020/0184706 A1).
As to claims 21, 28, and 35, Speasl teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a server and from a user device, one or more payloads associated with respective one or more source files of reality capture data corresponding to one or more regions of interest, each payload including metadata of a corresponding source file (Speasl discloses media asset data, such as images are captured by a camera on a sensor payload device. The sensor payload device also generates and/or extracts metadata (e.g., EXIF metadata) corresponding to this captured media asset, for example identifying the sensor payload device and/or the UAV, a timestamp of capture, a date of capture, an author or owner of the sensor payload device and/or UAV, and any other metadata. See [0087]-[0090]);
classifying, by the server, each of the one or more source files of the reality capture data into an asset class that identifies a type of digital reality capture asset to be generated based on the source file, based on the payload including the metadata of the source file (Speasl discloses The image and/or sensor data may be categorized (i.e. classifying) at a step (e.g., for example based on type of media, time, location, other metadata associated with capture of the digital media, or some combination thereof) in [0090]); and
providing, by the server and to the user device, information identifying the asset class of each source file to permit a digital reality capture asset, corresponding to the asset class, of a corresponding region of interest to be generated based on the source file, wherein the user device is configured to update or modify the information identifying the asset class or the corresponding source file based on the information identifying the asset class provided from the server (Speasl discloses digital media data is certified and sent to servers which store, verify, file, organize, and publish the certified digital media data so that the certified digital media data is made accessible through the internet to client devices. See [0090]-[0092]).
As to claims 22, 29, and 36, Speasl teaches clustering the set of payloads into a cluster based on the metadata, wherein the classifying the set of source files comprises classifying the set of source files based on clustering the set of payloads into the cluster (Speasl disclose categorizing (i.e. clustering) image and/or sensor data based on metadata in [0090].).
As to claims 23, 30, and 37, Speasl teaches validating the set of source files based on classifying the set of source files into the asset class (Speasl discloses that after the image and/or sensor data is categorized, a public key is generated for the media asset, which can be verified in order to determine if it has changed in [0087].).
As to claims 24, 31, and 38, Speasl teaches the set of source files are generated by the camera of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (See [0003], [0004], [0087].).
As to claim 25, 32, and 39, Speasl teaches the metadata includes at least one of a latitude, a longitude, an altitude, a time stamp, an identifier of a camera, an identifier of an unmanned aerial vehicle, an identifier of a vehicle, a number of pixels, a pixel height, a pixel width, an aspect ratio, a file type, a flight identifier, a job identifier, a region of interest identifier, an entity identifier, an operator identifier, a user identifier, or a customer identifier (See [0088]).
As to claim 26, 33, and 40, Speasl teaches the asset class includes a panorama, a walkthrough, a progress photo, a progress video, a raw file, a pre-processed panorama, an orthomosaic, a thermal capture, a multi-spectral image, a slant range image, or a facade capture (Speasl discloses the UAV coupled to the sensor payload device travels along a path about the property in [0057]. See also [0050] for flight path of building.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speasl et al (US 2020/0184706 A1) in view of Venkiteswaran et al (US 20230188577 A1).
As to claim 27 and 34, Speasl fails to teach the set of payloads includes less data than the set of source files.
However, Venkiteswaran teaches the set of payloads includes less data than the set of source files (Venkiteswaran discloses the payload data may at least identify a particular subset of data stored by the external resource in [0160].).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the teachings of Speasl to incorporate the external content routing as taught by Venkiteswaran for the purpose of facilitating the execution of the content generation workflow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Phelan et al (US 20210221506 A1) - a method and system for generating an area of interest for unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) missions. Using radar and weather data, a mission area may be generated for flights which will maximize efficiency by pre-generating flight paths based on atmospheric and other data. The UAV may include artificial intelligence (AI) capabilities for processing imaging and other sensed data. Post-processing of the data may include additional AI training and processing.
Shoeb et al (US 20230316739 A1) - A method includes capturing, by a sensor on an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), an image of a delivery location. The method also includes determining, based on the image of the delivery location, a segmentation image. The segmentation image segments the delivery location into a plurality of pixel areas with corresponding semantic classifications. The method additionally includes determining, based on the segmentation image, a percentage of obstacle pixels within a surrounding area of a delivery point at the delivery location, wherein each obstacle pixel has a semantic classification indicative of an obstacle in the delivery location. The method further includes based on the percentage of obstacle pixels being above a threshold percentage, aborting a delivery process of the UAV.
Contact Information
/JARED M BIBBEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161