DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 were previously pending and subject to a non-final rejection dated April 22, 2026. In Response, submitted July 22, 2026, claims 1, 3-5, and 7-12 were amended, and claims 2, 6, and 13-16 were cancelled. Therefore, claims 1, 3-5, and 7-12 are currently pending and subject to the following final rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks on Page 10 of the Response regarding the previous objection of claims 4 and 8, have been fully considered and these objections are withdrawn in light of the amended claims.
Applicant’s remarks on Pages 11-12 of the Response, regarding the previous rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101, have been fully considered and are not found persuasive.
On Page 12 of the Response, Applicant argues “Applicant submits that claim 1, as amended, is directed to a practical application and is not directed an abstract idea because the claim recites the feature, ‘to output the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management.’ The claimed invention does not merely output registration state information. By using the version number of the state transition rule, it improves the consistency of state transitions in product distribution and enhances the reliability of traceability management. Further, the features recited in claim 1, as amended, are not well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry since such features are not disclosed or suggested in any of the prior art of record and provide an improvement significantly more than a mere abstract idea. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1, as amended, and for the same reasons claims 5, and 9-12, as amended, together with claims dependent thereon, comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. §101. Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection are respectfully requested.”
Examiner notes, as discussed further in the detailed rejection below, “output[ting] the registration state information registered … for product traceability management” is a recitation of the abstract idea and unhelpful in bringing the claims to eligibility. The additional element “state storage unit” acts merely as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and therefore only amounts to “apply it”, and fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. Further the alleged improvement to “the consistency of state transitions in product distribution and enhances the reliability of traceability management” does not improvement to any technology, but rather an alleged improvement to abstract data tracking. As noted in MPEP 2106.05(A)(II), an improvement to an abstract is not an improvement to a technology.
Examiner finally notes, “well-understood, routine, and conventional” is a single test available to Examiner when determining eligibility of the claims at Step 2B. This test is not utilized as a basis for rejection in either the detailed rejection below, or the previous Office Action. Therefore, this argument is moot.
Applicant’s remarks on Pages 12-13 of the Response, regarding the previous rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered but are not found persuasive.
On Pages 12-13 of the Response, Applicant argues “Applicant has amended the claims by further reciting, ‘a state transition management system including both a private state transition management apparatus and a public state transition management apparatus.’ This feature is not disclosed or suggested in any of the cited art. Therefore, for at least the reasons discussed above, Applicant respectfully submits that Applicant's claims 1, 5 and 9-12, as amended, together with claims dependent thereon, are patentable over the cited art. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are respectfully requested.
Examiner notes, Goode discloses a server, such as disclosed in Goode Para. 65, acts within the system of Goode as the public state transition management apparatus. Additionally, Goode contemplates system operated by the user to perform processes, such as process 400 and in communication with the server in a client-server model as depicted in Goode Fig. 7 and Para. 65. This user/client system acts as the private state transition management apparatus within the larger system. Therefore, Goode in view of Matsunaga teaches the feature “a state transition management system including both a private state transition management apparatus and a public state transition management apparatus”.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Limitation 1 of claims 9-12 recites “a state transition management system comprising a private state transition management apparatus, which includes processing circuitry, and a private state transition management apparatus”. The limitation appears to errantly recite “a private state transition management apparatus” twice. While this does not create antecedent issues with any later recitations, it appears inconsistent with the similar limitations mirrored in each of the prior claims. It appears that the limitation should recite “a state transition management system comprising a private state transition management apparatus, which includes processing circuitry, and a public state transition management apparatus”, additionally limitation 9 of claim 9 should be amended accordingly. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9, limitation 3 recites “in product distribution,;” and should recite “in product distribution[[,]];” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10, limitation 6 recites “wherein.” and should recite “wherein[[.]]”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10, limitation 8 and claim 11, limitation 7 recite “transmits the received state registration information to the public state transition management apparatus”. As currently recited there is no antecedent basis for “the public state transition management apparatus”. As currently claimed, these limitations should recite “a public state transition management apparatus”, however the correction discussed above regarding limitation 1 of claims 10 and 11 would also resolve this objection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are directed to a system(i.e., a machine); claims 5, 7, and 8 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine); claim 9 is directed to a method (i.e., a process); claim 10 is directed to a method (i.e., a process); claim 11 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium (i.e., a machine); claim 12 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claims 1, 3-5, and 7-12 all fall within the one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One
Independent claim 1 substantially recites receiving a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution, and receiving state registration information that indicates a new state of the product, a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state, and a version number of a state transition to the new state;
when the received state transition rule is a rule for registration, setting an initial version number for each of one or more state transitions in the series of state transitions, as an event, and registering the set rule for registration;
selecting a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information, and to determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information is set among states in the selected state transition rule, is consistent with the new state in the state registration information;
when it is determined that the state registration is possible, registering registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information; and
outputting the registration state information registered for product traceability management,
receiving state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and
transmitting the received state registration information and when determined that the state registration is possible, registering the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information.
Independent claims 5 and 10 substantially recite receiving state registration information that indicates a new state of a product, a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state, and a version number of a state transition to the new state;
selecting, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information, and determining that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information is set among states in the selected state transition rule, is consistent with the new state in the state registration information;
when it is determined that the state registration is possible, registering registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information; and
outputting the registration state information registered for product traceability management,
receiving state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and
transmitting the received state registration information, and when determined that the state registration is possible, registering the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information.
Independent claim 9 substantially recites receiving a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution;
when the received state transition rule is a rule for registration, setting an initial version number for each of one or more state transitions in the series of state transitions, as an event, and registering the set rule for registration;
receiving state registration information that indicates a new state of the product, a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state, and a version number of a state transition to the new state;
selecting a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information, and determining that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information is set among states in the selected state transition rule, is consistent with the new state in the state registration information;
when it is determined that the state registration is possible, registering registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information, and
outputting the registration state information registered for product traceability management,
receiving state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and
transmitting the received state registration information and when determined that the state registration is possible, registering the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information.
Independent claim 11 substantially recites a reception process receiving a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution, and receiving state registration information that indicates a new state of a product, a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state, and a version number of a state transition to the new state;
a rule registration process, when the received state transition rule is a rule for registration, setting an initial version number for each of one or more state transitions in the series of state transitions, as an event, and registering the set rule for registration;
a state verification process selecting a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information, and to determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information is set among states in the selected state transition rule, is consistent with the new state in the state registration information;
a state registration process, when it is determined that the state registration is possible, registering registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information; and
an outputting process outputting the registration state information registered to for product traceability management,
receiving state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and
transmitting the received state registration information, and when determined that the state registration is possible, registering the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information.
Independent claim 12 substantially recites a reception process receiving a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution, and receiving state registration information that indicates a new state of a product, a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state, and a version number of a state transition to the new state;
a state verification process selecting a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information, and to determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information is set among states in the selected state transition rule, is consistent with the new state in the state registration information;
a state registration process, when it is determined that the state registration is possible, registering registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information; and
an outputting process outputting the registration state information registered for product traceability management, wherein
receiving state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and
transmitting the received state registration information, and when determined that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information.
The limitations stated above are processes/functions that under broadest reasonable interpretation covers “certain methods of organizing human activity” (commercial or legal interactions) product distribution state management (specification, para. 1-2). Therefore, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1, 5, and 9-12 as a whole amount to: (i) merely invoking generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea or “apply it” (or an equivalent). The claim recites the additional elements of: (i) processing circuitry (claims 1, 5, 9-12), (ii) a rule storage unit (claims 1, 5, 9-12), (iii) a state storage unit (claims 1, 5, 9-12), (iv) a state transition management system (claims 1, 5, 9-12), (v) a private state transition management apparatus (claims 1, 5, 9-12), (vi) a public state transition management apparatus (claims 1, 5, 9-12), (vii) a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a state transition management program (claims 11, 12), and (viii) a computer (claims 11, 12).
The additional elements of (i) processing circuitry, (ii) a rule storage unit, and (iii) a state storage unit, (iv) a state transition management system, (v) a private state transition management apparatus, (vi) a public state transition management apparatus, (vii) a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a state transition management program, and (viii) a computer are recited at a high level of generality (see [0015] of the Applicant’s Specification discussing the processing circuitry, [0024] discussing the rule storage unit, the state storage unit, the state transition management system, [0092]-[0093] discussing the private state transition management apparatus and public state transition management apparatus, [0016]-[0017] and [0023] discussing the non-transitory computer readable medium storing a state transition management program, and [0014] discussing the computer) such that, when viewed as whole/ordered combination, it amounts to no more than mere instruction to apply the judicial exception using generic computer components or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, these additional elements, when viewed as a whole/ordered combination [See Figures 1 and 2 showing all the additional elements (i) processing circuitry, (ii) a rule storage unit, and (iii) a state storage unit, (iv) a state transition management system, (v) a private state transition management apparatus, (vi) a public state transition management apparatus, (vii) a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a state transition management program, and (viii) a computer in combination], do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements amount to no more than: (i) “apply it” (or an equivalent), and are not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) merely invoking the generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claims adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1, 5, and 9-12 are ineligible.
Dependent Claims 3, 4, 7, and 8 merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations. For reasons described above with respect to claims 1 and 5 these judicial exceptions are not meaningfully integrated into a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, claims 3, 4, 7, and 8 are also ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goode (US 20180189096) (hereafter Goode) in view of Matsunaga (US 20130332211) (hereafter Matsunaga).
In regards to claim 1, Goode discloses a state transition management system comprising, a private state transition management apparatus, and a public state transition management apparatus, wherein the private state transition management apparatus comprises processing circuitry: to receive a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution, and to receive state registration information that indicates a new state of the product, a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state, and a version number of a state transition to the new state; (Para. 15, 18, 21, 34-38, 65) (“a non-transitory machine-readable medium including a plurality of machine-readable instructions which when executed by one or more processors associated with a server cause the processors to perform a method.” “Each of state 110 and/or state 120 may correspond to various stages and/or checkpoints in a complex process as is described in further detail below. … a state transition 130 between state 110 and state 120 (i.e. a state transition rule) … State transition 130 (i.e. a state transition rule) is depicted as a directed arrow indicating that state transition 130 describes a state transition from state 110 (e.g., the starting or from state) to state 120 (e.g., the ending or to state). State transition 130 (i.e. a state transition rule) further includes several tasks (i.e. Indicates a series of state transitions) 141-149 that describe the preconditions to be satisfied before state transition 130 may be used to transition state machine 100 from state 110 to state 120.” “a state machine may be usable to model a logistics process, such as one found to support expediting of a shipment. Each of the states in the state machine may correspond to various planning stages for the shipment and/or actual shipping steps or stages as the shipment is handled (i.e. a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution).” “processes 410-460 of method 400 are generally described below as if they are being performed by a user as an agent via, for example, a graphical user interface (i.e. a private state transition management apparatus) … At a process 410, an existing state machine is selected (i.e. receive a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions) … the state machine to be edited may be selected … At a process 440, an existing task from a state transition is selected or a new task is added to a state transition (i.e. a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state). Similar to process 430, the user may be presented with a list of tasks associated with the state transition selected and/or created during process 430 and/or a graphical depiction of the tasks in the various state transitions may be displayed (similar to FIG. 1) from which the user may select an existing task or choose to add a new task (i.e. a new state of the product) to the corresponding state transition. Values for the various task fields are then entered and/or edited through a suitable dialog. In the examples of FIG. 2, the user may be prompted to enter and/or edit values (i.e. receive state registration information) for one or more of the Agent field (e.g., by picking from a list of known agents), the Skippable field (e.g., the selecting or unselecting a check box), and the AutoAssignee field (e.g., by picking form a list of know agents). One or more of the TaskID, Version (i.e. version number of the state a state transition to the new state), Transition, Schema, or Form fields may be automatically assigned by the dashboard, design environment, creation studio, and/or API. … when a new task (i.e. new state) is created, it is assigned a new TaskID value and a Version number of 1 and when an existing task is edited, its Version number is updated to the next available version number.” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. … One such remote agent may be located on client (i.e. a private state transition management apparatus) 760, which is coupled to server 710 via a network 770.” That is, the system used by the user to operate the system to indicate a task event or perform method 400 prior to publishing is the private state transition management apparatus, the server is the public state transition management apparatus, and the association of the task to the selected state transition is the rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state.)
Goode discloses when the received state transition rule is a rule for registration, to set an initial version number for each of one or more state transitions in the series of state transitions, as an event, and to register the set rule for registration to a rule storage unit; (Para 35-38) (“a new state machine is created … as part of … the state machine, the user may also be provided with one or more dialogs for creating and/or manipulating the data fields associated with state machine and to be recorded in a corresponding schema (i.e. when the received state transition rule is a rule for registration). In some examples, the creation and/or manipulation of these fields may include selecting, adding, or deleting data fields; naming or renaming the data fields; selecting a type for the data fields; defining range and/or other validation constraints for the data fields, and/or the like. As the state machine is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state machine definition record is created and stored (i.e. to register the set rule for registration to a rule storage unit) … Values for the various state fields are then entered and/or edited through a suitable dialog. In some examples, a state name is entered and/or edited for the Name field and optionally an order for the state is entered and/or edited for the Order field. In some embodiments, process 420 may further include an ability to rearrange the state machine by changing an order of the state machine by moving states and/or state transitions between the states. … a new state transition is created … a new task is added to a state transition … when a new task is created, it is assigned a new TaskID value and a Version number of 1 (i.e. when the received state transition rule is a rule for registration, to set an initial version number for each of one or more state transitions in the series of state transitions)” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400” That is, when a new state machine (i.e. state transition rule) is created and tasks (i.e. state transitions) are created within the creation of the new state, these newly created tasks for the state machine receive the version number of 1, and these tasks and their order are grouped together (i.e. to set an initial version number for each of one or more state transitions in the series of state transitions, as an event) are saved as a stored instance of a state machine definition record (i.e. to register the set rule for registration to a rule storage unit).)
Goode discloses to select from the rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information, and (Para. 36, 64) (“an existing state from the state machine is selected … the user may be presented with a list of states and/or a graphical depiction of the state machine (similar to FIG. 1) from which the user may select an existing state (i.e. to select from the rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information) or choose to create a new state. … As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated (i.e. to select from the rule storage unit).” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400”)
Goode discloses when it is determined that the state registration is possible, to register registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information to a state storage unit; and (Para. 26, 36, 64) (“And although not expressly shown, each of the data fields may also have one or more validations that govern possible values for the data in the corresponding field. For example, a numeric field may include a validation to ensure that any recorded data value is within an acceptable range, a string field may include a validation … one or more complex validations may additionally and/or alternatively used where values of one data field may depend on values of one or more other data fields (i.e. when it is determined that the state registration is possible).” “As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated (i.e. when it is determined that the state registration is possible, to register registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information to a state storage unit).” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400”)
Goode discloses to output the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management, wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to the public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit. (Para. 40, 65) (“At a process 460, the changes are published. Because the state machine engine is designed to keep track of the versions of the state machines (and especially the tasks), changes to the tasks, schemas, and/or forms are not finalized until published by the user to avoid creating multiple versions of the tasks that will never be used during operation of a corresponding instance of a state machine. … For each of the created and/or edited schemas and forms, new instances of corresponding schema and form definition objects are created and saved (i.e. output the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management, wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to the public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit).” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. In some examples, state machine engine 740 may provide access to one or more agents either operating locally (e.g., one or more state machine applications operating on server 710) or operating remotely.”)
Goode does not explicitly disclose, however Matsunaga, in the same field of endeavor, discloses to determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode; (Para. 61) (“when the process setting operator pushes a ‘registration’ button via the work instruction sheet client 3, the work instruction sheet server 1 performs consistency checkup in Step Sb6. In the consistency checkup, it is checked whether there is consistency (i.e. when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) … When there is some inconsistency (NO), the work instruction sheet server 1 reads an error list stored in the work instruction sheet database 2, and causes the work instruction sheet client 3 to display it, in Step Sb6. When the error list is displayed, the process setting operator returns to the Step Sb1 and restarts the selection of a operation target. On the other hand, there is consistency (YES), the work instruction sheet server 1 stores the new process setting data (i.e. determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) in the work instruction sheet database 2. Generally, in this case, the same version number as that of latest design data is assigned to the new process setting data.” That is, the system verifies the edited information (i.e. the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode with the unedited information (i.e. a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode) to ensure that the process can be registered.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the state machine management of Goode with the procedure validation of Matsunaga in order to ensure efficient operation procedure (Matsunga – Para. 97)
In regards to claim 3, Goode in view of Matsunga disclose the limitations of claim 1. Goode discloses wherein the processing circuitry receives state update information that indicates a registration state identifier, a new state, and a version number, the processing circuitry selects from the state storage unit, registration state information whose registration state identifier is the same as the registration state identifier in the state update information, selects from the rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the selected registration state information, and (Para. 36) (“At a process 420, an existing state from the state machine is selected (i.e. registration state information whose registration state identifier is the same as the registration state identifier in the state update information, selects from the rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the selected registration state information) … Values for the various state fields are then … edited through a suitable dialog (i.e. state update information that indicates a registration state identifier, a new state, and a version number).”)
Goode discloses the processing circuitry, when it is determined that the state update is possible, updates the selected registration state information based on the state update information. (Para. 36) (“As the state … fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated.”)
Goode does not explicitly disclose, however Matsunaga, in the same field of endeavor, discloses determines that state update is possible when a state transition from the latest state in the selected registration state information to the new state in the state update information is consistent with any of the state transitions for which the same version number as the version number in the state update information is set among the state transitions in the selected state transition rule, and (Para. 61) (“when the process setting operator pushes a “registration” button via the work instruction sheet client 3, the work instruction sheet server 1 performs consistency checkup in Step Sb6. In the consistency checkup, it is checked whether there is consistency (i.e. when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) … When there is some inconsistency (NO), the work instruction sheet server 1 reads an error list stored in the work instruction sheet database 2, and causes the work instruction sheet client 3 to display it, in Step Sb6. When the error list is displayed, the process setting operator returns to the Step Sb1 and restarts the selection of a operation target. On the other hand, there is consistency (YES), the work instruction sheet server 1 stores the new process setting data in the work instruction sheet database 2. Generally, in this case, the same version number as that of latest design data is assigned to the new process setting data.”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the state machine management of Goode with the procedure validation of Matsunaga in order to ensure efficient operation procedure (Matsunga – Para. 97)
In regards to claim 4, Goode in view of Matsunga disclose the limitations of claim 3. Goode discloses wherein the processing circuitry receives state update information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state update information to the public state transition management apparatus, and when it is determined that the state update is possible in both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry, updates the registration state information based on the received state update information. (Para. 36, 40, 65) (“As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated.” “At a process 460, the changes are published. Because the state machine engine is designed to keep track of the versions of the state machines (and especially the tasks), changes to the tasks, schemas, and/or forms are not finalized until published by the user to avoid creating multiple versions of the tasks that will never be used during operation of a corresponding instance of a state machine. … For each of the created and/or edited schemas and forms, new instances of corresponding schema and form definition objects are created and saved (i.e. wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to a public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit.).” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. In some examples, state machine engine 740 may provide access to one or more agents either operating locally (e.g., one or more state machine applications operating on server 710) or operating remotely.”)
In regards to claim 5, Goode discloses a state transition management system comprising, a private state transition management apparatus, and a public state transition management apparatus, wherein the private state transition management apparatus comprises processing circuitry: to receive state registration information that indicates a new state of a product, a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state, and a version number of a state transition to the new state; (Para. 15, 18, 21, 34-38, 65) (“a non-transitory machine-readable medium including a plurality of machine-readable instructions which when executed by one or more processors associated with a server cause the processors to perform a method.” “Each of state 110 and/or state 120 may correspond to various stages and/or checkpoints in a complex process as is described in further detail below. … a state transition 130 between state 110 and state 120 (i.e. a state transition rule) … State transition 130 (i.e. a state transition rule) is depicted as a directed arrow indicating that state transition 130 describes a state transition from state 110 (e.g., the starting or from state) to state 120 (e.g., the ending or to state). State transition 130 (i.e. a state transition rule) further includes several tasks (i.e. Indicates a series of state transitions) 141-149 that describe the preconditions to be satisfied before state transition 130 may be used to transition state machine 100 from state 110 to state 120.” “a state machine may be usable to model a logistics process, such as one found to support expediting of a shipment. Each of the states in the state machine may correspond to various planning stages for the shipment and/or actual shipping steps or stages as the shipment is handled (i.e. a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution).” “processes 410-460 of method 400 are generally described below as if they are being performed by a user as an agent via, for example, a graphical user interface (i.e. a private state transition management apparatus) … At a process 410, an existing state machine is selected (i.e. receive a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions) … the state machine to be edited may be selected … At a process 440, an existing task from a state transition is selected or a new task is added to a state transition (i.e. a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state). Similar to process 430, the user may be presented with a list of tasks associated with the state transition selected and/or created during process 430 and/or a graphical depiction of the tasks in the various state transitions may be displayed (similar to FIG. 1) from which the user may select an existing task or choose to add a new task (i.e. a new state of the product) to the corresponding state transition. Values for the various task fields are then entered and/or edited through a suitable dialog. In the examples of FIG. 2, the user may be prompted to enter and/or edit values (i.e. receive state registration information) for one or more of the Agent field (e.g., by picking from a list of known agents), the Skippable field (e.g., the selecting or unselecting a check box), and the AutoAssignee field (e.g., by picking form a list of know agents). One or more of the TaskID, Version (i.e. version number of the state a state transition to the new state), Transition, Schema, or Form fields may be automatically assigned by the dashboard, design environment, creation studio, and/or API. … when a new task (i.e. new state) is created, it is assigned a new TaskID value and a Version number of 1 and when an existing task is edited, its Version number is updated to the next available version number.” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. … One such remote agent may be located on client (i.e. a private state transition management apparatus) 760, which is coupled to server 710 via a network 770.” That is, the system used by the user to operate the system to indicate a task event or perform method 400 prior to publishing is the private state transition management apparatus, the server is the public state transition management apparatus, and the association of the task to the selected state transition is the rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state.)
Goode discloses to select from a rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information; (Para. 36, 64) (“an existing state from the state machine is selected … the user may be presented with a list of states and/or a graphical depiction of the state machine (similar to FIG. 1) from which the user may select an existing state (i.e. to select from the rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information) or choose to create a new state. … As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated (i.e. to select from the rule storage unit).” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400”)
Goode discloses when it is determined that the state registration is possible, to register registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information to a state storage unit, and (Para. 26, 36, 64) (“And although not expressly shown, each of the data fields may also have one or more validations that govern possible values for the data in the corresponding field. For example, a numeric field may include a validation to ensure that any recorded data value is within an acceptable range, a string field may include a validation … one or more complex validations may additionally and/or alternatively used where values of one data field may depend on values of one or more other data fields (i.e. when it is determined that the state registration is possible).” “As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated (i.e. when it is determined that the state registration is possible, to register registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information to a state storage unit).” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400”)
Goode discloses to output the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management, wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to the public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit. (Para. 40, 65) (“At a process 460, the changes are published. Because the state machine engine is designed to keep track of the versions of the state machines (and especially the tasks), changes to the tasks, schemas, and/or forms are not finalized until published by the user to avoid creating multiple versions of the tasks that will never be used during operation of a corresponding instance of a state machine. … For each of the created and/or edited schemas and forms, new instances of corresponding schema and form definition objects are created and saved (i.e. output the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management, wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to the public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit).” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. In some examples, state machine engine 740 may provide access to one or more agents either operating locally (e.g., one or more state machine applications operating on server 710) or operating remotely.”)
Goode does not explicitly disclose, however Matsunaga, in the same field of endeavor, discloses to determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information is set among states in the selected state transition rule, is consistent with the new state in the state registration information; and (Para. 61) (“when the process setting operator pushes a “registration” button via the work instruction sheet client 3, the work instruction sheet server 1 performs consistency checkup in Step Sb6. In the consistency checkup, it is checked whether there is consistency (i.e. when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) … When there is some inconsistency (NO), the work instruction sheet server 1 reads an error list stored in the work instruction sheet database 2, and causes the work instruction sheet client 3 to display it, in Step Sb6. When the error list is displayed, the process setting operator returns to the Step Sb1 and restarts the selection of a operation target. On the other hand, there is consistency (YES), the work instruction sheet server 1 stores the new process setting data (i.e. determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) in the work instruction sheet database 2. Generally, in this case, the same version number as that of latest design data is assigned to the new process setting data.” That is, the system verifies the edited information (i.e. the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode with the unedited information (i.e. a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode) to ensure that the process can be registered.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the state machine management of Goode with the procedure validation of Matsunaga in order to ensure efficient operation procedure (Matsunga – Para. 97)
In regards to claim 7, Goode in view of Matsunga disclose the limitations of claim 5. The remainder of the limitations of this claim is rejected using the same rationale as claim 3.
In regards to claim 8, Goode in view of Matsunga disclose the limitations of claim 7. The remainder of the limitations of this claim is rejected using the same rationale as claim 4.
In regards to claim 9, Goode discloses a state transition management method comprising, a state transition management system comprising a private state transition management apparatus, which includes processing circuitry, and a private state transition management apparatus, wherein the method comprises: receiving a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution,; (Para. 15, 18, 21, 65) (“a non-transitory machine-readable medium including a plurality of machine-readable instructions which when executed by one or more processors associated with a server cause the processors to perform a method.” “Each of state 110 and/or state 120 may correspond to various stages and/or checkpoints in a complex process as is described in further detail below. … a state transition 130 between state 110 and state 120 (i.e. a state transition rule) … State transition 130 (i.e. a state transition rule) is depicted as a directed arrow indicating that state transition 130 describes a state transition from state 110 (e.g., the starting or from state) to state 120 (e.g., the ending or to state). State transition 130 (i.e. a state transition rule) further includes several tasks (i.e. indicates a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution) 141-149 that describe the preconditions to be satisfied before state transition 130 may be used to transition state machine 100 from state 110 to state 120. … At a process 410, an existing state machine is selected (i.e. receive a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions)” “a state machine may be usable to model a logistics process, such as one found to support expediting of a shipment. Each of the states in the state machine may correspond to various planning stages for the shipment and/or actual shipping steps or stages as the shipment is handled (i.e. a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution).” “processes 410-460 of method 400 are generally described below as if they are being performed by a user as an agent via, for example, a graphical user interface (i.e. a private state transition management apparatus)” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. … One such remote agent may be located on client (i.e. a private state transition management apparatus) 760, which is coupled to server 710 via a network 770.”)
Goode discloses when the received state transition rule is a rule for registration, setting an initial version number for each of one or more state transitions in the series of state transitions, as an event, and registering the set rule for registration to a rule storage unit; (Para 35-38) (“a new state machine is created … as part of … the state machine, the user may also be provided with one or more dialogs for creating and/or manipulating the data fields associated with state machine and to be recorded in a corresponding schema (i.e. when the received state transition rule is a rule for registration). In some examples, the creation and/or manipulation of these fields may include selecting, adding, or deleting data fields; naming or renaming the data fields; selecting a type for the data fields; defining range and/or other validation constraints for the data fields, and/or the like. As the state machine is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state machine definition record is created and stored (i.e. to register the set rule for registration to a rule storage unit) … Values for the various state fields are then entered and/or edited through a suitable dialog. In some examples, a state name is entered and/or edited for the Name field and optionally an order for the state is entered and/or edited for the Order field. In some embodiments, process 420 may further include an ability to rearrange the state machine by changing an order of the state machine by moving states and/or state transitions between the states. … a new state transition is created … a new task is added to a state transition … when a new task is created, it is assigned a new TaskID value and a Version number of 1 (i.e. when the received state transition rule is a rule for registration, to set an initial version number for each of one or more state transitions in the series of state transitions)” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400” That is, when a new state machine (i.e. state transition rule) is created and tasks (i.e. state transitions) are created within the creation of the new state, these newly created tasks for the state machine receive the version number of 1, and these tasks and their order are grouped together (i.e. to set an initial version number for each of one or more state transitions in the series of state transitions, as an event) are saved as a stored instance of a state machine definition record (i.e. to register the set rule for registration to a rule storage unit).)
Goode discloses receiving state registration information that indicates a new state of the product, a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state, and a version number of a state transition to the new state; (Para. 18, 35-38) (“At a process 440, an existing task from a state transition is selected or a new task is added to a state transition (i.e. a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state). Similar to process 430, the user may be presented with a list of tasks associated with the state transition selected and/or created during process 430 and/or a graphical depiction of the tasks in the various state transitions may be displayed (similar to FIG. 1) from which the user may select an existing task or choose to add a new task (i.e. a new state of the product) to the corresponding state transition. Values for the various task fields are then entered and/or edited through a suitable dialog. In the examples of FIG. 2, the user may be prompted to enter and/or edit values (i.e. receive state registration information) for one or more of the Agent field (e.g., by picking from a list of known agents), the Skippable field (e.g., the selecting or unselecting a check box), and the AutoAssignee field (e.g., by picking form a list of know agents). One or more of the TaskID, Version (i.e. version number of a state transition to the new state), Transition, Schema, or Form fields may be automatically assigned by the dashboard, design environment, creation studio, and/or API. … when a new task (i.e. new state) is created, it is assigned a new TaskID value and a Version number of 1 and when an existing task is edited, its Version number is updated to the next available version number.” That is, the association of the task to the selected state transition is the rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state.)
Goode discloses selecting from the rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information, and (Para. 36, 64) (“an existing state from the state machine is selected … the user may be presented with a list of states and/or a graphical depiction of the state machine (similar to FIG. 1) from which the user may select an existing state (i.e. to select from the rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information) or choose to create a new state. … As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated (i.e. to select from the rule storage unit).” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400”)
Goode discloses when it is determined that the state registration is possible, registering registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information to a state storage unit, and (Para. 26, 36, 64) (“And although not expressly shown, each of the data fields may also have one or more validations that govern possible values for the data in the corresponding field. For example, a numeric field may include a validation to ensure that any recorded data value is within an acceptable range, a string field may include a validation … one or more complex validations may additionally and/or alternatively used where values of one data field may depend on values of one or more other data fields (i.e. when it is determined that the state registration is possible).” “As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated (i.e. when it is determined that the state registration is possible, to register registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information to a state storage unit).” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400”)
Goode discloses outputting the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management, wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to a public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit. (Para. 40, 65) (“At a process 460, the changes are published. Because the state machine engine is designed to keep track of the versions of the state machines (and especially the tasks), changes to the tasks, schemas, and/or forms are not finalized until published by the user to avoid creating multiple versions of the tasks that will never be used during operation of a corresponding instance of a state machine. … For each of the created and/or edited schemas and forms, new instances of corresponding schema and form definition objects are created and saved (i.e. output the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management, wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to the public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit).” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. In some examples, state machine engine 740 may provide access to one or more agents either operating locally (e.g., one or more state machine applications operating on server 710) or operating remotely.”)
Goode does not explicitly disclose, however Matsunaga, in the same field of endeavor, discloses determining that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information is set among states in the selected state transition rule, is consistent with the new state in the state registration information; (Para. 61) (“when the process setting operator pushes a “registration” button via the work instruction sheet client 3, the work instruction sheet server 1 performs consistency checkup in Step Sb6. In the consistency checkup, it is checked whether there is consistency (i.e. when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) … When there is some inconsistency (NO), the work instruction sheet server 1 reads an error list stored in the work instruction sheet database 2, and causes the work instruction sheet client 3 to display it, in Step Sb6. When the error list is displayed, the process setting operator returns to the Step Sb1 and restarts the selection of a operation target. On the other hand, there is consistency (YES), the work instruction sheet server 1 stores the new process setting data (i.e. determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) in the work instruction sheet database 2. Generally, in this case, the same version number as that of latest design data is assigned to the new process setting data.” That is, the system verifies the edited information (i.e. the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode with the unedited information (i.e. a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode) to ensure that the process can be registered.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the state machine management of Goode with the procedure validation of Matsunaga in order to ensure efficient operation procedure (Matsunga – Para. 97)
In regards to claim 10, Goode discloses a state transition management method comprising, a state transition management system comprising a private state transition management apparatus, which includes processing circuitry, and a private state transition management apparatus, wherein the method comprises: receiving state registration information that indicates a new state of a product, a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state, and a version number of a state transition to the new state; (Para. 15, 18, 21, 34-38, 65) (“a non-transitory machine-readable medium including a plurality of machine-readable instructions which when executed by one or more processors associated with a server cause the processors to perform a method.” “Each of state 110 and/or state 120 may correspond to various stages and/or checkpoints in a complex process as is described in further detail below. … a state transition 130 between state 110 and state 120 (i.e. a state transition rule) … State transition 130 (i.e. a state transition rule) is depicted as a directed arrow indicating that state transition 130 describes a state transition from state 110 (e.g., the starting or from state) to state 120 (e.g., the ending or to state). State transition 130 (i.e. a state transition rule) further includes several tasks (i.e. indicates a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution) 141-149 that describe the preconditions to be satisfied before state transition 130 may be used to transition state machine 100 from state 110 to state 120. … At a process 410, an existing state machine is selected (i.e. receive a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions)” “a state machine may be usable to model a logistics process, such as one found to support expediting of a shipment. Each of the states in the state machine may correspond to various planning stages for the shipment and/or actual shipping steps or stages as the shipment is handled (i.e. a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution).” ““processes 410-460 of method 400 are generally described below as if they are being performed by a user as an agent via, for example, a graphical user interface (i.e. a private state transition management apparatus) … At a process 410, an existing state machine is selected (i.e. receive a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions) … the state machine to be edited may be selected … At a process 440, an existing task from a state transition is selected or a new task is added to a state transition (i.e. a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state). Similar to process 430, the user may be presented with a list of tasks associated with the state transition selected and/or created during process 430 and/or a graphical depiction of the tasks in the various state transitions may be displayed (similar to FIG. 1) from which the user may select an existing task or choose to add a new task (i.e. a new state of the product) to the corresponding state transition. Values for the various task fields are then entered and/or edited through a suitable dialog. In the examples of FIG. 2, the user may be prompted to enter and/or edit values (i.e. receive state registration information) for one or more of the Agent field (e.g., by picking from a list of known agents), the Skippable field (e.g., the selecting or unselecting a check box), and the AutoAssignee field (e.g., by picking form a list of know agents). One or more of the TaskID, Version (i.e. version number of the state a state transition to the new state), Transition, Schema, or Form fields may be automatically assigned by the dashboard, design environment, creation studio, and/or API. … when a new task (i.e. new state) is created, it is assigned a new TaskID value and a Version number of 1 and when an existing task is edited, its Version number is updated to the next available version number.” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. … One such remote agent may be located on client (i.e. a private state transition management apparatus) 760, which is coupled to server 710 via a network 770.”)
Goode discloses selecting from a rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information, and (Para. 36, 64) (“an existing state from the state machine is selected … the user may be presented with a list of states and/or a graphical depiction of the state machine (similar to FIG. 1) from which the user may select an existing state (i.e. to select from the rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information) or choose to create a new state. … As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated (i.e. to select from the rule storage unit).” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400”)
Goode discloses when it is determined that the state registration is possible, registering registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information to a state storage unit. (Para. 26, 36, 64) (“And although not expressly shown, each of the data fields may also have one or more validations that govern possible values for the data in the corresponding field. For example, a numeric field may include a validation to ensure that any recorded data value is within an acceptable range, a string field may include a validation … one or more complex validations may additionally and/or alternatively used where values of one data field may depend on values of one or more other data fields (i.e. when it is determined that the state registration is possible).” “As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated (i.e. when it is determined that the state registration is possible, to register registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information to a state storage unit).” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400”)
Goode discloses outputting the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management, wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to a public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit. (Para. 40, 65) (“At a process 460, the changes are published. Because the state machine engine is designed to keep track of the versions of the state machines (and especially the tasks), changes to the tasks, schemas, and/or forms are not finalized until published by the user to avoid creating multiple versions of the tasks that will never be used during operation of a corresponding instance of a state machine. … For each of the created and/or edited schemas and forms, new instances of corresponding schema and form definition objects are created and saved (i.e. output the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management, wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to the public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit).” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. In some examples, state machine engine 740 may provide access to one or more agents either operating locally (e.g., one or more state machine applications operating on server 710) or operating remotely.”)
Goode does not explicitly disclose, however Matsunaga, in the same field of endeavor, discloses determining that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information is set among states in the selected state transition rule, is consistent with the new state in the state registration information; and (Para. 61) (“when the process setting operator pushes a “registration” button via the work instruction sheet client 3, the work instruction sheet server 1 performs consistency checkup in Step Sb6. In the consistency checkup, it is checked whether there is consistency (i.e. when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) … When there is some inconsistency (NO), the work instruction sheet server 1 reads an error list stored in the work instruction sheet database 2, and causes the work instruction sheet client 3 to display it, in Step Sb6. When the error list is displayed, the process setting operator returns to the Step Sb1 and restarts the selection of a operation target. On the other hand, there is consistency (YES), the work instruction sheet server 1 stores the new process setting data (i.e. determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) in the work instruction sheet database 2. Generally, in this case, the same version number as that of latest design data is assigned to the new process setting data.” That is, the system verifies the edited information (i.e. the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode with the unedited information (i.e. a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode) to ensure that the process can be registered.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the state machine management of Goode with the procedure validation of Matsunaga in order to ensure efficient operation procedure (Matsunga – Para. 97)
In regards to claim 11, Goode discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a state transition management program for a state transition management system, which comprises a private state transition management apparatus including processing circuitry, and a private state transition management apparatus, for causing a computer to execute: a reception process to receive a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution, and to receive state registration information that indicates a new state of a product, a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state, and a version number of a state transition to the new state; (Para. 15, 18, 21, 34-38, 65) (“a non-transitory machine-readable medium including a plurality of machine-readable instructions which when executed by one or more processors associated with a server cause the processors to perform a method.” “Each of state 110 and/or state 120 may correspond to various stages and/or checkpoints in a complex process as is described in further detail below. … a state transition 130 between state 110 and state 120 (i.e. a state transition rule) … State transition 130 (i.e. a state transition rule of a product in product distribution) is depicted as a directed arrow indicating that state transition 130 describes a state transition from state 110 (e.g., the starting or from state) to state 120 (e.g., the ending or to state). State transition 130 (i.e. a state transition rule) further includes several tasks (i.e. indicates a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution) 141-149 that describe the preconditions to be satisfied before state transition 130 may be used to transition state machine 100 from state 110 to state 120. … At a process 410, an existing state machine is selected (i.e. receive a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions)” “a state machine may be usable to model a logistics process, such as one found to support expediting of a shipment. Each of the states in the state machine may correspond to various planning stages for the shipment and/or actual shipping steps or stages as the shipment is handled (i.e. a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution).” ““processes 410-460 of method 400 are generally described below as if they are being performed by a user as an agent via, for example, a graphical user interface (i.e. a private state transition management apparatus) … At a process 410, an existing state machine is selected (i.e. receive a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions) … the state machine to be edited may be selected … At a process 440, an existing task from a state transition is selected or a new task is added to a state transition (i.e. a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state). Similar to process 430, the user may be presented with a list of tasks associated with the state transition selected and/or created during process 430 and/or a graphical depiction of the tasks in the various state transitions may be displayed (similar to FIG. 1) from which the user may select an existing task or choose to add a new task (i.e. a new state of the product) to the corresponding state transition. Values for the various task fields are then entered and/or edited through a suitable dialog. In the examples of FIG. 2, the user may be prompted to enter and/or edit values (i.e. receive state registration information) for one or more of the Agent field (e.g., by picking from a list of known agents), the Skippable field (e.g., the selecting or unselecting a check box), and the AutoAssignee field (e.g., by picking form a list of know agents). One or more of the TaskID, Version (i.e. version number of the state a state transition to the new state), Transition, Schema, or Form fields may be automatically assigned by the dashboard, design environment, creation studio, and/or API. … when a new task (i.e. new state) is created, it is assigned a new TaskID value and a Version number of 1 and when an existing task is edited, its Version number is updated to the next available version number.” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. … One such remote agent may be located on client (i.e. a private state transition management apparatus) 760, which is coupled to server 710 via a network 770.”)
Goode discloses Goode discloses a rule registration process, when the received state transition rule is a rule for registration, to set an initial version number for each of one or more state transitions in the series of state transitions, as an event, and to register the set rule for registration to a rule storage unit; (Para 35-38) (“a new state machine is created … as part of … the state machine, the user may also be provided with one or more dialogs for creating and/or manipulating the data fields associated with state machine and to be recorded in a corresponding schema (i.e. when the received state transition rule is a rule for registration). In some examples, the creation and/or manipulation of these fields may include selecting, adding, or deleting data fields; naming or renaming the data fields; selecting a type for the data fields; defining range and/or other validation constraints for the data fields, and/or the like. As the state machine is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state machine definition record is created and stored (i.e. to register the set rule for registration to a rule storage unit) … Values for the various state fields are then entered and/or edited through a suitable dialog. In some examples, a state name is entered and/or edited for the Name field and optionally an order for the state is entered and/or edited for the Order field. In some embodiments, process 420 may further include an ability to rearrange the state machine by changing an order of the state machine by moving states and/or state transitions between the states. … a new state transition is created … a new task is added to a state transition … when a new task is created, it is assigned a new TaskID value and a Version number of 1 (i.e. when the received state transition rule is a rule for registration, to set an initial version number for each of one or more state transitions in the series of state transitions)” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400” That is, when a new state machine (i.e. state transition rule) is created and tasks (i.e. state transitions) are created within the creation of the new state, these newly created tasks for the state machine receive the version number of 1, and these tasks and their order are grouped together (i.e. to set an initial version number for each of one or more state transitions in the series of state transitions, as an event) are saved as a stored instance of a state machine definition record (i.e. to register the set rule for registration to a rule storage unit).)
Goode discloses a state verification process to select from the rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information, and (Para. 36, 64) (“an existing state from the state machine is selected … the user may be presented with a list of states and/or a graphical depiction of the state machine (similar to FIG. 1) from which the user may select an existing state (i.e. to select from the rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information) or choose to create a new state. … As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated (i.e. to select from the rule storage unit).” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400”)
Goode discloses a state registration process, when it is determined that the state registration is possible, to register registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information to a state storage unit, and (Para. 26, 36, 64) (“And although not expressly shown, each of the data fields may also have one or more validations that govern possible values for the data in the corresponding field. For example, a numeric field may include a validation to ensure that any recorded data value is within an acceptable range, a string field may include a validation … one or more complex validations may additionally and/or alternatively used where values of one data field may depend on values of one or more other data fields (i.e. when it is determined that the state registration is possible).” “As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated (i.e. when it is determined that the state registration is possible, to register registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information to a state storage unit).” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400”)
Goode discloses an outputting process to output the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management, wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to the public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit. (Para. 40, 65) (“At a process 460, the changes are published. Because the state machine engine is designed to keep track of the versions of the state machines (and especially the tasks), changes to the tasks, schemas, and/or forms are not finalized until published by the user to avoid creating multiple versions of the tasks that will never be used during operation of a corresponding instance of a state machine. … For each of the created and/or edited schemas and forms, new instances of corresponding schema and form definition objects are created and saved (i.e. output the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management, wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to the public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit).” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. In some examples, state machine engine 740 may provide access to one or more agents either operating locally (e.g., one or more state machine applications operating on server 710) or operating remotely.”)
Goode does not explicitly disclose, however Matsunaga, in the same field of endeavor, discloses to determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information is set among states in the selected state transition rule, is consistent with the new state in the state registration information; (Para. 61) (“when the process setting operator pushes a “registration” button via the work instruction sheet client 3, the work instruction sheet server 1 performs consistency checkup in Step Sb6. In the consistency checkup, it is checked whether there is consistency (i.e. when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) … When there is some inconsistency (NO), the work instruction sheet server 1 reads an error list stored in the work instruction sheet database 2, and causes the work instruction sheet client 3 to display it, in Step Sb6. When the error list is displayed, the process setting operator returns to the Step Sb1 and restarts the selection of a operation target. On the other hand, there is consistency (YES), the work instruction sheet server 1 stores the new process setting data (i.e. determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) in the work instruction sheet database 2. Generally, in this case, the same version number as that of latest design data is assigned to the new process setting data.” That is, the system verifies the edited information (i.e. the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode with the unedited information (i.e. a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode) to ensure that the process can be registered.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the state machine management of Goode with the procedure validation of Matsunaga in order to ensure efficient operation procedure (Matsunga – Para. 97)
In regards to claim 12, Goode discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a state transition management program for a state transition management system, which comprises a private state transition management apparatus including processing circuitry, and a private state transition management apparatus, for causing a computer to execute: a reception process to receive a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution, and to receive state registration information that indicates a new state of a product, a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state, and a version number of a state transition to the new state; (Para. 15, 18, 21, 34-38, 65) (“a non-transitory machine-readable medium including a plurality of machine-readable instructions which when executed by one or more processors associated with a server cause the processors to perform a method.” “Each of state 110 and/or state 120 may correspond to various stages and/or checkpoints in a complex process as is described in further detail below. … a state transition 130 between state 110 and state 120 (i.e. a state transition rule) … State transition 130 (i.e. a state transition rule of a product in product distribution) is depicted as a directed arrow indicating that state transition 130 describes a state transition from state 110 (e.g., the starting or from state) to state 120 (e.g., the ending or to state). State transition 130 (i.e. a state transition rule) further includes several tasks (i.e. indicates a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution) 141-149 that describe the preconditions to be satisfied before state transition 130 may be used to transition state machine 100 from state 110 to state 120. … At a process 410, an existing state machine is selected (i.e. receive a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions)” “a state machine may be usable to model a logistics process, such as one found to support expediting of a shipment. Each of the states in the state machine may correspond to various planning stages for the shipment and/or actual shipping steps or stages as the shipment is handled (i.e. a series of state transitions of a product in product distribution).” ““processes 410-460 of method 400 are generally described below as if they are being performed by a user as an agent via, for example, a graphical user interface (i.e. a private state transition management apparatus) … At a process 410, an existing state machine is selected (i.e. receive a state transition rule that indicates a series of state transitions) … the state machine to be edited may be selected … At a process 440, an existing task from a state transition is selected or a new task is added to a state transition (i.e. a rule type of the state transition rule applied to the new state). Similar to process 430, the user may be presented with a list of tasks associated with the state transition selected and/or created during process 430 and/or a graphical depiction of the tasks in the various state transitions may be displayed (similar to FIG. 1) from which the user may select an existing task or choose to add a new task (i.e. a new state of the product) to the corresponding state transition. Values for the various task fields are then entered and/or edited through a suitable dialog. In the examples of FIG. 2, the user may be prompted to enter and/or edit values (i.e. receive state registration information) for one or more of the Agent field (e.g., by picking from a list of known agents), the Skippable field (e.g., the selecting or unselecting a check box), and the AutoAssignee field (e.g., by picking form a list of know agents). One or more of the TaskID, Version (i.e. version number of the state a state transition to the new state), Transition, Schema, or Form fields may be automatically assigned by the dashboard, design environment, creation studio, and/or API. … when a new task (i.e. new state) is created, it is assigned a new TaskID value and a Version number of 1 and when an existing task is edited, its Version number is updated to the next available version number.” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. … One such remote agent may be located on client (i.e. a private state transition management apparatus) 760, which is coupled to server 710 via a network 770.”)
Goode discloses a state verification process to select from a rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information, and (Para. 36, 64) (“an existing state from the state machine is selected … the user may be presented with a list of states and/or a graphical depiction of the state machine (similar to FIG. 1) from which the user may select an existing state (i.e. to select from the rule storage unit, a state transition rule whose type is the same as the rule type in the state registration information) or choose to create a new state. … As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated (i.e. to select from the rule storage unit).” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400”)
Goode discloses a state registration process, when it is determined that the state registration is possible, to register registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information to a state storage unit; and (Para. 26, 36, 64) (“And although not expressly shown, each of the data fields may also have one or more validations that govern possible values for the data in the corresponding field. For example, a numeric field may include a validation to ensure that any recorded data value is within an acceptable range, a string field may include a validation … one or more complex validations may additionally and/or alternatively used where values of one data field may depend on values of one or more other data fields (i.e. when it is determined that the state registration is possible).” “As the state is created and/or its fields are edited, a corresponding instance of a state definition record (is created and stored and/or is updated (i.e. when it is determined that the state registration is possible, to register registration state information that indicates a new registration state identifier and the state registration information to a state storage unit).” “memory 730 includes storage for a state machine engine 740 and a state machine repository 750. … State machine repository 750 is used to store the various objects and/or instances used by methods 300-500 to keep track of the definitions of state machines, such as the objects defined using the object descriptions of FIG. 2 and created and/or modified using, for example, method 300. State machine repository 750 is further used to store the instances of the state machines, states, state transitions, and tasks created by method 400”)
Goode discloses an outputting process to output the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management, wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to the public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit. (Para. 40, 65) (“At a process 460, the changes are published. Because the state machine engine is designed to keep track of the versions of the state machines (and especially the tasks), changes to the tasks, schemas, and/or forms are not finalized until published by the user to avoid creating multiple versions of the tasks that will never be used during operation of a corresponding instance of a state machine. … For each of the created and/or edited schemas and forms, new instances of corresponding schema and form definition objects are created and saved (i.e. output the registration state information registered to the state storage unit for product traceability management, wherein the processing circuitry receives state registration information that indicates a new disclosable state, and the processing circuitry transmits the received state registration information to the public state transition management apparatus, and when both the public state transition management apparatus and the processing circuitry determine that the state registration is possible, registers the registration state information that indicates the received state registration information to the state storage unit).” “Server 710 and state machine engine 740 (i.e. a public state transition management apparatus) typically facilitate access to, manipulation, and tracing of state machines and their instances recorded and/or tracked in state machine repository 750. In some examples, state machine engine 740 may provide access to one or more agents either operating locally (e.g., one or more state machine applications operating on server 710) or operating remotely.”)
Goode does not explicitly disclose, however Matsunaga, in the same field of endeavor, discloses to determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information is set among states in the selected state transition rule, is consistent with the new state in the state registration information; (Para. 61) (“when the process setting operator pushes a “registration” button via the work instruction sheet client 3, the work instruction sheet server 1 performs consistency checkup in Step Sb6. In the consistency checkup, it is checked whether there is consistency (i.e. when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) … When there is some inconsistency (NO), the work instruction sheet server 1 reads an error list stored in the work instruction sheet database 2, and causes the work instruction sheet client 3 to display it, in Step Sb6. When the error list is displayed, the process setting operator returns to the Step Sb1 and restarts the selection of a operation target. On the other hand, there is consistency (YES), the work instruction sheet server 1 stores the new process setting data (i.e. determine that state registration is possible when a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode, is consistent with the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode) in the work instruction sheet database 2. Generally, in this case, the same version number as that of latest design data is assigned to the new process setting data.” That is, the system verifies the edited information (i.e. the new state of Goode in the state registration information of Goode with the unedited information (i.e. a head state of one or more state transitions of Goode for which the same version number as the version number in the state registration information of Goode is set among states of Goode in the selected state transition rule of Goode) to ensure that the process can be registered.)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the state machine management of Goode with the procedure validation of Matsunaga in order to ensure efficient operation procedure (Matsunga – Para. 97)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sura – US 10839351 – discussing the creation, editing, and validation of workflow processing
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID G. GODBOLD/Examiner, Art Unit 3628