The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This communication is in reply to 07/10/2025. Claimed priority is granted from Foreign Application NumberIN202341086726, filed on 12/19/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hines et al., US 20090154463 A1, in view of Anupkumar T, US 20190238457 A1, hereinafter (Kumar).
Regarding claim 1, the combination of Hines and Kumar teaches the invention as claimed.
1. A method for facilitating isolation of routes in a network, the method comprising: receiving, by a computing system in the network, subscription information indicating that a first subset of the network subscribes to a first border gateway protocol (BGP) community (Kumar, 0004, 0027, 0033; Fig 1: peer communicate RT subscription identifying desired communities, filters are maintained per peer), wherein subscription to a respective BGP community indicates that a subscriber is to receive routes associated with the BGP community (Hines, 0057-0058, 0064; Fig. 2: PE routers receive and exchange routes through BGP/MP-BGP); receiving, from a routing protocol instance of the network, a first route advertisement indicating a first route in the network, wherein the first route advertisement comprises a BGP community field with a value equivalent to a value of first BGP community (Hines, 0046, 0064, supplies tagged routes; Kumar, 0021 identifies their RT extended-community representation); determining, based on the BGP community value in the route advertisement, that the first subset of the network subscribes to the first route tag (Hines, 0046, 0064 checks received RTs against import configuration; Kumar, 0027 supplies explicit subscription-based matching); and providing the first route to the first subset of the network (Hines, 0058, 0060; Kumar, 0027).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Hines’ configured route distribution using Kumar’s expressly communicated subscriptions and per-peer filters. Both select recipients using the same RT identifier. This provides a concrete mechanism for updating recipient interests while reducing unnecessary advertisements and rout8ing work- the benefits stated in Kumar, 0029-0030. Matching the existing RT identifiers provides a reasonable expectation of success. By this rationale, claim 1 is rejected.
Likewise, regarding claims 2-8, 10-17 and 19-20 the combination Hines-Kumar teaches:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the routing protocol instance executes in a transit router that facilitates exchange of routing information among a plurality of subsets of the network (Hines, 0057-0064; fig. 2: supplies intermediary PE routers exchanging routing information between customer networks. This supports “transit router” by its recited function).
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising configuring the routing protocol instance to distribute the first route with the first BGP community value (Hines, 0076-0078).
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: storing the subscription information associated with the first BGP community value in a data structure; and in response to receiving the first route advertisement, looking up the BGP community value in the data structure to determine that the first subset of the network subscribes to the first BGP community (Kumar, 0033, 0035 and Hines, 0064).
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising configuring a forwarding path for the first subset of the network to allow traffic to and from the first subset of the network via the first route (Hines, 0059-0060).
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the subscription information further indicates that the first subset of the network subscribes to a second BGP community, wherein the second BGP community comprises routes associated with a set of shared services (Hines, 0048-0049, 0078; figs 1 and 5).
7. The method of claim 6, further comprising: receiving a second route advertisement indicating a second route in the network, wherein the second route advertisement comprises a value of the second BGP community; determining that the first subset of the network subscribes to the second BGP community; and providing the second route to the first subset of the network (Hines, 0060 and 0079; figs. 2 and 6).
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising precluding the first subset of the network from receiving route advertisements associated with BGP communities to which the first subset of the network does not subscribe (Kumar, 0004 and 0027).
10. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by a computer cause the computer to perform a method for facilitating isolation of routes in a network (Kumar, 0006, and 0031), the method comprising: receiving subscription information indicating that a first subset of the network subscribes to a first border gateway protocol (BGP) community (Kumar, 0004, 0027, 0033; Fig 1: peer communicate RT subscription identifying desired communities, filters are maintained per peer), wherein subscription to a respective BGP community indicates that a subscriber is to receive routes associated with the BGP community (Hines, 0057-0058, 0064; Fig. 2: PE routers receive and exchange routes through BGP/MP-BGP); receiving, from a routing protocol instance of the network, a first route advertisement indicating a first route in the network, wherein the first route advertisement comprises a BGP community field with a value equivalent to a value of first BGP community (Hines, 0046, 0064, supplies tagged routes; Kumar, 0021 identifies their RT extended-community representation); determining, based on the BGP community value in the route advertisement, that the first subset of the network subscribes to the first route tag (Hines, 0046, 0064 checks received RTs against import configuration; Kumar, 0027 supplies explicit subscription-based matching); and providing the first route to the first subset of the network (Hines, 0058, 0060; Kumar, 0027).
11. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of wherein the routing protocol instance executes in a transit router that facilitates exchange of routing information among a plurality of subsets of the network (Hines, 0057-0064; fig. 2: supplies intermediary PE routers exchanging routing information between customer networks. This supports “transit router” by its recited function).
12. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of wherein the method further comprises configuring the routing protocol instance to distribute the first route with the first BGP community value (Hines, 0076-0078).
13. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of wherein the method further comprises: storing the subscription information associated with the first BGP community value in a data structure; and in response to receiving the first route advertisement, looking up the BGP community value in the data structure to determine that the first subset of the network subscribes to the first BGP community (Kumar, 0033, 0035 and Hines, 0064).
14. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of wherein the method further comprises configuring a forwarding path for the first subset of the network to allow traffic to and from the first subset of the network via the first route (Hines, 0059-0060).
15. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of wherein the subscription information further indicates that the first subset of the network subscribes to a second BGP community, wherein the second BGP community comprises routes associated with a set of shared services (Hines, 0048-0049, 0078; figs 1 and 5).
16. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of wherein the method further comprises: receiving a second route advertisement indicating a second route in the network, wherein the second route advertisement comprises a value of the second BGP community; determining that the first subset of the network subscribes to the second BGP community; and providing the second route to the first subset of the network (Hines, 0060 and 0079; figs. 2 and 6).
17. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of wherein the method further comprises precluding the first subset of the network from receiving route advertisements associated with BGP communities to which the first subset of the network does not subscribe (Kumar, 0004 and 0027).
19. A computing system, comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor and storing instructions, which when executed by the processor cause the processor to perform a method for facilitating isolation of routes in a network (Kumar, 0006, and 0031), the method comprising: receiving subscription information indicating that a first subset of the network subscribes to a first border gateway protocol (BGP) community (Kumar, 0004, 0027, 0033; Fig 1: peer communicate RT subscription identifying desired communities, filters are maintained per peer), wherein subscription to a respective BGP community indicates that a subscriber is to receive routes associated with the BGP community (Hines, 0057-0058, 0064; Fig. 2: PE routers receive and exchange routes through BGP/MP-BGP); receiving, from a routing protocol instance of the network, a first route advertisement indicating a first route in the network, wherein the first route advertisement comprises a BGP community field with a value equivalent to a value of first BGP community (Hines, 0046, 0064, supplies tagged routes; Kumar, 0021 identifies their RT extended-community representation); determining, based on the BGP community value in the route advertisement, that the first subset of the network subscribes to the first route tag (Hines, 0046, 0064 checks received RTs against import configuration; Kumar, 0027 supplies explicit subscription-based matching); and providing the first route to the first subset of the network (Hines, 0058, 0060; Kumar, 0027).
20. The computing system of claim 19, wherein the subscription information further indicates that the first subset of the network subscribes to a second BGP community, wherein the second BGP community comprises routes associated with a set of shared services (Hines, 0048-0049, 0078; figs 1 and 5).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hines and Kumar as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Liu et al., US 20140230044 A1.
Regarding claim 9, the combination Hines-Kumar teaches the invention substantially as claimed. They disclose the teaching of claim 1, and 10 respectively, but fail to disclose a method/system wherein the first subset of the network is a virtual private cloud. This feature is well-known in the art as evidenced by Liu. In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches configuring an RT-based VPN instance and binds a VPC to it (Liu 0086-0089, and 0092; Fig. 2).
Liu’s VPV-to-VPN binding supplies a concrete cloud-network subscriber for the existing RT subscription mechanism. The modification preserves community-based distribution while allowing an authenticated VPC to obtain the subscribed VPN routes. No claim requires more than three prior-art references. By this rationale, claim 18 is rejected.
18. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of wherein the first subset of the network is a virtual private cloud (Liu 0086-0089, and 0092; Fig. 2). The same motivation/reason to combine used for the rejection of claim 9 is also valid for this claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12375394 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Present Claims
Patent Claims
Comments
1 and 9
1 and 9
Subscription, tagged advertisement, recipient determination, delivery, and BGP-community implementation
2-8
2-8
Together with its BGP-community limitation in 9
10 and 18
10 and 18
Same
11-17
11-17, together with 18
Together with 18
19-20
19-20
Applying the BGP-community implementation expressly claimed in 9 and 18
Rationale: The present claims largely replace “route tag” with its expressly claimed BGP-community implementation and generalize VPC/PBR terminology to network subsets/forwarding paths. The matching field value implements the same community identification. Those differences do not presently establish a distinct routing operation. For claims 2 and 11, the action should expressly explain implementing the parent’s transit routing instance in a router; “transit VPC” and “transit router” are not interchangeable terms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10 and 19 introduce “the first route tag” without expressly identifying it as the first BGP community. Applicants need to clarify that relationship. There is an actual uncertainty about whether these are the same identifier; missing literal antecedent wording alone is insufficient.
CONCLUSION
/JUDE JEAN GILLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459
October 31, 2026