Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the amended claims, applicant argues that no cited reference teaches an “SIB 32 that includes, for each of multiple satellite, time information of providing services for the terminal device by the respective satellite, much less using such time information of providing services for the terminal device by multiple satellites to determine the at least one of a first time period or a second time period”. Examiner respectfully traverses this argument, as it is believed that Wu teaches the above amendment in at least paragraphs 139 and 143 of Wu. Paragraph 143 in particular recites various information inside of an SIB32 that includes “Time information on when the incoming satellite is going to start serving the area” as well as ephemeris, reference location and antenna panel tilt information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0324367 (Tao et al.) in view of US 2025/0254657 (Wu et al.).
As to claims 1 and 17, Tao teaches a terminal device (102, fig 1), comprising: at least one processor (152, fig 1); and one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the terminal device to perform operations comprising:
receiving assistance information, when the assistance information includes information related to discontinuous coverage for each satellite of multiple satellites related to the terminal device, wherein the information related to discontinuous coverage for each satellite of multiple satellites comprises at least one of ephemeris information, location information or beam information of the respective satellite, which is used to determine time information of providing services for the terminal device by the respective satellite (see paragraph 84, UE receives satellite ephemeris information which is used to determine when and where satellite service will be available);
determining, based at least on the respective time information of providing services for the terminal device by each satellite of the multiple satellites, at least one of a first time period or a second time period, wherein the first time period is a duration from a current time to a start time of a no-network-coverage scenario in which none of the multiple satellites is capable of providing service for the terminal device, and the second time period is a duration of the no-network-coverage scenario from the start time of the no-network- coverage scenario to an end time of the no-network-coverage scenario, wherein the end time of the no-network-coverage scenario is a time at which one of the multiple satellites starts providing service for the terminal device (see paragraphs 60-64 and 84 and figure 6, based on satellite ephemeris information, the UE estimates the periods when the UE will and will not be within the coverage of at least one satellite which would infer the first and second time periods); and
determining a first configuration parameter based on at least one of the first time period and the second time period, wherein the first configuration parameter includes timing parameters of a second timer and a third timer, where the second timer is used to determine a duration for which the terminal device remains in radio resource control (RRC) idle state, and the third timer is used to determine a duration for which the terminal device remains in a power saving mode (PSM), and a start time of each of the second timer and the third timer corresponds to an end time of the first time period (see paragraphs 60-64 and 84 and figure 6, using the satellite ephemeris information the UE can determine a T3324 and T3412 [~first configuration parameter including second and third timers]).
What is lacking from Tao is the assistance information comprising a system information block (SIB) 32 including includes information related to discontinuous coverage for each satellite of multiple satellites related to the terminal device, wherein the information related to discontinuous coverage for each satellite of multiple satellites comprises time information of providing services for the terminal device by the respective satellite and at least one of ephemeris information, location information, or beam information of the respective satellite.
In analogous art, Wu teaches a UE receiving a system information block (SIB) 32 including information related to discontinuous coverage for each satellite of multiple satellites related to the terminal device, wherein the information related to discontinuous coverage for each satellite of multiple satellites comprises time information of providing services for the terminal device by the respective satellite and at least one of ephemeris information, location information, or beam information of the respective satellite (see paragraphs 139 and 143, information in system information block includes “Time information on when the incoming satellite is going to start serving the area” as well as ephemeris, reference location and antenna panel tilt information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Tao so as to provide a structured message from which the terminal device can obtain the information it needs to determine satellite coverage periods.
As to claim 16, Tao teaches wireless communication method, comprising:
transmitting, by a network device, assistance information, when the assistance information includes information related to discontinuous coverage for each satellite of multiple satellites related to a terminal device, wherein the information related to discontinuous coverage for each satellite of multiple satellites comprises comprises at least one of ephemeris information, location information or beam information of the respective satellite, which is used to determine time information of providing services for the terminal device by the respective satellite (see paragraph 84, UE receives satellite ephemeris information which is used to determine when and where satellite service will be available),
wherein on the respective time information of providing services for the terminal device by each satellite of the multiple satellites in the information related to discontinuous coverage in the assistance information is used to determine at least one of a first time period or a second time period, wherein the first time period is a duration from a current time to a start time of a no-network-coverage scenario in which none of the multiple satellites is capable of providing service for the terminal device, and the second time period is a duration of the no-network-coverage scenario from the start time of the no-network-coverage scenario to an end time of the no-network-coverage scenario, wherein the end time of the no- network-coverage scenario is a time at which one of the multiple satellites starts providing service for the terminal device (see paragraphs 60-64 and 84 and figure 6, based on satellite ephemeris information, the UE estimates the periods when the UE will and will not be within the coverage of at least one satellite which would infer the first and second time periods), and
whereinsee paragraphs 60-64 and 84 and figure 6, using the satellite ephemeris information the UE can determine a T3324 and T3412 [~first configuration parameter including second and third timers]).
What is lacking from Tao is the assistance information comprising a system information block (SIB) 32 including information related to discontinuous coverage for each satellite of multiple satellites related to the terminal device, wherein the information related to discontinuous coverage for each satellite of multiple satellites comprises time information of providing services for the terminal device by the respective satellite and at least one of ephemeris information, location information, or beam information of the respective satellite.
In analogous art, Wu teaches a UE receiving a system information block (SIB) 32 including information related to discontinuous coverage for each satellite of multiple satellites related to the terminal device, wherein the information related to discontinuous coverage for each satellite of multiple satellites comprises time information of providing services for the terminal device by the respective satellite and at least one of ephemeris information, location information, or beam information of the respective satellite (see paragraphs 139 and 143, information in system information block includes “Time information on when the incoming satellite is going to start serving the area” as well as ephemeris, reference location and antenna panel tilt information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Tao so as to provide a structured message from which the terminal device can obtain the information it needs to determine satellite coverage periods.
As to claims 2 and 18, Tao further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: determining first time information indicative of at least one of the first time period and the second time period, wherein the first configuration parameter is determined based on the first time information, and wherein the terminal device transmits the first time information or a first recommendation parameter based on the first time information (see paragraphs 60-64 and 84 and figure 6, based on estimated coverage periods the UE determines various time periods such as PTW and PSM for which the T3334 and T3412 timers are determined and then recommended to network).
As to claims 3 and 19, Tao further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: after the second time period elapses, receiving data cached by a core network; or after the second time period elapses, entering an automatic network selection mode (see paragraphs 60-64 and figure 6, upon expiration of the T3412 timer, the mobile device may transition to RRC connected mode which would include receiving any cached information).
As to claims 4 and 20, Tao further teaches wherein the first configuration parameter is a configuration parameter used for a first mode of the terminal device, and the first mode comprises one or more of following: a discontinuous reception DRX mode, an extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) mode, or the PSM mode (see paragraphs 60-64 and figure 6, PTW and associated timers are associated with eDRX and PSM mode).
As to claim 5, Tao further teaches wherein a time length of the third timer is determined based on the second time period, and an end time of the third timer is not earlier than an end time of the second time period (see paragraphs 60-64 and figure 6, T3412 time includes the T3324 RRC idle time as well as the PSM period).
As to claim 6, Tao further teaches wherein the second timer is a T3324 timer, the third timer is a T3412 timer, and a ratio of a time length of the second timer to a time length of the third timer is less than a first parameter (see paragraphs 60-64 and figure 6, the T3324 timer will be less than the T3412 timer [~ratio less than 1]).
As to claim 7, Tao further teaches wherein the first configuration parameter is used to determine a configuration parameter of an eDRX mode, the configuration parameter of the eDRX mode comprises a time parameter of a paging time window in each eDRX cycle, and the time parameter of the paging time window is determined based on a calculated window of the paging time window and the first time information (see paragraphs 60-64 and 84 and figure 6, the determined PTW and PSM timers that is based on the predicted in-coverage time is used by mobile device to receive pages during a paging window while in an eDRX cycle).
As to claim 12, Tao further teaches wherein the first configuration parameter comprises an eDRX cycle, and the eDRX cycle is proportional to a time length of the second time period (see paragraphs 60-64 and 84 and figure 6, the eDRX cycle has to be long enough to match the coverage window).
As to claim 13, Tao further teaches wherein the terminal device is located in a service area of a first satellite in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) at the current time (see figure 3).
As to claim 15, Tao further teaches wherein the first configuration parameter is determined by a mobility management entity (MME) or an access and mobility management function (AMF) (see paragraphs 60-64 and 84).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0324367 (Tao et al.) in view of US 2025/0254657 (Wu et al.) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of US 2024/0373363 (Chen et al.).
As to claim 8, what is further lacking from Tao is when a start position of the calculated window of the paging time window is in the second time period, skipping, by the terminal device, the paging time window or part of paging occasions in the paging time window.
In analogous art, Chen teaches wherein the method further comprises: when a start position of the calculated window of the paging time window is in the second time period, skipping, by the terminal device, the paging time window or part of paging occasions in the paging time window (see paragraph 61, mobile device may remain in PSM [~skipping paging window] if it determines/predicts that it is out of coverage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Tao, so as to ensure that the terminal device isn’t wasting resources when it is out of coverage.
As to claim 9, what is further lacking from Tao is wherein a start position of the calculated window of the paging time window is in the second time period, and a start position of an actual window of the paging time window is a sum of the start position of the calculated window and a first offset value.
In analogous art, Chen teaches wherein a start position of the calculated window of the paging time window is in the second time period, and a start position of an actual window of the paging time window is a sum of the start position of the calculated window and a first offset value (see paragraph 62, mobile device may stop first timer [~paging time window with a start position] during predicted out of coverage period, effecting keeping the mobile device in RRC Idle mode longer and delaying activation of PSM [~adding first offset value to paging time window]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Tao, so as to ensure that the terminal device is optimizing its resources for monitoring for pages.
As to claim 10, what is further lacking from Tao is wherein an end position of the calculated window of the paging time window is in the second time period, and an end position of an actual window of the paging time window is a difference between the end position of the calculated window and a second offset value.
In analogous art, Chen teaches wherein an end position of the calculated window of the paging time window is in the second time period, and an end position of an actual window of the paging time window is a difference between the end position of the calculated window and a second offset value (see paragraphs 59 and 60, mobile device may suspend monitoring for pages while it is in a predicted out of coverage period, even if it scheduled to be monitoring for paging. So if the coverage gap occurs during a schedule PTW, the PTW would be shortened by that overlap [~second offset value]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Tao, so as to ensure that the terminal device is optimizing its resources for monitoring for pages.
As to claim 11, what is further lacking from Tao is wherein the second time period overlaps a calculated window of a paging time window in two adjacent eDRX cycles, the two adjacent eDRX cycles comprise a first eDRX cycle and a second eDRX cycle, an end position of an actual window of a paging time window in the first eDRX cycle is not later than a start instant of the second time period, and a start position of an actual window of a paging time window in the second eDRX cycle is not earlier than an end instant of the second time period.
In analogous art, Chen teaches wherein the second time period overlaps a calculated window of a paging time window in two adjacent eDRX cycles, the two adjacent eDRX cycles comprise a first eDRX cycle and a second eDRX cycle, an end position of an actual window of a paging time window in the first eDRX cycle is not later than a start instant of the second time period, and a start position of an actual window of a paging time window in the second eDRX cycle is not earlier than an end instant of the second time period (see paragraphs 59 and 60, mobile device may suspend monitoring for pages while it is in a predicted out of coverage period, even if it scheduled to be monitoring for paging. So if the predicted coverage gap overlaps the end of a first PTW and start of a second PTW, the first PTW would effectively end when the coverage gap starts and the second PTW would effectively start when the coverage gap ends).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Tao, so as to ensure that the terminal device is optimizing its resources for monitoring for pages.
Conclusion
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641