DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims recite a judicial exception which is not integrated into a practical application and the claims lack an inventive concept.
Step 1 is the first inquiry into eligibility analysis and asks whether the claims are directed to a statutory category. In this instance, the answer must be in the affirmative because they are directed to a method, a system, and a computer readable medium.
Step 2A prong 1 is the next step in the eligibility analyses and asks whether the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception. In this instance, the claims recite the following limitations which comprise the abstract idea:
analyze pixels of at least two images of a roof having a plurality of roof portions, the at least two images taken from different perspectives, at least one of the images being an oblique image, to determine:
a footprint of the roof, comprising an outer boundary of the roof, utilizing two-dimensional or three-dimensional information regarding edges of the roof to determine line segments of the footprint;
a predominant pitch of the roof;
determine an estimated roofing area of the roof based on the predominant pitch and the footprint of the roof;
This is an abstract idea because it is a mental processes that can be performed in the human mind, including observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion.
Step 2A prong 2 is the next step in the eligibility analyses and looks at whether the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application. This requires an additional element or combination of additional elements in the claims to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In this instance, the claims recite the additional elements such as:
receive, through a graphical user interface, a request for a roof report from a user;
generate a roof report, wherein the roof report includes at least one image showing the roof and the estimated roofing area of the roof
receiving and obtaining data (at least claim 2,3,9)
However, these elements do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In addition, the recitations of generating are recited at a high level of generality and also do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The dependent claims also fail to recite elements which amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. For example, claim 2 recites receiving [data] and obtaining [data], but that does not amount to an integration according to any one of the considerations above. The same can be said for the receiving in claim 3, and the discussion of the contents of the report in claims 4-6. As for claims 7-9, these claims are directed to the abstract idea itself. Claim 10 is a certain method of organizing human activity as it involves commercial interactions such as sales activities and behaviors. The remaining dependent claims are similar to these and do not amount to an integration for the same reasons.
Step 2B is the next step in the eligibility analyses and evaluates whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (i.e., “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception. According to Office procedure, revised Step 2A overlaps with Step 2B, and thus, many of the considerations need not be re-evaluated in Step 2B because the answer will be the same.
In Step 2A, several additional elements were identified as additional limitations:
receive, through a graphical user interface, a request for a roof report from a user;
generate a roof report, wherein the roof report includes at least one image showing the roof and the estimated roofing area of the roof
receiving and obtaining data (at least claim 2,3,9)
These additional limitations, including the limitations in the dependent claims, do not amount to an inventive concept because they are recited at a high level of generality and also do not amount to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field, apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
In addition, they were already analyzed under Step 2A and did not amount to a practical application of the abstract idea.
Therefore, the claims lack one or more limitations which amount to an inventive concept in the claims.
For these reasons, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-13, 11-14, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pershing (US 2008/0262789) in view of Bailey ("ROOFER: steep roofing inventory procedures and inspection and distress manual for asphalt shingle roofs", David M. Bailey, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, CERL Tech. Rept. 99/100, December 1999.).
Referring to Claim 1, Pershing teaches one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing a set of computer executable instructions for running on one or more computer systems that when executed cause the one or more computer systems to:
receive, through a graphical user interface, a request for a roof report from a user (see Perishing ¶¶0013-14,24);
analyze pixels of at least two images of a roof having a plurality of roof portions (see Pershing ¶¶0031-32,34,37 and Fig. 5E), the at least two images taken from different perspectives, at least one of the images being an oblique image (see Pershing ¶¶0022,28 and Figs. 3,5B), to determine:
a footprint of the roof, comprising an outer boundary of the roof, utilizing two-dimensional or three-dimensional information regarding edges of the roof to determine line segments of the footprint (see Pershing ¶¶00034-35,37 and Fig. 5C,5E);
a pitch of the roof (see Pershing ¶0037 and Fig. 5D);
determine an estimated roofing area of the roof based on the pitch and the footprint of the roof (see Pershing ¶¶0012,24 and Fig. 5E);
generate a roof report, wherein the roof report includes at least one image showing the roof and the estimated roofing area of the roof (see Pershing ¶¶0021,24 and Fig. 5E).
Perishing does not teach wherein the pitch is a predominant pitch of the roof. However, Bailey teaches this (see Bailey at 10,17, Bailey records for a roof section “the predominant slope of the roof section”, and a building have a steep roofing section of approximately 10,000 square feet or less is managed as a single roof section, with roofing dormers and similar projections included in that same section, such that the predominant slope is recorded as a single inclination value characterizing an entire multi-plane roof). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine these references because the results would be predictable. Specifically, Perishing would continue to teach analyzing the pixels of the aerial images to determine a footprint of the roof and a pitch of the roof, and determining an estimated roofing area based on that pitch and footprint, except that now the pitch determined and used would be a predominant pitch of the roof according to the teachings of Bailey. This is a predictable result of the combination.
Referring to Claim 2, the combination teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing a set of computer executable instructions for running on one or more computer systems of claim 1, that when executed further cause the one or more computer systems to receive a location of the roof and to obtain the at least two images of the roof based on the location of the roof (see Pershing ¶¶0030-31).
Referring to Claim 5, the combination teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing a set of computer executable instructions for running on one or more computer systems of claim 1, that when executed further cause the one or more computer systems to provide the roof report to one or more contractors, the contractor located within a region of interest of a geographic location of the roof (see Pershing ¶¶0014,24,27).
Referring to Claim 7, the combination teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing a set of computer executable instructions for running on one or more computer systems of claim 1, wherein analyzing pixels of at least two images to determine the predominant pitch of the roof further comprises determining a first pitch factor and a second pitch factor (see Pershing ¶0037 and Fig. 5D).
Perishing does not teach wherein determining the predominant pitch comprises combining the first pitch factor and the second pitch factor. However, Bailey teaches this (see Bailey at 17,135,137 and Table 3, Bailey assigns to each roof slope an “Area/Rake Factor” by which the projected horizontal area for that slope is multiplied and directs that area calculations to be grouped in terms of roof slope and the resulting areas combined to obtain the total area of the roof to be covered, and records it as a single predominant slope for the roof section). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine these references because the results would be predictable. Specifically, Perishing would continue to teach determining a pitch factor for each section of the roof, except that now those pitch factors would be combined to arrive at a single predominant slope for that roof according to the teachings of Bailey. This is a predictable result of the combination.
Referring to Claim 8, the combination teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing a set of computer executable instructions for running one or more computer systems of claim 7. Neither Perishing nor Bailey teaches wherein combining the first pitch factor and the second pitch factor comprises determining a weighted average of the first pitch factor and the second pitch factor. Baily does, however, establish that the determination of a weighted average was a known technique in the roofing art before the effective filing date of the invention, and applies that technique to combining two separately determined pre-roof-section values into a single value representative of the roof section (see Bailey at 35,146, Bailey combines a flashing condition index “FCI” and a shingle condition index “SCI”, each at independently determined numerical values characterizing the roof section, into a single roof condition index by multiplying each value by a fractional weight and summing the resulting products, the weights totaling unity, according to the RCI equation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply that known technique of determining a weighted average to the combining step taught by Perishing and Baily, under the rationale of MPEP 2143(C), use of known technique to improve a similar method in the same way. Specifically, Bailey and Perishing would continue to teach combining the individual pitch factors of the roof sections to arrive at a single predominant slope of the roof, except that now that combining would be performed by determining a weighted average of those pitch factors. A person of ordinary skill in the art faced with the task of reducing two per-section values to one value representative of the roof section would have recognized that weighted averaging would have been a available and suitable technique for that purpose, Bailey having applied that very technique to that very task within the same prior art reference. Further, the result of the combination would be predictable as the combination’s application to pitch factors rather than to condition indexes requires no change in the manner in which it operates and yields predictable results.
Referring to Claim 9, the combination teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing a set of computer executable instructions for running one or more computer systems of claim 8, wherein the first pitch factor is indicative of a pitch of a first portion of the plurality of roof portions and the second pitch factor is indicative of a pitch of a second portion of the plurality of roof portions (see Perishing ¶0037 and Fig 5D). Perishing further teaches reporting the square footage of each individual roof section, namely 711, 448, and 1188 square feet, alongside the total area of the roof of 2347 square feet, such that the corresponding percentage of the roof occupied by each portion is directly derivable from the face of the figure, being approximately 30 percent, 19 percent, and 51 percent respectively (see Perishing ¶0037 and Fig. 5E). Perishing does not teach wherein determining the weighted average of the first pitch factor and the second pitch factor is based on those corresponding percentages of the roof. However, Bailey teaches that the actual area of a roof is a function of its slope, so that area calculations must be grouped in terms of roof slope and areas of different slope are not combined until the true roof areas have been determined (see Bailey at 135). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine these references because the results would be predictable. Specifically, Perishing and Bailey would continue to teach determining a weighted average of the individual pitch factors to arrive at a single predominant slope for the roof, except that now the weight applied to each pitch factor would be the corresponding percentage of the roof occupied by the portion having the pitch factor. This is a predictable result of the combination.
Referring to Claim 10, the combination teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing a set of computer executable instructions for running on one or more computer systems of claim 1, that when executed further cause the one or more computer systems to receive a roofing order for the roof report (see Pershing ¶¶0013-14,23,40).
Referring to Claims 11-13, 16, 18-20, these claims are similar to claims 1-2, 5, 7-9 10 and therefore rejected under the same reasoning and rationale.
Claims 3 and 14 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pershing (US 2008/0262789) in view of Bailey in further view of Abhyanker (US 2007/0220174).
Referring to Claim 3, the combination teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing a set of computer executable instructions for running on one or more computer systems of claim 2, but does not teach receiving a validation of the location of the roof. However, Abhyanker teaches this (see Abhyanker ¶0011). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine these references because the results would be predictable. Specifically, the combination of Perishing and Bailey would continue to teach receiving a location of the roof and obtaining the at least two images of the roof based on that location, except that now the user would designate the geographic position of the roof by placing a marker to confirm the designation before the images are analyzed, according to the teachings of Abhyankar. This is a predictable result of the combination.
Referring to Claim 14, this claim is similar to claim 12 and therefore rejected under the same reasoning and rationale.
Claims 4 and 15 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pershing (US 2008/0262789) in view of Bailey in further view of Como (US 2002/0087332).
Referring to Claim 4, the combination teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing a set of computer executable instructions for running on one or more computer systems of claim 1, wherein the roof report includes one or more ortho images of the roof, one or more oblique images of the roof, the estimated roofing area (see Pershing Fig. 3A-3E). Pershing does not teach wherein the report further includes contact information of one or more contractor within a region of interest of a geographic location of the roof. However, Como teaches wherein a report includes contact information of one or more contractor within a region of interest of a geographic location of a roof (see Como ¶0093-96 and Fig. 12A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the date of invention to combine these references because the results would be predictable. Specifically, Pershing and Thornberry would continue to generate a roof report that includes images of the roof and an estimated roofing area, except that now it would also have contact information for contractors according to the teachings of Como. This is a predictable result of the combination.
Referring to Claim 15, this claim is similar to claim 4 and therefore rejected under the same reasoning and rationale.
Claims 6 and 17 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pershing (US 2008/0262789) in view of Bailey in further view of Pershing-074 (US 2010/0110074).
Referring to Claim 6, the combination teaches the one or more non-transitory computer readable medium storing a set of computer executable instructions for running on one or more computer systems of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the estimated roofing area of the roof is reported as a quantity of roofing material. However Perishing-074 teaches this (see Perishing-074 ¶0056). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine these references because the results would be predictable. Specifically, the combination of Perishing and Bailey would continue to teach determining and reporting the estimated roofing area of the roof, except that now that area would additionally be reported as a quantity of roofing material according to the teachings of Perishing-074. This is a predictable result of the combination.
Referring to Claim 17, this claim depends from claim 12 and recites limitations that correspond to claim 6, and is therefore rejected under the same reasoning and rationale as claim 6.
Remarks
Additional prior art relevant to the application but nor relied upon includes:
Pershing (US 8,078,436) teaches calculating the area of a roof.
Kennedy (US 20090304227) teaches provisioning energy systems using aerial images of roofs.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW E ZIMMERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688