DETAILED ACTION
1. The office acknowledges the receipt of the following and placed of record in the file: Amendment dated 12/16/25.
2. Claims 1-17 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (“Sun”), U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0198248 and Yuanzhi Li (“Li”), U.S. patent Publication No. 2021/0165755.
Regarding Claims 1, 10 and 11, Sun teaches a system for transferring power and data from a USB-C PD connection [Fig-9], comprising:
a USB-C power delivery (PD) port configured to provide an output voltage [Para: 0036 (“module 100 can also be configured to power and/or charge the host device 310” via cable 312 where “cable 312 having a first type of connectors (e.g., USB Type-C connectors” see para: 0035]; and
a cable (cable 312) including a first end (connects to host device 310) and a second end (connects to based module 100) [Fig-9], the first end of the cable including a USB-C connector configured to provide a power output to a device engaged therewith [Para: 0036(“module 100 can also be configured to power and/or charge the host device 310 “)], a second cable (cable 322) having a USB type C connector having an HDMI connector [Para: 0035(“second cable 322 having a second type of connectors (e.g., HDMI, DisplayPort, VGA connectors”)],
wherein the HDMI connector configured to provide a video output to a device engaged therewith [Para: 0035(as A/V device 320 receives “audio and/or visual data to A/V device 320”)], the second end of the cable(s) configured for connection with the USB-C PD port [Para: 0035(“electrically coupled to the base module 100 via a first cable 312 having a first type of connectors (e.g., USB Type-C connectors”)].
Sun is not clear about a cable includes a control assembly and does not disclose expressly the first end of the cable including a first branch having a USB-C connector and a second branch having an HDMI connector,
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., OAM implementation in data routing network), Li teaches a cable including a first end (200 and 400) and a second end (100) [Fig-1] which includes a control assembly [ Para: 0015(cable having an “electronic drawing board system, including: a USB-type-C socket, an analog switch, an electromagnetic screen module and a three-in-one multimedia cable” where the switch can perform a control mechanism as “analog switch, which is used to detect a 5V power input of the HDMI interface, and determine to switch the internal connection relationship of the electronic drawing board according to the position of the 5V power input pin of the HDMI plug” see para 0035)]; and
wherein the first end of the cable including a first branch having a USB-C connector (USB power supply 400) and a second branch having an HDMI connector [Para: 0032(HDMI 200)].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sun’s teachings of a first cable having a USB-C connector configured output power to a device and a second cable having a HDMI connector providing a video output to a device with Li’s teachings of a single USB-C cable with a first end a first branch having USB type connector providing power and second branch providing HDMI connector proving video data and second end connect with USB-C PD port for the purpose of providing “three-in-one multimedia cable” including USB-C connector, HDMI connector and a USB-C type PD port in a single cable [Li, Para: 0030] which provide user with more options and flexibility connecting devices.
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Sun teaches wherein the USB-C PD port is configured to provide a plurality of output voltages [Para: 0036 and 0042(negotiate voltage to multiple voltages)].
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Sun teaches wherein the control circuit assembly is configured to negotiate an output voltage of the plurality of output voltages between the device engaged with the USB-C connector and the USB-C PD port [Para: [0038(negotiate voltage), 0041 (“negotiate and manage to deliver power …”) and 0042].
Regarding Claims 4 and 16, Li teaches wherein the cable is configured to transmit power, data, and video substantially simultaneously between the USB-C PD port to at least one device engaged with the cable [Para: 0035-0037].
Regarding Claims 5, 14 and 15, Sun teaches wherein the control circuit assembly is configured to negotiate an output voltage of the plurality of output voltages between the device engaged with the USB-C connector and the USB-C PD port, and between the device engaged with the HDMI connector and the USB-C PD port [Para: 0018 and 0038(“controllers 412, 422, and 432, respectively … are configured to negotiate power delivery”)-044].
Regarding Claim 6, Sun teaches a battery pack, wherein the USB- C PD port is included on the battery pack [Para: 0029 and 0036].
Regarding Claim 7, Sun teaches a cinematography battery pack, wherein the USB-C PD port is included on the cinematography battery pack [Para: 0019(“Type-C (USB-C) travel adapter including a base module with video connectors (e.g., VGA, HDMI DispalyPort) as well as a USB-C power port … can include a battery pack”)].
Regarding Claim 8, Sun teaches wherein the device (base module 100) engaged with the USB-C connector is the same device as the device engaged with the HDMI connector [Para: 0035(“the base module 100 via a first cable 312 having a first type of connectors (e.g., USB Type-C connectors) and an A/V device 320 can be connected to the base module 100 via a second cable 322 having a second type of connectors (e.g.,HDMI DisplayPort, VGA connectors)” also see rejection to claim 17)].
Regarding Claim 9, Sun teaches wherein the device engaged with the USB-C connector (host device 310) is different than the device engaged with the HDMI connector (A/V device 320) [Fig-9(“the host device 310 can be a laptop computer and the A/V device 320 can be a projector or display device”)].
Regarding Claim 17, Since it is directly related to Claim 1 (according to the Examiner’s interpretation), the supporting rationale of the rejection to Claim 1 applies equally as well to Claim 17 and Li furthermore teaches wherein the device engage ed with the USB-C connector is the same device as the device engaged with the HDMI device [Para: 0016(“The three-in-one multimedia cable of the present invention has the following beneficial effects: the three-in-one multimedia cable includes a USB-type-C plug, an HDMI plug, … a power supply plug, and integrates three connecting cables with respective functions of video data transmission, data control transmission and power supply into a USB-type-C plug, so that users do not need to use multiple cables when using …” suggests that the USB-C and the HDMI connections are used in a same device also see para: 0035 “analog switch, which is used to detect a 5V power input of the HDMI interface, and determine to switch the internal connection … according to the position of the 5V power input pin of the HDMI plug. For example, when the 5V power input pin is connected to the B5 pin, the analog switch only needs to detect which of the A5 pin and the B5 pin of the USB-type-C plug is 5V to know the insertion direction of the USB-type-C plug”)].
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed on 12/16/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues regarding Claims 1 and 10 that Sun does not disclose a cable including “a control assembly”. However, Li teaches the argued feature as set forth above.
Applicant further argues regarding Claim 8 that Sun does not disclose “wherein the device engaged with the USB-C connector is the same device as the device engaged with the HDMI connector”. Claim is very broad and vague about a state of these connectors that are “engaged” with the device. First, examiner already established that Li teaches a “cable” having a first end including a first branch having USB-C connector and a second branch having an HDMI connector and a second end is connected to USB-C (PD) port in claim-1.
Sun on the other hand is used for sowing a device (100) having USB-C connector and HDMI connector which could connect through USB-C connector to a device in one time and further connect through an HDMI connector to a device in another time with the cable of Li. Therefore, the combination of Sun and Li teaches how these connectors are “engaged” and the argued feature as to the extent it is claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED H REHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176