2. Claims 2-18 and 21-23 are pending. Bolded claim language below regards newly amended subject matter with a corresponding new rejection citation. Newly amended subject matter that is not bolded does not comprise a new rejection citation (utilizes previous interpretation that is unchanged in view of the new language) or is a newly added claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-7, 9-16, 18, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0023820) in view of Connor (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0152064).
Regarding independent claim 2, English discloses a wrist-wearable device (Figure 1 30 described in paragraph [0142] to be worn on the wrist of a user.), comprising:
a textile band (32) (Paragraph [0142] describes a wearable support 32 is a wristband that may be formed of woven fabric (textile)) comprising a first layer (74) and a second layer (76) (Figure 5 76+74 described in p. [0034] is an exploded view of the wrist band of figure 1. Paragraph [0153] describes the layers in figure 5.);
a flexible printed circuit board (78) disposed between (figure 5) the first layer (74) and the second layer (76) of the textile band (32); and
a plurality of [ ] (defined as relating to nerves and muscles) biopotential-signal sensors (figure 5 measuring system 52 comprising ECG sensors 60 described in paragraph [0149] to measure heart rate, glucose, and/or blood pressure.), wherein each [ ] biopotential-signal sensor (60) of the plurality of [ ] biopotential-signal sensors (60):
is coupled ([0153]) to the flexible printed circuit board (78), and
is aligned with a respective cutout (80) of the first layer (76) of the textile band (32) (Paragraph [0155] describes the opening 80 through the first layer 74 is to enable the sensor housing 57, comprising sensors 60, to be mounted therethrough (describing alignment thereof).).
English does not specifically disclose the biopotential-signal sensor is a neuromuscular sensor.
Connor discloses wherein neuromuscular biopotential-signal sensor ([0095]-[0096] wherein an electromyographic sensor (neuromuscular biopotential sensor) can be electrically coupled to a circuit via conductive pattern printing with electroconductive ink or resin on an elastic, stretchable fabric/textile such as Acetate, Acrylic, Cotton, Denim, Latex, Linen, Lycra, Neoprene, Nylon, Polyester, Rayon, Silk, Spandex, and Wool.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable English’s sensor with the known technique of being a neuromuscular sensor such as EMG yielding the predictable results of measuring muscle activity as disclosed by Connor ([0092]).
Regarding claim 3, English discloses the wrist-wearable device of claim 2, wherein the first layer (76) of the textile band (32) is bonded to the second layer (74) of the textile band ([0155]).
Regarding claim 6, English discloses the wrist-wearable device of claim 2, wherein each neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensor (60) of the plurality of neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensors (60) is adhered ([0153] describes sensors 60 to be attached to the flex circuit 78 and [0155] describes adhesive for the layers to the sensor housing 57, comprising 60.) with the respective cutout (80) of the first layer (74) of the textile band (32).
Regarding claim 7, English discloses the wrist-wearable device of claim 2, wherein a profile of each cutout (80) of the first layer (74) of the textile band (32) corresponds ([0080] describes the opening 80 is through layer 4 in which 57, comprising 60, is mounted.) to a profile of each respective neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensor (60) of the plurality of neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensors (60).
Regarding claim 9, English discloses the wrist-wearable device of claim 2, further comprising an elastic material coupled to the textile band, wherein the elastic material has an elastic modulus greater than the textile band (Paragraph [0172] specifically describes an elastic difference of at least 10% between layers 74 and 76 of the textile band 32. Paragraph [0153] describes additional layers of any suitable combination of flexible, inflexible, semi-flexible, elastic, semi-elastic, and/or inelastic layers may be added.).
Regarding claim 10, English discloses the wrist-wearable device of claim 9, wherein the elastic material is sewn to the textile band (Paragraphs [0199] and [0217] describes the band formed of multiple layers may be sewn together.).
Regarding claim 11, English discloses the wrist-wearable device of claim 9, wherein the elastic material is bonded to the textile band (Paragraph [0155] describes attachment of layers via adhesive, stitching, welding, etc. each describing various types of bonding.).
Regarding claim 12, English discloses the wrist-wearable device of claim 2, further comprising a reinforcement plate coupled to the first layer of the textile band (Paragraph [0153] describes additional layers of any suitable combination of flexible, inflexible, semi-flexible, elastic, semi-elastic, and/or inelastic layers may be added (a layer of inflexible or inelastic layer inherently is within the scope of a reinforcement plate).).
Regarding independent claim 13, English discloses a method of manufacturing a wrist-wearable device (Figures 1 and 5 30 and paragraph [0155] describes means of attaching and fixing layers of the wrist band 32 together which is within the scope of a method of manufacture.), the method comprising:
coupling ([0153]) each of a plurality of [ ] biopotential-signal sensors (60) (figure 5 measuring system 52 comprising ECG sensors 60 described in paragraph [0149] to measure heart rate, glucose, and/or blood pressure.) to a flexible printed circuit board (78);
aligning (Paragraph [0155] describes the opening 80 through the first layer 74 is to enable the sensor housing 57, comprising sensors 60, to be mounted therethrough (describing alignment thereof).) each of a plurality of [ ] biopotential-signal sensors (60) with a respective cutout (80) of a first layer (74) of a textile band (32) (Paragraph [0142] describes a wearable support 32 is a wristband that may be formed of woven fabric (textile)); and
coupling the plurality of [ ] biopotential-signal sensors (60) to the first layer (74) of the textile band (32).
English does not specifically disclose the biopotential-signal sensor is a neuromuscular sensor.
Connor discloses wherein neuromuscular biopotential-signal sensor ([0095]-[0096] wherein an electromyographic sensor (neuromuscular biopotential sensor) can be electrically coupled to a circuit via conductive pattern printing with electroconductive ink or resin on an elastic, stretchable fabric/textile such as Acetate, Acrylic, Cotton, Denim, Latex, Linen, Lycra, Neoprene, Nylon, Polyester, Rayon, Silk, Spandex, and Wool.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable English’s sensor with the known technique of being a neuromuscular sensor such as EMG yielding the predictable results of measuring muscle activity as disclosed by Connor ([0092]).
Regarding claim 14, English discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising bonding ([0155]) the first layer (74) of the textile band (32) to a second layer (76) of the textile band (32).
Regarding claim 15, English discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising adhering ([0153] describes sensors 60 to be attached to the flex circuit 78 and [0155] describes adhesive for the layers to the sensor housing 57, comprising 60.) each neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensor (60) of the plurality of neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensors (60) with the respective cutout (80) of the first layer (74) of the textile band (32).
Regarding claim 16, English discloses the method of claim 13, wherein a profile of each cutout (80) of the first layer (74) of the textile band (32) corresponds ([0080] describes the opening 80 is through layer 4 in which 57, comprising 60, is mounted.) to a profile of each respective neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensor (60) of the plurality of neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensors (60).
Regarding claim 18, English discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising coupling an elastic material to the textile band, wherein the elastic material has an elastic modulus greater than the textile band (Paragraph [0172] specifically describes an elastic difference of at least 10% between layers 74 and 76 of the textile band 32. Paragraph [0153] describes additional layers of any suitable combination of flexible, inflexible, semi-flexible, elastic, semi-elastic, and/or inelastic layers may be added.).
Regarding claim 22, Connor disclose the wrist-wearable device of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of neuromuscular biopotential-signal sensors is an electromyography sensor ([0092]-[0096]).
Regarding claim 23, Connor discloses the wrist-wearable device of claim 2, wherein the first layer of the textile band and each of the plurality of neuromuscular biopotential-signal sensors is configured to contact a user’s skin ([0099]).
4. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English-Connor in view of Mahdi et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0265200), herein after referred to as Mahdi.
Regarding claim 4, English discloses the wrist-wearable device of claim 2, wherein each neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensor (60) of the plurality of neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensors (60) is attached ([0153]) to the flexible printed circuit board (78).
English does not specifically disclose soldering as a means of attaching Biopotential-signal sensors to a flexible printed circuit board.
Mahdi discloses wherein each biopotential-signal sensor (Paragraph [0077] ECG sensors 32) of the plurality of biopotential-signal sensors is soldered ([0087]) to the flexible printed circuit board (Figure 6 6).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable English’s biopotential-signal sensors 60 and flexible circuit board 78 that are attached with the known technique of being attached via soldering yielding the predictable results of a particular means of performing attachment as disclosed by Mahdi ([0087]).
5. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English-Connor in view of Wiegand et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0034732), herein after referred to as Wiegand.
Regarding claim 5, English discloses the wrist-wearable device of claim 2, wherein each neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensor (60) of the plurality of neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensors (60) is attached ([0153]) to the flexible printed circuit board (78).
English does not specifically disclose press-fit as a means of attaching Biopotential-signal sensors to a flexible printed circuit board.
Wiegand discloses wherein each [ ] sensor (Figure 4B 20) of the plurality of [ ] sensors (20) is press-fit ([0072]) to the flexible printed circuit board (9A [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable English’s biopotential-signal sensors 60 and flexible circuit board 78 that are attached with the known technique of being attached via press-fit yielding the predictable results of a particular means of performing attachment without requiring soldering or complex plug connections as disclosed by Wiegand ([0072]).
6. Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English-Connor in view of Wilczynska et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0383449), herein after referred to as Wilczynska, and further in view of Hansen et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0041002), herein after referred to as Hansen.
Regarding claim 8, English discloses the wrist-wearable device of claim 7, wherein the profile of each cutout (80) of the first layer (74) of the textile band (32) corresponds ([0155]) relative to the profile of each respective neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensor (60) of the plurality of neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensors (60).
English does not specifically disclose the profile of each cutout is undersized relative to the profile of each respective biopotential-signal sensor.
Wilczynska discloses a textile/fabric (Figures 2-4 and 5B 20/11) can comprise cutouts/slits (S1-S8) in which an elastic band (30) is passed through ([0040]) to expose the elastic band (30) facing the skin ([0054]-[0055]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable English’s Textile layer’s 74 and 76 with exposed areas for sensors 60 disposed on the flexible printed circuit layer 78 between layers 74 and 76 with the known technique of being assembling by passing through cutouts/slits enabling one or more exposed areas towards the skin (for English sensors 60) yielding the predictable results of an alternative means of manufacture enabling a wrist device as disclosed by Wilczynska (paragraph [0006]).
Hansen discloses an elastic band (figure 2 116) comprises a slit/cutout (116) that is slightly undersized with respect to the object inserted thereto to prevent the object form falling out of the slit ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable English-Wilczynska cutouts S1-S8 with passed through elastic band 32 and exposed objects/bio-potential signal sensors 60 towards the skin with the known technique of the cutouts are undersized relative to the objects yielding the predictable results of preventing the objects (sensors 60) from falling out of the exposed area (being covered by the fabric of Wilczynska) as disclosed by Hansen ([0029]).
Regarding claim 17, English discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the profile of each cutout (80) of the first layer (74) of the textile band (32) corresponds ([0155]) relative to the profile of each respective neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensor (60) of the plurality of neuromuscular (Connor: [0092]-[0096]) biopotential-signal sensors (60).
English does not specifically disclose the profile of each cutout is undersized relative to the profile of each respective biopotential-signal sensor.
Wilczynska discloses a textile/fabric (Figures 2-4 and 5B 20/11) can comprise cutouts/slits (S1-S8) in which an elastic band (30) is passed through ([0040]) to expose the elastic band (30) facing the skin ([0054]-[0055]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable English’s Textile layer’s 74 and 76 with exposed areas for sensors 60 disposed on the flexible printed circuit layer 78 between layers 74 and 76 with the known technique of being assembling by passing through cutouts/slits enabling one or more exposed areas towards the skin (for English sensors 60) yielding the predictable results of an alternative means of manufacture enabling a wrist device as disclosed by Wilczynska (paragraph [0006]).
Hansen discloses an elastic band (figure 2 116) comprises a slit/cutout (116) that is slightly undersized with respect to the object inserted thereto to prevent the object form falling out of the slit ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable English-Wilczynska cutouts S1-S8 with passed through elastic band 32 and exposed objects/bio-potential signal sensors 60 towards the skin with the known technique of the cutouts are undersized relative to the objects yielding the predictable results of preventing the objects (sensors 60) from falling out of the exposed area (being covered by the fabric of Wilczynska) as disclosed by Hansen ([0029]).
7. Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English in view of Connor in view of Akiyama et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0138627), herein after referred to as Akiyama.
Regarding independent claim 21, English discloses a system (Figure 3 62) comprising:
[ ]; and
one or more wrist wearable devices (Figure 1 30 described in paragraph [0142] to be worn on the wrist of a user.), wherein at least one of the one or more wrist wearable devices (30) comprises:
a textile band (32) (Paragraph [0142] describes a wearable support 32 is a wristband that may be formed of woven fabric (textile)) comprising a first layer (74) and a second layer (76) (Figure 5 76+74 described in p. [0034] is an exploded view of the wrist band of figure 1. Paragraph [0153] describes the layers in figure 5.);
a flexible printed circuit board (78) disposed between (figure 5) the first layer (74) and the second layer (76) of the textile band (32); and
a plurality of [ ] biopotential-signal sensors (figure 5 measuring system 52 comprising ECG sensors 60 described in paragraph [0149] to measure heart rate, glucose, and/or blood pressure.), wherein each [ ] biopotential-signal sensor (60) of the plurality of [ ] biopotential-signal sensors (60):
is coupled ([0153]) to the flexible printed circuit board (78), and
is aligned with a respective cutout (80) of the first layer (76) of the textile band (32) (Paragraph [0155] describes the opening 80 through the first layer 74 is to enable the sensor housing 57, comprising sensors 60, to be mounted therethrough (describing alignment thereof).).
English does not specifically disclose the system comprising: an artificial-reality headset.
Akiyama discloses a system (Figure 1 900) comprising: an artificial-reality headset (200 [0029]); and one or more wrist wearable devices (100) ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable English’s system of one or more wrist wearable devices with the known technique of further comprising an artificial-reality headset yielding the predictable results of linking the headset and wrist wearable device(s) for communication as disclosed by Akiyama ([0031]).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments filed 7/8/2026 regard newly amended subject matter. Newly cited art Connor is utilized in combination with previously cited art to disclose the subject matter. Please refer to the above office action as rebuttal. This action is final necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621