DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Status of the Application
Claims 1, 92, 182-212, and 214-215 have been examined in this application. Claims 2-91, 93-181, 213, and 216-250 were canceled in a preliminary amendment on 9/29/2025. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed 7/26/2026 through 6/25/2026 have been considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 92, 182-212, and 214-215 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 91, and 181-212 of U.S. Patent No. 12361370 (US12361370B2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1: Instant claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 92: Instant claim 92 is anticipated by claim 91 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 182: Instant claim 182 is anticipated by claim 181 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 183: Instant claim 183 is anticipated by claim 182 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 184: Instant claim 184 is anticipated by claim 183 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 185: Instant claim 185 is anticipated by claim 184 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 186: Instant claim 186 is anticipated by claim 185 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 187: Instant claim 187 is anticipated by claim 186 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 188: Instant claim 188 is anticipated by claim 187 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 189: Instant claim 189 is anticipated by claim 188 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 190: Instant claim 190 is anticipated by claim 189 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 191: Instant claim 191 is anticipated by claim 190 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 192: Instant claim 192 is anticipated by claim 191 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 193: Instant claim 193 is anticipated by claim 192 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 194: Instant claim 194 is anticipated by claim 193 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 195: Instant claim 195 is anticipated by claim 194 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 196: Instant claim 196 is anticipated by claim 195 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 197: Instant claim 197 is anticipated by claim 196 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 198: Instant claim 198 is anticipated by claim 197 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 199: Instant claim 199 is anticipated by claim 198 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 200: Instant claim 200 is anticipated by claim 181 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 201: Instant claim 201 is anticipated by claim 199 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 202: Instant claim 202 is anticipated by claim 200 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 203: Instant claim 203 is anticipated by claim 201 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 204: Instant claim 204 is anticipated by claim 202 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 205: Instant claim 205 is anticipated by claim 203 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 206: Instant claim 206 is anticipated by claim 204 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 207: Instant claim 207 is anticipated by claim 205 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 208: Instant claim 208 is anticipated by claim 206 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 209: Instant claim 209 is anticipated by claim 207 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 210: Instant claim 210 is anticipated by claim 208 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 211: Instant claim 211 is anticipated by claim 209 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 212: Instant claim 212 is anticipated by claim 210 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 214: Instant claim 214 is anticipated by claim 211 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim 215: Instant claim 215 is anticipated by claim 212 of the ‘370 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 197-198 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 197 and 198 depend from claim 182, and recite “the reporting period for the bridge node” – however, the claims do not recite sufficient antecedent basis for “the reporting period for the bridge node.” Therefore, claims 197 and 198 are indefinite because it is unclear what reporting period is being referred to, or whether the claims were intended to include a prior limitations referring to a reporting period for the bridge node.
For the purposes of further examination, the examiner interprets the claims as reading “a reporting period for the bridge node.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 182-190, 197-198, 204-207, and 210-212 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150349917 A1 to Skaaksrud et al. (Skaaksrud) in view of US 20180374043 A1 to Irwin et al. (Irwin).
Claim 1: Skaaksrud teaches:
An enhanced connected logistics receptacle system for receiving and temporarily maintaining a delivery item and causing a backend server to initiate a dispatched logistics operation (Skaaskrud: Figs. 82A-82B, ¶ 0713-0720 showing receptacle system which detects a package drop off by a customer, and stores the package until pickup by a carrier), the system comprising:
a storage receptacle for receiving the delivery item, the storage receptacle comprising an entrance opening for receiving the delivery item (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713, ¶ 0720 showing node-enabled logistics receptacle comprising entrance opening for receiving a package),
a temporary storage area for temporarily maintaining the delivery item once the delivery item has been deposited within the storage receptacle through the entrance opening (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713 “a temporary storage area within the receptacle where the package is temporarily and securely maintained until an authorized pickup”),
a selectively accessible retrieval door providing access to the temporary storage area of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0716 “a shipping entity's courier personnel may arrive and pickup any deposited packages using payload access door 8210”);
a bridge node mounted to the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713-0714 showing the node-enabled receptacle with a master node attached to the receptacle), the bridge node comprising a bridge node processor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0225 master node comprising a processor),
a bridge node memory coupled to the bridge node processor, the bridge node memory storage maintaining bridge node code for execution by the bridge node processor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0225, ¶ 0236 showing memory storing instructions/executable code executed by node processing unit),
a long-range communication interface coupled to the bridge node processor, the long-range communication interface being operative to communicate with the backend server over a first communication path (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0722-0724 showing long range communication interface in communication with a server), and
a short-range communication interface coupled to the bridge node processor, the short-range communication interface being operative to communicate over a second communication path (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0722-0724 showing the node-enabled receptacle may include multiple communications interfaces, and ¶ 0139 showing master nodes can also include a short-range wireless communications interface);
a wireless accessory sensor node having at least one sensor that monitors for a change in state of the storage receptacle, wherein the wireless accessory sensor node being further operative to detect the change in state of the storage receptacle based upon sensor data generated by the at least one sensor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0139 showing master node including wireless communications, ¶ 0630 master node may be configured with a sensor and used within wireless node network, ¶ 0779-0786, ¶ 0789-0792 showing the receptacle using sensor to detect a package being dropped into the receptacle according to sensor signals sent to the node),
With respect to the limitation:
record timestamped information reflecting the detected change in state of the storage receptacle, and
Skaaksrud teaches the sensor node detecting a recording data reflecting the detected change in state of the storage receptacle when an item is deposited in the receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0782-0786, ¶ 0789-0792), but does not explicitly teach recording timestamped information reflecting the detected change. However, Irwin teaches recording timestamped information detecting when an item is deposited into a storage unit (Irwin: ¶ 0200 “the control unit 144 records the time of deposit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the recording the time of deposit of an item of Irwin in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, with the motivation to “to track the amount of time that an item has been in a storage receptacle 132, and designate the item for removal from the storage receptacle 132 if the item has been in the storage receptacle 132 in excess of some duration” (Irwin: ¶ 0200). Furthermore, it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to do so, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
broadcast an updated advertising signal having a data available flag set within the updated advertising signal, the data available flag indicating the wireless accessory sensor node has event information available for upload by the bridge node (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0181 “Alert Level 3—Data for Upload—node has captured data available for upload through a master node; and Synchronize—The advertising node requests to connect with a device or sensor that can synchronize data (such as timer or location information)” and ¶ 0210 “The exemplary node association manager for a node may indicate through a Status Flag…if it has information available for upload to the backend”; also see ¶ 0311-0314)
With respect to the following limitation:
the event information including at least the timestamped information reflecting the detected change in state of the storage receptacle;
While Skaaksrud teaches broadcasting an advertising signal based upon sensor data/event information that needs to be uploaded to the server (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 as above), Skaaksrud does not teach the event data as including timestamped information. However, similar to the limitation above, Irwin teaches event information including the captured timestamped information detecting when an item is deposited into a storage unit (Irwin: ¶ 0200 “the control unit 144 records the time of deposit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the recording event information including the time of deposit of an item of Irwin in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud/Irwin with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, for the same reasons described above.
Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the bridge node processor, when executing the bridge node code maintained on the bridge node memory, is operative to detect the data available flag set within the updated advertising signal over the short-range communication interface (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 showing master node may detect that the id node has data available for upload based on the alert flag; also see ¶ 0189-0191 showing scanning for advertising signals over short-range communications, e.g. Bluetooth, for nodes that are broadcasting a status flag),
retrieve the event information available for upload from the wireless accessory sensor node using the short-range communication interface (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 showing master node connects with the ID node to store the sensor node data; see ¶ 0139 master nodes may connect/communicate with id nodes/sensor nodes through short range communication interface), and
transmit, using the long-range communication interface, the retrieved event information to the backend server (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 “The transmitted data may then be stored by the nearby master node as sensor data 450 in either or both of the master node's volatile memory 420 and memory storage 415. Subsequent to that storage operation, the nearby master node will transfer the data (e.g., sensor data 450) to server 100”) to cause the backend server to initiate the dispatched logistics operation related to the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0807 “The exemplary node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 is operative, through code running on the processing unit of master node 9105, to send a message to server 100 to report the current status of packages in the receptacle 9100. In more detail, node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 is operative, through code (such as code 425) running on the processing unit (such as unit 400) of master node 9105, to send a message to server 100 where the message identifies a plurality of packages (such as packages 9110, 9115) currently maintained within the node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 ready for pickup. The message is transmitted through a communication interface that is part of master node 9105, through network 105, and is received by server 100”; also see ¶ 0808-0810 and ¶ 0806 “reports a current status of packages maintained within the receptacle to a server for enhanced deployment of pickup services by pickup entities”; and see ¶ 0645 “the node-enabled logistics receptacle is operative to transfer one or more results collected by the node-enabled logistics receptacle listening to at least one other ID node within the receptacle. However, if the embedded node is implemented and operates as a master node, the embedded node can directly update a server when the current inventory of nodes changes”; also see ¶ 0811-0824 generally showing transmitting pickup requests to dispatch entities to perform pickup)
Claim 182: Skaaksrud teaches:
An enhanced connected logistics receptacle system for receiving and temporarily maintaining a delivery item and initiating a dispatched logistics operation involving the delivery item (Skaaskrud: Figs. 82A-82B, ¶ 0713-0720 showing receptacle system which detects a package drop off by a customer, and stores the package until pickup by a carrier), the system comprising:
a storage receptacle for receiving the delivery item, the storage receptacle comprising an entrance opening for receiving the delivery item (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713, ¶ 0720 showing node-enabled logistics receptacle comprising entrance opening for receiving a package),
a temporary storage area for temporarily maintaining the delivery item once the delivery item has been deposited within the storage receptacle through the entrance opening (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713 “a temporary storage area within the receptacle where the package is temporarily and securely maintained until an authorized pickup”),
a selectively accessible retrieval door providing access to the temporary storage area of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0716 “a shipping entity's courier personnel may arrive and pickup any deposited packages using payload access door 8210”);
a backend server (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0719 “node-enabled logistics receptacle 8200 is operative to communicate directly with a server 100 over network 105”);
a bridge node mounted to the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713-0714 showing the node-enabled receptacle with a master node attached to the receptacle), the bridge node comprising a bridge node processor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0225, ¶ 0236 showing memory storing instructions/executable code executed by node processing unit),
a bridge node memory coupled to the bridge node processor, the bridge node memory storage maintaining bridge node code for execution by the bridge node processor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0225, ¶ 0236 showing memory storing instructions/executable code executed by node processing unit),
a long-range communication interface coupled to the bridge node processor, the long-range communication interface being operative to communicate with the backend server over a first communication path (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0722-0724 showing long range communication interface in communication with a server), and
a short-range communication interface coupled to the bridge node processor, the short-range communication interface being operative to communicate over a second communication path (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0722-0724 showing the node-enabled receptacle may include multiple communications interfaces, and ¶ 0139 showing master nodes can include a short-range wireless communications interface over a short range communications path);
a wireless accessory sensor node having at least one sensor that monitors for a change in state of the storage receptacle, wherein the wireless accessory sensor node being further operative to detect the change in state of the storage receptacle based upon sensor data generated by the at least one sensor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0782-0786, ¶ 0789-0792 showing the receptacle using multiple sensors to detect a package being dropped into the receptacle according to sensor signals sent to the node, with ¶ 0139 showing master node including wireless communications, ¶ 0630 master node may be configured with one or more sensor nodes and used within wireless node network),
With respect to the limitation:
record timestamped information reflecting the detected change in state of the storage receptacle, and
Skaaksrud teaches the sensor node detecting a recording data reflecting the detected change in state of the storage receptacle when an item is deposited in the receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0782-0786, ¶ 0789-0792), but does not explicitly teach recording timestamped information reflecting the detected change. However, Irwin teaches recording timestamped information detecting when an item is deposited into a storage unit (Irwin: ¶ 0200 “the control unit 144 records the time of deposit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the recording the time of deposit of an item of Irwin in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, with the motivation to “to track the amount of time that an item has been in a storage receptacle 132, and designate the item for removal from the storage receptacle 132 if the item has been in the storage receptacle 132 in excess of some duration” (Irwin: ¶ 0200). Furthermore, it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to do so, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
broadcast an updated advertising signal having a data available flag set within the updated advertising signal, the data available flag indicating the wireless accessory sensor node has event information available for upload by the bridge node (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0181 “Alert Level 3—Data for Upload—node has captured data available for upload through a master node; and Synchronize—The advertising node requests to connect with a device or sensor that can synchronize data (such as timer or location information)” and ¶ 0210 “The exemplary node association manager for a node may indicate through a Status Flag…if it has information available for upload to the backend”; also see ¶ 0311-0314),
With respect to the limitation:
the event information including at least the timestamped information reflecting the detected change in state of the storage receptacle;
While Skaaksrud teaches broadcasting an advertising signal based upon sensor data/event information that needs to be uploaded to the server (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 as above), Skaaksrud does not teach the event data as including timestamped information. However, similar to the limitation above, Irwin teaches event information including the captured timestamped information detecting when an item is deposited into a storage unit (Irwin: ¶ 0200 “the control unit 144 records the time of deposit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the recording event information including the time of deposit of an item of Irwin in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud/Irwin with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, for the same reasons described above.
Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the bridge node processor, when executing the bridge node code maintained on the bridge node memory, is operative to detect the data available flag set within the updated advertising signal over the short-range communication interface (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 showing master node may detect that the id node has data available for upload based on the alert flag; also see ¶ 0189-0191 showing scanning for advertising signals over short-range communications, e.g. Bluetooth, for nodes that are broadcasting a status flag),
retrieve the event information available for upload from the wireless accessory sensor node using the short-range communication interface (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 showing master node connects with the ID node to store the sensor node data; see ¶ 0139 master nodes may connect/communicate with id nodes/sensor nodes through short range communication interface), and
transmit, using the long-range communication interface, the retrieved event information to the backend server (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 “The transmitted data may then be stored by the nearby master node as sensor data 450 in either or both of the master node's volatile memory 420 and memory storage 415. Subsequent to that storage operation, the nearby master node will transfer the data (e.g., sensor data 450) to server 100”); and
wherein the backend server is operative to receive the retrieved event information from the bridge node, and initiate, in response to receiving the retrieved event information, the dispatched logistics operation related to the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0807 “The exemplary node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 is operative, through code running on the processing unit of master node 9105, to send a message to server 100 to report the current status of packages in the receptacle 9100. In more detail, node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 is operative, through code (such as code 425) running on the processing unit (such as unit 400) of master node 9105, to send a message to server 100 where the message identifies a plurality of packages (such as packages 9110, 9115) currently maintained within the node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 ready for pickup. The message is transmitted through a communication interface that is part of master node 9105, through network 105, and is received by server 100”; also see ¶ 0808-0810 and ¶ 0806 “reports a current status of packages maintained within the receptacle to a server for enhanced deployment of pickup services by pickup entities”; and see ¶ 0645 “the node-enabled logistics receptacle is operative to transfer one or more results collected by the node-enabled logistics receptacle listening to at least one other ID node within the receptacle. However, if the embedded node is implemented and operates as a master node, the embedded node can directly update a server when the current inventory of nodes changes”; also see ¶ 0811-0824 generally showing transmitting pickup requests to dispatch entities to perform pickup)
Claim 183: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 181. Skaaskrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the backend server is operative to initiate the dispatched logistics operation by being further operative to reactively dispatch a logistics asset to the storage receptacle for pickup of at least the delivery item from within the storage receptacle as at least part of the dispatched logistics operation (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0814-0820, with ¶ 0823 showing “identifying which of the plurality of pickup entities need to be deployed to provide one or more pickup services at the node-enabled logistics receptacle…” and ¶ 0824 “transmitting a pickup request by the server over a communication interface of the server to the identified ones of the pickup entities regarding the one or more pickup services to be performed at the node-enabled logistics receptacle. For instance, in the example illustrated and explained in FIG. 91, if the identified ones of the pickup entities that need to perform pickup services at node-enable logistics receptacle 9100 are the pickup entities FedEx® Express and FedEx® Ground (that respectively operate courier vehicles 9135 and 9140), server 100 may transmit a pickup request to each of these vehicles via network 105”; note that notifying one or more pickup entities that operate courier vehicles to perform pickup services at the node-enabled receptacle reads on dispatching a logistics asset to the storage receptacle)
Claim 184: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 183. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
further comprising a mobile node operated by the logistics asset (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0814, ¶ 0824 showing the couriers operate vehicles, i.e. mobile nodes, to which the server transmits the messages requesting the courier entities to pickup from the node-enabled logistics receptacle); and wherein the backend server is operative to dispatch the logistics asset to the storage receptacle for pickup of at least the delivery item from within the storage receptacle by being further operative to transmit a pickup message to the mobile node operated by the logistics asset, the pickup message identifying the storage receptacle for the dispatched logistics operation (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0814-0820 and ¶ 0823-0824 as above showing notifying the couriers to perform pickup at the node-enabled logistics receptacle, by transmitting a pickup request to each of these vehicles via the network; also see ¶ 0811 showing “Such a message identifies package 9110 and package 9115 as being currently maintained within the node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 and ready for pickup”)
Claim 185: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 182. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
further comprising a mobile node operated by a logistics asset (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0814, ¶ 0824 showing the couriers, i.e. logistics assets, operate vehicles, i.e. mobile nodes, to which the server transmits the messages requesting the courier entities to pickup from the node-enabled logistics receptacle); and
wherein the backend server is operative to responsively initiate the dispatched logistics operation by being further operative to transmit a pickup message to the mobile node operated by the logistics asset (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0814-0820 and ¶ 0823-0824 as above showing notifying the couriers to perform pickup at the node-enabled logistics receptacle, by transmitting a pickup request to each of these vehicles via the network),
the pickup message identifying the storage receptacle for the dispatched logistics operation (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0811 showing “Such a message identifies package 9110 and package 9115 as being currently maintained within the node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 and ready for pickup”)
and altering a previously scheduled dispatch operation related to the storage receptacle as the dispatched logistics operation (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0825 “transmit the pickup request by accessing an existing pickup schedule maintained in the server memory storage, where the existing pickup schedule comprising one or more existing scheduled pickup services at the node-enabled logistics receptacle. Then, method 9200 may notify one of the pickup entities that is on the existing pickup schedule but that is not identified as one of the plurality of pickup entities that it does not need to provide one or more pickup services at the node-enabled logistics receptacle based upon the shipping information. Further still, method 9200 may also include revising the existing pickup schedule based on the identified ones of the plurality of pickup entities that need to provide one or more pickup services at the node-enabled logistics receptacle based upon the shipping information”)
Claim 186: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 182. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
further comprising a first mobile node operated by a first logistics asset previously responsible for performing the dispatched logistics operation (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0825 “the existing pickup schedule comprising one or more existing scheduled pickup services at the node-enabled logistics receptacle. Then, method 9200 may notify one of the pickup entities that is on the existing pickup schedule but that is not identified as one of the plurality of pickup entities that it does not need to provide one or more pickup services at the node-enabled logistics receptacle based upon the shipping information”; see ¶ 0824 showing the pickup entities operate courier vehicles, i.e. at least a first mobile node);
a second mobile node operated by a second logistics asset (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0824 showing at least a second vehicle corresponding to a second courier pickup entity); and
wherein the backend server is operative to responsively initiate the dispatched logistics operation by being further operative to assess the retrieved event information to determine a change in the dispatched logistics operation (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0821-0825 showing deploying pickup entities by determining, based upon shipping information related to the identified plurality of packages currently maintained within the node-enabled receptacle, pickup entities to provide the one or more pickup services),
transmit a pickup message to the second logistics asset to initiate the dispatched logistics operation related to the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0824 “transmitting a pickup request by the server over a communication interface of the server to the identified ones of the pickup entities regarding the one or more pickup services to be performed at the node-enabled logistics receptacle… if the identified ones of the pickup entities that need to perform pickup services at node-enable logistics receptacle 9100 are the pickup entities FedEx® Express and FedEx® Ground (that respectively operate courier vehicles 9135 and 9140), server 100 may transmit a pickup request to each of these vehicles via network 105” and ¶ 0826 “transmitting the future pickup schedule to those of the pickup entities having a predicted pickup service in the future pickup schedule for the node-enabled logistics receptacle”), and
transmit a notification message to the first logistics asset regarding the change in the dispatched logistics operation (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0825 showing revising the pickup schedule and “method 9200 may notify one of the pickup entities that is on the existing pickup schedule but that is not identified as one of the plurality of pickup entities that it does not need to provide one or more pickup services at the node-enabled logistics receptacle based upon the shipping information”)
Claim 187: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 182. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the sensor data generated by the at least one sensor comprises sensor data indicating a change in state of the entrance opening as the change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0775 “sensor 8920 may be a sensor that relies upon a type of echolocation (e.g., ultrasonic sensor that sends out ultrasonic waves to determine movement based upon a change in the returned energy sensed by the sensor). In an example shown in FIG. 89C, sensor 8925 may be a light sensor where a package, which is moving from the opening 8205 and through the top interior part 8225 of receptacle 8200 to enter and travel through the interior storage region 8230, breaks a light being sensed or detected by sensor 8925, which then generates a responsive sensor signal”; or see ¶ 0779 “node 8220 of exemplary node-enabled logistics receptacle 8200 may further include a door sensor that detects movement of the door shown in FIG. 89C hinged to cover opening 8205” and ¶ 0797 “a door sensor that monitors the entrance opening of the receptacle”)
Claim 188: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 187. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one of
a motion sensor detecting a change in motion of the entrance opening as the change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0797 “a door sensor that monitors the entrance opening of the receptacle (typically covered by a door). In a more detailed example, the sensor may comprise a motion detector coupled to the node assembled within the node-enabled logistics receptacle. As such, the motion detector may sense movement of the first package and the second package when deposited within the interior storage region of the node-enabled logistics receptacle”),
a motion sensor detecting movement of what is received through the entrance opening as the change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0790 “the sensor may be implemented as a motion detector coupled to the node assembled with the receptacle. As such, the motion detector may sense movement of the first package and the second package as the packages are respectively deposited within the interior storage region”),
an accelerometer detecting a change in motion of the entrance opening as the change in state of the storage receptacle, and
a magnetic sensor detecting a change in position of the entrance opening as the change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0780 “the door sensor is typically disposed on a side wall of region 8225 where it detects movement of the door covering opening 8205 via conventional contact switches or magnetic switches”)
Claim 189: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 182. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the sensor data generated by the at least one sensor comprises sensor data indicating a change in state of the temporary storage area as the change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0751, ¶ 0774-0775, ¶ 0790-0791 showing sensor data indicating detection of a package deposited within the storage area of the node-enabled logistics receptacle; also see ¶ 0797)
Claim 190: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 189. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one of
a motion sensor detecting motion within the temporary storage area as the change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0775 “sensor 8920 may be a sensor that relies upon a type of echolocation (e.g., ultrasonic sensor that sends out ultrasonic waves to determine movement based upon a change in the returned energy sensed by the sensor” and located in side wall of the interior of the receptacle; also see ¶ 0776, ¶ 0790 motion detector sensor detecting movement of packages deposited in the receptacle),
an image sensor detecting a change of what is stored within the temporary storage area as the change in state of the storage receptacle,
a scale disposed at a bottom of the temporary storage area, the scale detecting a change in weight of what is stored within the temporary storage area as the change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0774 “as one or more packages 8900, 8905 are deposited within node-enabled logistics receptacle 8200 (e.g., deposited within the interior storage region 8230), an example of sensor pad/plate 8915 senses an impact from the deposited package or measures the weight of the package added to within the receptacle 8200. Thus, exemplary embodiments of sensor 8915 may be implemented as a pressure pad, pressure plate, impact sensor, or measurement scale that is responsive to force (e.g., momentary, constant, etc.) exerted by packages deposited within the interior storage region 8230 of the node-enabled logistics receptacle 8200 against the bottom of the region 8230”),
a force sensor disposed within the temporary storage area detecting an impact force related to a change in what has been deposited within the temporary storage area (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0774 “as one or more packages 8900, 8905 are deposited within node-enabled logistics receptacle 8200 (e.g., deposited within the interior storage region 8230), an example of sensor pad/plate 8915 senses an impact from the deposited package or measures the weight of the package added to within the receptacle 8200. Thus, exemplary embodiments of sensor 8915 may be implemented as a pressure pad, pressure plate, impact sensor, or measurement scale that is responsive to force (e.g., momentary, constant, etc.) exerted by packages deposited within the interior storage region 8230 of the node-enabled logistics receptacle 8200 against the bottom of the region 8230”), and
a light sensor detecting a change in light within the temporary storage area as the change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0775 “sensor 8925 may be a light sensor where a package, which is moving from the opening 8205 and through the top interior part 8225 of receptacle 8200 to enter and travel through the interior storage region 8230, breaks a light being sensed or detected by sensor 8925, which then generates a responsive sensor signal”)
Claim 197: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 182. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the reporting period for the bridge node comprises a time period defined by the backend server and provided by the backend server to the bridge node (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0176 “in normal operations, an exemplary node will generally advertise in a periodic manner and expect to make an active connection to another node at certain intervals, which may be dictated by conditions set by server 100. In an embodiment, such conditions may be set individually for a node by the server or a higher level node in the network”; also see ¶ 0180 showing how data is reported from to a node for transmission to the server; see ¶ 0745 showing “embodiments where the node-enabled logistics receptacle 8500 includes a master node 8505 may more frequently report the status information directly to the server 100”)
Claim 198: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 182. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the reporting period for the bridge node comprises a dynamically adjusted time period stored in the bridge node memory, the dynamically adjusted time period defined by a reporting period update message sent by the backend server to the bridge node (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0466 showing “the server apparatus' processing unit may be operative to communicate with the first node via the communication interface to cause the second node to broadcast the one or more second messages within a time interval after communicating with the first node to cause the second node to broadcast the one or more first messages. As previously mentioned, this type of time interval may dynamically set based upon context data related to the second node” – note as per ¶ 0463 the server directs a master node (first node) to control operations of another node to report data and as per claim 182 above the receptable may include a master node and sensor)
Claim 204: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 182. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the bridge node processor, when executing the bridge node code, is operative to transmit the retrieved event information to the backend server by being operative to determine the retrieved event information indicates the detected change in state of the storage receptacle is a pickup event (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0752, ¶ 0762 showing detecting a package is removed from the logistics receptacle); and
transmit, using the long-range communication interface and after the retrieved event information is determined to indicate the detected change in state of the storage receptacle is the pickup event, the retrieved event information to the backend server (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0752 “update the content status stored in the node memory storage based upon whether the node processing unit detects the package has been removed from within the logistics receptacle. And, the node processing unit may be further operative to broadcast updated status information over the at least one communication interface” which as per ¶ 0753 includes broadcasting the updated status information directed to the server)
Claim 205: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 182. With respect to the limitation:
wherein the event information comprises the timestamped information and an identifier indicating a type of detected change in state of the storage receptacle
Skaaksrud teaches wherein the event information comprises an identifier indicating a type of package deposited, i.e. detected change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0784-0789, ¶ 0793-0800; also see ¶ 0807 showing sending message identifying the plurality of packages maintained within the node-enabled logistics receptacle for pickup), and further teaches that the node “can keep track and log when packages are deposited and how much they incrementally weigh so as to provide further contextual information regarding what is in the node-enabled logistics receptacle” (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0792), but does not explicitly teach the event information including the timestamped information.
However, similar to claim 182 above, Irwin teaches event information including the captured timestamped information detecting when an item is deposited into a storage unit (Irwin: ¶ 0200 “the control unit 144 records the time of deposit”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the recording event information including the time of deposit of an item of Irwin in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud/Irwin with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, for the same reasons described in the rejection of claim 182 above.
Claim 206: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 205. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the type of detected change in state of the storage receptacle comprises a change in state of the entrance opening (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0775 “sensor 8920 may be a sensor that relies upon a type of echolocation (e.g., ultrasonic sensor that sends out ultrasonic waves to determine movement based upon a change in the returned energy sensed by the sensor). In an example shown in FIG. 89C, sensor 8925 may be a light sensor where a package, which is moving from the opening 8205 and through the top interior part 8225 of receptacle 8200 to enter and travel through the interior storage region 8230, breaks a light being sensed or detected by sensor 8925, which then generates a responsive sensor signal”; or see ¶ 0779 “node 8220 of exemplary node-enabled logistics receptacle 8200 may further include a door sensor that detects movement of the door shown in FIG. 89C hinged to cover opening 8205” and ¶ 0797 “a door sensor that monitors the entrance opening of the receptacle”)
Claim 207: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 205. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the type of detected change in state of the storage receptacle comprises a change in state of the temporary storage area (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0751, ¶ 0774-0775, ¶ 0790-0791 showing sensor data indicating detection of a package deposited within the storage area of the node-enabled logistics receptacle; also see ¶ 0797)
Claim 210: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 205. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the at least one sensor comprises an external motion sensor that monitors outside the storage receptacle for movement within a predetermined range of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0781-0782 showing external sensors for detecting motion outside the storage receptacle within a predetermined area); and
wherein the type of detected change in state of the storage receptacle comprises a change in what has been placed within the predetermined range of the storage receptacle as indicated by the external motion sensor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0781-0782 showing use of the external sensor to detect a package that is deposited outside the receptacle)
Claim 211: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 205. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the at least one sensor comprises a proximity-based range sensor that monitors outside the storage receptacle for what has been placed within a predetermined range of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0781-0782 showing use of external sensor that detects a package within a designated area near the receptacle, i.e. within a proximity of the receptacle); and
wherein the type of detected change in state of the storage receptacle comprises a change in what has been placed within the predetermined range of the storage receptacle as indicated by the proximity-based range sensor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0781-0782 showing use of external sensor that detects a package within a designated area near the receptacle, i.e. within a proximity of the receptacle, to detect that a package has been deposited to the designated area near the receptacle)
Claim 212: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 182. With respect to the following limitation, Skaaksrud does not explicitly teach, however, Irwin teaches:
wherein the timestamped information comprises data indicating a time corresponding to the detected change in state of the storage receptacle (Irwin: ¶ 0200 “the control unit 144 records the time of deposit”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the recording event information including the time of deposit of an item of Irwin in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud/Irwin with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, for the same reasons described in the rejection of claim 182 above.
Claims 191-192 and 208 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150349917 A1 to Skaaksrud et al. (Skaaksrud) in view of US 20180374043 A1 to Irwin et al. (Irwin), and further in view of US5818336A to Varga et al. (Varga).
Claim 191: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 182. With respect to the limitation:
wherein the sensor data generated by the at least one sensor comprises sensor data indicating a change in state of the selectively accessible retrieval door as the change in state of the storage receptacle
While Skaaksrud teaches a door sensor for detecting entry of packages into the receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0773-0780), and further teaches detection of when a package is removed from the receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0752, ¶ 0762), Skaaksrud/Irwin do not explicitly teach sensor data indicating a change in state of the retrieval door from which the courier removes packages from the receptacle.
However, Varga teaches sensor data generated by a courier door sensor indicating a change in the state of a courier access door during pickup of packages from the drop box (Varga: Col. 9: 5-34 showing courier door open message when a courier door sensor has been activated, indicating courier is picking up packages from the package drop box). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the generation of sensor data indicating a courier access door open to pickup packages of Varga in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud/Irwin with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, with the motivation that “there is a great need for more efficiently monitoring and controlling drop boxes or customer pick-up calls in such an environment” (Varga: Col. 1: 35-37).
Claim 192: Skaaksrud/Irwin/Varga teach claim 191. Skaaksrud, as modified above (to include the door sensor data indicating a change in the retrieval door as per Varga above), further teaches:
wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least one of
a motion sensor detecting a change in motion of the selectively accessible retrieval door as the change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0779-0780 showing door sensor detection motion of a door; note as per Varga above, door sensor may be implemented on the courier access door),
a magnetic sensor detecting a change in position of the selectively accessible retrieval door as the change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0780 showing door sensor detecting movement of the door through magnetic switches),
a lock sensor detecting a change in a locked status of the selectively accessible retrieval door as the change in state of the storage receptacle,
an external motion sensor detecting a change in what has been placed within a predetermined range of the storage receptacle as the change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0781-0782 showing one or more external motion detection sensors for detecting package within a designated area near the receptacle), and
a proximity-based range sensor detecting a change in what has been placed within the predetermined range of the storage receptacle as the change in state of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0781-0782 showing one or more external motion detection sensors for detecting package within a designated area near the receptacle)
Claim 208: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 205. With respect to the limitation:
wherein the type of detected change in state of the storage receptacle comprises a change in state of the selectively accessible retrieval door
While Skaaksrud teaches a door sensor for detecting entry of packages into the receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0773-0780), and further teaches detection of when a package is removed from the receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0752, ¶ 0762), Skaaksrud/Irwin do not explicitly teach sensor data indicating a change in state of the retrieval door from which the courier removes packages from the receptacle.
However, Varga teaches sensor data generated by a courier door sensor indicating a change in the state of a courier door during pickup of packages from the drop box (Varga: Col. 9: 5-34 showing courier door open message when a courier door sensor has been activated, indicating courier is picking up packages from the package drop box). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the generation of sensor data indicating a courier access door open to pickup packages of Varga in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud/Irwin with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, with the motivation that “there is a great need for more efficiently monitoring and controlling drop boxes or customer pick-up calls in such an environment” (Varga: Col. 1: 35-37).
Claim 209 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150349917 A1 to Skaaksrud et al. (Skaaksrud) in view of US 20180374043 A1 to Irwin et al. (Irwin), and further in view of US 20180186531 A1 to McBride et al. (McBride).
Claim 209: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 205. Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the storage receptacle further comprises a lock for securing the selectively accessible retrieval door (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713, ¶ 0716 showing security lock for securing payload access door, i.e. retrieval door);
With respect to the following limitations, Skaaksrud/Irwin do not explicitly teach a lock sensor detecting a change in the state of the lock on the retrieval door, however, McBride teaches:
wherein the at least one sensor comprises a lock sensor monitoring a state of the lock (McBride: ¶ 0044, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0050 showing door lock sensor monitoring door lock status);
and wherein the type of detected change in state of the storage receptacle comprises a change in the state of the lock as indicated by the lock sensor (McBride: ¶ 0047, ¶ 0050, ¶ 0080 showing detecting change in the door lock status as detected by the door lock sensor)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the detection of a door lock status pertaining to a locked/unlocked status of McBride in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud/Irwin with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, with the motivation that “For applications where the contents of the box or cabinet need to be absolutely secured, mechanical locking gears are not sufficient” (McBride: ¶ 0003). Further, it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to do so, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 214 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150349917 A1 to Skaaksrud et al. (Skaaksrud) in view of US 20180374043 A1 to Irwin et al. (Irwin), and further in view of US 20190287061 A1 to Goja et al. (Goja).
Claim 214: Skaaksrud/Irwin teach claim 182. Skaaksrud/Irwin do not explicitly teach, however, Goja teaches:
wherein the timestamped information comprises data indicating a series of times corresponding to a series of related changes to the storage receptacle, wherein the series of related changes to the storage receptacle are detected by the wireless accessory sensor node as the detected change in state of the storage receptacle (Goja: ¶ 0070-0075 showing sensor device recording information associated with items being dropped into a package drop box, with ¶ 0075 showing the recording includes recording the series times when each item was dropped into the drop box)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the recording of the time associated with a series of items being deposited in the drop box of Goja in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud/Irwin with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, with the motivation that “Retrieving items from these drop boxes is often a highly manual and time consuming process however, and therefore drop boxes are generally useful as time-saving mechanisms for the retrieving entity (e.g., carrier) only when a plurality of items may be retrieved from the drop box simultaneously. Unfortunately, entity personnel are required to approach and open many drop boxes in order to determine whether there are any items positioned therein. Thus, entity personnel are only able to determine whether the drop box provided any time-savings for the entity only after expending a non-negligible amount of time opening the drop box” (Goja: ¶ 0003) and “Thus, a need exists for mechanisms for monitoring the usage of item drop boxes without requiring substantial time-investments by entity personnel to retrieve items therefrom” (Goja: ¶ 0004).
Claim 215 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150349917 A1 to Skaaksrud et al. (Skaaksrud) in view of US5818336A to Varga et al. (Varga), and further in view of US 20180374043 A1 to Irwin et al. (Irwin).
Claim 215: Skaaksrud teaches:
An enhanced connected logistics receptacle system for receiving and temporarily maintaining a delivery item and causing a backend server to initiate a dispatched logistics operation for a storage receptacle (Skaaskrud: Figs. 82A-82B, ¶ 0713-0720 showing receptacle system which detects a package drop off by a customer, and stores the package until pickup by a carrier),
the storage receptacle having an entrance opening for receiving the delivery item (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713, ¶ 0720 showing node-enabled logistics receptacle comprising entrance opening for receiving a package),
a temporary storage area for temporarily maintaining the delivery item once deposited with the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713 “a temporary storage area within the receptacle where the package is temporarily and securely maintained until an authorized pickup”), and
a retrieval door providing selective access to the temporary storage area (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0716 “a shipping entity's courier personnel may arrive and pickup any deposited packages using payload access door 8210”), the system comprising:
a bridge node mounted to the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713-0714 showing the node-enabled receptacle with a master node attached to the receptacle), the bridge node comprising a bridge node processor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0225, ¶ 0236 showing memory storing instructions/executable code executed by node processing unit),
a bridge node memory coupled to the bridge node processor, the bridge node memory storage maintaining bridge node code for execution by the bridge node processor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0225, ¶ 0236 showing memory storing instructions/executable code executed by node processing unit),
a long-range communication interface coupled to the bridge node processor, the long-range communication interface being operative to communicate with the backend server over a first communication path (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0722-0724 showing long range communication interface in communication with a server), and
a short-range communication interface coupled to the bridge node processor, the short-range communication interface being operative to communicate over a second communication path (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0722-0724 showing the node-enabled receptacle may include multiple communications interfaces, and ¶ 0139 showing master nodes can include a short-range wireless communications interface over a short range communications path);
a wireless accessory sensor node that monitors for a change in state of the storage receptacle, the wireless accessory sensor node having a plurality of sensors (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0782-0786, ¶ 0789-0792 showing the receptacle using multiple sensors to detect a package being dropped into the receptacle according to sensor signals sent to the node, with ¶ 0139 showing master node including wireless communications, ¶ 0630 master node may be configured with one or more sensor nodes and used within wireless node network),
wherein the plurality of sensors comprising a first of the sensors being disposed on the storage receptacle for monitoring the entrance opening (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0775 “sensor 8920 may be a sensor that relies upon a type of echolocation (e.g., ultrasonic sensor that sends out ultrasonic waves to determine movement based upon a change in the returned energy sensed by the sensor). In an example shown in FIG. 89C, sensor 8925 may be a light sensor where a package, which is moving from the opening 8205 and through the top interior part 8225 of receptacle 8200 to enter and travel through the interior storage region 8230, breaks a light being sensed or detected by sensor 8925, which then generates a responsive sensor signal”; or see ¶ 0779 “node 8220 of exemplary node-enabled logistics receptacle 8200 may further include a door sensor that detects movement of the door shown in FIG. 89C hinged to cover opening 8205” and ¶ 0797 “a door sensor that monitors the entrance opening of the receptacle”),
a second of the sensors being disposed on the storage receptacle for monitoring the temporary storage area (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0774 “as one or more packages 8900, 8905 are deposited within node-enabled logistics receptacle 8200 (e.g., deposited within the interior storage region 8230), an example of sensor pad/plate 8915 senses an impact from the deposited package or measures the weight of the package added to within the receptacle 8200. Thus, exemplary embodiments of sensor 8915 may be implemented as a pressure pad, pressure plate, impact sensor, or measurement scale that is responsive to force (e.g., momentary, constant, etc.) exerted by packages deposited within the interior storage region 8230 of the node-enabled logistics receptacle 8200 against the bottom of the region 8230”), and
With respect to the limitation:
a third of the sensors being disposed on the storage receptacle for monitoring the retrieval door,
While Skaaksrud teaches a door sensor for detecting entry of packages into the receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0773-0780), and further teaches detection of when a package is removed from the receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0752, ¶ 0762), Skaaksrud/Irwin do not explicitly teach sensor data indicating a change in state of the retrieval door from which the courier removes packages from the receptacle.
However, Varga teaches sensor data generated by a courier door sensor indicating a change in the state of a courier access door during pickup of packages from the drop box (Varga: Col. 9: 5-34 showing courier door open message when a courier door sensor has been activated, indicating courier is picking up packages from the package drop box). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the generation of sensor data indicating a courier access door open to pickup packages of Varga in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, with the motivation that “there is a great need for more efficiently monitoring and controlling drop boxes or customer pick-up calls in such an environment” (Varga: Col. 1: 35-37).
Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the wireless accessory sensor node being further operative to detect the change in state of the storage receptacle based upon sensor data generated by the at least one of the first of the sensors, the second of the sensors, and the third of the sensors (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0779-0786, ¶ 0789-0792 showing the receptacle using sensor to detect a package dropped into the receptacle according to sensor signals sent to the node),
With respect to the limitation:
record timestamped information reflecting the detected change in state of the storage receptacle, and
Skaaksrud teaches the sensor node detecting a recording data reflecting the detected change in state of the storage receptacle when an item is deposited in the receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0782-0786, ¶ 0789-0792), but does not explicitly teach recording timestamped information reflecting the detected change. However, Irwin teaches recording timestamped information detecting when an item is deposited into a storage unit (Irwin: ¶ 0200 “the control unit 144 records the time of deposit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the recording the time of deposit of an item of Irwin in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud/Varga with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, with the motivation to “to track the amount of time that an item has been in a storage receptacle 132, and designate the item for removal from the storage receptacle 132 if the item has been in the storage receptacle 132 in excess of some duration” (Irwin: ¶ 0200). Furthermore, it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to do so, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
broadcast an updated advertising signal having a data available flag set within the updated advertising signal, the data available flag indicating the wireless accessory sensor node has event information available for upload by the bridge node (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0181 “Alert Level 3—Data for Upload—node has captured data available for upload through a master node; and Synchronize—The advertising node requests to connect with a device or sensor that can synchronize data (such as timer or location information)” and ¶ 0210 “The exemplary node association manager for a node may indicate through a Status Flag…if it has information available for upload to the backend”; also see ¶ 0311-0314),
With respect to the limitation:
the event information including at least the timestamped information reflecting the detected change in state of the storage receptacle;
While Skaaksrud teaches broadcasting an advertising signal based upon sensor data/event information that needs to be uploaded to the server (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 as above), Skaaksrud does not teach the event data as including timestamped information. However, similar to the limitation above, Irwin teaches event information including the captured timestamped information detecting when an item is deposited into a storage unit (Irwin: ¶ 0200 “the control unit 144 records the time of deposit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the recording event information including the time of deposit of an item of Irwin in the logistics receptacle system of Skaaksrud/Irwin with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention, for the same reasons described above.
Skaaksrud, as modified above, further teaches:
wherein the bridge node processor, when executing the bridge node code maintained on the bridge node memory, is operative to detect the data available flag set within the updated advertising signal over the short-range communication interface (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 showing master node may detect that the id node has data available for upload based on the alert flag; also see ¶ 0189-0191 showing scanning for advertising signals over short-range communications, e.g. Bluetooth, for nodes that are broadcasting a status flag),
retrieve the event information available for upload from the wireless accessory sensor node using the short-range communication interface (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 showing master node connects with the ID node to store the sensor node data; see ¶ 0139 master nodes may connect/communicate with id nodes/sensor nodes through short range communication interface), and
transmit, using the long-range communication interface, the retrieved event information to the backend server to cause the backend server (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 “The transmitted data may then be stored by the nearby master node as sensor data 450 in either or both of the master node's volatile memory 420 and memory storage 415. Subsequent to that storage operation, the nearby master node will transfer the data (e.g., sensor data 450) to server 100”) to initiate the dispatched logistics operation related to the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0807 “The exemplary node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 is operative, through code running on the processing unit of master node 9105, to send a message to server 100 to report the current status of packages in the receptacle 9100. In more detail, node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 is operative, through code (such as code 425) running on the processing unit (such as unit 400) of master node 9105, to send a message to server 100 where the message identifies a plurality of packages (such as packages 9110, 9115) currently maintained within the node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 ready for pickup. The message is transmitted through a communication interface that is part of master node 9105, through network 105, and is received by server 100”; also see ¶ 0808-0810 and ¶ 0806 “reports a current status of packages maintained within the receptacle to a server for enhanced deployment of pickup services by pickup entities”; and see ¶ 0645 “the node-enabled logistics receptacle is operative to transfer one or more results collected by the node-enabled logistics receptacle listening to at least one other ID node within the receptacle. However, if the embedded node is implemented and operates as a master node, the embedded node can directly update a server when the current inventory of nodes changes”; also see ¶ 0811-0824 generally showing transmitting pickup requests to dispatch entities to perform pickup)
Novelty/Non-Obviousness
Claims 92, 193-196, and 199-203 are novel and nonobvious over the prior art, as no combination of the prior art discussed below teaches all of the limitations of independent claim 92, and the respective limitations of dependent claims 193-196, and 199-203.
U.S. Patents Prior Art:
US 20150339862 A1 to Skaaksrud et al. (Skaaksrud) teaches a system/method for management of a node-based logistics receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0002-0006; see Fig. 2 and ¶ 0038-0039) including server 100, operating as a dispatch server that handles operational planning for pickup schedules (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0073); the system including a storage receptacle for receiving the delivery item, the storage receptacle comprising an entrance opening for receiving the delivery item (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713, ¶ 0720 showing node-enabled logistics receptacle comprising entrance opening for receiving a package), a temporary storage area for temporarily maintaining the delivery item once the delivery item has been deposited within the storage receptacle through the entrance opening (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713 “a temporary storage area within the receptacle where the package is temporarily and securely maintained until an authorized pickup”), a selectively accessible retrieval door providing access to the temporary storage area of the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0716 “a shipping entity's courier personnel may arrive and pickup any deposited packages using payload access door 8210”); a backend server (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0719 “node-enabled logistics receptacle 8200 is operative to communicate directly with a server 100 over network 105”); a bridge node mounted to the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0713-0714 showing the node-enabled receptacle with a master node attached to the receptacle), the bridge node comprising a bridge node processor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0225, ¶ 0236 showing memory storing instructions/executable code executed by node processing unit), a bridge node memory coupled to the bridge node processor, the bridge node memory storage maintaining bridge node code for execution by the bridge node processor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0225, ¶ 0236 showing memory storing instructions/executable code executed by node processing unit), a long-range communication interface coupled to the bridge node processor, the long-range communication interface being operative to communicate with the backend server over a first communication path (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0722-0724 showing long range communication interface in communication with a server), and a short-range communication interface coupled to the bridge node processor, the short-range communication interface being operative to communicate over a second communication path (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0722-0724 showing the node-enabled receptacle may include multiple communications interfaces, and ¶ 0139 showing master nodes can include a short-range wireless communications interface over a short range communications path); a wireless accessory sensor node having at least one sensor that monitors for a change in state of the storage receptacle, wherein the wireless accessory sensor node being further operative to detect the change in state of the storage receptacle based upon sensor data generated by the at least one sensor (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0139 showing master node including wireless communications, ¶ 0630 master node may be configured with a sensor and used within wireless node network, ¶ 0782-0786, ¶ 0789-0792 showing the receptacle using sensor to detect a package being dropped into the receptacle according to sensor signals sent to the node), wherein the bridge node processor, when executing the bridge node code maintained on the bridge node memory, is operative to detect the data available flag set within the updated advertising signal over the short-range communication interface (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 showing master node may detect that the id node has data available for upload based on the alert flag), retrieve the event information available for upload from the wireless accessory sensor node using the short-range communication interface (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 showing master node connects with the ID node to store the sensor node data; see ¶ 0139 master nodes may connect/communicate with id nodes/sensor nodes through short range communication interface), and transmit, using the long-range communication interface, the retrieved event information to the backend server (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0179 “The transmitted data may then be stored by the nearby master node as sensor data 450 in either or both of the master node's volatile memory 420 and memory storage 415. Subsequent to that storage operation, the nearby master node will transfer the data (e.g., sensor data 450) to server 100”); and wherein the backend server is operative to receive the retrieved event information from the bridge node, and initiate, in response to receiving the retrieved event information, the dispatched logistics operation related to the storage receptacle (Skaaksrud: ¶ 0807 “The exemplary node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 is operative, through code running on the processing unit of master node 9105, to send a message to server 100 to report the current status of packages in the receptacle 9100. In more detail, node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 is operative, through code (such as code 425) running on the processing unit (such as unit 400) of master node 9105, to send a message to server 100 where the message identifies a plurality of packages (such as packages 9110, 9115) currently maintained within the node-enabled logistics receptacle 9100 ready for pickup. The message is transmitted through a communication interface that is part of master node 9105, through network 105, and is received by server 100”; also see ¶ 0808-0810 and ¶ 0806 “reports a current status of packages maintained within the receptacle to a server for enhanced deployment of pickup services by pickup entities”; and see ¶ 0645 “the node-enabled logistics receptacle is operative to transfer one or more results collected by the node-enabled logistics receptacle listening to at least one other ID node within the receptacle. However, if the embedded node is implemented and operates as a master node, the embedded node can directly update a server when the current inventory of nodes changes”; also see ¶ 0811-0824 generally showing transmitting pickup requests to dispatch entities to perform pickup).
US 20160051073 A1 to Heinz et al. (Heinz) teaches a parcel mailing receptacle that contains a sensor/monitoring device to detect an unauthorized attempt to open the container (Heinz: ¶ 0096-0098).
US 20180197140 A1 to Goja teaches a package drop box that allows packages to be placed in the drop box without enabling items to be withdrawn (Goja: ¶ 0002), wherein items in the drop box may be picked up by a driver, which causes a sensor inside the drop box to detect the package pickup event and send a pickup confirmation (Goja: ¶ 0087, ¶ 0090).
US 20080189161 A1 to Daily et al. (Daily) teaches a package drop box system that detects dropoff events when a package including an attached RFID tag is received in the housing (Daily: ¶ 0008-0010). Daily further teaches that the RFID reader of the package drop box, upon detecting a package that is received in the housing, will send a signal to a shipping company to pick up the package from the drop box (Daily: ¶ 0026 and ¶ 0008).
US 20180374043 A1 to Irwin et al. (Irwin) teaches recording timestamped package deposit information, US 20180186531 A1 to McBride et al. (McBride) teaches a door lock sensor for detecting a change in status of a door lock, and US5818336A to Varga et al. (Varga) teaches detecting a change in state of a retrieval door, as cited in the § 103 rejections above.
Foreign Patents Prior Art:
WO2008113568A1 to Johnson teaches a system for monitoring the status of a parcel drop box including a plurality of sensors for transmitting a signal from a sensor of the parcel drop box to a wireless communication module, which then communicates a message to a mobile communication device of a courier (Pgs. 4-5). Events including a parcel being deposited in the drop box and conditions inside the drop box (temperature, humidity, etc.) are monitored and communicated to an external server/device (pgs. 8-11).
CA2829139A1 to Ferguson et al. (Ferguson) teaches a drop box with a sensor that senses deposit of an object, and in response to detection that the objected has been received in the drop box, a message is transmitted to a remote resource that the drop box needs to be serviced (Ferguson: ¶ 0009-0010)
NPL:
NPL Reference U to Plašilová et al. (“RFID-based Multi-purpose Smart Post Boxes in Smart Cities”) teaches a smart post box that uses RFID tags to authenticate with and insert and/or remove packages from the postal box, wherein each RFID tag operates to release and the door, wherein the smart post boxes can recognize when a package is inserted and the type of package or mail piece that is inserted, and wherein the box can notify the owner when a package is delivered into the box (Plasilova: Pgs. 184-189).
However, no combination of the references above would render all of the limitations of independent claim 92 (“a second wireless accessory sensor node having a second sensor disposed on the storage receptacle that monitors for a change in state of the selectively accessible retrieval door of the storage receptacle, wherein the second wireless accessory sensor node is further operative to detect the change in state of the selectively accessible retrieval door based upon second sensor data generated by the second sensor, record second timestamped information reflecting the detected change in state of the selectively accessible retrieval door, and broadcast a second updated advertising signal having a second data available flag set within the second updated advertising signal, the second data available flag indicating the second wireless accessory sensor node has second event information available for upload by the bridge node, the second event information including at least the second timestamped information reflecting the detected change in state of the selectively accessible retrieval door; wherein the bridge node processor, when executing the bridge node code maintained on the bridge node memory, is operative to detect, using the short-range communication interface, at least one of (a) the first data available flag set within the first updated advertising signal and (b) the second data available flag set within the second updated advertising signal, responsively download, using the short-range communication interface, retrieved event information from at least one of the first wireless accessory sensor node and the second wireless accessory sensor node based upon which of the first data available flag set and the second data available flag set is detected, the retrieved event information including the first event information when the first data available flag set is detected, the retrieved event information further including the second event information when the second data available flag is detected, and transmit, using the long-range communication interface, the retrieved event information to the backend server to cause the backend server to initiate the dispatched logistics operation related to the storage receptacle”), and each of the additional limitations of dependent claims 193-196 and 199-203, as a whole, obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/HUNTER MOLNAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3628