Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 112(a) rejection of claims 1 and 4 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(a) rejection of claims 1 and 4 have been withdrawn.
Presented arguments have been fully considered but are held unpersuasive. Examiner’s response to the presented arguments follows below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Summary of Arguments:
Applicant argues that Kim fails to disclose:
Claim 1: the applicant argues [0043] of the Kim reference teaches only using the “partition type” information for applying a second transform rather than selecting a transform type to apply. See Remarks pg. 7, para. 2
Examiner’s Response:
Examiner contends that Kim does disclose:
[0038] and [0043] of Kim recites “secondary transform determination unit may be configured to determine whether a secondary transform is performed for a TU and/or determine a transform matrix (i.e. select a secondary transformation type to be applied) based on properties of an intra prediction mode associated with a CU (coding unit). Further, [0044] and [0045] teach when a secondary transform is applied, a flag tu_nsst_idx indicates a matrix for performing the secondary transform (i.e. a secondary transform type is determined). Further, [0060] of Kim teaches a secondary transform is applied based on the coding unit (CU) being of a NxN partition mode and the information for the intra prediction mode includes the intra mode being partitioned in a NxN type partitioning. (The examiner notes, Kim’s teachings in [0043] “a secondary transform is only performed in the case where a CU or TU exceed a maximum size” recite one possible method or performing the secondary transform and does not limit the selection of a secondary transform to be based only on a block size, as argued by the applicant in the applicant’s remarks pg. 7, para. 1).
Further, in [0060], Kim teaches “in the case of where a CU corresponds to an intra prediction N×N partition mode, in one example, video decoder 800 may be configured to generate a value based on whether secondary transforms are performed for one or more TUs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karczewicz et al. (Karczewicz) (US 2014/0056361) in view of Kim et al. (Kim) (US 2019/0149822).
Regarding claim 1, Karczewicz discloses an image decoding method, comprising:
obtaining one or more flags indicating whether one or more second transforms are applicable for a residual block of a current block ([0110], [0118], [0125], a flag is signaled for transforming residuals of a coding unit ([0125]) indicating an applicable transform type selection wherein the transform types include secondary transform types DST I, DST III, DST IV, DST VII, or different types of DCT transformations);
generating the residual block by transforming a transform coefficient of the current block ([0005], [0078], [0125], the residues of a coding unit are transformed to generate a transform unit including transform coefficients); and
performing the one or more second transforms on the residual block based on the one or more flags ([0110], [0118], [0125], a flag is signaled for transforming residuals of a coding unit ([0125]) indicating an applicable transform type selection wherein the transform types include secondary transform types DST I, DST III, DST IV, DST VII, or different types of DCT transformations), and
the one or more second transforms ([0110], [0118], [0125], a flag is signaled for transforming residuals of a coding unit ([0125]) indicating an applicable transform type selection wherein the transform types include secondary transform types DST I, DST III, DST IV, DST VII, or different types of DCT transformations)
Karczewicz is silent about wherein a second transform performed on the residual block is determined based on a block partition mode of the current block.
Kim from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein a second transform performed on the residual block is determined based on a block partition mode of the current block ([0043], the application of a secondary transform (and inherently a type of secondary transform) is dependent upon a partitioning type of the current coding unit)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the teachings of Karczewicz for performing more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 2, Karczewicz discloses wherein a number of the one or more second transform is 2 or more ([0109], [0110], [0118], [0125], [0126], a flag is signaled for transforming residuals of a coding unit ([0125]) indicating a transform type selection wherein the transform types include secondary transform types DST I, DST III, DST IV, DST VII, or different types of DCT transformations).
Regarding claim 3, Karczewicz discloses wherein the one or more flags are obtained from a picture level of a bitstream ([0009], [0110], the transform selection flag is obtained at a frame level).
Regarding claim 5, Karczewicz discloses wherein a second transform, among the one or more second transforms, performed on the residual block is determined based on an encoding mode of the current block ([0106], [0113], [0125], an applicable transform is selected based on the current block being encoded in inter or intra mode).
Regarding claim 6, Karczewicz discloses wherein a second transform, among the one or more second transforms, performed on the residual block is determined based on an intra prediction mode of the current block ([0122]-[0125], a secondary transform is applied based on the prediction mode being an intra mode).
Regarding claim 7, Karczewicz discloses wherein a second transform, among the one or more second transforms, performed on the residual block is determined based on information obtained from a block level of a bitstream ([0110], [0116], [0126], the selection information is transmitted at a coding unit (CU or block) level).
Regarding claim 9, Karczewicz discloses an image encoding method (FIG. 2, performed by encoder 20), comprising:
performing one or more second transforms on a residual block of a current block ([0110], [0118], [0125], a flag is signaled for transforming residuals of a coding unit ([0125]) indicating a transform type selection wherein the transform types include secondary transform types DST I, DST III, DST IV, DST VII, or different types of DCT transformations);
generating a transform coefficient of the current block by transforming the residual block on which the one or more second transforms is performed ([0005], [0078], [0125], the residues of a coding unit are transformed to generate a transform unit including transform coefficients); and
encoding one or more flags indicating whether the one or more second transforms are applicable ([0110], [0118], [0125], a flag is signaled for transforming residuals of a coding unit ([0125]) indicating an applicable transform type selection wherein the transform types include secondary transform types DST I, DST III, DST IV, DST VII, or different types of DCT transformations), and
the one or more second transforms ([0110], [0118], [0125], a flag is signaled for transforming residuals of a coding unit ([0125]) indicating an applicable transform type selection wherein the transform types include secondary transform types DST I, DST III, DST IV, DST VII, or different types of DCT transformations)
Karczewicz is silent about wherein a second transform performed on the residual block is determined based on a block partition mode of the current block.
Kim from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein a second transform performed on the residual block is determined based on a block partition mode of the current block ([0043], the application of a secondary transform (and inherently a type of secondary transform) is dependent upon a partitioning type of the current coding unit; [0044], [0045] when a secondary transform is applied, a flag tu_nsst_idx indicates a matrix for performing the secondary transform (i.e. a secondary transform type is determined; [0060], a secondary transform is applied based on the coding unit (CU) being of a NxN partition mode and the information for the intra prediction mode includes the intra mode being partitioned in a NxN type partitioning).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the teachings of Karczewicz for performing more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 10, Karczewicz discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising:
performing one or more second transforms on a residual block of a current block ([0110], [0118], [0125], a flag is signaled for transforming residuals of a coding unit ([0125]) indicating a transform type selection wherein the transform types include secondary transform types DST I, DST III, DST IV, DST VII, or different types of DCT transformations);
generating a transform coefficient of the current block by transforming the residual block on which the one or more second transforms is performed ([0005], [0078], [0125], the residues of a coding unit are transformed to generate a transform unit including transform coefficients);
encoding, into the bitstream, one or more flags indicating whether the one or more second transforms are applicable ([0110], [0118], [0125], a flag is signaled for transforming residuals of a coding unit ([0125]) indicating a transform type selection wherein the transform types include secondary transform types DST I, DST III, DST IV, DST VII, or different types of DCT transformations); and
transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 3, [0003], the encoded bitstream is transmitted to decoder 30), and
the one or more second transforms ([0110], [0118], [0125], a flag is signaled for transforming residuals of a coding unit ([0125]) indicating an applicable transform type selection wherein the transform types include secondary transform types DST I, DST III, DST IV, DST VII, or different types of DCT transformations)
Karczewicz is silent about wherein a second transform performed on the residual block is determined based on a block partition mode of the current block.
Kim from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein a second transform performed on the residual block is determined based on a block partition mode of the current block ([0043], the application of a secondary transform (and inherently a type of secondary transform) is dependent upon a partitioning type of the current coding unit; [0044], [0045] when a secondary transform is applied, a flag tu_nsst_idx indicates a matrix for performing the secondary transform (i.e. a secondary transform type is determined; [0060], a secondary transform is applied based on the coding unit (CU) being of a NxN partition mode and the information for the intra prediction mode includes the intra mode being partitioned in a NxN type partitioning).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the teachings of Karczewicz for performing more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karczewicz et al. (Karczewicz) (US 2014/0056361) in view of Kim et al. (Kim) (US 2019/0149822), and further in view of Lu (CN 1031555553 B).
Regarding claim 8, Karczewicz in view of Kim discloses the image decoding method of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Karczewicz in view of Kim is silent about further comprising: deriving a quantization parameter prediction value for the current block based on a quantization parameter set at a unit higher than the current block or a quantization parameter set at the same unit as the current block; and deriving the transform coefficient based on the quantization parameter prediction value and a quantization parameter difference value for the current block, wherein the quantization parameter difference value is obtained from a bitstream based on first information included in the bitstream.
Lu from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses deriving a quantization parameter prediction value for the current block based on a quantization parameter (pg. 6, para. 7, pg. 11, para. 5 and 8, pg. 12, para. 4 and 6, pg. 13, para. 5, a quantization parameter (QP) prediction value of a current block is determined using a signaled QP of an adjacent block) set at a unit higher than the current block (pg. 3, para. 5, pg. 11, para. 5 and 8, pg. 4, para. 1 and 11, the QP is signaled at a slice or block level and QP adjustment is performed at a block level (i.e. block level is lower than slice level signaling) or a quantization parameter set at the same unit as the current block (pg. 3, para. 5, pg. 11, para. 5 and 8, pg. 4, para. 1 and 11, the QP is signaled at a slice or block level and QP adjustment is performed at a block level); and deriving the transform coefficient (pg. 5, para. 5-6, the quantization parameter QPY is used for generating transform coefficients) based on the quantization parameter prediction value and a quantization parameter difference value for the current block (pg. 11, para. 5-6, QPY (QP of current block)=QPY, PREV + qp-delta (2) (i.e. qp_delta=quantization parameter difference value) wherein QPY, PREV is the quantization parameter of the last macro block in the current chip in decoding order), wherein the quantization parameter difference value is obtained from a bitstream based on first information included in the bitstream (para. 13, para. 5, delta_QP is encoded into the bitstream).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Lu into the teachings of Karczewicz in view of Kim for more efficient image encoding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee (US 2014/0341276) ([0175], a quantization prediction parameter is derived).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488