DETAILED ACTION
In Reply filed on 02/21/2026, claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 1-6 are currently amended. No claim is canceled, and no claim is newly added. Claim 10 is withdrawn. Claims 1-9 are considered in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “measure a temperature of the bio-ink through the at least one sensor in real-time” (line 19) and “control the circulator to adjust at least one of a flow rate and a temperature of the fluid circulated into the multi-layer” (lines 20-21). The underlined limitations are not fully supported by Instant Specification. The corresponding disclosure of Instant Specification as described in [0112] and [0111, 0175, 0181], respectively (as published in US 20250338883 A1), does not support the underlined limitations. Of note, adjustment of a flow as disclosed in [0292] and real-time detection by the sensor as disclosed in [0296] are not about the monitoring module but about the crosslinking module 1410.
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as being dependent from claim 1.
Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner wishes to point out to applicant that claims are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under such conditions.
The limitations which are directed to articles or products worked upon by the claimed apparatus are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115 and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) for further details.
The limitations which are directed to intended uses or capabilities of the claimed apparatus are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2114, Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) for further details.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 102590675 B1) in view of Roulston (US 20250002829 A1) and Bag (KR 20130136601 A).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches an apparatus for producing artificial meat using bio-ink ([0001, 0099], figs. 4-5), the apparatus comprising:
a plurality of modules ([0138, 0141]: e.g., a raw material supply part 100 and a raw material extrusion part 300, figs. 4-5); and
at least one processor configured to control the plurality of modules ([0138]: control unit 500, figs. 4-5),
wherein the plurality of modules includes a monitoring module (a unit including at least a pH sensor 102 or a temperature sensor 103) and an extrusion module (a unit including at least raw material extrusion part 300),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
control the monitoring module to maintain a predetermined condition of the bio-ink ([0147, 0149, 0153] and fig. 5), and control the extrusion module to extrude and discharge at least a portion of the bio-ink ([0169] and fig. 5).
Han does not specifically teach that “wherein the monitoring module includes an inner housing defining an inner space configured to accommodate the bio-ink, and an outer housing surrounding the inner housing to define a multi-layer space therebetween, wherein the monitoring module further includes at least one sensor configured to measure a state of the bio-ink, a circulator configured to circulate a fluid, and a UV lamp disposed in the outer housing or the inner housing, and
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: control the predetermined condition of the bio-ink accommodated in the inner housing by circulating the fluid into the multi-layer space; measure a temperature of the bio-ink through the at least one sensor in real-time, and control the circulator to adjust at least one of a flow rate and a temperature of the fluid circulated into the multi-layer space when the measured temperature deviates from the predetermined condition of the bio-ink; and control the UV lamp to perform a sterilization operation on the bio-ink,” but Roulston and Bag teach the limitations as follows:
Roulston teaches a bioreactor ([0001]). Roulston teaches a monitoring module (bioreactor system 10) includes an inner housing 50 defining an inner space configured to accommodate the bio-ink, and an outer housing 51 surrounding the inner housing to define a multi-layer space therebetween ([0068]; figs. 3, 4), a monitoring module including at least one sensor configured to measure a state of the bio-ink ([0074]: sensor 35 operable with microcontroller 40 and system controller 50, comprising a pH sensor and/or a temperature sensor; figs. 3, 4), a circulator configured to circulate a fluid ([0068]: inlet 55 and outlet 56 may be placed in fluid communication with chiller 131 and operable with pump 132 to direct the cooling medium into and out of thermal jacket 53 at a flow rate determined by temperature controller 165; figs. 3, 4), and a UV lamp [disposed in the outer housing or the inner housing] ([0149, 0107]: in-line UV sterilizer, sterilizing infeed materials), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: control the predetermined condition of the bio-ink accommodated in the inner housing by circulating the fluid into the multi-layer space ([0057-0058, 0060, 0068]: temperature controller 165 may comprise any combination of hardware and/or software operable with temperature control system 130 to receive data from processing element 163 and/or the microcontrollers and modify the temperature and/or flow rate of the cooling medium circulating through system 10 based on the data); measure a temperature of the bio-ink through the at least one sensor in real-time ([0071, 0088]), and control the circulator to adjust at least one of a flow rate and a temperature of the fluid circulated into the multi-layer space when the measured temperature deviates from the predetermined condition of the bio-ink ([0060]); and control the UV lamp to perform a sterilization operation on the bio-ink ([0149, 0107]).
As an analogous art, both Han and Roulston are reasonably pertinent to the problem of preparing a biomaterial in a vessel maintaining in a predetermined condition (e.g., by controlling temperature and pH based on the measurement by a sensor) to be ready for further use (Han: [0140-0154]; Roulston: abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the monitoring unit of Han to be further integrated into a separate housing having a sensor and a thermal jacket with fluid communication therein as taught by Roulston in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of maintaining a stable temperature with reduced energy consumption, enabling tighter control over a temperature-sensitive biomaterial so that a raw material stored in a raw material storage tank (Han: [0142]) is transferred to the housing of the monitoring unit (Roulston: [0060, 0068]), and the material in the housing is precisely controlled before extrusion.
Upon the modification, modified Han still does not teach the bracketed limitation(s) as presented above, i.e., the UV lamp is disposed in the outer housing or the inner housing.
Bag teaches a microorganism incubator having an inner housing and an outer housing, and a UV lamp 70 is installed on a support frame (i.e., equivalent to “an inner housing” as recited in claim 1) ([0026]; fig. 1).
Modified Han teaches the apparatus includes a UV lamp for sterilization of raw material (Roulston: [0149, 0107]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the UV lamp of modified Han to be installed in the inner housing of the biomaterial vessel in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of performing sterilization of all material within the vessel together during operation of heating or cooling.
Regarding claim 2, modified Han teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor includes a first sensor configured to measure the temperature of the bio-ink or a second sensor configured to measure a pH of the bio-ink (Han: [0141-0155]: temperature sensor 103 and pH sensor 102, fig. 5; Roulston: [0074]: sensor 35 operable with microcontroller 40 and system controller 50, comprising a pH sensor and/or a temperature sensor; figs. 3, 4).
Regarding claim 3, modified Han teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the extrusion module further includes a nozzle (400) having a plurality of holes (discharge port 404), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the extrusion module such that at least a portion of the bio-ink is extracted in a form of a fiber bundle through the nozzle (Han: [0119-0120, 0134, 0173, 0176] and figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 5, modified Han teaches the apparatus of claim 4, further comprising a crosslinking module (a receiving portion), wherein the crosslinking module includes an internal space (a receiving tank) for containing a crosslinking liquid (Han: [0186-0190]: a receiving portion comprising a receiving tank containing a material capable of connection the discharged raw materials; of note, “a crosslinking liquid” is directed to an article worked upon by the apparatus; see MPEP 2115), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the bio-ink extruded and discharged through the extrusion module to be introduced into the internal space of the crosslinking module (Han: [0176]: the control unit 500 may have a function of controlling the extrusion pressure of the extrusion device 302; [0187]: the receiving portion can perform the function of receiving and receiving raw material discharged in the form of fibers through the nozzle 400; here, the control unit 500 is capable of controlling the extruded ink to be introduced into the receiving tank upon controlling the extrusion pressure (see MPEP 2114), or at least it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to control the bio-ink to be introduced into the receiving tank downstream of the nozzle 400 by the controlling the pressure of the extrusion device 302).
Regarding claim 6, modified Han teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the bio-ink comprises a first bio-ink including fat and a second bio-ink including protein (Han: [0198]: muscle cells and fat cells; of note, the bio-ink is related to articles worked upon the apparatus, see MPEP 2115), wherein the monitoring module comprises a first monitoring module for monitoring the first bio-ink and a second monitoring module for monitoring the second bio-ink (Han: [0198]), wherein the extrusion module comprises a first extrusion module for extruding the first bio-ink and a second extrusion module for extruding the second bio-ink (Han: [0198]), and wherein the crosslinking module comprises a first crosslinking module into which the first bio-ink is introduced after being discharged through the first extrusion module, and a second crosslinking module into which the second bio-ink is introduced after being discharged through the second extrusion module (Han: [0199]: a receiving portion; here, the first crosslinking module and the second crosslinking module would be interpreted as being the same). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the receiving portion of modified Han to have a respective receiving portion for the first module series and the second module series as taught by Han, similar to the first/second supply units, the first/second connection units, and the first/second extrusion units which are respectively connected in the stream of raw material, in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of connecting/crosslinking each of the extruded raw materials respectively at least before combining the raw materials together to form an artificial meat or operating the process in parallel for increased productivity or variability in composition of a final product (Han: derived from [0135, 0198-0199]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Han teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the plurality of modules comprises a first unit and a second unit, wherein the first unit includes the first monitoring module, the first extrusion module, and the first crosslinking module, wherein the second unit includes the second monitoring module, the second extrusion module, and the second crosslinking module, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the first unit and the second unit in parallel (Han: [0135, 0198-0199]). The motivation to combine applied to claim 6 equally applies here.
Regarding claim 9, modified Han teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the apparatus further comprises a storage module, wherein the storage module includes an internal space for storing the bio-ink (Han: [0142]: storage tanks; moreover, similarly, it is implied that the materials in the storage tanks are transferred from an upstream storage module), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to control transfer of at least a portion of the bio-ink accommodated in the internal space of the storage module to be transferred to the monitoring module via pump (Han: [0181-0182]: control unit 500 connected to control the pressure control device 503 and the opening/closing control device 504 for controlling the control valve 201; Roulston: [0073]: pump 34 to input and output biomaterial of a vessel; figs. 3-4, 11-12).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 102590675 B1), Roulston (US 20250002829 A1), and Bag (KR 20130136601 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ko (KR 20170119092 A).
Regarding claim 4, Han teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of holes disposed in the nozzle has a same predetermined diameter, and the plurality of holes are spaced apart from adjacent holes by a predetermined interval ([0119-0128] and figs. 1-3; [0120]: a polygonal shape). However, Han does not specifically teach that each of the plurality of holes has a Y-shaped cross-section.
Ko teaches an extrusion device capable of coating a monofilament ([0001]). The extrusion device comprises a nozzle wherein each of plurality of holes in the nozzle has a Y-shaped cross-section ([0035] and figs. 5-8: a Y-shaped cross-section by a mixing chamber 61 and a hole 62 along a flow direction; [0017-0018] and figs. 12-15: a Y-shaped cross-section perpendicular to a flow direction).
In the same field of endeavor of the extrusion-based device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the holes in the nozzle of modified Han to have a Y-shaped cross-section as taught by Ko in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of forming an extruded fiber to have a coated material thereon or a Y-shaped cross-sectional fiber (Ko: derived from [0017-0018, 0035]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (KR 102590675 B1), Roulston (US 20250002829 A1), and Bag (KR 20130136601 A) as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Usui (JP 2001314826 A).
Regarding claim 8, modified Han teaches the apparatus of claim 5, the supply unit 100 includes a conductivity sensor for maintaining conductivity of the raw material stored in the storage tank 101, and the sensor is connected to the control unit 500 (Han: [0152-0153]). However, modified Han does not specifically teach that the crosslinking module includes a conductivity sensor, wherein the apparatus is configured to measure a contamination concentration of the crosslinking liquid accommodated in the internal space of the crosslinking module based on the conductivity sensor, and when the contamination concentration is determined to exceed a predetermined level, the apparatus is configured to control the crosslinking liquid to be circulated and replaced.
Usui teaches a quality control device for a food washing machine comprising an electrical conductivity sensor for detecting the supplied food wash water so that the electrical conductivity is used as an index of the degree of contamination (claims 3-4), and a water-saving device for a food washing machine reduces the amount of food wash water supplied based on a predetermined reference value and the clarity represented by a level of signal that meets a predetermined judgment condition (claims 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the crosslinking module of modified Han to have a conductivity sensor for determining the contamination level of a liquid in the module and further controlling the amount of the liquid to supply therein as taught by Usui in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful of monitoring product consistency, controlling a quality of the product, and meeting regulatory standards (derived from Usui: claims 4-6 and Han: [0152-0153]).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pibarot (US 20220192223 A1) in view of Ma (US 20250024855 A1), Roulston (US 20250002829 A1) and Bag (KR 20130136601 A).
Regarding claim 1, Pibarot teaches an apparatus for producing artificial meat using bio-ink (claim 9, fig. 1), the apparatus comprising:
a plurality of modules ([0054-0061]: e.g., an extruder 34, a cooling device 35, a cooling die 37, etc. as shown in fig. 1); and
[at least one processor configured to control the plurality of modules],
wherein the plurality of modules includes a monitoring module and an extrusion module ([0060]: a cooling die 37 or a flow path of a dough 31 including one or more temperature sensors), and
[wherein the at least one processor is configured to]:
control the monitoring module (at least a portion including a temperature sensor to sense the temperature of the cooling die 37) to maintain a predetermined condition of the bio-ink ([0060]: the one or more cooling devices 35 may adjust a fluid flow rate and/or a fluid temperature in reply to and/or based on feedback received from the temperature sensor; fig. 1), and control the extrusion module to extrude and discharge at least a portion of the bio-ink ([0055-0059]: extruder 34; fig. 1).
Pibarot does not specifically teach the bracketed limitation(s) as presented above, i.e., at least one processor is configured to control the plurality of modules, but Ma teaches the limitation(s) as follows:
Ma teaches a method for reshaping a protein using a multi-stage temperature-variable extrusion device ([0002], fig. 1). The extrusion device is controlled by a controller 17 which is in signal communication with temperature sensors and a motor 1, a wire control board 13, and heaters ([0029, 0040, 0097], fig. 1).
In the same field of endeavor of extrusion-based food processing device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the apparatus of Pibarot to have a controller configured to control the monitoring module (e.g., temperature sensors) and the extrusion module (e.g., a motor or heaters) as taught by Ma in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of ensuring process stability and consistency in product quality with optimized efficiency.
Upon the modification, modified Pibarot (Pibarot in view of Ma) does not specifically teach that “wherein the monitoring module includes an inner housing defining an inner space configured to accommodate the bio-ink, and an outer housing surrounding the inner housing to define a multi-layer space therebetween, wherein the monitoring module further includes at least one sensor configured to measure a state of the bio-ink, a circulator configured to circulate a fluid, and a UV lamp disposed in the outer housing or the inner housing, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: control the predetermined condition of the bio-ink accommodated in the inner housing by circulating the fluid into the multi-layer space; measure a temperature of the bio-ink through the at least one sensor in real-time, and control the circulator to adjust at least one of a flow rate and a temperature of the fluid circulated into the multi-layer space when the measured temperature deviates from the predetermined condition of the bio-ink; and control the UV lamp to perform a sterilization operation on the bio-ink,” but Roulston and Bag teach the limitations as follows:
Roulston teaches a bioreactor ([0001]). Roulston teaches a monitoring module (bioreactor system 10) includes an inner housing 50 defining an inner space configured to accommodate the bio-ink, and an outer housing 51 surrounding the inner housing to define a multi-layer space therebetween ([0068]; figs. 3, 4), a monitoring module including at least one sensor configured to measure a state of the bio-ink ([0074]: sensor 35 operable with microcontroller 40 and system controller 50, comprising a pH sensor and/or a temperature sensor; figs. 3, 4), a circulator configured to circulate a fluid ([0068]: inlet 55 and outlet 56 may be placed in fluid communication with chiller 131 and operable with pump 132 to direct the cooling medium into and out of thermal jacket 53 at a flow rate determined by temperature controller 165; figs. 3, 4), and a UV lamp [disposed in the outer housing or the inner housing] ([0149, 0107]: in-line UV sterilizer, sterilizing infeed materials), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: control the predetermined condition of the bio-ink accommodated in the inner housing by circulating the fluid into the multi-layer space ([0057-0058, 0060, 0068]: temperature controller 165 may comprise any combination of hardware and/or software operable with temperature control system 130 to receive data from processing element 163 and/or the microcontrollers and modify the temperature and/or flow rate of the cooling medium circulating through system 10 based on the data); measure a temperature of the bio-ink through the at least one sensor in real-time ([0071, 0088]), and control the circulator to adjust at least one of a flow rate and a temperature of the fluid circulated into the multi-layer space when the measured temperature deviates from the predetermined condition of the bio-ink ([0060]); and control the UV lamp to perform a sterilization operation on the bio-ink ([0149, 0107]).
As an analogous art, both modified Pibarot and Roulston are reasonably pertinent to the problem of preparing a biomaterial in a vessel to be ready for further use (Pibarot: [0054], fig. 1; Roulston: abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the apparatus of modified Pibarot to further have a modulation unit having a sensor and a thermal jacket with fluid communication therein as taught by Roulston in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of preparing the biomaterial maintaining a stable temperature with reduced energy consumption, enabling tighter control over a temperature-sensitive biomaterial so that a raw material stored in a raw material transferred from a storage area is properly prepared in the housing of the monitoring unit (Roulston: [0060, 0068]), and the material in the housing is precisely controlled before extrusion.
Upon the modification, modified Pibarot still does not teach the bracketed limitation(s) as presented above, i.e., the UV lamp is disposed in the outer housing or the inner housing.
Bag teaches a microorganism incubator having an inner housing and an outer housing, and a UV lamp 70 is installed on a support frame (i.e., equivalent to “an inner housing” as recited in claim 1) ([0026]; fig. 1).
Modified Pibarot teaches the apparatus includes a UV lamp for sterilization of raw material (Roulston: [0149, 0107]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the UV lamp of modified Pibarot to be installed in the inner housing of the biomaterial vessel in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of performing sterilization of all material within the vessel together during operation of heating or cooling.
Regarding claim 2, modified Pibarot teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor includes a first sensor configured to measure the temperature of the bio-ink or a second sensor configured to measure a pH of the bio-ink (Roulston: [0074]: sensor 35 operable with microcontroller 40 and system controller 50, comprising a pH sensor and/or a temperature sensor; figs. 3, 4).
Claims 3, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pibarot (US 20220192223 A1), Ma (US 20250024855 A1), Roulston (US 20250002829 A1) and Bag (KR 20130136601 A) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Han’128 (US 20240000128 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Pibarot teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not specifically teach that the extrusion module further includes a nozzle having a plurality of holes, wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the extrusion module such that at least a portion of the bio-ink is extracted in a form of a fiber bundle through the nozzle.
Han’128 teaches a method of making an artificial meat ([0001]). The artificial meat forming apparatus includes extruding apparatus 7 comprising a nozzle having a plurality of holes (a plurality of first nozzles 71 and second nozzles), and at least a portion of the bio-ink is extracted in a form of a fiber bundle (fibers 511, 512) through the nozzle ([0013, 0124-0126], figs. 5, 7-8).
In the same field of endeavor of extrusion-based food processing device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the inlet manifold 36 (Pibarot: [0058], fig. 1) of modified Pibarot to have a nozzle having a plurality of holes as taught by Han’128 in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of forming an extruded material to have a plurality of fibers so as to form an artificial meat having a fibrous texture similar to actual meat (Han’128: derived from [0039], fig. 1). Upon the modification, it would have been also obvious to modify the controller to control the extrusion module such that at least a portion of the bio-ink is extracted in a form of a fiber bundle through the nozzle (Ma: [0029, 0040, 0097], fig. 1; Han’128: [0013, 0124-0126], figs. 5, 7-8). The motivation to combine applied to claim 1 equally applies here.
Regarding claim 5, modified Pibarot teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not specifically teach that the apparatus further comprises a crosslinking module as recited in the claim 5.
Han’128 teaches a method of making an artificial meat ([0001]). Han’128 teaches that the apparatus comprises a crosslinking module including an internal space configured to contain a crosslinking liquid (Han’128: [0113]: extruded fibers may be crosslinked upon cooling, heating, or by immersing in a medicament at a specific pH; of note, here, it is implied that the crosslinking module has an internal space to hold the medicament; also, “a crosslinking liquid” is directed to an article worked upon by the apparatus; see MPEP 2115), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the bio-ink extruded and discharged through the extrusion module to be introduced into the internal space of the crosslinking module (Ma: [0029, 0040, 0097], fig. 1).
In the same field of endeavor of extrusion-based food processing device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify a portion downstream of the extruder 34 (Pibarot: [0059], fig. 1) of modified Pibarot to further have another crosslinking module immersing the extruded fibers in a medicament at a specific pH as taught by Han’128 in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of forming extruded fibers to be appropriately cured/crosslinked/gelled so as to form an artificial meat having a flavor and a texture similar to actual meat (Han’128: derived from [0039], fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Pibarot teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the apparatus further comprises a storage module, wherein the storage module includes an internal space for storing the bio-ink (Pibarot: [0055]: the dough 31 may be placed in the pump 33 by hand, and/or may be automatically transported from the dough preparation area 32 to the pump 33; fig. 1), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to control transfer of at least a portion of the bio-ink, stored in the internal space of the storage module, to the monitoring module via a pump (Pibarot: [0055]: the pump 33; [0074-0079]: the raw material pumped with a pump; Roulston: [0073]: pump 34 to input and output biomaterial of a vessel; figs. 3-4, 11-12).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pibarot (US 20220192223 A1), Ma (US 20250024855 A1), Roulston (US 20250002829 A1), Bag (KR 20130136601 A), and Han’128 (US 20240000128 A1) as applied to claim 3, and further in view of Ko (KR 20170119092 A).
Regarding claim 4, modified Pibarot teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of holes disposed in the nozzle has a same predetermined diameter, is spaced apart from adjacent holes by a predetermined interval (Han’128: [0114, 125-126], figs. 5, 7). However, modified Pibarot does not specifically teach that each of the plurality of holes has a Y-shaped cross-section.
Ko teaches an extrusion device capable of coating a monofilament ([0001]). The extrusion device comprises a nozzle wherein each of plurality of holes in the nozzle has a Y-shaped cross-section ([0035] and figs. 5-8: a Y-shaped cross-section by a mixing chamber 61 and a hole 62 along a flow direction; [0017-0018] and figs. 12-15: a Y-shaped cross-section perpendicular to a flow direction).
In the same field of endeavor of the extrusion-based device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the holes in the nozzle of modified Pibarot to have a Y-shaped cross-section as taught by Ko in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of forming an extruded fiber to have a coated material thereon or a Y-shaped cross-sectional fiber (Ko: derived from [0017-0018, 0035]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pibarot (US 20220192223 A1), Ma (US 20250024855 A1), Roulston (US 20250002829 A1), Bag (KR 20130136601 A), and Han’128 (US 20240000128 A1) as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Usui (JP 2001314826 A).
Regarding claim 8, modified Pibarot teaches the apparatus of claim 5, comprising the crosslinking module (e.g., Han’128: [0113]). However, modified Pibarot does not specifically teach that the crosslinking module includes a conductivity sensor, wherein the apparatus is configured to measure a contamination concentration of the crosslinking liquid accommodated in the internal space of the crosslinking module based on the conductivity sensor, and when the contamination concentration is determined to exceed a predetermined level, the apparatus is configured to control the crosslinking liquid to be circulated and replaced.
Usui teaches a quality control device for a food washing machine comprising an electrical conductivity sensor for detecting the supplied food wash water so that the electrical conductivity is used as an index of the degree of contamination (claims 3-4), and a water-saving device for a food washing machine reduces the amount of food wash water supplied based on a predetermined reference value and the clarity represented by a level of signal that meets a predetermined judgment condition (claims 5-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the crosslinking module of modified Pibarot to have a conductivity sensor for determining the contamination level of a liquid in the module and further controlling the amount of the liquid to supply therein as taught by Usui in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful of monitoring product consistency, controlling a quality of the product, and meeting regulatory standards (derived from Usui: claims 4-6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 (which have been newly amended by the applicants) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection has been made due to the newly added features from the applicant’s latest amendment filed on 02/21/2026.
The basis of the applicant’s argument is based upon the changes regarding the monitoring module. After further search and reconsideration, Roulston and Gag references are applied to the rejection. Thus, when Han or modified Pibarot are further modified by the references, modified Han or modified Pibarot does teach/suggest all the claimed limitations and the motivation to combine. Thereby, after reconsideration, claim 1 remains rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (WO 2022101508 A1) teaches an apparatus for producing artificial meat using bio-ink (figs. 1A, 1B).
Yamamoto (US 20250081989 A1) teaches a method of producing a protein food material and a molded meat alternative ([0002], fig. 1).
Breton (US 20230043707 A1) teaches a die for making a meat analogue having a Y-shaped cross-section (claim 1, figs. 2-3, 6-8).
/INJA SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1744