DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “a candidate target”. It is not clear what all is meant and encompassed by the phrase. What does a candidate target refer to? Is it a target speed of a robot, location, a route, obstacle, etc? The phrase is incomplete.
In claim 1, lines 10 and 11, “the target object” lacks antecedent basis.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12370673 or US 10717189. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Regarding claim 1, Kawamoto (12370673) discloses a method for operating a movable apparatus (claims 1, 15) comprising:
controllably driving a movement of the movable apparatus (claims 1, 15);
capturing with a camera a captured image and producing image data (claims 1, 15);
generating current location information of the movable apparatus based on GPS information (claims 1, 15);
transmitting to an instructing device the current location information of the movable apparatus and the image data to display a visual indicator of a candidate target on a display of the instructing device based on the image data (claims 1, 15);
receiving feedback information from the instructing device, the feedback information indicating that the candidate target object is correctly identified as the target object (claims 1, 15), wherein:
the feedback information is created from a feedback operation to control an operation of the movable apparatus (claims 1, 15), and
the visual indicator is set to indicate that the candidate target object is the target object based on the feedback information (claims 1, 15); and
controlling the movement of the movable apparatus and an operation of the camera based on the feedback information (claims 1, 15).
Regarding claim 1, Kawamoto (10717189) discloses a method for operating a movable apparatus (claims 1, 13, 24, 30) comprising:
controllably driving a movement of the movable apparatus (claims 1, 13, 24, 30);
capturing with a camera a captured image and producing image data (claims 1, 15);
generating current location information of the movable apparatus based on GPS information (claims 1, 13, 24, 30);
transmitting to an instructing device the current location information of the movable apparatus and the image data to display a visual indicator of a candidate target on a display of the instructing device based on the image data (claims 1, 13, 24, 30);
receiving feedback information from the instructing device, the feedback information indicating that the candidate target object is correctly identified as the target object (claims 1, 13, 24, 30), wherein:
the feedback information is created from a feedback operation to control an operation of the movable apparatus (claims 1, 13, 24, 30), and
the visual indicator is set to indicate that the candidate target object is the target object based on the feedback information (claims 1, 13, 24, 30), and
controlling the movement of the movable apparatus and an operation of the camera based on the feedback information (claims 1, 13, 24, 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Okamoto et al (US 20060111811) in view of Gal (US 20110035054).
Regarding claim 1, Okamoto et al (US 20060111811) discloses a method for operating a movable apparatus (a driving circuitry that controllable drives a movement of the movable apparatus; fig. 2, 13, 18, 20, 23, 29; sec 0143, 0286-0290, 0372-0380, 0470, 0471, 0593, 0744-0746, 0763); comprising:
controllably driving a movement of the movable apparatus (; fig. 2, 13, 18, 20, 23, 29; sec 0143, 0286-0290, 0372-0380, 0470, 0471, 0593, 0744-0746, 0763);
capturing with a camera a captured image and producing image data (a camera configured to capture a captured image and produce image data; 11b, fig. 12; sec 0151, 0260, 0296, 0381-0385, 0416, 0417, 448, 449, 0593);
generating current location information of the movable apparatus based dead reckoning information (sec 0016, 0019-0021 );
transmitting to an instructing device the current location information of the movable apparatus (location of robot, sec 0134, 0135, 0194, 0195, 0228, 0231, 0280) and the image data to display a visual indicator of a candidate target on a display of the instructing device based on the image data (image data (11b, fig. 12; sec 0260, 0296, 0381-0385, 0416, 0417, 448, 449, 0593);
receiving feedback information from the instructing device, the feedback information indicating that the candidate target object is correctly identified as the target object (the captured image in the visual indicator of the instruction device or operator console is correctly identified as a target object; fig. 2, 18, 20, 23, 29; sec 0143, 0286-0290, 0469, 0470, 0471), wherein:
the feedback information is created from a feedback operation to control an operation of the movable apparatus (fig. 2, 13, 18, 20, 23, 29; sec 0143, 0286-0290, 0372-0380, 0470, 0471, 0593, 0744-0746, 0763), and
the visual indicator is set to indicate that the candidate target object is the target object based on the feedback information (the captured image in the visual indicator of the instruction device or operator console is correctly identified as a target object; fig. 2, 18, 20, 23, 29; sec 0143, 0286-0290, 0469, 0470, 0471), and
controlling the movement of the movable apparatus and an operation of the camera based on the feedback information (fig. 2, 13, 18, 20, 23, 29; sec 0143, 0286-0290, 0372-0380, 0470, 0471, 0593, 0744-0746, 0763).
Okamoto did not particularly indicate that the current location information is generated based on information from GPS, rather Okamoto teaches of location information being generated based on Dead Reckoning sensors.
However, Gal teaches of generating current location information of the movable apparatus (abstract, sec 0015, 0016, 0021, 0023, 0086, 0087, 0089) based on GPS information (abstract, sec 0015, 0016, 0021, 0023, 0086, 0087, 0089).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Okamoto as taught by Gal for the purpose of improving Okamoto in obtaining precise location and orientation information (Gal, sec 0086, 0087) since Okamoto (sec 0763) shows interest for precise location information that he could not get by using dead reckoning sensors.
Conclusion
The prior art, US 12038748 B2, US 8918213 B2, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657