DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction & Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 and 15-19 are examined of which claims 1-10 were amended and claims 15-19 were newly added in Applicant’s reply.
Claims 11-14 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09 September 2025 and 08 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
List 1
Element
Instant Claims
APP’226
(mass%)
Instant Claims
APP’237
(mass%)
Prior Art US’948
(mass%)
C
0.0001 – 0.007
0.002 – 0.007 claim 3
0.0001 – 0.007
not more than 0.005
Mn
0.15 – 0.7
0.16 – 0.6 claim 5
0.18 – 0.5
0.05 – 2
Si
3 – 3.6
3.1 – 3.55 claim 2
3.1 – 3.8
2.8 – 6.5
Al
0.7 – 1.3
0.8 – 1.1 claim 4
0.7 – 1.3
not more than 3.0
P
≤ 0.15
≤ 0.15
not more than 0.20
S
≤ 0.006
≤ 0.006
not more than 0.005
N
≤ 0.09
≤ 0.09
not more than 0.005
Cu
0.01 – 1
0.01 – 1
optional 0.01 to 1.0
Cr
0.01 – 1
0.01 – 1
optional 0.01 to 1.0
Ni
0.01 – 1
0.01 – 1
optional 0.01 to 1.0
Fe + impurities
Balance
Balance
Balance
Claims 1-10 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/090160 A1 via its US English equivalent US 2021/0371948 A1 of Zaizen (US’948).
Regarding claims 1-10 and 15-19, WO 2020/090160 A1 via its US English equivalent US 2021/0371948 A1 of Zaizen (US’948) teaches {abstract, [0001], [0009]-[0110], claims 1-14} “a non-oriented electrical steel sheet used as an iron core material for an automotive motor” with a composition wherein the claimed ranges of the constituent elements of the instant alloy of the instant claims overlap or lie inside the ranges of various elements of the alloy of the prior art as shown in the List 1 above. As the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness is established as it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to select the claimed composition over the prior art disclosure since the prior art teaches the similar property/utility throughout the disclosed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
The prior art teaches [0011] “area ratio of recrystallized crystal grains at a section in the rolling direction of the steel sheet is 40 to 95% and an average grain size is 10 to 40 μm” thereby reading on the recited limitations of the amounts of recrystallized microstructure and non- recrystallized microstructure as well as the grain size of instant claims. Regarding the recited limitation of the microstructure being made of ferrite, the microstructure of the prior art would be ferrite as the prior art teaches “[0061] In the non-oriented electrical steel sheet according to the invention, the yield stress after the finish annealing is desirable to be not less than 500 MPa as described above. In order to ensure the above strength in the non-oriented electrical steel sheet according to the invention, it is necessary that the area ratio of the recrystallized grains (recrystallization ratio) after the finish annealing is 40 to 95% and the average grain size of the recrystallized grains is 10 to 40 μm.”
The prior art teaches [0017] “a yield stress is not less than 500 MPa” which reads on the recited yield strength range of the instant claims 9 and 19.
It is noted that the prior art is silent regarding the properties of a) percentage of eddy current losses, b) ultimate tensile strength, and d) elongation as recited in the instant claims. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP § 2112.01 I. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01 II. Therefore, it is expected that the alloy of the prior art possesses the properties as claimed in the instant claims since a) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in composition (see compositional analysis above), b) the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure (see microstructure analysis above) and c) the claimed and prior art products are produced by identical or substantially identical processes {Instant Specification: [0014] Prior Art: [0093]-[0110]}. Since the Office does not have a laboratory to test the reference alloy, it is applicant’s burden to show that the reference alloy does not possess the properties as claimed in the instant claims. See In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); In re Marosi, 218 USPQ 289, 292-293 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Fitzgerald et al., 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 15-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,516,396 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent teaches a non-oriented steel sheet with substantially identical composition, microstructure and properties.
Claims 1-10 and 15-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/266,237 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application teaches a non-oriented steel sheet with substantially identical composition, microstructure and properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 and 15-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over
claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/265,120
claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/273485
claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/283298
claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 19/283315
claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/284953
claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 19/287874
claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/289140
claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/289141
claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/289149
claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/323081
(reference applications).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference applications teaches a non-oriented steel sheet with substantially identical composition, microstructure and properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-12, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) “Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0321502 A1 of Shimazu (US’502)” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amendments to the instant claims.
Regarding the arguments directed to the double patenting rejection, Applicant's arguments filed 12/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted that the Applicant do not point out any errors associated with the rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733