DETAILED ACTION
Applicant has amended the title of the invention to overcome the objection to the specification provided in the previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/04/2026 with respect to claims 1 – 19 and newly added claim 20 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Please refer to the following office action, which clearly sets forth the reasons for non-persuasiveness.
Applicant argues JUNG fails to teach “a plurality of image pickup apparatuses including a first image pickup apparatus and a second image pickup apparatus”. Applicant states the image lens 113a and 113b are in a single camera 110.
Examiner notes applicant claims “a plurality of image pickup apparatuses including a first image pickup apparatus and a second image pickup apparatus”. Applicant seem to imply the need for first and second image pickup apparatus are each e.g. housed in two distinct and separate camera housings wherein the camera housings are physically unconnected with each other (if supported by the specification as filed), but applicant does not claim that the first and second image pickup apparatus are e.g. housed in two distinct and separate camera housings wherein the camera housings are physically unconnected with each other.
JUNG teaches in figure 2B items 113a along with 115a as the first image pickup apparatus, and items 113b along with 115b as a second image pickup apparatus.
Applicant argues that JUNG fails to teach “relationship between respective positions and orientations of the image pickup apparatuses and the background images displayed on the display apparatus”
Examiner notes in response to Applicant's argument that JUNG does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., relationship between respective positions and orientations of the image pickup apparatuses and the background images displayed on the display apparatus) are not stated in the claims. It is the claims that define the claimed invention, and it is the claims, not specifications that are anticipated or unpatentable. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc. , 7 USPQ 2d 1064.
JUNG teaches cause the display apparatus to display a first background image corresponding to a first position and orientation of the first image pickup apparatus and a second background image corresponding to a second position and orientation of the second image pickup apparatus (figure 4 items 143 and 145). Note: each of items 143 and 145 creates an image with associated positions and orientations.
Applicant argues that JUNG fails to teach capturing images and instead relies on previously captured images.
Examiner notes first that the claims as presented are do not clearly lay out when the images are captured, the images can be captured and presented later, claim is not clear as to live capturing of images . Second, at least in paragraph 0059, JUNG teaches “If the link icon 147 is selected, the controller 130 may display the link image 145 linked with the user image 143 on the display unit 120, as illustrated in FIG. 4B. If the link image 145 is then captured, the controller 130 may reduce a size of the displayed link image 145 according to a comparison between the user focal length and the reference focal length or may reduce the size of the user image 143”. Also figures 7 – 10 teach capturing and displaying images.
Applicant argues that new claim 20 includes language “wherein the first image pickup apparatus and the second image pickup apparatus are separate cameras”, which is not taught by JUNG.
Examiner notes wherein the first image pickup apparatus and the second image pickup apparatus are separate cameras is clearly taught by figure 2B items 113a along with 115a as the first image pickup apparatus i.e. first camera, and items 113b along with 115b as a second image pickup apparatus i.e. second camera. Applicant does not claim clearly how they are “separate”. JUNG teaches i.e. items 113a along with 115a as the first image pickup apparatus i.e. first camera, and items 113b along with 115b as a second image pickup apparatus i.e. second camera, are separate from each other in capturing images and/or separate in using different components in capturing the images.
Hence rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8 and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JUNG (US PgPub No. 2010/0141803).
Regarding claim 1, JUNG teaches a control apparatus for an imaging system (figure 1 with item 130) configured to capture background images displayed on a display (figures 3a – 3b and 4) apparatus by using a plurality of image pickup apparatuses including a first image pickup apparatus and a second image pickup apparatus (figure 2b items 113a – 113b), the control apparatus comprising: one or more memories storing instructions (paragraph 0070; application program); and one or more processors that, upon execution of the instructions (paragraph 0070; item 130), operate to: cause the display apparatus to display a first background image corresponding to a first position and orientation of the first image pickup apparatus (figure 4 item 143) and a second background image corresponding to a second position and orientation of the second image pickup apparatus (figure 4 item 145), and acquire a start instruction from a user to start display of the second background image on the display apparatus while the first background image is being displayed on the display apparatus (figure 4 item 147; link icon pressed to start display of the second background image), wherein the one or more processors operate to start the display of the second background image on the display apparatus according to the start instruction (Figure 4 transition left image (4A) to right image (4B) based on pressing of item 147 to start the display of the second background image with 145).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to terminate display of the first background image according to the start instruction (Figure 4 transition left image (4A) to right image (4B) based on pressing of item 147 to start the display of the second background image; therefore the displaying is changed from left image (4A) to right image (4B) with 145).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to: acquire a first captured image captured by the first image pickup apparatus and a second captured image captured by the second image pickup apparatus (figure 2B item 113a sending image to item 115a and item 113b sending image to item 115b), select, at a first time when the first background image is displayed on the display apparatus, the first captured image captured at the first time (figure 4 left display with item 143 at first time), and select, at a second time when the second background image is displayed on the display apparatus, the second captured image captured at the second time (figure 4 left display with item 145 at second time).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to start the display of the second background image on the display apparatus by changing information on the first position and orientation to information on the second position and orientation according to the start instruction (Figure 4 transition left image (4A) to right image (4B) based on pressing of item 147).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to change, according to the start instruction, a first imaging range of the first image pickup apparatus on a display surface of the display apparatus to a second imaging range of the second image pickup apparatus (Figure 4 transition left image (4A) to right image (4B) based on pressing of item 147 thereby changing range).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 3, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to determine whether or not the second captured image has been captured at a display time of the second background image (figure 4 item 147 shown when linking image available for the display time of the image on the left).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 6, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to attach to the second captured image, information indicating whether or not the second captured image has been captured at the display time of the second background image (figure 4 item 147 shown when linking image available for the display time of the image on the left).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 6, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to extract from among the second captured images, a captured image which has been captured at the display time of the second background image, using information indicating whether or not the second captured image has been captured at the display time of the second background image (figure 4 items 143 and 145).
Regarding claim 17, JUNG teaches a control method (figures 6 – 10) for an imaging system (figure 1) configured to capture background images displayed on a display (figures 3a – 3b and 4) apparatus by using a plurality of image pickup apparatuses including a first image pickup apparatus and a second image pickup apparatus (figure 2b items 113a – 113b), the control method comprising: causing the display apparatus to display a first background image corresponding to a first position and orientation of the first image pickup apparatus (figure 4 item 143) and a second background image corresponding to a second position and orientation of the second image pickup apparatus (figure 4 item 145); and acquiring a start instruction from a user to start display of the second background image on the display apparatus while the first background image is being displayed on the display apparatus (figure 4 item 147; link icon pressed to start display of the second background image), wherein in the display, the display of the second background image on the display apparatus is started according to the start instruction (Figure 4 transition left image (4A) to right image (4B) based on pressing of item 147 to start the display of the second background image with 145).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches an imaging system (figure 2B) comprising: a first image pickup apparatus (figure 2B item 113a and 115a); a second image pickup apparatus (figure 2B item 113b and 115b); a display apparatus (Figure 3a – 4); and the control apparatus (figure 1 with item 130) according to claim 1 (please see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 17, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute (paragraph 0070) the control method according to claim 18 (please see claim 18 above).
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the first image pickup apparatus and the second image pickup apparatus are separate cameras (figure 2B items 113a along with 115a as the first image pickup apparatus i.e. first camera, and items 113b along with 115b as a second image pickup apparatus i.e. second camera. Applicant does not claim clearly how they are “separate”. JUNG teaches i.e. items 113a along with 115a as the first image pickup apparatus i.e. first camera, and items 113b along with 115b as a second image pickup apparatus i.e. second camera, are separate from each other in capturing images and/or separate in using different components in capturing the images)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG (US PgPub No. 2010/0141803) in view of Krolczyk (US PgPub No. 2012/0249575).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, JUNG fails to teach wherein the one or more processors operate to set on the display apparatus, a first display period of the first background image and a second display period of the second background image, which do not overlap each other. Krolczyk, on the other hand teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to set on the display apparatus, a first display period of the first background image and a second display period of the second background image, which do not overlap each other.
More specifically, Krolczyk teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to set on the display apparatus, a first display period of the first background image and a second display period of the second background image, which do not overlap each other (figure 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Krolczyk teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to set the first display period and the second display period within one frame period (figures 5 and 9; set the first display period and the second display period within one frame period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Krolczyk teaches wherein the number of a plurality of display periods including the first display period and the second display period is smaller than the number of the plurality of image pickup apparatuses (figures 5 and 9; number of a plurality of display periods including the first display period and the second display period is smaller than the number of the plurality of image pickup apparatuses).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Krolczyk teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to control the display apparatus so as to display the first background image in the first display period and to display the second background image in the second display period (figures 5 and 9; display the first background image in the first display period and to display the second background image in the second display period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to control the second image pickup apparatus so that the second display period is included in an exposure period of the second image pickup apparatus and the first display period is not included in the exposure period (figure 4 left image (4A)).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Krolczyk teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to continue, after causing the display apparatus to start the display of the second background image according to the start instruction, display of the first background image for a predetermined period (paragraphs 0063 and 0100 – 0101; transition effect).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 14, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Krolczyk teaches wherein the predetermined period is a period until display of a third background image, which is different from the first background image, is started in the first display period (paragraphs 0063 and 0100 – 0101; transition effect and multiple images including third image as shown in figure 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 14, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Krolczyk teaches a setting unit configured to allow a user to set in advance a start order of displays of the background images of the plurality of image pickup apparatuses, wherein the one or more processors operate to start the display of the background images according to the start order (paragraphs 0032, 0055, 0083 – 0084, 0088, and 0099; selecting images to play back in specific order).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Taya (US PgPub No. 20190325608) teaches a camera system calibration apparatus includes: an image acquisition unit configured to acquire images captured by a plurality of cameras; a vibration detection unit configured to detect vibration of the camera from the images for each of the cameras; an extraction unit configured to extract images captured by the camera whose vibration is within an allowable value and whose position and orientation are regarded as being the same as an image group for each of the cameras; a selection unit configured to select the image groups whose number is larger than or equal to a predetermined number of cameras as a combination; and an estimation unit configured to estimate a position and orientation parameter for each of the cameras by using the selected combination of the image groups.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
10/09/2026