DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/11/2025 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 8 and 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JUNG (US PgPub No. 2010/0141803).
Regarding claim 1, JUNG teaches a control apparatus for an imaging system (figure 1 with item 130) configured to capture background images displayed on a display (figures 3a – 3b and 4) apparatus by using a plurality of image pickup apparatuses including a first image pickup apparatus and a second image pickup apparatus (figure 2b items 113a – 113b), the control apparatus comprising: one or more memories storing instructions (paragraph 0070; application program); and one or more processors that, upon execution of the instructions (paragraph 0070; item 130), operate to: cause the display apparatus to display a first background image corresponding to a first position and orientation of the first image pickup apparatus (figure 4 item 143) and a second background image corresponding to a second position and orientation of the second image pickup apparatus (figure 4 item 145), and acquire a start instruction from a user to start display of the second background image on the display apparatus while the first background image is being displayed on the display apparatus (figure 4 item 147; link icon pressed to start display of the second background image), wherein the one or more processors operate to start the display of the second background image on the display apparatus according to the start instruction (Figure 4 transition left image (4A) to right image (4B) based on pressing of item 147 to start the display of the second background image with 145).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to terminate display of the first background image according to the start instruction (Figure 4 transition left image (4A) to right image (4B) based on pressing of item 147 to start the display of the second background image; therefore the displaying is changed from left image (4A) to right image (4B) with 145).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to: acquire a first captured image captured by the first image pickup apparatus and a second captured image captured by the second image pickup apparatus (figure 2B item 113a sending image to item 115a and item 113b sending image to item 115b), select, at a first time when the first background image is displayed on the display apparatus, the first captured image captured at the first time (figure 4 left display with item 143 at first time), and select, at a second time when the second background image is displayed on the display apparatus, the second captured image captured at the second time (figure 4 left display with item 145 at second time).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to start the display of the second background image on the display apparatus by changing information on the first position and orientation to information on the second position and orientation according to the start instruction (Figure 4 transition left image (4A) to right image (4B) based on pressing of item 147).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to change, according to the start instruction, a first imaging range of the first image pickup apparatus on a display surface of the display apparatus to a second imaging range of the second image pickup apparatus (Figure 4 transition left image (4A) to right image (4B) based on pressing of item 147 thereby changing range).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 3, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to determine whether or not the second captured image has been captured at a display time of the second background image (figure 4 item 147 shown when linking image available for the display time of the image on the left).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 6, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to attach to the second captured image, information indicating whether or not the second captured image has been captured at the display time of the second background image (figure 4 item 147 shown when linking image available for the display time of the image on the left).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 6, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to extract from among the second captured images, a captured image which has been captured at the display time of the second background image, using information indicating whether or not the second captured image has been captured at the display time of the second background image (figure 4 items 143 and 145).
Regarding claim 17, JUNG teaches a control method (figures 6 – 10) for an imaging system (figure 1) configured to capture background images displayed on a display (figures 3a – 3b and 4) apparatus by using a plurality of image pickup apparatuses including a first image pickup apparatus and a second image pickup apparatus (figure 2b items 113a – 113b), the control method comprising: causing the display apparatus to display a first background image corresponding to a first position and orientation of the first image pickup apparatus (figure 4 item 143) and a second background image corresponding to a second position and orientation of the second image pickup apparatus (figure 4 item 145); and acquiring a start instruction from a user to start display of the second background image on the display apparatus while the first background image is being displayed on the display apparatus (figure 4 item 147; link icon pressed to start display of the second background image), wherein in the display, the display of the second background image on the display apparatus is started according to the start instruction (Figure 4 transition left image (4A) to right image (4B) based on pressing of item 147 to start the display of the second background image with 145).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches an imaging system (figure 2B) comprising: a first image pickup apparatus (figure 2B item 113a and 115a); a second image pickup apparatus (figure 2B item 113b and 115b); a display apparatus (Figure 3a – 4); and the control apparatus (figure 1 with item 130) according to claim 1 (please see claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 18, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute (paragraph 0070) the control method according to claim 18 (please see claim 18 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG (US PgPub No. 2010/0141803) in view of Krolczyk (US PgPub No. 2012/0249575).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, JUNG teach all of the limitations of the parent claim.
However, JUNG fails to teach wherein the one or more processors operate to set on the display apparatus, a first display period of the first background image and a second display period of the second background image, which do not overlap each other. Krolczyk, on the other hand teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to set on the display apparatus, a first display period of the first background image and a second display period of the second background image, which do not overlap each other.
More specifically, Krolczyk teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to set on the display apparatus, a first display period of the first background image and a second display period of the second background image, which do not overlap each other (figure 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Krolczyk teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to set the first display period and the second display period within one frame period (figures 5 and 9; set the first display period and the second display period within one frame period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Regarding claim 11, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Krolczyk teaches wherein the number of a plurality of display periods including the first display period and the second display period is smaller than the number of the plurality of image pickup apparatuses (figures 5 and 9; number of a plurality of display periods including the first display period and the second display period is smaller than the number of the plurality of image pickup apparatuses).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Krolczyk teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to control the display apparatus so as to display the first background image in the first display period and to display the second background image in the second display period (figures 5 and 9; display the first background image in the first display period and to display the second background image in the second display period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to control the second image pickup apparatus so that the second display period is included in an exposure period of the second image pickup apparatus and the first display period is not included in the exposure period (figure 4 left image (4A)).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 12, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Krolczyk teaches wherein the one or more processors operate to continue, after causing the display apparatus to start the display of the second background image according to the start instruction, display of the first background image for a predetermined period (paragraphs 0063 and 0100 – 0101; transition effect).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 14, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Krolczyk teaches wherein the predetermined period is a period until display of a third background image, which is different from the first background image, is started in the first display period (paragraphs 0063 and 0100 – 0101; transition effect and multiple images including third image as shown in figure 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 14, JUNG in view of Krolczyk teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Krolczyk teaches a setting unit configured to allow a user to set in advance a start order of displays of the background images of the plurality of image pickup apparatuses, wherein the one or more processors operate to start the display of the background images according to the start order (paragraphs 0032, 0055, 0083 – 0084, 0088, and 0099; selecting images to play back in specific order).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to incorporate the teachings of Krolczyk with the teachings of JUNG to have a system of enhanced image viewing for user pleasure, thereby improving the usability in JUNG.
.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lassiter (US patent No. 6624846) teaches a system for control of the interaction of a device with a spatial region.
Sato (US patent No. 6977676) teaches a camera control system capable of, in a video conference, remote surveillance or the like, issuing an instruction for a camera posture or the like, the user desires, on the moment in a simple way, an image with a small angle of view and a panoramic image are transmitted to a personal computer to be individually displayed.
Jones (US patent No. 8237807) teaches a device receives a user selection (e.g., tap, tap and hold, gesture) of a region displayed on the display screen (e.g., touch sensitive screen).
Lablans (US patent No. 8416282) teaches a system to generate multiple images that are combined into a panoramic image.
Momosaki (US patent No. 8988457) teaches an electronic device includes: a first generator configured to generate a first image display mode in which image processing including at least one of an effect processing and a transition processing is applied to one or more still images based on image features of the still images; a second generator configured to generate a second image display mode in which one or more still images are switched over successively; and a switching module configured to output any one of the first and second image display modes and switch between the first image display mode and the second image display mode.
Abe (US patent No. 11372513) teaches a display apparatus includes a display device capable of changing at least one of a plurality of parameters including a luminescence intensity, a color gamut, and an electro optical transfer function (EOTF).
Elberbaum (US PgPub No. 20020152557) teaches a system for tracking multiple subjects and selecting one subject for zoom.
Hasegawa (US PgPub No. 20050100087) teaches a camera unit is correlated with coordinates in an entire image display portion, used as a GUI having positional information to select a specified image with a mouse.
Cannon (US PgPub No. 20050212817) teaches a controller is provided and is adapted to detect the non-directional signal and to successively designate a different one of a set of portions of the original image in response to each non-directional signal.
Mock (US PgPub No. 20060259552) teaches a system and method for selecting a video input signal to send to remote endpoints in a videoconference are disclosed.
Abe (US PgPub No. 20200228716) teaches a display apparatus includes a display device capable of changing at least one of a plurality of parameters including a luminescence intensity, a color gamut, and an electro optical transfer function (EOTF).
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
07/28/2026