Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 20160109784) in view of Breidenassel (US 20120236563 )
1. A product for use with a storage unit, the product comprising:
a body; an output element (LEDs 23) supported by the body; a rotating disc (2) coupled to the body for rotation therewith, the rotating disc including a first locking member (Xu is silent to a first locking member; Breidenassel discloses a ring 18 engages with base 1 using a lock member and bayonet socket 11; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Breidenassel so that the disc can be engaged and be secured with the base); and
a base 1 configured to engage the storage unit, the base including a second locking member (Breidenassel, see socket 11);
wherein the rotating disc is movable relative to the base between an engaged position, in which the first locking member engages the second locking member such that the base rotates with the rotating disc, and a disengaged position, in which the first locking member disengages the second locking member such that the rotating disc is rotatable relative to the base (Xu, Figs. 3, 6; Breidenassel, Figs. 4-10).
2.1, wherein the base (hook 11) includes a first engagement feature configured to align with a second engagement feature (receive means 102) in a receptacle of the storage unit.
3.2, wherein when the rotating disc is in the engaged position, the product is rotatable in a first direction to align the first engagement feature with the second engagement feature, thereby securing the base in the receptacle, and wherein when the rotating disc is in the engaged position, the product is rotatable in a second direction opposite the first direction to misalign the first engagement feature from the second engagement feature, thereby allowing the base to be removable from the receptacle (Xu, par. 46: When the release button 122 is pushed, the flanged end 121 thereof is driven away from the receiving means 102 of the mount 103, allowing the flanged hooks or L-shaped hooks 11 on the base plate to rotate out of the receiving means 102 and disengage from the mount 103 (See FIG. 4); Xu is silent to a first direction rotation; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to recognize that the position that the base plate is rotated out and disengaged is a position in which the base is freely moved and is also the position when the base is in a second position causing the misalignment; it would have also been obvious that when the hook 11 is extended into the receiving means 102 in a first direction, it is engaged to the receiving means 102 which is considered the aligned position.
5.1, wherein the first locking member includes a first material and the second locking member includes a second material, and wherein the first material engages the second material when in the engaged position to produce a frictional force between the rotating disc and the base for co-rotation (Breidenassel, Figs. 4-9, the locking members are made of materials and produce frictional force).
8.1, wherein the product is a lighting device and the output element is a light-emitting diode to provide illumination to a workspace (Xu, Figs. 1-6, par. 42).
Claim(s) 10-12, 14, 16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 20160109784)
Xu discloses
10. A product for use with a storage unit, the product comprising:
a body having a first end and a second end opposite the first end (Figs. 1-2);
an output element (LEDs 23) supported by the body;
a base (1) configured to engage the storage unit (100); and
a hook (11, Fig. 2) movably coupled to the base, the hook movable relative to the base between a stored position, in which the hook is received in the base, and an extended position, in which the hook extends outwardly from the base and is configured to couple to a support structure 102 (Xu, par. 46: When the release button 122 is pushed, the flanged end 121 thereof is driven away from the receiving means 102 of the mount 103, allowing the flanged hooks or L-shaped hooks 11 on the base plate to rotate out of the receiving means 102 and disengage from the mount 103 (See FIG. 4); Xu is silent to a stored position and an extended position; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to recognize that the position that the base plate is rotated out and disengaged is a position in which the base is freely moved and is also the position when the base is in a stored or non-engaged position; it would have also been obvious that when the hook 11 is extended into the receiving means 102, it is engaged to the receiving means 102 which is considered the extended position).
11.10, wherein the base includes a first engagement feature (i.e. another hook 11) configured to align with a second engagement feature (another receive means 102) in a receptacle of the storage unit to secure the product in the receptacle.
12.11, further comprising a battery receptacle (31) positioned at the first end of the body, and wherein the first engagement feature and the hook are both positioned on the second end of the body.
14.10, wherein the product is a lighting device and the output element is a light-emitting diode to provide illumination to a workspace (see all Figs., par. 42: output element is LED lights 23).
Xu discloses
16. A product for use with a storage unit, the product comprising:
a body having a first end and a second end (see all Figs.);
a battery receptacle 31 positioned at the first end of the body, the battery receptacle configured to receive a battery pack;
an output element (LEDs 23) supported by the body, the output element configured to be powered by the battery pack coupled to the battery receptacle; and
a base (1) rotatably couplable to the storage unit, the base including a first engagement feature (a hook 11) configured to align with a second engagement feature (a receive means 102) in a receptacle of the storage unit,
wherein the product is rotatable in a first direction to align the first engagement feature with the second engagement feature, thereby securing the base in the receptacle, and wherein the product is rotatable in a second direction opposite the first direction to misalign the first engagement feature from the second engagement feature, thereby allowing the base to be removable from the receptacle (Xu, par. 46: When the release button 122 is pushed, the flanged end 121 thereof is driven away from the receiving means 102 of the mount 103, allowing the flanged hooks or L-shaped hooks 11 on the base plate to rotate out of the receiving means 102 and disengage from the mount 103 (See FIG. 4); Xu is silent to a first direction rotation; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to recognize that the position that the base plate is rotated out and disengaged is a position in which the base is freely moved and is also the position when the base is in a second position causing the misalignment; it would have also been obvious that when the hook 11 is extended into the receiving means 102 in a first direction, it is engaged to the receiving means 102 which is considered the aligned position).
18.16, wherein the product includes a hook (i.e. another hook 11) movably coupled to the base, the hook movable relative to the base between a stored position, in which the hook is received in the base, and an extended position, in which the hook extends outwardly from the base and is configured to couple to a support structure (another receive means 102).
19.16, wherein the product is a lighting device and the output element is a light-emitting diode to provide illumination to a workspace (see all Figs., par. 42).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 20160109784) Breidenassel (US 20120236563 )in view of Atsumi (US 20200361099)
Re claim 9.1, Xu is silent to the product is an audio output device and the output element is a speaker.
Atsumi discloses a device capable of attaching a camera, speaker, or light source thereto.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Atsumi by attaching a speaker in addition to or in place of the light source as a design choice.
Claim(s) 15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 20160109784) in view of Atsumi (US 20200361099)
Re claim 15.10, Xu is silent to the product is an audio output device and the output element is a speaker.
Atsumi discloses a device capable of attaching a camera, speaker, or light source thereto.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Atsumi by attaching a speaker in addition to or in place of the light source as a design choice.
20.16, see discussion regarding claims above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4, 6-7, 13, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not disclose all limitations as set forth in claims 4, 13, 17 and their parent claims
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/THIEN T MAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876