DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The Amendment filed 4/16/2026 amended claims 1, 3, 4, 7-10, and 20. Claims 1-20 are pending herein, however Claims 2, and 4-19 were previously withdrawn in response to a Restriction requirement.
Applicant should take note that the claims amendments filed provide the wrong application number at the top of the page: “19/266,344”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The previous objections to the drawings are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the objections that remain are detailed below.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “manually removed from the axle mount slot by a user's fingers to allow removal of the axle pin without tools” (Claim 3), must be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The previous objections to the claims are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the objections that remain are detailed below.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the axle” (line 8) should be rewritten as: “the first axle.” Appropriate correction is required
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the pin” should be rewritten as: “the axle pin.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections of the claims under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the rejections that remain are detailed below.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 3, the claim recites the limitation: "without tools", which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. However, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The previous rejections of the claims under 35 USC 102 are withdrawn in light of the amendments, the rejections that remain are detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 20 is/are rejected is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donze et al. (US 5,149,116) and further in view of Albert et. al. (US PG PUB 2010/0109).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Donze teaches: A wheelbarrow (See, e.g., Fig.1-8), comprising:
a tub (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 10) supported by two handle shafts (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 1+1a+16), each handle shaft supported by a respective leg (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 2), the two handle shafts connected by a wheel guard (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 5);
an axle mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 4) on each handle shaft located between the wheel guard and leg (See, e.g., Fig.1-8);
an axle mount slot (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 4) traversing one of the axle mounts (See, e.g., Fig.1-8);
a first axle (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 6) traversing each handle shaft axle mount, the axle comprising a pin orifice (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 9a); and
a first wheel (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 8) mounted on the first axle between the two handle shafts (See, e.g., Fig.1-8);
wherein the axle is held inside the axle mounts by an axle pin (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 9) traversing pin orifice of the axle (See, e.g., Fig.1-8).
Donze fails to explicitly teach: wherein the axle is held inside the axle mounts by an axle pin traversing the axle mount slot.
However, Albert teaches a similar wheelbarrow (See, e.g., Albert: Fig.1-10, 10) with an axle mount slot (See, e.g., Albert: Fig.1-10, 68) traversing one of the axle mounts (See, e.g., Albert: Fig.1-10, 50); wherein the axle (See, e.g., Albert: Fig.1-10, 42) is held inside the axle mounts by an axle pin (See, e.g., Albert: Fig.1-10, 66) traversing the axle mount slot (See, e.g., Albert: Fig.1-10).
Albert teaches that it is well known in the art of wheelbarrow design to provide . the axle held inside the axle mounts by an axle pin traversing the axle mount slot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Donze modified with the axle held inside the axle mounts by the axle pin traversing the axle mount slot and the axle pin orifice such as taught by Albert, for the purpose of conveniently maintaining the axle in a securely attached configuration when in use, beneficially allowing a user to remove the axle easily (e.g., by grasping the coupling pin) for replacement/repair or disassembly/storage, and additionally presenting a neat and concise visual appearance when mounted on the wheelbarrow. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Donze in view of Albert teaches: wherein the axle pin can be manually removed from the axle mount slot by a user's fingers to allow removal of the axle pin without tools and the first axle removed from the axle mounts to remove the first wheel from the wheelbarrow (See, e.g., Donze: Fig.1-8 in view of Albert: Fig.1-10).
[Claim 20] Regarding Claim 20, Donze teaches: A wheelbarrow (See, e.g., Fig.1-8), comprising:
a tub (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 10) supported by two handle shafts (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 1+1a+3+16), each handle shaft having an axis and supported by a respective leg (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 2);
an axle mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 4) coupled to each handle shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-8), at least one axle mount comprising an axle mount slot (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 4);
a first axle (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 6) traversing each handle shaft axle mount (See, e.g., Fig.1-8), the axle comprising a pin orifice (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 9a); and
a wheel (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 8) mounted on the axle between the two handle shafts (See, e.g., Fig.1-8);
wherein the first axle is held inside the axle mounts by an axle pin (See, e.g., Fig.1-8, 9) traversing the pin orifice of the axle (See, e.g., Fig.1-8).
Donze fails to explicitly teach: wherein the axle is held inside the axle mounts by an axle pin traversing the axle mount slot.
However, Albert teaches a similar wheelbarrow (See, e.g., Albert: Fig.1-10, 10) with an axle mount slot (See, e.g., Albert: Fig.1-10, 68) traversing one of the axle mounts (See, e.g., Albert: Fig.1-10, 50); wherein the axle (See, e.g., Albert: Fig.1-10, 42) is held inside the axle mounts by an axle pin (See, e.g., Albert: Fig.1-10, 66) traversing the axle mount slot (See, e.g., Albert: Fig.1-10).
Albert teaches that it is well known in the art of wheelbarrow design to provide the axle held inside the axle mount slot by an axle pin traversing the axle mount slot. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Donze modified with the axle held inside the axle mounts by the axle pin traversing the axle mount slot and the axle pin orifice such as taught by Albert, for the purpose of conveniently maintaining the axle in a securely attached configuration when in use, beneficially allowing a user to remove the axle easily (e.g., by grasping the coupling pin) for replacement/repair or disassembly/storage, and additionally presenting a neat and concise visual appearance when mounted on the wheelbarrow. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613