DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (2023/0286435) in view of Strazzanti (2009/0201436) and Blackmer et al. (2015/0042462).
Regarding claim 1. Chao teaches a vehicle (1) comprising a passenger compartment (5) (para [0011] a vehicular accessory system 10 is disposed at an interior portion or cabin of a vehicle 12 (FIG. 1)) and at least one component (9) (14; Fig 1; Fig 2), which is opaque and non-reflective (para [0014] the light transmitting panel 18 is substantially flush with or corresponds to an opaque body surface of the overhead console surrounding the light transmitting panel 18 and the light transmitting panel 18 extends over and in front of the light sources 20 (i.e., between the light sources and the vehicle cabin). The light transmitting panel 18 is adjustable between a transparent state, where the light transmitting panel 18 allows light to pass through the light transmitting panel 18 so that the light sources 20 are visible through the light transmitting panel 18 and light emitted by the light sources may illuminate the vehicle cabin, and a darkened or opaque state, where the light transmitting panel 18 is darkened so that the light sources 20 may not be visible (or relatively less visible) through the light transmitting panel 18.), is not provided with any controllable screen configured to display information (para [0013] The light sources 20 (= not a controllable screen) are disposed behind the light transmitting panel 18 ), and has at least one wall (15) visible to an occupant of the passenger compartment (5) which always and only has one single unchanging appearance (Fig 2; para [0012] The overhead console 14 includes a frame or body or housing or base portion 16 that circumscribes and supports a transparent or light transmitting panel 18 (FIG. 2).); wherein the component (9) comprises: at least one electrochromic film (16) covering the wall (15) (para [0016] The transparent or light transmitting panel may comprise an electrically dimmable or variable light transmissive panel. For example, the transparent panel may be dimmable via electro-optic technology, such as, for example, liquid crystal (LC) technology or electrochromic (EC) technology or the like.); wherein the electrochromic film (16) is configured to change the optical characteristics of the electrochromic film (16) (para [0015] The light transmitting panel 18 may have adjustable light transmission levels between the transparent state and the darkened or opaque state to cover the lighting features to make the lighting features less visible).
Chao fails to teach; an electric circuit, which is connected to opposite ends of the electrochromic film and is configured to apply, when necessary, an electric voltage to the electrochromic film so as to change the optical characteristics of the electrochromic film; wherein the component is an ignition key; as claimed
Strazzanti teaches a vehicle comprising: a film (12; Fig 2; Fig 3) and an electric circuit (22; Fig 3), which is connected to opposite ends of the film and is configured to apply, when necessary, an electric voltage to the electrochromic film so as to change the optical characteristics of the electrochromic film (para [0022] Areas 20 are provided on the film 12 where the transparent conductive substance is electrically connected to the electric drive circuit 22, and are provided on each end of the film 12 to enable a flow of current from a positive side to a negative side. Para [0038] Controller outputs are provided to the drive circuit 22, which is electrically coupled to films 12 at the area 20 to apply a pulse width modulated signal to the film 12 for altering the light transmissive characteristics, or reveal or conceal features, of the film 12.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teaching of changing the transparency of the electrochromic film of Chao with the teaching of Strazzanti, because these are well known method of changing the transparency of the film by applying suitable voltage; in order to yield predictable results.
Chao and Strazzanti fails to teach; wherein the component is an ignition key; as claimed.
Blackmer teaches a vehicle instrument panel comprising: an electrochromic film (34; Fig 2; Fig 3; para [0014] …electrochromic glass…) is configured to change the optical characteristics of the electrochromic film (para [0011] In addition to the transparent material, the pointer 30 may include areas that are coated with opaque, translucent, or reflective materials for reasons that will become apparent. As vehicles become more sophisticated, the number of graphical indicator 24 present on the display surface 20 increase, and so the pointer 30 may be operable to a position that obstructs the graphical indicator 24 from being viewed by the operator 14. In order to overcome this obstruction problem, the pointer 30 is preferably equipped with an electro-optical cell 34 operable to a transparent-state and located on the pointer 30 to overlay the graphical indicator 24 when the pointer 30 is at the position that obstructs the graphical indicator 24 from being viewed by the operator 14 view)
Chao, Strazzanti and Blackmer fails to teach, wherein the component (9) is an ignition key (9); as claimed.
Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art for the vehicle to have an ignition key in order to start/stop the vehicle (Note: evidential support for such can be found in Windeler (2011/0278139) – Fig 2; para [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the of Chao, Strazzanti and Blackmer, to have applied the teachings of forming electrochromic film on other components of the vehicle such as an ignition key; in order to yield predictable results of achieving similar benefits with respect to other components of the vehicle. Specifically, prior art Chao teaches applying the electrochromic film to overhead console; wherein as Blackmer teaches applying the electrochromic film to instrument panel which is different/another component of the vehicle. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have applied the electrochromic film to the ignition key; in order to yield predictable results. Furthermore, it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have applied the electrochromic film to devices/items in order to accomplish similar results. (Note: applicant’s own disclosure describes such electrochromic film can be applied to different components of the vehicle such as ignition key, cover of airbag housing or surface of finishing panel) (Evidential support of use of electrochromic film in other application can be found in Sinderbrand et al. (2016/0363806) (carrying case as in Fig 1a, 1b; appliance as in Fig 2a, 2b; kitchen appliance as in Fig 7; tent as in Fig 8; mirror as in Fig 9; security camera as in Fig 10); Weidner (2005/0200937) (aircraft window as in Fig 1; Fig 2a, 2b); Choi et al. (2018/0079284) (windshield as in Fig 11)).
Regarding claim 2, Chao teaches the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the application of the electric voltage to the electrochromic film changes the degree of transparency of the electrochromic film (para [0014] The light transmitting panel 18 is adjustable between a transparent state, where the light transmitting panel 18 allows light to pass through the light transmitting panel 18 so that the light sources 20 are visible through the light transmitting panel 18 and light emitted by the light sources may illuminate the vehicle cabin, and a darkened or opaque state, where the light transmitting panel 18 is darkened so that the light sources 20 may not be visible (or relatively less visible) through the light transmitting panel 18.para [0015] The light transmitting panel 18 may comprise a multi-layer laminate panel comprising multiple layers of transparent materials and may be electrically darkenable to darken the panel or reduce visible light transmissivity of the panel. Optionally, the light transmitting panel can be illuminated to display logos or other information. Optionally, by using light diffusing materials, the entire area can be illuminated for in-cabin lighting. The light transmitting panel 18 may have adjustable light transmission levels between the transparent state and the darkened or opaque state to cover the lighting features to make the lighting features less visible.) (Note: application of voltage to opposite ends is taught by Strazzanti as explained for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Chao teaches the vehicle as explained for claim 2 above.
Chao fails to teach, wherein the electrochromic film (16) is transparent in the absence of electric voltage and becomes opaque in the presence of electric voltage; as claimed.
Strazzanti teaches the vehicle, wherein the film is transparent in the absence of electric voltage and becomes opaque in the presence of electric voltage ((para [0031] The films 12, 12b may be constructed of a liquid crystal compound and dichroic dye only, having no polymer component and achieving a strongly colored state in the absence of an electric voltage, and a weakly colored state when a voltage is applied. The films 12, 12b may be constructed so as to operate in the reverse mode (i.e., opaque and colored when an electric voltage field is applied, and clear, weakly colored or colorless in the absence of an electric voltage).)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teaching of changing the transparency of the electrochromic film of Chao with the teaching of Strazzanti, because these are well known method of changing the transparency of the film by applying suitable voltage; in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, Chao teaches the vehicle as explained for claim 2 above.
Chao fails to teach, wherein the electrochromic film is opaque in the absence of electric voltage and becomes transparent in the presence of electric voltage; as claimed.
Strazzanti teaches the vehicle, wherein the film is opaque in the absence of electric voltage and becomes transparent in the presence of electric voltage ((para [0031] The films 12, 12b may be constructed of a liquid crystal compound and dichroic dye only, having no polymer component and achieving a strongly colored state in the absence of an electric voltage, and a weakly colored state when a voltage is applied. The films 12, 12b may be constructed so as to operate in the reverse mode (i.e., opaque and colored when an electric voltage field is applied, and clear, weakly colored or colorless in the absence of an electric voltage).)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teaching of changing the transparency of the electrochromic film of Chao with the teaching of Strazzanti, because these are well known method of changing the transparency of the film by applying suitable voltage; in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Chao teaches the vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the wall has at least one light source, which is arranged under the electrochromic film (para [0019] The light transmitting panel 18 may be adjusted between the opaque state and the transparent or light transmitting state in response to actuation of the light sources 20. For example, when the light sources 20 are in an off state and are not being operated to emit light, the light transmitting panel 18 may be operated in the opaque state to hide or conceal the light sources 20.). Chao also further teaches other structure behind the behind the light transmitting panel (para [0017]).
Chao and Strazzanti fails to teach, at least one graphic sign (22); as claimed.
Blackmer teaches the vehicle comprising at least one graphic sign (graphical indicator 24; Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have substituted one of the light source of Chao with graphical indicator as taught by Blackmer because both elements would provide user with useful information either in the form for light or sign; in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Chao teaches the vehicle according to claim 5, wherein the application of the electric voltage to the electrochromic film changes the degree of transparency of the electrochromic film to make the ; light source visible or hidden (para [0014] The light transmitting panel 18 is adjustable between a transparent state, where the light transmitting panel 18 allows light to pass through the light transmitting panel 18 so that the light sources 20 are visible through the light transmitting panel 18 and light emitted by the light sources may illuminate the vehicle cabin, and a darkened or opaque state, where the light transmitting panel 18 is darkened so that the light sources 20 may not be visible (or relatively less visible) through the light transmitting panel 18. Para [0019] For example, when the light sources 20 are in an off state and are not being operated to emit light, the light transmitting panel 18 may be operated in the opaque state to hide or conceal the light sources 20.) (Note: application of voltage to opposite ends is taught by Strazzanti as explained for claim 1 above. Blackmer teaches the graphic sign as explained for claim 5 above).
Regarding claim 7, Chao teaches the vehicle as explained for claim 6 above.
Chao fails to teach, wherein the graphic sign is hidden in the absence of electric voltage and becomes visible in the presence of electric voltage or vice versa; as claimed.
Strazzanti teaches the vehicle wherein the control is hidden in the absence of electric voltage and becomes visible in the presence of electric voltage or vice versa (para [0023] This film 12 is placed over the display and in the powered state the control S is visible to a driver as in FIG. 1A. When electricity is applied to the film, the film becomes transparent and colorless revealing the display or controls S. para [0031] The films 12, 12b may be constructed of a liquid crystal compound and dichroic dye only, having no polymer component and achieving a strongly colored state in the absence of an electric voltage, and a weakly colored state when a voltage is applied. The films 12, 12b may be constructed so as to operate in the reverse mode (i.e., opaque and colored when an electric voltage field is applied, and clear, weakly colored or colorless in the absence of an electric voltage).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teaching of changing the transparency of the electrochromic film of Chao with the teaching of Strazzanti, because these are well known method of changing the transparency of the film by applying suitable voltage; in order to yield predictable results.
Chao and Strazzanti fails to teach, the graphic sign; as claimed.
Blackmer teaches the vehicle comprising at least the one graphic sign (graphical indicator 24; Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have substituted one of the light source of Chao with graphical indicator as taught by Blackmer because both elements would provide user with some information either in the form for light or sign; in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Chao teaches a vehicle (1) comprising at least one component (9) (14; Fig 1; Fig 2) is opaque and non-reflective (para [0014] the light transmitting panel 18 is substantially flush with or corresponds to an opaque body surface of the overhead console surrounding the light transmitting panel 18 and the light transmitting panel 18 extends over and in front of the light sources 20 (i.e., between the light sources and the vehicle cabin). The light transmitting panel 18 is adjustable between a transparent state, where the light transmitting panel 18 allows light to pass through the light transmitting panel 18 so that the light sources 20 are visible through the light transmitting panel 18 and light emitted by the light sources may illuminate the vehicle cabin, and a darkened or opaque state, where the light transmitting panel 18 is darkened so that the light sources 20 may not be visible (or relatively less visible) through the light transmitting panel 18.), is not provided with any controllable screen configured to display information (para [0013] The light sources 20 (= not a controllable screen) are disposed behind the light transmitting panel 18 ), and has at least one wall (15) visible to an occupant of the passenger compartment (5) which always and only has one single unchanging appearance (Fig 2; para [0012] The overhead console 14 includes a frame or body or housing or base portion 16 that circumscribes and supports a transparent or light transmitting panel 18 (FIG. 2).); and further comprises: at least one electrochromic film (16) covering the wall (15) (para [0016] The transparent or light transmitting panel may comprise an electrically dimmable or variable light transmissive panel. For example, the transparent panel may be dimmable via electro-optic technology, such as, for example, liquid crystal (LC) technology or electrochromic (EC) technology or the like.); wherein the electrochromic film (16) is configured to change the optical characteristics of the electrochromic film (16) (para [0015] The light transmitting panel 18 may have adjustable light transmission levels between the transparent state and the darkened or opaque state to cover the lighting features to make the lighting features less visible).
Chao fails to teach; an electric circuit, which is connected to opposite ends of the electrochromic film and is configured to apply, when necessary, an electric voltage to the electrochromic film so as to change the optical characteristics of the electrochromic film; and an ignition key; as claimed
Strazzanti teaches a vehicle comprising: a film (12; Fig 2; Fig 3) and an electric circuit (22; Fig 3), which is connected to opposite ends of the film and is configured to apply, when necessary, an electric voltage to the electrochromic film so as to change the optical characteristics of the electrochromic film (para [0022] Areas 20 are provided on the film 12 where the transparent conductive substance is electrically connected to the electric drive circuit 22, and are provided on each end of the film 12 to enable a flow of current from a positive side to a negative side. Para [0038] Controller outputs are provided to the drive circuit 22, which is electrically coupled to films 12 at the area 20 to apply a pulse width modulated signal to the film 12 for altering the light transmissive characteristics, or reveal or conceal features, of the film 12.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teaching of changing the transparency of the electrochromic film of Chao with the teaching of Strazzanti, because these are well known method of changing the transparency of the film by applying suitable voltage; in order to yield predictable results.
Chao and Strazzanti fails to teach; an ignition key; as claimed.
Blackmer teaches a vehicle instrument panel comprising: an electrochromic film (34; Fig 2; Fig 3; para [0014] …electrochromic glass…) is configured to change the optical characteristics of the electrochromic film (para [0011] In addition to the transparent material, the pointer 30 may include areas that are coated with opaque, translucent, or reflective materials for reasons that will become apparent. As vehicles become more sophisticated, the number of graphical indicator 24 present on the display surface 20 increase, and so the pointer 30 may be operable to a position that obstructs the graphical indicator 24 from being viewed by the operator 14. In order to overcome this obstruction problem, the pointer 30 is preferably equipped with an electro-optical cell 34 operable to a transparent-state and located on the pointer 30 to overlay the graphical indicator 24 when the pointer 30 is at the position that obstructs the graphical indicator 24 from being viewed by the operator 14 view)
Chao, Strazzanti and Blackmer fails to teach, an ignition key (9); as claimed.
Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art for the vehicle to have an ignition key in order to start/stop the vehicle (Note: evidential support for such can be found in Windeler (2011/0278139) – Fig 2; para [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the of Chao, Strazzanti and Blackmer, to have applied the teachings of forming electrochromic film on other components of the vehicle such as an ignition key; in order to yield predictable results of achieving similar benefits with respect to other components of the vehicle. Specifically, prior art Chao teaches applying the electrochromic film to overhead console; wherein as Blackmer teaches applying the electrochromic film to instrument panel which is different/another component of the vehicle. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have applied the electrochromic film to an ignition key; in order to yield predictable results. Furthermore, it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have applied the electrochromic film to devices/items in order to accomplish similar results. (Note: applicant’s own disclosure describes such electrochromic film can be applied to different components of the vehicle such as ignition key, cover of airbag housing or surface of finishing panel) (Evidential support of use of electrochromic film in other application can be found in Sinderbrand et al. (2016/0363806) (carrying case as in Fig 1a, 1b; appliance as in Fig 2a, 2b; kitchen appliance as in Fig 7; tent as in Fig 8; mirror as in Fig 9; security camera as in Fig 10); Weidner (2005/0200937) (aircraft window as in Fig 1; Fig 2a, 2b); Choi et al. (2018/0079284) (windshield as in Fig 11)).
Regarding claim 13, Chao teaches the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the application of the electric voltage to the electrochromic film changes the degree of transparency of the electrochromic film (para [0014] The light transmitting panel 18 is adjustable between a transparent state, where the light transmitting panel 18 allows light to pass through the light transmitting panel 18 so that the light sources 20 are visible through the light transmitting panel 18 and light emitted by the light sources may illuminate the vehicle cabin, and a darkened or opaque state, where the light transmitting panel 18 is darkened so that the light sources 20 may not be visible (or relatively less visible) through the light transmitting panel 18.para [0015] The light transmitting panel 18 may comprise a multi-layer laminate panel comprising multiple layers of transparent materials and may be electrically darkenable to darken the panel or reduce visible light transmissivity of the panel. Optionally, the light transmitting panel can be illuminated to display logos or other information. Optionally, by using light diffusing materials, the entire area can be illuminated for in-cabin lighting. The light transmitting panel 18 may have adjustable light transmission levels between the transparent state and the darkened or opaque state to cover the lighting features to make the lighting features less visible.) (Note: application of voltage to opposite ends is taught by Strazzanti as explained for claim 12 above. Further more the application of electrochromic film to ignition key is described in the rejection of claim 12 above.).
Regarding claim 14, Chao teaches the vehicle according to claim 12, wherein the wall has at least one light source, which is arranged under the electrochromic film (para [0019] The light transmitting panel 18 may be adjusted between the opaque state and the transparent or light transmitting state in response to actuation of the light sources 20. For example, when the light sources 20 are in an off state and are not being operated to emit light, the light transmitting panel 18 may be operated in the opaque state to hide or conceal the light sources 20.). Chao also further teaches other structure behind the behind the light transmitting panel (para [0017]). Chao further teaches wherein the application of the electric voltage to the electrochromic film changes the degree of transparency of the electrochromic film to make the ; light source visible or hidden (para [0014] The light transmitting panel 18 is adjustable between a transparent state, where the light transmitting panel 18 allows light to pass through the light transmitting panel 18 so that the light sources 20 are visible through the light transmitting panel 18 and light emitted by the light sources may illuminate the vehicle cabin, and a darkened or opaque state, where the light transmitting panel 18 is darkened so that the light sources 20 may not be visible (or relatively less visible) through the light transmitting panel 18. Para [0019] For example, when the light sources 20 are in an off state and are not being operated to emit light, the light transmitting panel 18 may be operated in the opaque state to hide or conceal the light sources 20.) (Note: application of voltage to opposite ends is taught by Strazzanti as explained for claim 1 above. Furthermore the application of electrochromic film to ignition key is described in the rejection of claim 12 above).
Chao and Strazzanti fails to teach, at least one graphic sign (22); as claimed.
Blackmer teaches the vehicle comprising at least one graphic sign (graphical indicator 24; Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have substituted one of the light source of Chao with graphical indicator as taught by Blackmer because both elements would provide user with useful information either in the form for light or sign; in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, Chao teaches the vehicle as explained for claim 14 above.
Chao fails to teach, wherein the graphic sign is hidden in the absence of electric voltage and becomes visible in the presence of electric voltage or vice versa; as claimed.
Strazzanti teaches the vehicle wherein the control is hidden in the absence of electric voltage and becomes visible in the presence of electric voltage or vice versa (para [0023] This film 12 is placed over the display and in the powered state the control S is visible to a driver as in FIG. 1A. When electricity is applied to the film, the film becomes transparent and colorless revealing the display or controls S. para [0031] The films 12, 12b may be constructed of a liquid crystal compound and dichroic dye only, having no polymer component and achieving a strongly colored state in the absence of an electric voltage, and a weakly colored state when a voltage is applied. The films 12, 12b may be constructed so as to operate in the reverse mode (i.e., opaque and colored when an electric voltage field is applied, and clear, weakly colored or colorless in the absence of an electric voltage).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teaching of changing the transparency of the electrochromic film of Chao with the teaching of Strazzanti, because these are well known method of changing the transparency of the film by applying suitable voltage; in order to yield predictable results.
Chao and Strazzanti fails to teach, the graphic sign; as claimed.
Blackmer teaches the vehicle comprising at least the one graphic sign (graphical indicator 24; Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have substituted one of the light source of Chao with graphical indicator as taught by Blackmer because both elements would provide user with some information either in the form for light or sign; in order to yield predictable results. (Note: Further more the application of electrochromic film to ignition key is described in the rejection of claim 12 above).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chao et al. (2023/0286435) in view of Strazzanti (2009/0201436) and Blackmer et al. (2015/0042462) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Robinson et al. (2025/0066009).
Regarding claim 8, Chao, Strazzanti and Blackmer teaches the vehicle as explained for claim 1 above.
Chao, Strazzanti and Blackmer fails to teach, wherein the component (9; 10;14) comprises two different electrochromic films (16) which are controllable separately and in an independent manner and each of which covers only a part of the wall; as claimed.
Robinson teaches an aircraft comprising: a component (10, 12; Fig 1-Fig 4); wherein the component (9; 10;14) comprises two different electrochromic films (16) (para [0018] An aircraft windscreen with adjustable gradient tinting in accordance with exemplary embodiments of the present invention is shown in the figures. Referring first to FIG. 1, in one exemplary embodiment, the windscreen system generally comprises a windscreen 10, a window 12, and control circuitry 14 operable to control the various liquid crystal display (LCD) films (11a through 11e, 13a, 13b) embedded as a layer positioned within (or on) the windscreen 10 and the window 12.; para [0021] While the exemplary embodiments described herein are described and depicted as comprising LCD film, it should be understood that alternative embodiments of the invention may use various types of LCD technology or may use other types of electrochromic materials and technologies without departing from the scope of the present invention.) which are controllable separately and in an independent manner and each of which covers only a part of the wall (para [0020] In a preferred embodiment as depicted in FIG. 1, the opacity of each of the LCD films is individually electronically controllable and operable via user controls to allow a user to darken or lighten portions of the various LCD films to achieve a desired level of tint to block external light, such as sunlight, from the aircraft.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teachings of Chao, Strazzanti and Blackmer with the teachings of Robinson, because this will allow user to control different region/zones individually in order to achieve desired level of tinting/light blocking, thus improving user experience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on some of reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624