DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strazzanti (2009/0201436) in view of Bjornard et al. (2023/0070931).
Regarding claim 1, Strazzanti teaches a vehicle (1) comprising a passenger compartment (5) and at least one component (9; 10; 14), which is opaque and non-reflective, is not provided with any controllable screen configured to display information (Fig 1A; Fig 1B; para [0020] As shown in FIG. 1A, the masking or concealment apparatus 10 may be used in an area or environment using a display or control system S, such as a vehicle interior, where it is desired that the displays and controls may be viewed as desired by a user. para [0023] These spaces are filled with alternating mixtures of a dark and light dyed liquid crystal to simulate the dark and light patterns of wood grain. para [0026] For example, in a dashboard of a vehicle it is common for leather, wood and/or metallic trims to be used across the surface. Generally, the upper portion of the dashboard is leather or plastic, below that area is some type of metallic trim and below that some type of wood finish may be used.), and has at least one wall (15) visible to an occupant of the passenger compartment (5) which always and only has one single unchanging appearance (Fig 1A compared to Fig 1B shows several elements with are visible to the occupant and only has one single unchanging appearance. As reflected in Fig 1A and Fig 1B the border around element 10 is the wall); the component (9; 10; 14) comprises: at least one film (12; Fig 2; Fig 3) covering the wall (Fig 3 shows film 12 which covering the wall of the element S); and is configured to apply, when necessary, an electric to the film so as to change the optical characteristics of the film (para [0031] The films 12, 12b may be constructed of a liquid crystal compound and dichroic dye only, having no polymer component and achieving a strongly colored state in the absence of an electric voltage, and a weakly colored state when a voltage is applied. The films 12, 12b may be constructed so as to operate in the reverse mode (i.e., opaque and colored when an electric voltage field is applied, and clear, weakly colored or colorless in the absence of an electric voltage); and an electric circuit (17) (22; Fig 3), which is connected to opposite ends of the film (16) and is configured to apply, when necessary, an electric to the film (16) so as to change the optical characteristics of the electrochromic film (16) (para [0022] Areas 20 are provided on the film 12 where the transparent conductive substance is electrically connected to the electric drive circuit 22, and are provided on each end of the film 12 to enable a flow of current from a positive side to a negative side. Para [0038] Controller outputs are provided to the drive circuit 22, which is electrically coupled to films 12 at the area 20 to apply a pulse width modulated signal to the film 12 for altering the light transmissive characteristics, or reveal or conceal features, of the film 12.).
Strazzanti fails to teach, electrochromic film; as claimed.
Bjornard teaches a system comprising: an electrochromic film (304; Fig 3A; para [0120] an electrochromic layer 304); and an electric circuit (17) (306; Fig 3A), which is connected to opposite ends of the electrochromic film (16) (310+316 and 318+314; Fig 3A; para [0124] – para [0127]) and is configured to apply, when necessary, an electric to the electrochromic film (16) so as to change the optical characteristics of the electrochromic film (16) (para [0121] The electrochromic layer 304 can be electrically and conductively coupled to an aperture controller 306 configured to apply at least a threshold voltage to the electrochromic layer 304 to change opacity (transmittance) of a switching region 308 of the electrochromic layer 304 to change an effective transparent radius of the electrochromic layer 304, thereby changing a quantity of light exposed to the image sensor 302.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have substituted the film of Strazzanti with the electrochromic layer as taught by Bjornard, because these are well known elements in the art which will provide similar functionality in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Strazzani teaches the vehicle (1) according to claim 1, wherein the application of the electric voltage to the film (16) changes the degree of transparency of the film (16) (Para [0038] Controller outputs are provided to the drive circuit 22, which is electrically coupled to films 12 at the area 20 to apply a pulse width modulated signal to the film 12 for altering the light transmissive characteristics, or reveal or conceal features, of the film 12).
Strazzani fails to teach the electrochromic film; as claimed.
Bjornard teaches the system comprising: the electrochromic film (304; Fig 3A; para [0120] an electrochromic layer 304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have substituted the film of Strazzanti with the electrochromic layer as taught by Bjornard, because these are well known elements in the art which will provide similar functionality in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Strazzanti teaches the vehicle (1) according to claim 2, wherein the film (16) is transparent in the absence of electric voltage and becomes opaque in the presence of electric voltage (para [0031] The films 12, 12b may be constructed of a liquid crystal compound and dichroic dye only, having no polymer component and achieving a strongly colored state in the absence of an electric voltage, and a weakly colored state when a voltage is applied. The films 12, 12b may be constructed so as to operate in the reverse mode (i.e., opaque and colored when an electric voltage field is applied, and clear, weakly colored or colorless in the absence of an electric voltage).).
Strazzani fails to teach the electrochromic film; as claimed.
Bjornard teaches the system comprising: the electrochromic film (304; Fig 3A; para [0120] an electrochromic layer 304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have substituted the film of Strazzanti with the electrochromic layer as taught by Bjornard, because these are well known elements in the art which will provide similar functionality in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, Strazzanti teaches the vehicle (1) according to claim 2, wherein the film (16) is opaque in the absence of electric voltage and becomes transparent in the presence of electric voltage (para [0031] The films 12, 12b may be constructed of a liquid crystal compound and dichroic dye only, having no polymer component and achieving a strongly colored state in the absence of an electric voltage, and a weakly colored state when a voltage is applied. The films 12, 12b may be constructed so as to operate in the reverse mode (i.e., opaque and colored when an electric voltage field is applied, and clear, weakly colored or colorless in the absence of an electric voltage).).
Strazzani fails to teach the electrochromic film; as claimed.
Bjornard teaches the system comprising: the electrochromic film (304; Fig 3A; para [0120] an electrochromic layer 304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have substituted the film of Strazzanti with the electrochromic layer as taught by Bjornard, because these are well known elements in the art which will provide similar functionality in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Strazzanti teaches the vehicle as explained for claim 1 above.
Strazzanti and Bjornard fails to teach, wherein the component (9; 10; 14) is an ignition key (9); as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have applied the electrochromic film to other elements of the vehicle because it will still function the same regardless of the location/position; in order to order to yield predictable results. Thus, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have applied that to the ignition key; in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Strazzanti teaches the vehicle as explained for claim 1 above.
Strazzanti and Bjornard fails to teach; wherein the component (9; 10; 14) is a finishing panel (10) of the passenger compartment (5); as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have applied the electrochromic film to other elements of the vehicle because it will still function the same regardless of the location/position; in order to order to yield predictable results. Thus, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have applied that to the a finishing panel; in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Strazzanti teaches a vehicle (1) comprising a component (9; 10; 14), which is opaque and non-reflective, is not provided with any controllable screen configured to display information (Fig 1A; Fig 1B; para [0020] As shown in FIG. 1A, the masking or concealment apparatus 10 may be used in an area or environment using a display or control system S, such as a vehicle interior, where it is desired that the displays and controls may be viewed as desired by a user. para [0023] These spaces are filled with alternating mixtures of a dark and light dyed liquid crystal to simulate the dark and light patterns of wood grain. para [0026] For example, in a dashboard of a vehicle it is common for leather, wood and/or metallic trims to be used across the surface. Generally, the upper portion of the dashboard is leather or plastic, below that area is some type of metallic trim and below that some type of wood finish may be used.), and has at least one wall (15) visible to an occupant of the passenger compartment (5) which always and only has one single unchanging appearance (Fig 1A compared to Fig 1B shows several elements with are visible to the occupant and only has one single unchanging appearance. As reflected in Fig 1A and Fig 1B the border around element 10 is the wall); the component (9; 10; 14) comprises: at least one film (12; Fig 2; Fig 3) covering the wall (Fig 3 shows film 12 which covering the wall of the element S); and is configured to apply, when necessary, an electric to the film so as to change the optical characteristics of the film (para [0031] The films 12, 12b may be constructed of a liquid crystal compound and dichroic dye only, having no polymer component and achieving a strongly colored state in the absence of an electric voltage, and a weakly colored state when a voltage is applied. The films 12, 12b may be constructed so as to operate in the reverse mode (i.e., opaque and colored when an electric voltage field is applied, and clear, weakly colored or colorless in the absence of an electric voltage); and an electric circuit (17) (22; Fig 3), which is connected to opposite ends of the film (16) and is configured to apply, when necessary, an electric to the film (16) so as to change the optical characteristics of the electrochromic film (16) (para [0022] Areas 20 are provided on the film 12 where the transparent conductive substance is electrically connected to the electric drive circuit 22, and are provided on each end of the film 12 to enable a flow of current from a positive side to a negative side. Para [0038] Controller outputs are provided to the drive circuit 22, which is electrically coupled to films 12 at the area 20 to apply a pulse width modulated signal to the film 12 for altering the light transmissive characteristics, or reveal or conceal features, of the film 12.).
Strazzanti fails to teach, an ignition key; electrochromic film; as claimed.
Bjornard teaches a system comprising: an electrochromic film (304; Fig 3A; para [0120] an electrochromic layer 304); and an electric circuit (17) (306; Fig 3A), which is connected to opposite ends of the electrochromic film (16) (310+316 and 318+314; Fig 3A; para [0124] – para [0127]) and is configured to apply, when necessary, an electric to the electrochromic film (16) so as to change the optical characteristics of the electrochromic film (16) (para [0121] The electrochromic layer 304 can be electrically and conductively coupled to an aperture controller 306 configured to apply at least a threshold voltage to the electrochromic layer 304 to change opacity (transmittance) of a switching region 308 of the electrochromic layer 304 to change an effective transparent radius of the electrochromic layer 304, thereby changing a quantity of light exposed to the image sensor 302.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have substituted the film of Strazzanti with the electrochromic layer as taught by Bjornard, because these are well known elements in the art which will provide similar functionality in order to yield predictable results.
Strazzanti and Bjornard fails to teach, wherein the component is an ignition key; as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have applied the electrochromic film to other elements of the vehicle because it will still function the same regardless of the location/position; in order to order to yield predictable results. Thus, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have applied that to the ignition key; in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, Strazzani teaches the vehicle (1) according to claim 12, wherein the application of the electric voltage to the film (16) changes the degree of transparency of the film (16) (Para [0038] Controller outputs are provided to the drive circuit 22, which is electrically coupled to films 12 at the area 20 to apply a pulse width modulated signal to the film 12 for altering the light transmissive characteristics, or reveal or conceal features, of the film 12).
Strazzani fails to teach the electrochromic film; as claimed.
Bjornard teaches the system comprising: the electrochromic film (304; Fig 3A; para [0120] an electrochromic layer 304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have substituted the film of Strazzanti with the electrochromic layer as taught by Bjornard, because these are well known elements in the art which will provide similar functionality in order to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 5-7, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strazzanti (2009/0201436) in view of Bjornard et al. (2023/0070931). as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Andrews (2020/0094038).
Regarding claim 5, Strazzanti and Bjornard teaches the vehicle as explained for claim 1 above.
Strazzanti and Bjornard, fails to teach, wherein the wall (15) has at least one graphic sign (22), which is arranged under the electrochromic film (16); as claimed.
Andrews teaches a device comprising: a electrochromic film (20; Fig 3); wherein the wall (15) has at least one graphic sign (22), which is arranged under the electrochromic film (16) (Fig 3; para [0030] Graphics or graphics layers (30, 35) are provided on either side of the EC layer 20. In some embodiments, the inner (lower) graphic 30 is simply printed on the back surface of the base pad structure 15. That is, on the outer surface of the outer insulating layer of the base electrode pad structure. Similarly, the outer (upper) graphic 35 may simply be printed on the outer surface of the EC layer 20. In other embodiments, the graphics may be printed on associated substrates (e.g., thin film layers 31, 36) that are located between or on their respective adjacent layers. For example, in some embodiments the inner graphic 30 is part of a lower graphic layer laminated between the base pad structure 15 and the EC layer 20. Similarly the outer graphic 35 may be part of an upper graphic layer 36 that is laminated over the outer surface of EC layer 20. In the following discussion, unless the specific context suggests otherwise, the terms graphics and graphic layers are used interchangeably to refer to the graphics themselves and any associated dedicated substrate that the graphics may be applied to. As such, it should be understood that a graphic printed on another component may sometimes be referred to as a graphic layer and the term graphic layer should not be construed as requiring, but may optionally include, a separate dedicated substrate for the graphic.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teachings of Strazzanti and Bjornard with the teachings of Andrews, because this will provide device wherein such electrochromic film can be applied to different devices in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Strazzanti teaches the vehicle (1) according to claim 5, wherein the application of the electric voltage to the film (16) changes the degree of transparency of the film (16)) to make underlying elements visible or hidden (para [0023] This film 12 is placed over the display and in the powered state the control S is visible to a driver as in FIG. 1A. When electricity is applied to the film, the film becomes transparent and colorless revealing the display or controls S.).
Strazzani fails to teach the electrochromic film; and to make the graphic sign (22) visible or hidden; as claimed.
Bjornard teaches the system comprising: the electrochromic film (304; Fig 3A; para [0120] an electrochromic layer 304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have substituted the film of Strazzanti with the electrochromic layer as taught by Bjornard, because these are well known elements in the art which will provide similar functionality in order to yield predictable results.
Strazzani and Bjornard fails to teach, to make the graphic sign (22) visible or hidden; as claimed.
Andrews teaches the device, wherein the application of the electric voltage to the electrochromic film (16) changes the degree of transparency of the electrochromic film (16)) to make the graphic sign (22) visible or hidden (para [0034] FIG. 5 illustrates one manner in which a defibrillation electrode pad's displayed graphics may be controlled using a single EC layer pad structure such as the arrangement shown in FIG. 3.; Fig 5; Fig 6, Fig 7; Fig 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teachings of Strazzanti and Bjornard with the teachings of Andrews, because this will provide device wherein such electrochromic film can be applied to different devices in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, Strazzanti teaches the vehicle (1) according to claim 6, wherein the control (22) is hidden in the absence of electric voltage and becomes visible in the presence of electric voltage or vice versa (para [0023] This film 12 is placed over the display and in the powered state the control S is visible to a driver as in FIG. 1A. When electricity is applied to the film, the film becomes transparent and colorless revealing the display or controls S. para [0031] The films 12, 12b may be constructed of a liquid crystal compound and dichroic dye only, having no polymer component and achieving a strongly colored state in the absence of an electric voltage, and a weakly colored state when a voltage is applied. The films 12, 12b may be constructed so as to operate in the reverse mode (i.e., opaque and colored when an electric voltage field is applied, and clear, weakly colored or colorless in the absence of an electric voltage).).
Strazzani and Bjornard fails to teach, to make the graphic sign (22) visible or hidden; as claimed.
Andrews teaches the device, wherein the application of the electric voltage to the electrochromic film (16) changes the degree of transparency of the electrochromic film (16)) to make the graphic sign (22) visible or hidden (para [0034] FIG. 5 illustrates one manner in which a defibrillation electrode pad's displayed graphics may be controlled using a single EC layer pad structure such as the arrangement shown in FIG. 3.; Fig 5; Fig 6, Fig 7; Fig 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teachings of Strazzanti and Bjornard with the teachings of Andrews, because this will provide device wherein such electrochromic film can be applied to different devices in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, Strazzanti and Bjornard teaches the vehicle as explained for claim 12 above. Strazzanti further teaches the vehicle, wherein the application of the electric voltage to the film (16) changes the degree of transparency of the film (16)) to make underlying elements visible or hidden (para [0023] This film 12 is placed over the display and in the powered state the control S is visible to a driver as in FIG. 1A. When electricity is applied to the film, the film becomes transparent and colorless revealing the display or controls S.)
Strazzanti and Bjornard, fails to teach, wherein the wall (15) has at least one graphic sign (22), which is arranged under the electrochromic film (16); and to make the graphic sign (22) visible or hidden; as claimed.
Andrews teaches a device comprising: a electrochromic film (20; Fig 3); wherein the wall (15) has at least one graphic sign (22), which is arranged under the electrochromic film (16) (Fig 3; para [0030] Graphics or graphics layers (30, 35) are provided on either side of the EC layer 20. In some embodiments, the inner (lower) graphic 30 is simply printed on the back surface of the base pad structure 15. That is, on the outer surface of the outer insulating layer of the base electrode pad structure. Similarly, the outer (upper) graphic 35 may simply be printed on the outer surface of the EC layer 20. In other embodiments, the graphics may be printed on associated substrates (e.g., thin film layers 31, 36) that are located between or on their respective adjacent layers. For example, in some embodiments the inner graphic 30 is part of a lower graphic layer laminated between the base pad structure 15 and the EC layer 20. Similarly the outer graphic 35 may be part of an upper graphic layer 36 that is laminated over the outer surface of EC layer 20. In the following discussion, unless the specific context suggests otherwise, the terms graphics and graphic layers are used interchangeably to refer to the graphics themselves and any associated dedicated substrate that the graphics may be applied to. As such, it should be understood that a graphic printed on another component may sometimes be referred to as a graphic layer and the term graphic layer should not be construed as requiring, but may optionally include, a separate dedicated substrate for the graphic.); wherein the application of the electric voltage to the electrochromic film (16) changes the degree of transparency of the electrochromic film (16)) to make the graphic sign (22) visible or hidden (para [0034] FIG. 5 illustrates one manner in which a defibrillation electrode pad's displayed graphics may be controlled using a single EC layer pad structure such as the arrangement shown in FIG. 3.; Fig 5; Fig 6, Fig 7; Fig 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teachings of Strazzanti and Bjornard with the teachings of Andrews, because this will provide device wherein such electrochromic film can be applied to different devices in order to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 15, Strazzanti teaches the vehicle (1) according to claim 14, wherein the control (22) is hidden in the absence of electric voltage and becomes visible in the presence of electric voltage or vice versa (para [0023] This film 12 is placed over the display and in the powered state the control S is visible to a driver as in FIG. 1A. When electricity is applied to the film, the film becomes transparent and colorless revealing the display or controls S. para [0031] The films 12, 12b may be constructed of a liquid crystal compound and dichroic dye only, having no polymer component and achieving a strongly colored state in the absence of an electric voltage, and a weakly colored state when a voltage is applied. The films 12, 12b may be constructed so as to operate in the reverse mode (i.e., opaque and colored when an electric voltage field is applied, and clear, weakly colored or colorless in the absence of an electric voltage).).
Strazzani and Bjornard fails to teach, to make the graphic sign (22) visible or hidden; as claimed.
Andrews teaches the device, wherein the application of the electric voltage to the electrochromic film (16) changes the degree of transparency of the electrochromic film (16)) to make the graphic sign (22) visible or hidden (para [0034] FIG. 5 illustrates one manner in which a defibrillation electrode pad's displayed graphics may be controlled using a single EC layer pad structure such as the arrangement shown in FIG. 3.; Fig 5; Fig 6, Fig 7; Fig 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teachings of Strazzanti and Bjornard with the teachings of Andrews, because this will provide device wherein such electrochromic film can be applied to different devices in order to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strazzanti (2009/0201436) in view of Bjornard et al. (2023/0070931). as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Robinson et al. (2025/0066009).
Regarding claim 8, Strazzanti and Bjornard teaches the vehicle as explained for claim 1 above.
Strazzanti and Bjornard fails to teach, wherein the component (9; 10;14) comprises two different electrochromic films (16) which are controllable separately and in an independent manner and each of which covers only a part of the wall; as claimed.
Robinson teaches an aircraft comprising: a component (10, 12; Fig 1-Fig 4); wherein the component (9; 10;14) comprises two different electrochromic films (16) (para [0018] An aircraft windscreen with adjustable gradient tinting in accordance with exemplary embodiments of the present invention is shown in the figures. Referring first to FIG. 1, in one exemplary embodiment, the windscreen system generally comprises a windscreen 10, a window 12, and control circuitry 14 operable to control the various liquid crystal display (LCD) films (11a through 11e, 13a, 13b) embedded as a layer positioned within (or on) the windscreen 10 and the window 12.; para [0021] While the exemplary embodiments described herein are described and depicted as comprising LCD film, it should be understood that alternative embodiments of the invention may use various types of LCD technology or may use other types of electrochromic materials and technologies without departing from the scope of the present invention.) which are controllable separately and in an independent manner and each of which covers only a part of the wall (para [0020] In a preferred embodiment as depicted in FIG. 1, the opacity of each of the LCD films is individually electronically controllable and operable via user controls to allow a user to darken or lighten portions of the various LCD films to achieve a desired level of tint to block external light, such as sunlight, from the aircraft.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teachings of Strazzanti and Bjornard with the teachings of Robinson, because this will allow user to control different region/zones individually in order to achieve desired level of tinting/light blocking, thus improving user experience.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strazzanti (2009/0201436) in view of Bjornard et al. (2023/0070931). as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iida et al. (2003/0214120).
Regarding claim 10, Strazzanti teaches the vehicle (1) according to claim 1, wherein: in the passenger compartment (5) there is a steering wheel (13) (Fig 1A; Fig 1B) centrally provided with a housing (Fig 1A; Fig 1B).
Strazzanti and Bjornard fails to teach; an housing for an airbag closed at the front by an openable cover (14); and the component (9; 10; 14) is the cover (14) of the airbag housing of the steering wheel (13); as claimed.
Iida teaches a vehicle comprising: a steering wheel (W; Fig 1; Fig 2) centrally provided with a housing for an airbag closed at the front by an openable cover (14) (para [0050] As shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, an airbag cover 12 of the embodiment provided with an ornament 31 is used in an airbag device 1, which is arranged over a boss portion B at the center of a three-spoke type steering wheel W. The airbag device 1 is provided with an airbag 2 housed in a folded state, an inflator 4 for feeding an expanding gas to the airbag 2, a bag holder 5 for holding the airbag 2, the inflator 4 and the airbag cover 12, and a support plate 9.); and a component (31; Fig 7) is the cover (14) of the airbag housing of the steering wheel (13) (para [0058]; para [0059] Each fixing portion 22 is arranged on the rear of the housing recess 18. Each mounting hole 19 is arranged to extend through the front surface to the rear at the peripheral edge of the housing recess 18 so that it may communicate with each fixing portion 22. In the case of the embodiment, each mounting hole 19 is opened in a generally rectangular shape so that each mounting leg portion 35 can be inserted.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have combined the teachings of Strazzanti and Bjornard with the teachings of Iida, because applying such electrochromic film to other part of the vehicle it will still function the same regardless of the location/position; in order to order to yield predictable results. Thus, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have applied that to the steering wheel cover; in order to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lian et al. (2003/0022414) teaches An electrochromic switch may be optically coupled to the optical source component. An optical detector component that is adapted to receive radiant energy may be formed within the monocrystalline compound semiconductor material. An electrochromic switch may be optically coupled to the optical detector component.
Macdonald (2014/0203504) teaches A system and method is provided for delaying an outcome of a roulette game is disclosed. Accordingly, the system includes a roulette wheel and a glass cover attached to the roulette wheel, the glass cover configured to switch between a transparent state and an opaque state in response to electrical signals.
Yokozeki et al. (2014/0362429) teaches a display unit that includes: a pair of a first substrate and a second substrate that are arranged in opposition to each other; a display layer provided between the first substrate and the second substrate; and a display mode switching layer having an aperture for each pixel, and provided between the display layer and the second substrate.
Yoon (2019/0106055) teaches An advanced sunroof lighting system includes a sunroof having a first transparent layer and a second transparent layer substantially parallel to the first transparent layer. The sunroof also comprises a tint layer disposed between the first transparent layer and the second transparent layer. The tint layer is electrically controllable to allow a portion of light incident on the tint layer to pass through the tint layer. The sunroof further comprises a transparent lighting layer disposed between the tint layer and the second transparent layer. The transparent lighting layer comprises a plurality of light sources that are electrically controllable to emit light. The transparent lighting layer further comprises a plurality of scattering centers configured to redirect light received from the plurality of light sources towards the vehicle's cabin.
Nishiura et al. (2001/0052690) teaches a cover with an emblem used for an airbag device, the emblem is structured such that an entire circumference of a rim portion thereof is raised rearwardly in a wall shape to thereby form a side surface, and legs are projected rearwardly from an end of the side surface. Coating in the same type of the color as that of the cover is applied entirely to the base end sides of the legs and the side surface of the emblem. By inserting the legs of the emblem into holes formed in the cover, the emblem is fixed and fitted into a concave section of the cover. An appearance of a peripheral portion of the emblem is extremely improved.
Smith et al. (2020/0051404) teaches Computer implemented systems and methods are provided for an automatic teller machine. In some embodiments, an automatic teller machine may comprise a display, a physical barrier configured to intersect a line of sight from a location adjacent the automatic teller machine to the display, one or more memory devices storing instructions, and one or more processors. The one or more processors may be configured to determine that a user is operating the automatic teller machine. The one or more processors may be further configured to alter a degree of opacity of the physical barrier, based on the determining.
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624