DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a final action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 1-8 are pending in this application.
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 3 are amended. Claim 9 is cancelled.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 25 Nov. 2025 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicants amendments, the rejection of claims 1 and 3 because of minor informalities is withdrawn.
In view of Applicants amendments, the rejection of claims 1-9 under 35 USC 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kriemen et al. (Chem. Asian J.; published 2014), in view of Li et al. (Chem. Rev.; published 6 Oct. 2022) and Henry et al. (J. Label Compd Radiopharm.; published 2017) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 28 Aug. 2025.
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kriemen et al. (Chem. Asian J.; published 2014), in view of Li et al. (Chem. Rev.; published 6 Oct. 2022) and Henry et al. (J. Label Compd Radiopharm.; published 2017), in further view of Choi et al. (Nat. Biotech.; published 2013) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 28 Aug. 2025.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that nothing in Kriemen alone or in combination with Li, Henry, or Choi would lead one of ordinary skill to at a DOTA based metal chelator having three N-oxide zwitterionic groups without undue experimentation. Kriemen’s compound 30 contains four azide groups which is structurally distinct from the claimed formula with three N-oxide zwitterionic groups and one reactive group. Nothing in Li teaches or suggests the use of N-oxide zwitterionic groups as a group bound to or decorating a metal chelator such as DOTA. Nothing in Li teaches or suggests any way in which N-oxide based zwitterionic groups can be applied to other compounds with any reasonable expectation of success. Henry and Choi do not disclose or suggest the specific DOTA derivative formula with three N-oxide zwitterionic groups. There would have been no reason to make the specific structural modifications from Kriemen’s four-azide compound 30 without undue experimentation.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 Nov. 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Kriemen provides compounds 5
and 30
that read in part on a compounds of the claimed formula wherein Y and W are methyl or ethyl linking groups and X is an azide reactive group. At scheme 1, Kriemen exemplifies attaching a similar chelator to single targeting vector by click reaction using an azide functionality. At scheme 8 and compound 37, Kriemen exemplifies the formation of a zwitterionic chelator having one arm amenable to conjugation of a targeting vector and three arms converted to zwitterion ionic groups at precursor azide functionalities. At pg. 2201, Kriemen teaches that with the addition of three zwitterionic moieties in compound 37 to targeted DOTA derivatives, non-specific tissue binding may be impeded if the target vector is prone to non-specific protein adsorption. From Kreimen alone, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to modify compounds 5 and 30 in Kriemen by simply converting three of azide functionalities to zwitterionic functionalities while keeping one one azide functionality for conjugation to a targeting vector optionally by click reaction because that zwitterionic chelator would have been expected to enable a derivative chelator capable of impeding non-specific binding of targeting moieties prone to non-specific binding. Li teaches and motivates the N-oxide zwitterionic functionality as an advantageous alternative to the sulfobetaine zwitterionic functionality exemplified in Kriemen. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been known how to reduce azide functionalities to amines that are readily convertible to TMAO N-oxide groups. Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have used the compound 5 and 30 in Kriemen to arrive at the claimed compounds without substantial reconstruction. Li teaches that the TMAO N-oxide functionality impedes non-specific protein adsorption and are attractive for drug applications. Hydration ability and non-fouling properties increase with the decrease of CSL between cationic and anionic moieties. The TMAO N-oxide directly attaches the cationic and anionic moieties to each other which is understood to result in optimal hydration ability and non-fouling properties. A recognized advantage is the strongest reason to combine. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compounds of Kriemen by converting three of the azide functionalities to TMAO N-oxide zwitterionic functionalities as taught by Kriemen and Li because the three TMAO N-oxide zwitterionic functionalities would have been expected to enable optimal hydration ability and an optimal reduction of non-specific binding.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,440,585 B2, in view of Kriemen et al. (Chem. Asian J.; published 2014) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 28 Aug. 2025. Note that co-pending Application No. 18/640,169 has converted to the above patent.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/732,982, in view of Kriemen et al. (Chem. Asian J.; published 2014) and Li et al. (Chem. Rev.; published 6 Oct. 2022) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 28 Aug. 2025. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants request reconsideration of the double patenting rejections in view of the amendments and arguments made above.
Applicant's arguments filed 25 Nov. 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claims of the ‘585 patent claim a zwitterionic metal chelator comprising a metal chelator having the formula
. As discussed above, Kriemen teaches and motivates attaching zwitterionic metal chelator complexes to targeting vectors using a reactive moiety at the position of the above N-oxide group. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claims of the ‘585 patent so that a reactive moiety suitable for conjugation replaces one N-oxide functionality because that zwitterionic chelator complex would have been expected to advantageously enable conjugation to a targeting vector such that the advantageous conjugation impedes none specific binding of the targeting vector while enabling imaging and therapy.
The claims of co-pending application No.18/732,982 claim (ZWI)3-DOTAM-X
wherein Y=W= linking groups, and X is a reactive group. Kriemen teaches and motivates zwitterionic DOTA complexes having sulfobetaine zwitterionic groups. As discussed above, Li teaches the TMAO N-oxide group as an advantageous alternative to the sulfobetaine zwitterionic group. It would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the claims of co-pending application No. 18/732,982 so that the DOTAM is a DOTA and so that the ZWI groups are TMAO N-oxide ZWI groups as taught by Kriemen and Li because that chelator complex would have been expected to provide an equivalent zwitterionic chelator complex advantageously having good solubility and low non-specific binding.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618