DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-26 are pending. Claims 1, 16, and 22 have been amended. Entry of this amendment is accepted and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20, and 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez-Olea US2023/0130945 (hereinafter Sanchez) in view of Volkerink et al. US20220300892A1 in view of Skaaksrud US2015/0349917A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sanchez disclose a cargo tracking device (see abstract) comprising:
at least one force sensor (see para. 0026, 0041, 0048, wherein a capacitance sensors sensing change in capacitance is disclosed; it is noted that capacitive pressure sensors work by detecting changes in capacitance in response to a pressure/force exerted, therefore the capacitive sensor disclosed by Sanchez meets the force sensor claimed; alternatively a pressure sensor is disclosed);
a housing comprising a processor communicatively coupled to the at least one force sensor, wherein the housing is configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a fluted layer of a corrugated material (see para. 0040, 0047-0049, Fig. 8, wherein an MCU unit is disclosed and wherein the sensor are embedded in the container, wherein the container include one or more fluted layers and sensors are placed/deposited/positioned on or against internal surfaces of fluted layers) and configured to position the at least one force sensor to detect a change in force at an upper side of the corrugated material (see para. 0048, wherein capacitance sensors will sense the change in capacitance around the periphery of the container; 0058, wherein the capacitance between two sides of the top and bottom flaps used to cover the lid and the bottom of the box and use sensors to determine a change in fringing capacitance); and
a wireless transmitter (para. 0003, 0030, 0036-0037);
wherein the processor (see para. 0048, MCU 501) is configured to, cause, via the wireless transmitter, wireless transmission of information (see para. 0003, 0030, 0036) indicating: an identifier of the cargo tracking device (see para. 0003, 0030-0031); a current geographic location of the cargo tracking device (see para. 0049, wherein RFID tag can be read with RFID reader; para. 0030, 0036, wherein location methods to determined GPS coordinates can integrate any of available setoff communication interfaces such as Wi-Fi, RFID, Bluetooth and Cellular to continuously report status to a remote monitoring device); and a date and time (see para. 0002, 0036, where expiration date and time stamp is disclosed, which is transmitted).
However Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose that the processor is configured to, based on the at least one force sensor detecting the change of force at the upper side of the corrugated material, cause, via the wireless transmitter, wireless transmission of information indicating a current date and time information.
Volkerink discloses a cargo tracking device (abstract, para. 0124, wherein a container asset retrofitted with tracking device is disclosed) comprising:
at least one force sensor (see para. 0124, 0162, wherein a force sensor is disclosed);
a housing comprising a processor communicatively coupled to the at least one force sensor (see para. 0070, 0124, 0165, wherein tracking system may be inside the pallet between stringers on between deck boards to protect the tape node, wherein the structure of the pallet or asset may act as a barrier against hostile conditions for the tape; see para. 0045, wherein the “tape node” is equipped with a sensor, and processor; para. 0050 wherein the components of the adhesive tape platform are encapsulated within a flexible adhesive structure that protects the components from damage), wherein the housing is configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a material (see fig. 12, 13A-13C, para. 0124-126, wherein tracking device 1120 is shown looped around a center stringer of the container asset such that the electronic components are oriented outward along the tracking device, and wherein tracking device is shown on top of the deck boards of the container asset) and wherein the housing is configured to position the at least one force sensor to detect a change in force at an upper side of a surface (see para. 0124-0125, 0160, 0162, wherein a force sensor is disclosed measuring the weight of an object placed on top of the tracking device used to track the container asset, therefore the change in force is implied); and
a wireless transmitter (para. 0004, 0006, 0007, 0074, the tracking device can communicate wirelessly by means of a wireless communication system, and further discloses that communication circuit can be transmitters and antennas to communicate);
wherein the processor (see para. 0045-0046, 0060, wherein a processor is disclosed) is configured to, based on the at least one force sensor detecting the change of force at the upper side (see para. 0124-0125, 0153, 0161-0162 wherein a force sensor is disclosed measuring the weight of an object placed on top of the tracking device used to track the container asset, therefore the change in force is implied), a processor (see para. 0062, 0146) is configured to cause, via the wireless transmitter, wireless transmission of information (see para. 0062, 0087-0088, 0090, 0101-0106, 0112, 0121-0122, 0126, 0132, 0142) indicating:
an identifier of the cargo tracking device (para. 0097, wherein each tape node/node may be assigned a respective unique identifier, and wherein the node is characterized by its identity; para. 0099 and has a unique identifier, para. 0101-0102; wherein each tracking device may store the asset identifier, para. 0132; wherein tracking devices communicate their asset identifiers and other data i.e. location data by a wireless gateway device, see para. 0062, 0142);
a current geographic location of the cargo tracking device (para. 0008, wherein the system includes a tracking application configured to track the location of each container asset based on wireless communications; and wherein a network including geolocation satellite systems i.e. GPS cellular communication systems is disclosed, 0081; wherein tape nodes can determine their geographic location by querying a gateway tape node; para. 112, 0121-0122; wherein tracking devices communicate their asset identifiers and other data i.e. location data by a wireless gateway device, see para. 0062, 0142); and
current time (see para. 0094, wherein a schedule which dictates aspects of communication including times when nodes should communicate is disclosed, para. 0126, wherein current weight at a given time is determined, para. 0181, wherein nodes may report at scheduled times, therefore current time is implied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Sanchez with the teachings of Volkerink such that the processor is configured to, based on the at least one force sensor detecting the change of force at the upper side of the corrugated material, cause, via the wireless transmitter, wireless transmission of information indicating a current date information for the benefit of providing and enhanced system that would allow for an enhanced system capable of tracking a cargo and ensuring accurate tracking of inventory and communication of inventory needs for more accurate and precise managing of inventory and to communicate the manifest to the asset tracking system (see para. 0003-0004).
However the combination of Volkerink and Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose that the processor is configured to, based on the at least one force sensor detecting the change of force at the upper side of the corrugated material, cause, via the wireless transmitter, wireless transmission of information indicating a current time information.
Skaaksrud discloses a method, system and apparatus in the field of tracking items i.e. package for improved asset identification, and location services (see para. 0002-0008). Skaaksrud further discloses an ID node optionally including one or more sensors such as pressure sensors, dedicated location sensors i.e. GPS sensor, IR sensor, proximity sensor (see para. 0162) and sensor pad or plate which is coupled via wiring to a node, wherein the sensor responds to stimulus such as impact force or weight and produces a responsive sensor signal exerted by packages and wherein a change in pressure or force exerted against a bottom surface is disclosed (see para. 0751, 0774, 0792, 0798, Fig. 89A). Skaaksrud further discloses a node package which may be fixed to a part of the a package, and where the node of the node package may be part of the package or packaging materials e.g. integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box and the like (see para. 0529-0530) and wherein the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751, by definition a corrugated material is a material shaped into alternate ridges and grooves, therefore it is implied that the corrugated material of Skaaksrud include flutes), and further discloses the transmission of information, such as date/time, current time, location and sensor data, wirelessly (see para. 0019, 0141-0142, 0150-0151, 0244-0245, 0271, 0281).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Sanchez as modified by Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material where the housing can at least partially reside within at least one flute of a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
In addition, given the teachings of Skaaksrud it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the processor of Volkerink based on the at least one force sensor detecting the change of force at the upper side of the corrugated material, to cause the transmission of information indicating current date and time information for the benefit of providing accurate information that would assist in the accurately determine specific information that will help to fulfill the order (para. 0902) and accurately report order status (par. 0903, 0908) and ensuring that operations are accurate and have a high standard of quality (see para. 1372).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Sanchez further disclose that the housing comprises at least one forces sensor (see Sanchez, para. 0048). Volkerink further discloses that the housing further comprises the at least one force sensor (see para. 0004, 0070, 0124, 0162).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. However Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose one or more extensions connected to the at least one force sensor, wherein the one or more extensions are configured to resist a change to an orientation of the at least one force sensor relative to the upper side of the material.
Volkerink further discloses one or more extensions connected to the at least one force sensor, wherein the one or more extensions are configured to resist a change to an orientation of the at least one force sensor relative to the upper side of the material (see para. 0157, 0167, wherein tracking devices includes physical contact or connection between adjacent and or stacked assets which may include wire network circuitry and or physical contact that complete closed circuit when assets are stacked or grouped in a particular way e.g. the tracking devices line up in specific orientation when assets are stacked such that electrical contacts and/or leads made mechanical/electrical connection when assets are stacked, in addition it may include magnetic sensors or magnets detecting proximity to another tracking device).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Sanchez as modified by Volkerink with one or more extensions connected to the at least one force sensor, wherein the one or more extensions are configured to resist a change to an orientation of the at least one force sensor relative to the upper side of the material for the benefit of providing an enhanced system with stability mechanism that can withstand sudden movements of the cargo while it is being transported to avoid damages in the cargo while it is being transported.
Sanchez disclose that the shipping container comprises a container body comprising one or more layers and at least one sensor embedded within at least one of the one or more layers or positioned between the at least two of the one or more layers (see para. 0006, 0034). Volkerink further disclose the container asset can be a carton, although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material.
Skaaksrud further discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Sanchez as modified by Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. However Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose wherein at least the housing and the processor constitute a first housing unit and a second housing unit, communicatively coupled to the first housing unit, comprising the wireless transmitter.
Volkerink further discloses wherein at least the housing and the processor constitute a first housing unit (see para. 0070, 0124, 0165, wherein tracking system may be inside the pallet between stringers on between deck boards to protect the tape node, wherein the structure of the pallet or asset may act as a barrier against hostile conditions for the tape; see para. 0045, wherein the “tape node” is equipped with a sensor, and processor; para. 0050 wherein the components of the adhesive tape platform are encapsulated within a flexible adhesive structure that protects the components from damage), and a second housing unit, communicatively coupled to the first housing unit, comprising the wireless transmitter (see para. 0067-0068, 0087, 0095-0096, wherein a second tape node is disclosed, and wherein it may communicate with a first tape node comprising wireless transmitter).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Volkerink to configure the system of Sanchez such that at least the housing and the processor constitute a first housing unit and a second housing unit, communicatively coupled to the first housing unit, comprising the wireless transmitter for the benefit of providing an enhanced system with redundant measurements capabilities in order to allow for multiple overlapping measurements of the same quantity to be made in order to improve accuracy and enhance the system reliability.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1.
Sanchez further discloses a second force sensor (i.e. force/capacitive sensors) communicatively coupled to a processor (see para. 0026, 0041, 0048, wherein capacitance sensors sensing change in capacitance are disclosed; it is noted that capacitive pressure sensors work by detecting changes in capacitance in response to a pressure/force excreted, and wherein a processor for electronic monitoring and means for communication, therefore the capacitive sensor disclosed by Sanchez meets the force sensor communicatively coupled to a processor as claimed). Volkerink further discloses a second force sensor communicatively coupled to the processor (see para. 0126, wherein weight sensors are disclosed, therefore at least a second force sensor is disclosed; see para. 0060, 0074, wherein a processor is disclosed in communication with the sensors; para. 0124, and wherein weight sensor may include a force sensor).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 5. Sanchez disclose a second force sensor communicatively coupled to the processor (see para. 0026, 0029, 0041, 0048, wherein capacitance sensors sensing change in capacitance are disclosed, wherein the connectors coupled to and extending from at least one capacitance/force sensor and the second capacitance/force sensor is implied, it is noted that capacitive pressure sensors work by detecting changes in capacitance in response to a pressure/force excreted, Sanchez further disclose a processor for electronic monitoring and means for communication, therefore the capacitive sensor disclosed by Sanchez meets the force sensor claimed).
However, although Sanchez implies a type of connector coupled to the sensors and communicating with the sensors (see para. 0029, 0030-0032). However Sanchez do not explicitly disclose the connector coupled to and extending from the at least one force sensor and the second force sensor, wherein the connector is configured to resist a change to an orientation of the at least one force sensor and the second fore sensor relative to the upper side of the corrugated material (emphasis added).
Volkerink further discloses a connector coupled to and extending from the at least one force sensor and the second force sensor (see para. 0126, wherein weight sensors are disclosed, therefore at least a second force sensor is disclosed; see para. 0060, 0074, wherein a processor is disclosed in communication with the sensors; para. 0124, and wherein weight sensor may include a force sensor), wherein the connector is configured to resist a change to an orientation of the at least one force sensor and the second force sensor relative to the upper side of the material (see para. 0128, 0136-0139, 0157, 0167, wherein tracking devices includes physical contact or connection between adjacent and or stacked assets which may include wire network circuitry and or physical contact that complete closed circuit when assets are stacked or grouped in a particular way e.g. the tracking devices line up in an orientation when assets are stacked such that electrical contacts and/or leads made mechanical/electrical connection when assets are stacked, wherein the tracking device comprises at least a sensor, therefore a connection extending from one sensor to the other sensor is implied; since the assets can be oriented to be stacked or grouped in a particular way, in an orientation, therefore it is understood that the connector is configured to resist a change in orientation of the at least one force sensor and second force sensor relative to the upper side; in addition it may include magnetic sensors or magnets detecting proximity to another tracking device).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Sanchez with a connector coupled to and extending from the at least one force sensor and the second force sensor wherein the connector is configured to resist a change to an orientation of the at least one force sensor and the second force sensor relative to the upper side of the material for the benefit of providing an enhanced system with stability mechanism that can withstand sudden movements of the cargo while it is being transported to avoid damages in the cargo while it is being transported.
Sanchez further disclose that the shipping container comprises a container body comprising one or more layers and at least one sensor embedded within at least one of the one or more layers or positioned between the at least two of the one or more layers (see para. 0006, 0034). Volkerink further disclose the container asset can be a carton. Although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material, however the combination of Sanchez and Volkerink do not expressly or explicitly disclose “a corrugated material”.
Skaaksrud further discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Sanchez as modified by Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1.
Sanchez disclose that at least one force sensor is configured to extend above the at least one flute of the material (see para. 0040). Volkerink further discloses that the at least one force sensor is configured to extend above the at least one flute of the material (see Fig. 12, para. 0124, wherein the tracking device is looped around the center stringer/flute positioned such that the electronic components of the tracking device are oriented outward along the tracking device (extend above the center stringer/flute), wherein the racking device includes a weight sensor configured to measure the weight of an object placed on top of the tracking device, and wherein the weight sensor include a force sensor).
Sanchez further disclose that the shipping container comprises a container body comprising one or more layers and at least one sensor embedded within at least one of the one or more layers or positioned between the at least two of the one or more layers (see para. 0006, 0034). Volkerink further disclose the container asset can be a carton. Although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material, however the combination of Sanchez and Volkerink do not expressly or explicitly disclose “a corrugated material”.
Skaaksrud further discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Sanchez as modified by Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1.
However although Sanchez disclose force/capacitive sensors, which given is broadest reasonable interpretation is an array of force/capacitive sensors (see para. 0048). Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose the capacity sensor is an array of force/capacitive sensors distributed across the upper side of the material. (emphasis added).
Volkerink further discloses an array of force sensors that comprises the at least one force sensor, wherein the array of force sensors is distributed across the upper side of the material (see Fig. 13b-13c, para. 0124-0126, wherein tracking devices 1310 each comprising a weight sensor are disposed on top of the container asset, wherein the weight sensor comprise force sensor)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Volkerink discussed above to configure the system of Sanchez with an array of force sensors that comprises the at least one force sensor, wherein the array of force sensors is distributed across the upper side of the material for the benefit of providing an enhanced system capable to detect when an associated product or item is removed from the container or other asset by detecting changes in weight of the objects in the container.
Sanchez further disclose that the shipping container comprises a container body comprising one or more layers and at least one sensor embedded within at least one of the one or more layers or positioned between the at least two of the one or more layers (see para. 0006, 0034). Volkerink further disclose the container asset can be a carton. Although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material, however the combination of Sanchez and Volkerink do not expressly or explicitly disclose “a corrugated material”.
Skaaksrud further discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Sanchez as modified by Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Sanchez Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 8. Although Sanchez disclose sensors placed, deposited, and/or positioned on or against internal surfaces of fluted layers of such containers (see para. 0040), however, Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly discloses that the array is configured to position a first force sensor and a second force sensor along a common flute of the material.
Volkerink further discloses that the array is configured to position a first force sensor and a second force sensor along a common flute of the material (see Figs. 13B, 13C, para. 0124-0126; wherein tracking devices 1310 each comprising a weight sensor are disposed on top of the container asset, wherein the weight sensor comprise force sensor and wherein at least two of the tracking devices each comprising a weight sensor that comprise a force sensor are located along a common deck board/flute are shown).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Volkerink discussed above to configure the system of Sanchez with an array of force sensors such that the array is configured to position a first force sensor and a second force sensor along a common flute of the material for the benefit of providing an enhanced system capable to accurately detect when an associated product or item is removed from the container or other asset by detecting changes in weight/force of the objects in the container.
Sanchez further disclose that the shipping container comprises a container body comprising one or more layers and at least one sensor embedded within at least one of the one or more layers or positioned between the at least two of the one or more layers (see para. 0006, 0034). Volkerink further disclose the container asset can be a carton. Although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material, however the combination of Sanchez and Volkerink do not expressly or explicitly disclose “a corrugated material”.
Skaaksrud further discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Sanchez as modified by Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 8. Although Sanchez disclose sensors placed, deposited, and/or positioned on or against internal surfaces of fluted layers of such containers (see para. 0040), however, Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose that the array is configured to position a first force sensor at a first flute of the material and a second sensor at a second flute of the material that is different from the first flute.
Volkerink further discloses that the array is configured to position a first force sensor at a first flute of the material and a second sensor at a second flute of the material that is different from the first flute (see Figs. 13B, 13C, para. 0124-0126; wherein tracking devices 1310 each comprising a weight sensor are disposed on top of the container asset, wherein the weight sensor comprise force sensor and wherein at least two of the tracking devices each comprising a weight sensor that comprise a force sensor are located at different deck boards/flutes from one another are shown).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Volkerink discussed above to configure the system of Sanchez with an array of force sensors such the array is configured to position a first force sensor at a first flute of the material and a second sensor at a second flute of the material that is different from the first flute for the benefit of providing an enhanced system capable to detect when an associated product or item is removed from the container or other asset by detecting changes in weight of the objects in the container.
Sanchez further disclose that the shipping container comprises a container body comprising one or more layers and at least one sensor embedded within at least one of the one or more layers or positioned between the at least two of the one or more layers (see para. 0006, 0034). Volkerink further disclose the container asset can be a carton. Although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material, however the combination of Sanchez and Volkerink do not expressly or explicitly disclose “a corrugated material”.
Skaaksrud further discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Sanchez as modified by Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1.
However Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose that the housing comprises a first portion having a shape that substantially conforms to a shape of the at least one flute of the corrugated material .
Volkerink further discloses that the housing comprises a first portion having a shape that substantially conforms to a shape of the at least one flute (see Fig. 13A-B, wherein it is shown that the tracking device 1310 have a shape configured to conform to a shape of the at least one deck board/flute, the tracking device shown have a rectangular shape configured to conform to the width of the deck/board flute).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Sanchez with the teachings of Volkerink as to provide a housing comprises a first portion having a shape that substantially conforms to a shape of the at least one flute for the benefit of providing a sensing system that is capable to fit on a housing in order to provide desired measurement capabilities that allows for more accurate and effective sensing of changes detected as to determine presence or removal of an object form the cargo.
Sanchez further disclose that the shipping container comprises a container body comprising one or more layers and at least one sensor embedded within at least one of the one or more layers or positioned between the at least two of the one or more layers (see para. 0006, 0034). Volkerink further disclose the container asset can be a carton. Although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material, however the combination of Sanchez and Volkerink do not expressly or explicitly disclose “a corrugated material”.
Skaaksrud further discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. However, Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose that the processor is configured to detect a loading event based on a threshold amount of force applied to the at least one force sensor.
Volkerink further discloses that the processor is configured to detect a loading event based on a threshold amount of force applied to the at least one force sensor (see para. 0124-126, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Volkerink discussed above to configure the system of Sanchez such that the processor is configured to detect a loading event based on a threshold amount of force applied to the at least one force sensor for the benefit of being able to more accurately and effectively detect changes in weights associated with the presence or removal of an object from a cargo container with the desired sensitivity.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sanchez Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. However, Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly discloses that the processor is configured to detect an unloading event based on a threshold amount of force removed from the at least one force sensor. Volkerink further disclose that the processor is configured to detect an unloading event based on a threshold amount of force removed from the at least one force sensor (see para. 0005, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed, and wherein an unloaded event is disclosed, para. 0005).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Volkerink discussed above to configure the system of Sanchez such that the processor is configured to detect an unloading event based on a threshold amount of force removed from the at least one force sensor for the benefit of being able to more accurately and effectively detect changes in weights associated with the presence or removal of an object from a cargo container with the desired sensitivity.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Sanchez Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Sanchez further discloses to obtain current geographic location of the device (see para. 0049). However it do not expressly or explicitly discloses to obtain the current geographic location of the device based on detecting a threshold change in an amount of force at the at least one force sensor.
Volkerink further discloses to obtain the current geographic location of the device based on detecting a threshold change in an amount of force at the at least one force sensor (see para. 0125, wherein based on measurements of weight sensor, which include a force sensor, a change in weight is reported which correspond to an event detected by the tracking device, wherein the event may include that at least one tracking device detecting that its position has changed; 0160, 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed a location data is provided).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Volkerink discussed above to configure the system of Sanchez to obtain the current geographic location of the device based on detecting a threshold change in an amount of force at the at least one force sensor for the benefit of being able to more accurately and effectively detect changes in weights associated with the presence or removal of an object from a cargo container with the desired sensitivity and to accurately identifying the location where the changes occurred for potentially identifying the items were shipped at the right location.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. However, Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose that the processor is configured to detect a loading event and unloading event based on a threshold quantity of the at least one force sensor indicating a threshold change in an amount of force at respective force sensors of the at least one force sensor.
Volkerink further discloses that the processor is configured to detect a loading event and unloading event based on a threshold quantity of the at least one force sensor indicating a threshold change in an amount of force at respective force sensors of the at least one force sensor (see para. 0005, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed, and wherein an unloaded event is disclosed, para. 0005).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Volkerink discussed above to configure the system of Sanchez such that the processor is configured to detect a loading event and unloading event based on a threshold quantity of the at least one force sensor indicating a threshold change in an amount of force at respective force sensors of the at least one force sensor, for the benefit of being able to more accurately and effectively determining changes in the presence or absence of objects from the cargo, in order to avoid losses and errors in the fulfillment of an item being shipped.
Regarding claim 16, Sanchez disclose, a method comprising: deploying a material at a cargo transportation surface (see para. 0040);
installing, within a fluted layer at an upper side of the corrugated material (see para. 0040), a tracking device (see abstract, para. 0003, 0031, 0049), wherein the tracking device comprises at least one force sensor (see abstract, para. 0006, 0029, 0058; see para. 0040, 0047-0049, Fig. 8, wherein an MCU unit is disclosed and wherein the sensor are embedded in the container, wherein the container include one or more fluted layers and sensors are placed/deposited/positioned on or against internal surfaces of fluted layers), a processor (see para. 0029), and a wireless transmitter (see para. 0030) and wherein the at least one force sensor is configured to detect a change in force at the an upper side of the material (see para. 0026, 0041, 0048, wherein a capacitance sensors sensing change in capacitance is disclosed; it is noted that capacitive pressure sensors work by detecting changes in capacitance in response to a pressure/force exerted, therefore the capacitive sensor disclosed by Sanchez meets the force sensor claimed; alternatively a pressure sensor is disclosed; see para. 0058, wherein the capacitance between two sides of the top and bottom flaps used to cover the lid and the bottom of the box and use sensors to determine a change in fringing capacitance).
However Sanchez do not explicitly disclose that the material is a corrugated material and detecting, based on a force being received by the at least one force sensor, a loading event; detecting, based on the force being removed from the at least one force sensor, an unloading event; and sending, via a wireless transmission and based on the unloading event, a message comprising a current geographic location of the tracking device.
Volkerink discloses a method comprising:
deploying a material at a cargo transportation surface (see Fig. 13A-13C, para. 0125,wherein tracking device is an embodiment of the adhesive tape attached to a portion of the surface of container asset);
installing at an upper side of the material, a tracking device (see Fig. 13A-13C, wherein tracking device 1310 is shown installed on a surface of container asset 1100, para. 0124-0126, wherein electronic components of tracking device are oriented outward and are shown at the upper side, 0161), wherein the tracking device comprises at least one force sensor (see para. 0124, 0162, wherein a force sensor is disclosed), a processor (see para. 0045-0046, 0060, wherein a processor is disclosed), and a wireless transmitter (para. 0004, 0006, 0007, 0074, the tracking device can communicate wirelessly by means of a wireless communication system, and further discloses that communication circuit can be transmitters and antennas to communicate) and wherein the at least one of force sensor is configured to detect a change in force at the upper side of the material (see para. 0005, 0124, 0128, 0160-0162, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, wherein changes are detected by weight sensor and wherein the weight sensor comprise a force sensor);
detecting, based on a force being received by the at least one force sensor, a loading event (see para. 0124, 0128, 0160-0162, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, wherein changes are detected by weight sensor and wherein the weight sensor comprise a force sensor);
detecting, based on the force being removed from the at least one force sensor, an unloading event (see para. 0005, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed, and wherein an unloaded event is disclosed, para. 0005); and
sending, via a wireless transmission and based on the unloading event, a message comprising a current geographic location of the tracking device (see para. 0125, wherein based on measurements of weight sensor, which include a force sensor, a change in weight is reported which correspond to an event detected by the tracking device, wherein the event may include that at least one tracking device detecting that its position has changed; 0160, 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed a location data is provided wirelessly; and wherein the tracking device is capable of wireless communication, para. 0124-0125, 0133).
Sanchez further disclose that the shipping container comprises a container body comprising one or more layers and at least one sensor embedded within at least one of the one or more layers or positioned between the at least two of the one or more layers (see para. 0006, 0034). Volkerink further disclose the container asset can be a carton. Although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material, however the combination of Sanchez and Volkerink do not expressly or explicitly disclose that the material is “a corrugated material”, the tracking device installed at an upper side of the corrugated material and detecting the change of force at the upper side of the corrugated material.
Skaaksrud discloses a method, system and apparatus in the field of tracking items i.e. package for improved asset identification, and location services (see para. 0002-0008). Skaaksrud further discloses a node package which may be fixed to a part of the a package, and where the node of the node package may be part of the package or packaging materials and wherein the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside and wherein the ID node is embedded within a sheet of the packaging material (e.g. corrugated fiberboard), where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751), therefore a cargo surface being a corrugated material pad language is met.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Sanchez as modified by Volkerink to choose the material being a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
In addition, given the teachings of Skaaksrud it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Volkerink for detecting the change of force at the upper side of the corrugated material, for the benefit of acquiring accurate and specific information that would assist to accurately determine specific information regarding the status of a loading and unloading a load or cargo in order to accurately report an order status (para. 0903, 0908) and ensuring that operations are accurate and have a high standard of quality (see para. 1372).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud disclose the materials discussed above with respect to claim 16.
However, Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose wherein detecting the loading event is based on the force received by the at least one force sensor satisfying a first force threshold; and wherein detecting the unloading event is based on the force being removed from the at least one force sensor satisfying a second force threshold.
Volkerink further discloses wherein detecting the loading event is based on the force received by the at least one force sensor satisfying a first force threshold (see para. 0005, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed, wherein changes are detected by weight sensor and wherein the weight sensor comprise a force sensor); and
wherein detecting the unloading event is based on the force being removed from the at least one force sensor satisfying a second force threshold (see para. 0005, 0128-0129, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed; para. 0005 wherein an unloaded event is disclosed; para. 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed a location data is provided wirelessly, therefore the thresholds for indicating whether something is being added or removed are implied).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Volkerink to configure the system of Sanchez such that detecting the loading event is based on the force received by the at least one force sensor satisfying a first force threshold; and wherein detecting the unloading event is based on the force being removed from the at least one force sensor satisfying a second force threshold for the benefit of being able to more accurately and effectively detect changes in weights associated with the presence or removal of an object from a cargo container with the desired sensitivity.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed above. Volkerink teach detecting the unloading event comprises the force being removed from the at least one force sensor (see para. 0005, 0040, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed; para. 0005 wherein an unloaded event is disclosed; para. 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed a location data is provided wirelessly, therefore the thresholds for indicating whether something is being added or removed are implied; para. 0040, wherein a detection of when an associated product is removed from the container asset is detected based on weights from weight sensors, which may include force sensor)
Volkerink further teach the system detects when associated product or item is removed/unloaded from container asset based on weight measurements of a weight/force sensor (see para. 0040, 0124-0126, 0162) and theft or tampering of pallets may be detected based on a tracked manifest of pallets in a stack changing at an unexpected time (para. 0155, 0161, 0189).
However the combination Sanchez and Volkerink do not expressly or explicitly discloses detecting the unloading event when force being removed from the at least one force sensor for longer than a time threshold (emphasis added).
Skaaksrud discloses a tracking system in which if a force sensed by one or more sensing elements (see para. 0749) and further discloses the use of a threshold time period when an impact force is detected, and wherein if the compared or elapsed time is greater than a threshold time the container node determines that the package was not placed within the logistic container (see para. 0795).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Sanchez as modified by Volkerink to detecting the unloading event when force being removed from the at least one force sensor for longer than a time threshold for the benefit of accurately detect the presence or absence of packages within the container (see para.0795). Therefore, the system would be enhanced.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud disclose the materials discussed above with respect to claim 16. However Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose wherein determining a loading event further comprises: receiving, by a first force sensor of the at least one force sensor, a first signal; receiving, by a second force sensor of the at least one force sensor, a second signal; comparing, by the processor, the first signal and the second signal; and detecting, based on the comparing the first signal and the second signal, a loading event.
Volkerink further disclose wherein determining a loading event further comprises:
receiving, by a first force sensor of the at least one force sensor, a first signal (see Figs. 12, 13A-13D, 14A-17D; para. 0007, 0124-0126, 0139, 0160-0161, wherein measurements form the weight sensor, which include force sensor, on the tracking device transmits an update in response to a change in the weight of objects, i.e. cased by weight being loaded onto the pallet; see para. 0008, wherein a plurality of tracking devices which comprises the weight sensor/force sensor is disclosed);
receiving, by a second force sensor of the at least one force sensor, a second signal see Figs. 12, 13A-13D, 14A-17D; para. 0007, 0124-0126, 0139, 0160-0161, wherein measurements form the weight sensor, which include force sensor, on the tracking device transmits an update in response to a change in the weight of objects, i.e. caused by weight being loaded onto the pallet; see para. 0008, wherein a plurality of tracking devices which comprises the weight sensor/force sensor is disclosed, therefore the at least one second force sensor transmitting the claimed second signal is implied);
comparing, by the processor, the first signal and the second signal (see Figs. 12, 13A-13D, 14A-17D, para. 0004, 0007, wherein weight sensor measure the weight of objects on the container asset and wherein a change in weight of objects on the container asset is determined and an update is transmitted to describe change in weight; 0124-0126, 0128-0129, 0160-0162, 0179, changes in weight on the cargo are assessed, by means of weight sensor/force sensor on each of the tracking devices, to determine weight of cargo assessed placed on the container and wherein the total weight of the cargo may correlate to an available stock of the cargo assets and wherein changes in weights are indicative of whether something is added/loaded or removed/unloaded, by determining the changes on weight it is essentially comparing first and second signals); and
detecting, based on the comparing the first signal and the second signal, a loading event (see Figs. 12, 13A-13D, 14A-17D; para. 0004,0007, 0124-0126, 0128-0129, 0160-0162 wherein weight of items stored/placed/loaded on the container asset can be determined based on measurements of weight sensors/force sensors integrated into tracking device, therefore the changes on weight measurements detected correspond to a loading event detected based on comparing).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Volkerink to configure the system of Sanchez such that determining a loading event further comprises: receiving, by a first force sensor of the at least one force sensor, a first signal; receiving, by a second force sensor of the at least one force sensor, a second signal; comparing, by the processor, the first signal and the second signal; and detecting, based on the comparing the first signal and the second signal, a loading event for the benefit of being able to more accurately and effectively detect changes in weights associated with the presence or removal of an object from a cargo container with the desired sensitivity.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud disclose the materials discussed above with respect to claim 16. Sanchez further disclose installing the tracking device positions in the tracking device (see abstract para. 0003, 0031, 0049) at an orientation configured to detect a change in force at an upper side of the cargo transportation surface (see para.0040, 0048, 0058).
Volkerink further discloses that the installing the tracking device positions in the tracking device at an orientation configured to detect a change in force at an upper side of the cargo transportation surface (see fig. 12, 13A-C, wherein the tracking device is shown installed at an upper side of the container asset at an orientation configured to detect change in force on an upper side of the container asset surface, wherein the tracking device comprise a weight sensor that comprise a force sensor, para. see para. 0124-0126, 0162, wherein a force sensor is disclosed).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to install the tracking device positions in the tracking device at an orientation configured to detect a change in force at an upper side of the cargo transportation surface for the benefit of providing a suitable location for placement of the system in order to allow for accurate detection of presence or absence of a in item or shipment on a cargo transportation surface.
Regarding claim 22, Sanchez disclose, a system comprising:
a tracking device (see abstract) comprising:
at least one force sensor (see para. 0026, 0041, 0048, wherein a capacitance sensors sensing change in capacitance is disclosed; it is noted that capacitive pressure sensors work by detecting changes in capacitance in response to a pressure/force exerted, therefore the capacitive sensor disclosed by Sanchez meets the force sensor claimed; alternatively a pressure sensor is disclosed);
a housing comprising a processor communicatively coupled to the at least one force sensor wherein the housing is configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a fluted layer of a cargo transportation surface (see para. 0040, 0047-0049, Fig. 8, wherein an MCU unit/processor is disclosed and wherein the sensor are embedded in the container, wherein the container include one or more fluted layers and sensors are placed/deposited/positioned on or against internal surfaces of fluted layers; see para. 0029, 0032, 0036, wherein a processor is disclosed) and configured to position the at least one force sensor to detect a change in force at an upper side of the cargo transportation surface (see para. 0048, wherein capacitance sensors will sense the change in capacitance around the periphery of the container; 0058, wherein the capacitance between two sides of the top and bottom flaps used to cover the lid and the bottom of the box and use sensors to determine a change in fringing capacitance).
Sanchez further disclose a wireless transmitter (para. 0003, 0030, 0036-0037);
wherein the processor (see para. 0048, MCU 501) is configured to, cause, via the wireless transmitter, wireless transmission of information (see para. 0003, 0030, 0036) indicating: an identifier of the cargo tracking device (see para. 0003, 0030-0031); a current geographic location of the cargo tracking device (see para. 0049, wherein RFID tag can be read with RFID reader; para. 0030, 0036, wherein location methods to determined GPS coordinates can integrate any of available setoff communication interfaces such as Wi-Fi, RFID, Bluetooth and Cellular to continuously report status to a remote monitoring device); and a date and time (see para. 0002, 0036, where expiration date and time stamp is disclosed, which is transmitted).
However Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to detect, based on a force being received by the at least one force sensor, a loading event; wherein the processor is configured to detect, based on the force being removed from the at least one force sensor, an unloading event; and wherein the processor is configured to, based on the unloading event, cause, via a wireless transmitter, wireless transmission of information indicating: an identifier of the tracking device; a current geographic location of the tracking device; and a current date and time; and a server configured to receive the wireless transmission from the processor, wherein the server stores the information of the wireless transmission.
Volkerink discloses a system (abstract, para. 0124, wherein a container asset retrofitted with tracking device is disclosed) comprising:
a tracking device (abstract, para. 0124, wherein a container asset retrofitted with tracking device is disclosed) comprising:
at least one force sensor (see para. 0124, 0162, wherein a force sensor is disclosed);
a housing comprising a processor communicatively coupled to the at least one force sensor (see para. 0070, 0124, 0165, wherein tracking system may be inside the pallet between stringers on between deck boards to protect the tape node, wherein the structure of the pallet or asset may act as a barrier against hostile conditions for the tape; see para. 0045, wherein the “tape node” is equipped with a sensor, and processor; para. 0050 wherein the components of the adhesive tape platform are encapsulated within a flexible adhesive structure that protects the components from damage) wherein the housing is configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a cargo transportation surface (see Fig. 12, para. 0124, wherein the tracking device is looped around the center stringer/flute positioned such that the electronic components of the tracking device are oriented outward along the tracking device, wherein the racking device includes a weight sensor configured to measure the weight of an object placed on top of the tracking device, and wherein the weight sensor may include a force sensor that is configured to be operational after being bent upon cargo assets being placed on the container asset; see fig. 13A-13C, wherein the tracking devices containing weight/force sensor are shown disposed on top of the deck boards/flutes ) and configured to position the at least one force sensor to detect a change in force at an upper side of the cargo transportation surface (see Fig. 12, para. 0124, wherein the tracking device is looped around the center stringer/flute positioned such that the electronic components of the tracking device are oriented outward along the tracking device (extend above the center stringer/flute), wherein the racking device includes a weight sensor configured to measure the weight of an object placed on top of the tracking device, and wherein the weight sensor include a force sensor; see fig. 13A-13C, wherein the tracking devices containing weight/force sensor are shown disposed on top of the deck boards/flutes);
wherein the processor is configured to detect, based on a force being received by the at least one force sensor, a loading event (see para. 0124, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, wherein changes are detected by weight sensor and wherein the weight sensor comprise a force sensor);
wherein the processor is configured to detect, based on the force being removed from the at least one force sensor, an unloading event (see para. 0005, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed; 0128-0129, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed; para. 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed); and
wherein the processor is configured to, based on the unloading event , cause, via a wireless transmitter, wireless transmission of information (see para. 0125, wherein based on measurements of weight sensor, which include a force sensor, a change in weight is reported which correspond to an event detected by the tracking device, wherein the event may include that at least one tracking device detecting that its position has changed; 0160, 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed a location data is provided wirelessly; and wherein the tracking device is capable of wireless communication, para. 0124-0125, 0133) indicating:
an identifier of the tracking device (para. 0062, 0097, wherein each tape node/node may be assigned a respective unique identifier, and wherein the node is characterized by its identity; para. 0099 and has a unique identifier, para. 0101-0102; wherein each tracking device may store the asset identifier, para. 0132; wherein tracking devices communicate their asset identifiers and other data i.e. location data by a wireless gateway device, see para. 0062, 0142);
a current geographic location of the tracking device (see para. 0125, wherein based on measurements of weight sensor, which include a force sensor, a change in weight is reported which correspond to an event detected by the tracking device, wherein the event may include that at least one tracking device detecting that its position has changed; para. 0008, wherein the system includes a tracking application configured to track the location of each container asset based on wireless communications; and wherein a network including geolocation satellite systems i.e. GPS cellular communication systems is disclosed, 0081; wherein tape nodes can determine their geographic location by querying a gateway tape node; para. 112, 0121-0122; wherein tracking devices communicate their asset identifiers and other data i.e. location data by a wireless gateway device, see para. 0062, 0142); and
current time (see para. 0094, wherein a schedule which dictates aspects of communication including times when nodes should communicate is disclosed, para. 0126, wherein current weight at a given time is determined, para. 0181, wherein nodes may report at scheduled times, therefore current time is implied); and
a server configured to receive the wireless transmission from the processor (para. 0045-0046, 0050, 0081, 0095, 0121, 0126 wherein processing functionality that enable to perform one or more transducing function and report the results to a remote server and wherein wireless communication is disclosed is disclosed), wherein the server stores the information of the wireless transmission (see para. 0008, 0121, 0144, 0179, wherein data is transmitted to a cloud or server, where it is implied that the server stores data received in some form either temporarily or permanently).
However the combination of Sanchez and Volkerink do not expressly or explicitly teach that the processor cause wirelessly transmission of information indicating current date information.
Skaaksrud discloses a method, system and apparatus in the field of tracking items i.e. package for improved asset identification, and location services (see para. 0002-0008). Skaaksrud further discloses an ID node optionally including one or more sensors such as pressure sensors, dedicated location sensors i.e. GPS sensor, IR sensor, proximity sensor (see para. 0162) and sensor pad or plate which is coupled via wiring to a node, wherein the sensor responds to stimulus such as impact force or weight and produces a responsive sensor signal exerted by packages and wherein a change in pressure or force exerted against a bottom surface is disclosed (see para. 0751, 0774, 0792, 0798, Fig. 89A). Skaaksrud further discloses the transmission of information, such as date/time, current time, location and sensor data, wirelessly (see para. 0019, 0141-0142, 0150-0151, 0244-0245, 0271, 0281), and further discloses a server comprising a memory storage, executing a code and comprising a processing unit to perform operations (see para. 0364, 0520).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the processor of Sanchez as modified by Volkerink based on the at least one force sensor detecting the change of force at the upper side (removed or added weight), to cause the transmission of information indicating current date and time information for the benefit of providing accurate information that would assist in the accurately determine specific information that will help to fulfill the order (para. 0902) and accurately report order status (par. 0903, 0908) and ensuring that operations are accurate and have a high standard of quality (see para. 1372).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed above.
Sanchez further disclose a plurality of force sensors electronically coupled to each other (see abstract, para. 0029, 0040-0041, 0048, 0058, );
at least one extension, connected to the plurality of force sensors, (see para. 0040-0041, 0048, wherein shock vibration or movement is minimized);
a GPS unit (see para. 0048) configured to obtain, , the current geographic location of the tracking device (see para. 0048, wherein GPS location of shipment package and especially during shipment is monitored);
wherein the housing comprises a first portion having a shape configured to conform to a shape of the at least one flute of the cargo transportation surface (see abstract, para. 0040);
wherein the processor (see para. 0029) is configured to detect an amount of force being applied to the plurality of force/capacitive sensors (see para. 0029, 0048, 0058).
However Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose at least one extension, connected to the plurality of force sensors, wherein the extension configured to resist a change to an orientation of the plurality of force sensors relative to the upper side of the cargo transportation surface; a GPS configured to obtain, based on the processor detecting an unloading event, the current geographic location of the tracking device; wherein the processor is configured to detect a loading event based on a threshold amount of force being applied to the plurality of force sensors; and wherein the processor is configured to detect an unloading event based on a threshold amount of force being removed from the plurality of force sensors (emphasis added).
Volkerink further teach the tracking device further comprises:
a plurality of force sensors electronically coupled to each other (see Figs. 13B, 13C, para. 0040, 0074, 0117, 0124-0126, 0153, 0162; wherein tracking devices 1310 each comprising a weight sensor are disposed on top of the container asset, wherein the weight sensor comprise force sensor and wherein at least two of the tracking devices each comprising a weight sensor that comprise a force sensor are disclosed);
at least one extension, connected to the plurality of force sensors, wherein the extension sufficiently rigid to resist a change to an orientation of the plurality of force sensors relative to the upper side of the cargo transportation surface (see para. 0124-0126, 0157, 0162, 0167, wherein tracking devices includes physical contact or connection between adjacent and or stacked assets which may include wire network circuitry and or physical contact that complete closed circuit when assets are stacked or grouped in a particular way e.g. the tracking devices line up in specific orientation when assets are stacked such that electrical contacts and/or leads made mechanical/electrical connection when assets are stacked, in addition it may include magnetic sensors or magnets detecting proximity to another tracking device);
a GPS (para. 0060, 0081, 0107, 0112, 0117, 0121) unit configured to obtain, based on the processor detecting an unloading event, the current geographic location of the tracking device (see para. 0125, wherein based on measurements of weight sensor, which include a force sensor, a change in weight is reported which correspond to an event detected by the tracking device, wherein the event may include that at least one tracking device detecting that its position has changed; 0160, 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed a location data is provided wirelessly; and wherein the tracking device is capable of wireless communication, para. 0124-0125, 0133);
wherein the housing comprises a first portion having a shape that substantially conforms to a shape of the at least one flute of the cargo transportation surface (see Fig. 13A-B, wherein it is shown that the tracking device 1310 have a shape that substantially conforms to a shape of the at least one deck board/flute, the tracking device shown have a rectangular shape that substantially conforms to the width of the deck/board flute of the container asset);
wherein the processor is configured to detect a loading event based on a threshold amount of force being applied to the plurality of force sensors (see para. 0124-126, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed; see para. 0005, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed); and
wherein the processor is configured to detect an unloading event based on a threshold amount of force being removed from the plurality of force sensors (see para. 0005, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed, and wherein an unloaded event is disclosed, para. 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Sanchez wherein the extension configured to resist a change to an orientation of the plurality of force sensors relative to the upper side of the cargo transportation surface; a GPS configured to obtain, based on the processor detecting an unloading event, the current geographic location of the tracking device; wherein the processor is configured to detect a loading event based on a threshold amount of force being applied to the plurality of force sensors; and wherein the processor is configured to detect an unloading event based on a threshold amount of force being removed from the plurality of force sensors for the benefit of providing a robust system capable of accurately detecting tampering, removal or placement of the items inside a cargo with the desired accuracy and to detect the location where the detected changes have occurred in order to ensure the items are shipped to the right location.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed above. Sanchez further teaches that the tracking device is integrated into the cargo transportation surface (see abstract, para 0030-0031, 0036, 0040, 0048-0049). Volkerink further teach that the tracking device is integrated into the cargo transportation surface (see figs. 13A-13C, 14A, 17A, 17C, wherein the tracking device(s) is/are shown on a surface of the container asset, para. 0123-0125).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed above. Sanchez further teach that the tracking device is integrated in the electronics unit (see para. 0045, 0047, 0048). However Sanchez do not expressly or explicitly disclose that the tracking device is integrated between a top layer and a bottom layer of the cargo transportation surface.
Volkerink further teach the tracking device is integrated between a top layer and a bottom layer of the cargo transportation surface (see fig. 14A-14B, 15, 16, 17A-17B wherein tracking device is at a top and bottom of container asset; see para, 0132, wherein tracking devices are exposed on the exterior (layer) of the container assets but at least a portion of the tracking devices are positioned on the interior (layer) of the container assets; para. 0136, wherein tracking devices is exposed on a top side of the container and on the bottom side of the container asset; para. 0161, wherein tracking device may include elastic material placed between conductive layers placed on two opposing deck boards).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Sanchez such that the tracking device is integrated between a top layer and a bottom layer of the cargo transportation surface for the benefit of providing a robust system capable of accurately detecting the location where changes are detected by the sensors in order to ensure the items are shipped to the right location.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed above.
However Sanchez and Volkerink do not expressly discloses that the cargo transportation surface is a corrugated pad.
Skaaksrud discloses a method, system and apparatus in the field of tracking items i.e. package for improved asset identification, and location services (see para. 0002-0008). Skaaksrud further discloses a node package which may be fixed to a part of the a package, and where the node of the node package may be part of the package or packaging materials e.g. integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box and the like and wherein the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside and wherein the ID node is embedded within a sheet of the packaging material (e.g. corrugated fiberboard) (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751), therefore a cargo surface being a corrugated pad language is met.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Sanchez as modified by Volkerink to choose the cargo transportation surface being a corrugated pad since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez-Olea US2023/0130945 (hereinafter Sanchez) in view of Volkerink et al. US20220300892A1 (hereinafter Volkerink) in view of Skaaksrud US2015/0349917A1 (hereinafter Skaaksrud ‘917) in further view of in view of Skaaksrud US 20160232489A1 (hereinafter Skaaksrud ‘489).
Regarding claim 21, Sanchez, Volkerink and Skaaksrud ‘917 discloses the materials discussed above with respect to claim 16.
Sanchez further disclose Encryption methods used to help ensure sipped goods are authentic and that the goods are not tampered with during shipment (see abstract) and further uses encrypted communications/messages (see para. 0033, 0049). Volkerink further discloses data encryption (see para. 0062, wherein tape nodes are secure connections and where a tape node storage manager securely manages local data storge on the node by supporting various encryption mechanism).
Although Sanchez disclose encrypted communications are employed and Volkerink discloses secure connections on data management by encryption mechanism. However it does not expressly discloses that the message comprising the current geographic location of the tracking device (claim 16) is an encrypted message.
Skaaksrud ‘489 discloses a method and apparatus for asset management and tracking items i.e. an object, a package, a person, a piece of equipment (para. 0003-0004) and that a current location of the mobile master node is detected (para. 0013-0014, 0173-0174, 0340 ). Skaaksrud ‘489 further discloses that an intended delivery location for an item may be received by a node processing unit via an encrypted/secure exchange (para. 0535, 0543) and further discloses that the intended delivery location is a location of a mobile user access device operative to function as a master node associated with a recipient for the item and establishing a validation connection such as a secure validation connection that may involve encrypted and secure communications (para. 0552) and that the intended delivery location may be encrypted or otherwise provided via a secure connection to help protect the integrity and security of such information (para. 0552)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, given the teachings of Sanchez as modify by Volkerink and Skaaksrud ‘917 of supporting various encryption mechanism (see para. 0062) and the teachings of Skaaksrud ‘489 of encrypting the intended delivery location for an item (0535, 0543, 0552, 0558) to encrypt the message comprising the current geographic location of the tracking device for the benefit of securing communications and data management and to secure connection to help protect the integrity and security of such information (Skaaksrud ‘489, para. 0552).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendments and because the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendments does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record cited in form PTOL-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/YARITZA H. PEREZ BERMUDEZ/
Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857