DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communication filed on 07/11/2025.
Claims 1-26 are pending. Claims 4, 6, 11, 16, 20, and 23 have been amended. Entry of this amendment is accepted and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20, and 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volkerink et al. US20220300892A1 in view of Skaaksrud US2015/0349917A1.
Regarding claim 1 Volkerink discloses a cargo tracking device (abstract, para. 0124, wherein a container asset retrofitted with tracking device is disclosed) comprising:
at least one force sensor (see para. 0124, 0162, wherein a force sensor is disclosed);
a housing comprising a processor communicatively coupled to the at least one force sensor (see para. 0070, 0124, 0165, wherein tracking system may be inside the pallet between stringers on between deck boards to protect the tape node, wherein the structure of the pallet or asset may act as a barrier against hostile conditions for the tape; see para. 0045, wherein the “tape node” is equipped with a sensor, and processor; para. 0050 wherein the components of the adhesive tape platform are encapsulated within a flexible adhesive structure that protects the components from damage), wherein the housing is configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a material (see fig. 12, 13A-13C, para. 0124-126, wherein tracking device 1120 is shown looped around a center stringer of the container asset such that the electronic components are oriented outward along the tracking device, and wherein tracking device is shown on top of the deck boards of the container asset) and wherein the housing is configured to position the at least one force sensor to detect a change in force at an upper side of a surface (see para. 0124-0125, 0160, 0162, wherein a force sensor is disclosed measuring the weight of an object placed on top of the tracking device used to track the container asset, therefore the change in force is implied); and
a wireless transmitter (para. 0004, 0006, 0007, 0074, the tracking device can communicate wirelessly by means of a wireless communication system, and further discloses that communication circuit can be transmitters and antennas to communicate);
wherein the processor (see para. 0045-0046, 0060, wherein a processor is disclosed) is configured to, based on the at least one force sensor detecting the change of force at the upper side (see para. 0124-0125, 0153, 0161-0162 wherein a force sensor is disclosed measuring the weight of an object placed on top of the tracking device used to track the container asset, therefore the change in force is implied), a processor (see para. 0062, 0146) is configured to cause, via the wireless transmitter, wireless transmission of information (see para. 0062, 0087-0088, 0090, 0101-0106, 0112, 0121-0122, 0126, 0132, 0142) indicating:
an identifier of the cargo tracking device (para. 0097, wherein each tape node/node may be assigned a respective unique identifier, and wherein the node is characterized by its identity; para. 0099 and has a unique identifier, para. 0101-0102; wherein each tracking device may store the asset identifier, para. 0132; wherein tracking devices communicate their asset identifiers and other data i.e. location data by a wireless gateway device, see para. 0062, 0142);
a current geographic location of the cargo tracking device (para. 0008, wherein the system includes a tracking application configured to track the location of each container asset based on wireless communications; and wherein a network including geolocation satellite systems i.e. GPS cellular communication systems is disclosed, 0081; wherein tape nodes can determine their geographic location by querying a gateway tape node; para. 112, 0121-0122; wherein tracking devices communicate their asset identifiers and other data i.e. location data by a wireless gateway device, see para. 0062, 0142); and
current time (see para. 0094, wherein a schedule which dictates aspects of communication including times when nodes should communicate is disclosed, para. 0126, wherein current weight at a given time is determined, para. 0181, wherein nodes may report at scheduled times, therefore current time is implied).
Volkerink discloses the container asset can be a carton, however it does not teaches that the container is of a corrugated material and that the housing is configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a corrugated material (emphasis added), wherein the processor is configured to, based on the at least one force sensor detecting the change of force at the upper side of the corrugated material, cause wirelessly transmission of information indicating current date information.
Skaaksrud discloses a method, system and apparatus in the field of tracking items i.e. package for improved asset identification, and location services (see para. 0002-0008). Skaaksrud further discloses an ID node optionally including one or more sensors such as pressure sensors, dedicated location sensors i.e. GPS sensor, IR sensor, proximity sensor (see para. 0162) and sensor pad or plate which is coupled via wiring to a node, wherein the sensor responds to stimulus such as impact force or weight and produces a responsive sensor signal exerted by packages and wherein a change in pressure or force exerted against a bottom surface is disclosed (see para. 0751, 0774, 0792, 0798, Fig. 89A). Skaaksrud further discloses a node package which may be fixed to a part of the a package, and where the node of the node package may be part of the package or packaging materials e.g. integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box and the like (see para. 0529-0530) and wherein the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751, by definition a corrugated material is a material shaped into alternate ridges and grooves, therefore it is implied that the corrugated material of Skaaksrud include flutes), and further discloses the transmission of information, such as date/time, current time, location and sensor data, wirelessly (see para. 0019, 0141-0142, 0150-0151, 0244-0245, 0271, 0281).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material where the housing can at least partially reside within at least one flute of a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
In addition, given the teachings of Skaaksrud it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the processor of Volkerink based on the at least one force sensor detecting the change of force at the upper side of the corrugated material, to cause the transmission of information indicating current date and time information for the benefit of providing accurate information that would assist in the accurately determine specific information that will help to fulfill the order (para. 0902) and accurately report order status (par. 0903, 0908) and ensuring that operations are accurate and have a high standard of quality (see para. 1372).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Volkerink further discloses that the housing further comprises the at least one force sensor (see para. 0004, 0070, 0124, 0162).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Volkerink further discloses one or more extensions connected to the at least one force sensor, wherein the one or more extensions are configured to resist a change to an orientation of the at least one force sensor relative to the upper side of the material (see para. 0157, 0167, wherein tracking devices includes physical contact or connection between adjacent and or stacked assets which may include wire network circuitry and or physical contact that complete closed circuit when assets are stacked or grouped in a particular way e.g. the tracking devices line up in specific orientation when assets are stacked such that electrical contacts and/or leads made mechanical/electrical connection when assets are stacked, in addition it may include magnetic sensors or magnets detecting proximity to another tracking device).
Volkerink discloses the container asset can be a carton, although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material. However it does not specifically disclose that the container is of a corrugated material.
Skaaksrud discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Volkerink further discloses wherein at least the housing and the processor constitute a first housing unit (see para. 0070, 0124, 0165, wherein tracking system may be inside the pallet between stringers on between deck boards to protect the tape node, wherein the structure of the pallet or asset may act as a barrier against hostile conditions for the tape; see para. 0045, wherein the “tape node” is equipped with a sensor, and processor; para. 0050 wherein the components of the adhesive tape platform are encapsulated within a flexible adhesive structure that protects the components from damage), and a second housing unit, communicatively coupled to the first housing unit, comprising the wireless transmitter (see para. 0067-0068, 0087, 0095-0096, wherein a second tape node is disclosed, and wherein it may communicate with a first tape node comprising wireless transmitter).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Volkerink further discloses a second force sensor communicatively coupled to the processor (see para. 0126, wherein weight sensors are disclosed, therefore at least a second force sensor is disclosed; see para. 0060, 0074, wherein a processor is disclosed in communication with the sensors; para. 0124, and wherein weight sensor may include a force sensor).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 5. Volkerink further discloses a connector coupled to and extending from the at least one force sensor and the second force sensor (see para. 0126, wherein weight sensors are disclosed, therefore at least a second force sensor is disclosed; see para. 0060, 0074, wherein a processor is disclosed in communication with the sensors; para. 0124, and wherein weight sensor may include a force sensor), wherein the connector is configured to resist a change to an orientation of the at least one force sensor and the second force sensor relative to the upper side of the material (see para. 0128, 0136-0139, 0157, 0167, wherein tracking devices includes physical contact or connection between adjacent and or stacked assets which may include wire network circuitry and or physical contact that complete closed circuit when assets are stacked or grouped in a particular way e.g. the tracking devices line up in an orientation when assets are stacked such that electrical contacts and/or leads made mechanical/electrical connection when assets are stacked, wherein the tracking device comprises at least a sensor, therefore a connection extending from one sensor to the other sensor is implied; since the assets can be oriented to be stacked or grouped in a particular way, in an orientation, therefore it is understood that the connector is configured to resist a change in orientation of the at least one force sensor and second force sensor relative to the upper side; in addition it may include magnetic sensors or magnets detecting proximity to another tracking device).
Volkerink discloses the container asset can be a carton, although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material. However it does not specifically disclose that the container is of a corrugated material.
Skaaksrud discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Volkerink further discloses that the at least one force sensor is configured to extend above the at least one flute of the material (see Fig. 12, para. 0124, wherein the tracking device is looped around the center stringer/flute positioned such that the electronic components of the tracking device are oriented outward along the tracking device (extend above the center stringer/flute), wherein the racking device includes a weight sensor configured to measure the weight of an object placed on top of the tracking device, and wherein the weight sensor include a force sensor).
Volkerink discloses the container asset can be a carton, although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material. However it does not specifically disclose that the container is of a corrugated material.
Skaaksrud discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Volkerink further discloses an array of force sensors that comprises the at least one force sensor, wherein the array of force sensors is distributed across the upper side of the material (see Fig. 13b-13c, para. 0124-0126, wherein tracking devices 1310 each comprising a weight sensor are disposed on top of the container asset, wherein the weight sensor comprise force sensor)
Volkerink discloses the container asset can be a carton, although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material. However it does not specifically disclose that the container is of a corrugated material.
Skaaksrud discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 8. Volkerink further discloses that the array is configured to position a first force sensor and a second force sensor along a common flute of the material (see Figs. 13B, 13C, para. 0124-0126; wherein tracking devices 1310 each comprising a weight sensor are disposed on top of the container asset, wherein the weight sensor comprise force sensor and wherein at least two of the tracking devices each comprising a weight sensor that comprise a force sensor are located along a common deck board/flute are shown).
Volkerink discloses the container asset can be a carton, although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material. However it does not specifically disclose that the container is of a corrugated material.
Skaaksrud discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 8. Volkerink further discloses that the array is configured to position a first force sensor at a first flute of the material and a second sensor at a second flute of the material that is different from the first flute (see Figs. 13B, 13C, para. 0124-0126; wherein tracking devices 1310 each comprising a weight sensor are disposed on top of the container asset, wherein the weight sensor comprise force sensor and wherein at least two of the tracking devices each comprising a weight sensor that comprise a force sensor are located at different deck boards/flutes from one another are shown).
Volkerink discloses the container asset can be a carton, although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material. However it does not specifically disclose that the container is of a corrugated material.
Skaaksrud discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Volkerink further discloses that the housing comprises a first portion having a shape that substantially conforms to a shape of the at least one flute of the corrugated material (see Fig. 13A-B, wherein it is shown that the tracking device 1310 have a shape configured to conform to a shape of the at least one deck board/flute, the tracking device shown have a rectangular shape configured to conform to the width of the deck/board flute).
Volkerink discloses the container asset can be a carton, although it is known that carton can be a corrugated material. However it does not specifically disclose that the container is of a corrugated material.
Skaaksrud discloses that the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Volkerink to choose the material to be a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Volkerink further discloses that the processor is configured to detect a loading event based on a threshold amount of force applied to the at least one force sensor (see para. 0124-126, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Volkerink further discloses that the processor is configured to detect an unloading event based on a threshold amount of force removed from the at least one force sensor (see para. 0005, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed, and wherein an unloaded event is disclosed, para. 0005).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Volkerink further discloses to obtain the current geographic location of the device based on detecting a threshold change in an amount of force at the at least one force sensor (see para. 0125, wherein based on measurements of weight sensor, which include a force sensor, a change in weight is reported which correspond to an event detected by the tracking device, wherein the event may include that at least one tracking device detecting that its position has changed; 0160, 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed a location data is provided).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed with respect to claim 1. Volkerink further discloses that the processor is configured to detect a loading event and unloading event based on a threshold quantity of the at least one force sensor indicating a threshold change in an amount of force at respective force sensors of the at least one force sensor (see para. 0005, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed, and wherein an unloaded event is disclosed, para. 0005).
Regarding claim 16, Volkerink discloses a method comprising:
deploying a material at a cargo transportation surface (see Fig. 13A-13C, para. 0125,wherein tracking device is an embodiment of the adhesive tape attached to a portion of the surface of container asset);
installing at an upper side of the material, a tracking device (see Fig. 13A-13C, wherein tracking device 1310 is shown installed on a surface of container asset 1100, para. 0124-0126, wherein electronic components of tracking device are oriented outward and are shown at the upper side, 0161), wherein the tracking device comprises at least one force sensor (see para. 0124, 0162, wherein a force sensor is disclosed), a processor (see para. 0045-0046, 0060, wherein a processor is disclosed), and a wireless transmitter (para. 0004, 0006, 0007, 0074, the tracking device can communicate wirelessly by means of a wireless communication system, and further discloses that communication circuit can be transmitters and antennas to communicate) and wherein the at least one of force sensor is configured to detect a change in force at the upper side of the material (see para. 0005, 0124, 0128, 0160-0162, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, wherein changes are detected by weight sensor and wherein the weight sensor comprise a force sensor);
detecting, based on a force being received by the at least one force sensor, a loading event (see para. 0124, 0128, 0160-0162, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, wherein changes are detected by weight sensor and wherein the weight sensor comprise a force sensor);
detecting, based on the force being removed from the at least one force sensor, an unloading event (see para. 0005, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed, and wherein an unloaded event is disclosed, para. 0005); and
sending, via a wireless transmission and based on the unloading event, a message comprising a current geographic location of the tracking device (see para. 0125, wherein based on measurements of weight sensor, which include a force sensor, a change in weight is reported which correspond to an event detected by the tracking device, wherein the event may include that at least one tracking device detecting that its position has changed; 0160, 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed a location data is provided wirelessly; and wherein the tracking device is capable of wireless communication, para. 0124-0125, 0133).
Volkerink disclose the container asset can be a carton (para. 0047), however it does not teaches that the material is a corrugated material, the tracking device installed at an upper side of the corrugated material and detecting the change of force at the upper side of the corrugated material.
Skaaksrud discloses a method, system and apparatus in the field of tracking items i.e. package for improved asset identification, and location services (see para. 0002-0008). Skaaksrud further discloses a node package which may be fixed to a part of the a package, and where the node of the node package may be part of the package or packaging materials and wherein the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside and wherein the ID node is embedded within a sheet of the packaging material (e.g. corrugated fiberboard), where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751), therefore a cargo surface being a corrugated material pad language is met.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Volkerink to choose the material being a corrugated material since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
In addition, given the teachings of Skaaksrud it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Volkerink for detecting the change of force at the upper side of the corrugated material, for the benefit of acquiring accurate and specific information that would assist to accurately determine specific information regarding the status of a loading and unloading a load or cargo in order to accurately report an order status (para. 0903, 0908) and ensuring that operations are accurate and have a high standard of quality (see para. 1372).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud disclose the materials discussed above with respect to claim 16.
Volkerink further discloses wherein detecting the loading event is based on the force received by the at least one force sensor satisfying a first force threshold (see para. 0005, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed, wherein changes are detected by weight sensor and wherein the weight sensor comprise a force sensor); and
wherein detecting the unloading event is based on the force being removed from the at least one force sensor satisfying a second force threshold (see para. 0005, 0128-0129, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed; para. 0005 wherein an unloaded event is disclosed; para. 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed a location data is provided wirelessly, therefore the thresholds for indicating whether something is being added or removed are implied).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed above. Volkerink further teach detecting the unloading event comprises the force being removed from the at least one force sensor (see para. 0005, 0040, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed; para. 0005 wherein an unloaded event is disclosed; para. 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed a location data is provided wirelessly, therefore the thresholds for indicating whether something is being added or removed are implied; para. 0040, wherein a detection of when an associated product is removed from the container asset is detected based on weights from weight sensors, which may include force sensor)
Volkerink further teach the system detects when associated product or item is removed/unloaded from container asset based on weight measurements of a weight/force sensor (see para. 0040, 0124-0126, 0162) and theft or tampering of pallets may be detected based on a tracked manifest of pallets in a stack changing at an unexpected time (para. 0155, 0161, 0189).
However Volkerink do not expressly or explicitly discloses detecting the unloading event when force being removed from the at least one force sensor for longer than a time threshold (emphasis added).
Skaaksrud discloses a tracking system in which if a force sensed by one or more sensing elements (see para. 0749) and further discloses the use of a threshold time period when an impact force is detected, and wherein if the compared or elapsed time is greater than a threshold time the container node determines that the package was not placed within the logistic container (see para. 0795).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Volkerink to detecting the unloading event when force being removed from the at least one force sensor for longer than a time threshold for the benefit of accurately detect the presence or absence of packages within the container (see para.0795). Therefore, the system would be enhanced.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud disclose the materials discussed above with respect to claim 16.
Volkerink further disclose wherein determining a loading event further comprises:
receiving, by a first force sensor of the at least one force sensor, a first signal (see Figs. 12, 13A-13D, 14A-17D; para. 0007, 0124-0126, 0139, 0160-0161, wherein measurements form the weight sensor, which include force sensor, on the tracking device transmits an update in response to a change in the weight of objects, i.e. cased by weight being loaded onto the pallet; see para. 0008, wherein a plurality of tracking devices which comprises the weight sensor/force sensor is disclosed);
receiving, by a second force sensor of the at least one force sensor, a second signal see Figs. 12, 13A-13D, 14A-17D; para. 0007, 0124-0126, 0139, 0160-0161, wherein measurements form the weight sensor, which include force sensor, on the tracking device transmits an update in response to a change in the weight of objects, i.e. caused by weight being loaded onto the pallet; see para. 0008, wherein a plurality of tracking devices which comprises the weight sensor/force sensor is disclosed, therefore the at least one second force sensor transmitting the claimed second signal is implied);
comparing, by the processor, the first signal and the second signal (see Figs. 12, 13A-13D, 14A-17D, para. 0004, 0007, wherein weight sensor measure the weight of objects on the container asset and wherein a change in weight of objects on the container asset is determined and an update is transmitted to describe change in weight; 0124-0126, 0128-0129, 0160-0162, 0179, changes in weight on the cargo are assessed, by means of weight sensor/force sensor on each of the tracking devices, to determine weight of cargo assessed placed on the container and wherein the total weight of the cargo may correlate to an available stock of the cargo assets and wherein changes in weights are indicative of whether something is added/loaded or removed/unloaded, by determining the changes on weight it is essentially comparing first and second signals); and
detecting, based on the comparing the first signal and the second signal, a loading event (see Figs. 12, 13A-13D, 14A-17D; para. 0004,0007, 0124-0126, 0128-0129, 0160-0162 wherein weight of items stored/placed/loaded on the container asset can be determined based on measurements of weight sensors/force sensors integrated into tracking device, therefore the changes on weight measurements detected correspond to a loading event detected based on comparing).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud disclose the materials discussed above with respect to claim 16.
Volkerink further discloses that the installing the tracking device positions in the tracking device at an orientation configured to detect a change in force at an upper side of the cargo transportation surface (see fig. 12, 13A-C, wherein the tracking device is shown installed at an upper side of the container asset at an orientation configured to detect change in force on an upper side of the container asset surface, wherein the tracking device comprise a weight sensor that comprise a force sensor, para. see para. 0124-0126, 0162, wherein a force sensor is disclosed).
Regarding claim 22, Volkerink discloses a system (abstract, para. 0124, wherein a container asset retrofitted with tracking device is disclosed) comprising:
a tracking device (abstract, para. 0124, wherein a container asset retrofitted with tracking device is disclosed) comprising:
at least one force sensor (see para. 0124, 0162, wherein a force sensor is disclosed);
a housing comprising a processor communicatively coupled to the at least one force sensor (see para. 0070, 0124, 0165, wherein tracking system may be inside the pallet between stringers on between deck boards to protect the tape node, wherein the structure of the pallet or asset may act as a barrier against hostile conditions for the tape; see para. 0045, wherein the “tape node” is equipped with a sensor, and processor; para. 0050 wherein the components of the adhesive tape platform are encapsulated within a flexible adhesive structure that protects the components from damage) wherein the housing is configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a cargo transportation surface (see Fig. 12, para. 0124, wherein the tracking device is looped around the center stringer/flute positioned such that the electronic components of the tracking device are oriented outward along the tracking device, wherein the racking device includes a weight sensor configured to measure the weight of an object placed on top of the tracking device, and wherein the weight sensor may include a force sensor that is configured to be operational after being bent upon cargo assets being placed on the container asset; see fig. 13A-13C, wherein the tracking devices containing weight/force sensor are shown disposed on top of the deck boards/flutes ) and configured to position the at least one force sensor to detect a change in force at an upper side of the cargo transportation surface (see Fig. 12, para. 0124, wherein the tracking device is looped around the center stringer/flute positioned such that the electronic components of the tracking device are oriented outward along the tracking device (extend above the center stringer/flute), wherein the racking device includes a weight sensor configured to measure the weight of an object placed on top of the tracking device, and wherein the weight sensor include a force sensor; see fig. 13A-13C, wherein the tracking devices containing weight/force sensor are shown disposed on top of the deck boards/flutes);
wherein the processor is configured to detect, based on a force being received by the at least one force sensor, a loading event (see para. 0124, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, wherein changes are detected by weight sensor and wherein the weight sensor comprise a force sensor);
wherein the processor is configured to detect, based on the force being removed from the at least one force sensor, an unloading event (see para. 0005, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed; 0128-0129, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed; para. 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed); and
wherein the processor is configured to, based on the unloading event , cause, via a wireless transmitter, wireless transmission of information (see para. 0125, wherein based on measurements of weight sensor, which include a force sensor, a change in weight is reported which correspond to an event detected by the tracking device, wherein the event may include that at least one tracking device detecting that its position has changed; 0160, 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed a location data is provided wirelessly; and wherein the tracking device is capable of wireless communication, para. 0124-0125, 0133) indicating:
an identifier of the tracking device (para. 0062, 0097, wherein each tape node/node may be assigned a respective unique identifier, and wherein the node is characterized by its identity; para. 0099 and has a unique identifier, para. 0101-0102; wherein each tracking device may store the asset identifier, para. 0132; wherein tracking devices communicate their asset identifiers and other data i.e. location data by a wireless gateway device, see para. 0062, 0142);
a current geographic location of the tracking device (see para. 0125, wherein based on measurements of weight sensor, which include a force sensor, a change in weight is reported which correspond to an event detected by the tracking device, wherein the event may include that at least one tracking device detecting that its position has changed; para. 0008, wherein the system includes a tracking application configured to track the location of each container asset based on wireless communications; and wherein a network including geolocation satellite systems i.e. GPS cellular communication systems is disclosed, 0081; wherein tape nodes can determine their geographic location by querying a gateway tape node; para. 112, 0121-0122; wherein tracking devices communicate their asset identifiers and other data i.e. location data by a wireless gateway device, see para. 0062, 0142); and
current time (see para. 0094, wherein a schedule which dictates aspects of communication including times when nodes should communicate is disclosed, para. 0126, wherein current weight at a given time is determined, para. 0181, wherein nodes may report at scheduled times, therefore current time is implied); and
a server configured to receive the wireless transmission from the processor (para. 0045-0046, 0050, 0081, 0095, 0121, 0126 wherein processing functionality that enable to perform one or more transducing function and report the results to a remote server and wherein wireless communication is disclosed is disclosed), wherein the server stores the information of the wireless transmission (see para. 0008, 0121, 0144, 0179, wherein data is transmitted to a cloud or server, where it is implied that the server stores data received in some form either temporarily or permanently).
Volkerink discloses the container asset can be a carton; however it does not teaches that the processor cause wirelessly transmission of information indicating current date information.
Skaaksrud discloses a method, system and apparatus in the field of tracking items i.e. package for improved asset identification, and location services (see para. 0002-0008). Skaaksrud further discloses an ID node optionally including one or more sensors such as pressure sensors, dedicated location sensors i.e. GPS sensor, IR sensor, proximity sensor (see para. 0162) and sensor pad or plate which is coupled via wiring to a node, wherein the sensor responds to stimulus such as impact force or weight and produces a responsive sensor signal exerted by packages and wherein a change in pressure or force exerted against a bottom surface is disclosed (see para. 0751, 0774, 0792, 0798, Fig. 89A). Skaaksrud further discloses the transmission of information, such as date/time, current time, location and sensor data, wirelessly (see para. 0019, 0141-0142, 0150-0151, 0244-0245, 0271, 0281), and further discloses a server comprising a memory storage, executing a code and comprising a processing unit to perform operations (see para. 0364, 0520).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the processor of Volkerink based on the at least one force sensor detecting the change of force at the upper side (removed or added weight), to cause the transmission of information indicating current date and time information for the benefit of providing accurate information that would assist in the accurately determine specific information that will help to fulfill the order (para. 0902) and accurately report order status (par. 0903, 0908) and ensuring that operations are accurate and have a high standard of quality (see para. 1372).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed above. Volkerink further teach the tracking device further comprises:
a plurality of force sensors electronically coupled to each other (see Figs. 13B, 13C, para. 0040, 0074, 0117, 0124-0126, 0153, 0162; wherein tracking devices 1310 each comprising a weight sensor are disposed on top of the container asset, wherein the weight sensor comprise force sensor and wherein at least two of the tracking devices each comprising a weight sensor that comprise a force sensor are disclosed);
at least one extension, connected to the plurality of force sensors, wherein the extension sufficiently rigid to resist a change to an orientation of the plurality of force sensors relative to the upper side of the cargo transportation surface (see para. 0124-0126, 0157, 0162, 0167, wherein tracking devices includes physical contact or connection between adjacent and or stacked assets which may include wire network circuitry and or physical contact that complete closed circuit when assets are stacked or grouped in a particular way e.g. the tracking devices line up in specific orientation when assets are stacked such that electrical contacts and/or leads made mechanical/electrical connection when assets are stacked, in addition it may include magnetic sensors or magnets detecting proximity to another tracking device);
a GPS (para. 0060, 0081, 0107, 0112, 0117, 0121) unit configured to obtain, based on the processor detecting an unloading event, the current geographic location of the tracking device (see para. 0125, wherein based on measurements of weight sensor, which include a force sensor, a change in weight is reported which correspond to an event detected by the tracking device, wherein the event may include that at least one tracking device detecting that its position has changed; 0160, 0179, wherein if a change is detected i.e. something added or removed a location data is provided wirelessly; and wherein the tracking device is capable of wireless communication, para. 0124-0125, 0133);
wherein the housing comprises a first portion having a shape that substantially conforms to a shape of the at least one flute of the cargo transportation surface (see Fig. 13A-B, wherein it is shown that the tracking device 1310 have a shape that substantially conforms to a shape of the at least one deck board/flute, the tracking device shown have a rectangular shape that substantially conforms to the width of the deck/board flute of the container asset);
wherein the processor is configured to detect a loading event based on a threshold amount of force being applied to the plurality of force sensors (see para. 0124-126, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed; see para. 0005, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed); and
wherein the processor is configured to detect an unloading event based on a threshold amount of force being removed from the plurality of force sensors (see para. 0005, 0128, 0160-0161, wherein a measured displacement lengthening or compression of stringers or deck boards which corresponds to stress or strain placed on pallet caused by weight being loaded into the pallet is disclosed, where the change from the default unloaded state is disclosed, and wherein an unloaded event is disclosed, para. 0005).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed above. Volkerink further teach that the tracking device is integrated into the cargo transportation surface (see figs. 13A-13C, 14A, 17A, 17C, wherein the tracking device(s) is/are shown on a surface of the container asset, para. 0123-0125).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed above. Volkerink further teach the tracking device is integrated between a top layer and a bottom layer of the cargo transportation surface (see fig. 14A-14B, 15, 16, 17A-17B wherein tracking device is at a top and bottom of container asset; see para, 0132, wherein tracking devices are exposed on the exterior (layer) of the container assets but at least a portion of the tracking devices are positioned on the interior (layer) of the container assets; para. 0136, wherein tracking devices is exposed on a top side of the container and on the bottom side of the container asset; para. 0161, wherein tracking device may include elastic material placed between conductive layers placed on two opposing deck boards).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud discloses the materials discussed above.
However Volkerink do not expressly discloses that the cargo transportation surface is a corrugated pad.
Skaaksrud discloses a method, system and apparatus in the field of tracking items i.e. package for improved asset identification, and location services (see para. 0002-0008). Skaaksrud further discloses a node package which may be fixed to a part of the a package, and where the node of the node package may be part of the package or packaging materials e.g. integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box and the like and wherein the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside and wherein the ID node is embedded within a sheet of the packaging material (e.g. corrugated fiberboard) (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751), therefore a cargo surface being a corrugated pad language is met.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Skaaksrud to configure the system of Volkerink to choose the cargo transportation surface being a corrugated pad since this would have been the best engineering design choice for that system in particular and to offer a combination of low-weight, strength, durability and low cost material that would provide protective qualities to the assets.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Volkerink et al. US20220300892A1 (hereinafter Volkerink) in view of Skaaksrud US2015/0349917A1(hereinafter Skaaksrud ‘917) in further view of in view of Skaaksrud US 20160232489A1 (hereinafter Skaaksrud ‘489).
Regarding claim 21, Volkerink and Skaaksrud ‘917 discloses the materials discussed above with respect to claim 16. Volkerink further discloses data encryption (see para. 0062, wherein tape nodes are secure connections and where a tape node storage manager securely manages local data storge on the node by supporting various encryption mechanism).
Although Volkerink discloses secure connections on data management by encryption mechanism. However it does not expressly discloses that the message comprising the current geographic location of the tracking device (claim 16) is an encrypted message.
Skaaksrud ‘489 discloses a method and apparatus for asset management and tracking items i.e. an object, a package, a person, a piece of equipment (para. 0003-0004) and that a current location of the mobile master node is detected (para. 0013-0014, 0173-0174, 0340 ). Skaaksrud ‘489 further discloses that an intended delivery location for an item may be received by a node processing unit via an encrypted/secure exchange (para. 0535, 0543) and further discloses that the intended delivery location is a location of a mobile user access device operative to function as a master node associated with a recipient for the item and establishing a validation connection such as a secure validation connection that may involve encrypted and secure communications (para. 0552) and that the intended delivery location may be encrypted or otherwise provided via a secure connection to help protect the integrity and security of such information (para. 0552)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, given the teachings of Volkerink as modified by Skaaksrud ‘917 of supporting various encryption mechanism (see para. 0062) and the teachings of Skaaksrud ‘489 of encrypting the intended delivery location for an item (0535, 0543, 0552, 0558) to encrypt the message comprising the current geographic location of the tracking device for the benefit of securing communications and data management and to secure connection to help protect the integrity and security of such information (Skaaksrud ‘489, para. 0552).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the arguments regarding claim 16 under 102 rejection, these arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection addressing the amendments to the claims.
With respect to applicant arguments regarding rejections made to claims 1 and 22 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, applicant argues that Skaaksrud fails to teach or suggest the these claim features of “a housing comprising a processor communicatively coupled to the at least one force sensor, wherein the housing is configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a corrugated material and configured to position the at least one force sensor to detect a change in force at an upper side of the corrugated material” of claims 1 and 22 because (1) the "node" in Skaaksrud that is integrated into Skaaksrud's corrugated fiberboard box of a "node package" does not include anything that could be understood as the claimed "force sensor," and (2) the "node" in Skaaksrud that has a pressure sensor resides at the bottom of a package receptacle and cannot be said to be "configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a corrugated material" as claimed. (see last paragraph of page 8 through line 4 on page 9 of the remarks). Applicant further submits that nowhere does Skaaksrud teach or suggest a node that includes a “force sensor”, integrated into a corrugated material as claimed and that any combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud would , like Skaaksrud itself fail to disclose “a housing… communicatively coupled to at least one force sensor wherein the housing is configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a cargo transportation surface” as recited in independent claim 1” (see second paragraph on page 9 of the remarks).
Applicant submits that Skaaksrud does not disclose or suggest that the weight sensor at the bottom of its package receptable is "configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a cargo transportation surface" as recited in independent claim 1. Rather, Skaaksrud's weight sensor is integrated into its package receptable, and Skaaksrud includes no teaching or suggestion that its package receptacle includes any corrugated material with flutes that its weight sensor resides within. Thus, Skaaksrud' s weight sensor does not "at least partially reside within at least one flute of a cargo transportation surface" as recited in independent claim 1 (see last paragraph of page 9 through line 6 on page 10 of the remarks). Applicant further submits that any combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud even if proper which is not conceded, would fail to teach or suggest all the features of independent claim 1 and 22 (see second paragraph on page 10 of the remarks).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response, the Examiner disagrees and submits that applicant have misconstrued the rejections under 35 USC 103 on outstanding office action. The Examiner submits that Skaaksrud is relied upon as disclosing a corrugated material and that Volkerink was relied upon as disclosing the features of a housing comprising a processor communicatively coupled to the at least one force sensor (see para. 0070, 0124, 0165, wherein tracking system may be inside the pallet between stringers on between deck boards to protect the tape node, wherein the structure of the pallet or asset may act as a barrier against hostile conditions for the tape; see para. 0045, wherein the “tape node” is equipped with a sensor, and processor; para. 0050 wherein the components of the adhesive tape platform are encapsulated within a flexible adhesive structure that protects the components from damage), wherein the housing is configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a material (see fig. 12, 13A-13C, para. 0124-126, wherein tracking device 1120 is shown looped around a center stringer of the container asset such that the electronic components are oriented outward along the tracking device, and wherein tracking device is shown on top of the deck boards of the container asset) and wherein the housing is configured to position the at least one force sensor to detect a change in force at an upper side of a surface (see para. 0124-0125, 0160, 0162, wherein a force sensor is disclosed measuring the weight of an object placed on top of the tracking device used to track the container asset, therefore the change in force is implied).
Skaaksrud was brought into the combination as disclosing a corrugated material. Skaaksrud disclose a method, system and apparatus in the field of tracking items i.e. package for improved asset identification, and location services (see para. 0002-0008). Skaaksrud further discloses a node package which may be fixed to a part of the a package, and where the node of the node package may be part of the package or packaging materials and wherein the packaging materials is integrated as part of a pallet, a corrugated fiberboard box or the like where the sensor can reside and wherein the ID node is embedded within a sheet of the packaging material (e.g. corrugated fiberboard), where the sensor can reside (see para. 0529-0530, 0653, 0656, 0751), therefore a cargo surface being a corrugated material pad language is met.
Volkerink discloses the container asset can be a carton, however it does not teaches that the container is of a corrugated material and that the housing is configured to at least partially reside within at least one flute of a corrugated material (emphasis added), wherein the processor is configured to, based on the at least one force sensor detecting the change of force at the upper side of the corrugated material, (emphasis added).
Although Volkerink do not expressly disclose the material being a corrugated material, it is noted that it is not discredited or excluded the use of any other possible material (i.e. corrugated material). Therefore, choosing a particular material (i.e. corrugated material) would have been a matter of engineering design choice for that system in particular.
It is noted that the original disclosure of the invention does not indicates the criticality as of why the material should be a corrugated material for the intended use claimed, and furthermore, the specification does not indicate that the combination of elements as claimed will provide an unexpected result. Finally present application does not provide a reasoning or any information in which the combination of the present limitations would provide unexpected result in detecting the loading/unloading that the combination of the prior art Volkerink and Skaaksrud would provide as well.
For the sake of arguments presented with respect to amended claim 16, similar reasoning applies with respect to the newly added limitations (i.e. corrugated material) rejected above over Volkerink and Skaaksrud.
The limitation i.e. “corrugated material”, was previously rejected in claim 1 over Volkerink and Skaaksrud as discussed in the outstanding office action mailed on 11/06/2026. The amendments to claim 16 includes similar limitations found in the same prior art (Volkerink and Skaaksrud) and have been now treated on the merits.
Therefore, the combination of Volkerink and Skaaksrud disclose the claimed elements of independent claims 1, 16 and 22 as discussed with respect to 35 USC 103 rejections above.
With respect to claims 2-15, 18, 21 and 23-26 applicant have presented similar arguments to those for their respective independent claims 1, 16 and 22 and submits that these claims are allowable at least by virtue of their dependence form an allowable base claim. In response the examiner disagrees for similar reasons discussed above with respect to their respective independent claims 1, 16 and 22.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YARITZA H. PEREZ BERMUDEZ/
Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857