DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 and 21-23 are pending in the application. Claims 1 and 13 have been amended, claims 18-20 have been canceled, and claims 21-23 have been added.
The amendment filed 07/13/26 overcomes objections to claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/13/26, with respect to 35 USC 103 rejection applied to claim(s) 13 have been considered. Although claim 13 has been amended to recite new limitations, these limitations are substantially similar to the limitations that have been recited in claim 14. Therefore, previous prior art, i.e., Zhang and Amthor still teaches the newly amended limitations. See below detailed rejections.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 2nd line “process” should be “processor”. Claim 21 (page 6 of 11) 2nd line from bottom “the extracted image” has no antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 20240256597 A1), in view of Amthor et al. (US 20250102788 A1, hereafter Amthor).
As per claim 13, Zhang teaches a method (Abstract), comprising:
accessing an image (FIG. 1A #102 “INPUT”, #104 “FIRST DATA STRUCTURE” and #108 “IMAGE”; FIG. 2 #200; para. [0021] “The data repository (100) stores an input (102). The input (102) is data in the form of a data structure that serves as input to one or more machine learning models. In particular, the 102 is one or more images, one or more texts, or both, that will be used to select images of interest using an index”; Therefore there are 3 choices for the input: text, or image, or both. Note Zhang further discloses a method for building an INDEX (FIG. 1A #112), which is a second data structure (#114) with which the first data structure compares, the INDEX including pre-determined image #118. Therefore either the image in the input or the pre-determined image associated with the INDEX can be interpreted as the recited image. Since Zhang uses similar algorithms to generate the embedding of INPUT and build the INDEX, in the following the citation may come from either path or both.);
activating a multi-modal 142), the natural language MLM (144), and the image processing MLM (146) (FIG. 1A). At least the combination of the natural language MLM and the image processing MLM can be regarded as a multi-modal language model. Zhang further discloses that image features may encoded by a vision portion of the CLIP model, and the CLIP model may return text features encoded by a language portion of the CLIP model (para. [0082]). That says Zhang trains and applies a CLIP (Contrastive Language-Image Pre-training) as the multi-modal language model. (para. [0067]; FIG. 1B)),
generating a first image description that the multi-modal 302 includes outputting, by the image processing machine learning model, an image vector that represents the images”; FIG. 4A #400);
accessing text that describes the image (Zhang FIG. 1A #116 PRE-DETERMINED TEXT; para. [0030] “In particular, with respect to the index (112), the pre-determined text (116) has known relationships to the pre-determined images (118). In other words, each pre-determined image in the pre-determined images (118) is related to one or more instances of pre-determined text (118) that describes the corresponding pre-determined image (118)”);
activating the multi-modal
generating a second image description based on the activated multi-modal 416) is the corpus. The corpus is provided as input to a KeyBERT natural language processing (NLP) machine learning model at step (420). The output of the NLP machine learning model is a series of keywords (422)”); and
activating the multi-modal language model using the first image description and the second image description as inputs to compare the first image description and the second image description, and generate an image description based on the comparison (Zhang para. [0022] “The input (102) may take the form of a first data structure (104). The first data structure (104) is a vector. A vector is a type of data structure that a machine learning model may take as input when a processor executes the machine learning model. A vector may take form of a matrix …”; para. [0027] “For example, the first data structure (104) may be an M by N matrix, where each instance of text is a feature that is described by rows of the matrix, and each instance of an image is a feature that is described by columns of the matrix. Thus, each cell in the matrix is a pair of values, such as “I,” representing the value of the corresponding image feature, and “T,” representing the value of the corresponding text feature. In this specific example, the relationship between I and T in the cell is not defined explicitly”; para. [0028] “Nevertheless, it is possible that the explicit relationship between a given image and a given text is stored in the first data structure (104). For example, each cell of the M by N matrix described above may include a third entry describing a degree of match. In yet another alternative, the matrix may be a M by N by O matrix, where the third dimension of “O” values define the relationships between the images in row M and the texts in column N”. That says the model compares the first image description (image feature) and the second image description (text feature), and generate a composite vector (matrix) comprising the image feature, the text feature and the relationship between them).
Zhang teaches every limitation recited in claim 13 except that the multi-modal language model is a transformer-based Large Language Model (LLM).
Amthor in an analogous field discloses a method for retrieving a microscope image from a database by means of a large language model (para. [0125]). A textual input describing a desired microscope image is received for loading or retrieving a microscope (para. [0126]). The textual input is input into the large language model, which is trained to calculate desired microscope image properties from the textual input. A microscope image is subsequently loaded from a database that contains microscope images as a function of the desired microscope image properties (para. [0127]). In particular, the large language model can comprise a text encoder for mapping the microscope image features to a point in the feature space, and an image encoder for mapping the microscope images into the feature space. Both encoders can be transformer-based (para. [0130]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Zhang to incorporate the teaching of Amthor to use transformer-based multi-modal Large Language Model (LLM) for feature embedding and image retrieval. The motivation for applying a transformer-based LLM is that a transformer comprises attention blocks (self-attention blocks for transformer encoders) which respectively process an input sequence as a whole and not sequentially, a feature enables faster processing through parallel computation as recognized by Amthor (para. [0009]).
As per claim 14, dependent upon claim 13, Zhang in view of Amthor teaches generating the image description comprises:
activating the multi-modal transformer-based LLM based on an input instruction to compare the first image description and the second image description (See below); and
generating the image description as an output of the activated multi-modal transformer-based LLM based on the instruction to compare the first image description and the second image description
(Zhang para. [0022] “The input (102) may take the form of a first data structure (104). The first data structure (104) is a vector. A vector is a type of data structure that a machine learning model may take as input when a processor executes the machine learning model. A vector may take form of a matrix …”; para. [0027] “For example, the first data structure (104) may be an M by N matrix, where each instance of text is a feature that is described by rows of the matrix, and each instance of an image is a feature that is described by columns of the matrix. Thus, each cell in the matrix is a pair of values, such as “I,” representing the value of the corresponding image feature, and “T,” representing the value of the corresponding text feature. In this specific example, the relationship between I and T in the cell is not defined explicitly”; para. [0028] “Nevertheless, it is possible that the explicit relationship between a given image and a given text is stored in the first data structure (104). For example, each cell of the M by N matrix described above may include a third entry describing a degree of match. In yet another alternative, the matrix may be a M by N by O matrix, where the third dimension of “O” values define the relationships between the images in row M and the texts in column N”. That says the model compares the first image description (image feature) and the second image description (text feature), and generate a composite vector (matrix) comprising the image feature, the text feature and the relationship between them).
As per claim 15, dependent upon claim 13, Zhang in view of Amthor teaches method further comprising:
generating, based on the image description, a vector for the image (Zhang para. [0022] “The input (102) may take the form of a first data structure (104). The first data structure (104) is a vector”; para. [0029] “The second data structure (114) may have a similar structure as the first data structure (104)”; para. [0024] “The image (106), the text (108), or both, may be represented as a vector, as described above with respect to the first data structure (104)”; para. [0048] “the image processing MLM (146) may embed an image as a vector”); and
storing the vector in a semantically searchable image database to make the image semantically searchable in the semantically searchable image database based on the image description (Zhang FIG. 1A #118 PRE-DETERMIEND IMAGES; para. [0047]; para. [0093] “The nearest neighbor model indexes the image embeddings (i.e., the image vector) so that the images may be searched more easily. The function of the nearest neighbor machine learning model is to act as a search algorithm so that relevant results of images may be returned quickly, relative to other search techniques. Thus, the output of the execution of the nearest neighbor machine learning model is the index”; FIG. 4B #428, 430, 432 showing retrieved images).
As per claim 16, dependent upon claim 15, Zhang in view of Amthor teaches the method further comprising:
accessing an input query comprising an input image (Zhang FIG. 4C showing the input includes a text input #434 and an image input #436; para. [0021] “The data repository (100) stores an input (102). The input (102) is data in the form of a data structure that serves as input to one or more machine learning models. In particular, the 102 is one or more images, one or more texts, or both, that will be used to select images of interest using an index”; Therefore the input has 3 choices: text, or image, or both);
determining a description of the input image (Zhang FIG. 1A #108, #110; para. [0027]);
generating an input vector based on the description of the input image (Zhang FIG. 1A shows “INPUT” #102 being a first data structure #104, including image (106), which is a digital image that represents at least a portion of the input (102), and text (108), which is one or more keywords (including a phrase) that represent at least a portion of the input (102). The image (106), the text (108), or both, may be represented as a vector, as described above with respect to the first data structure (104) (para. [0024]). “The first data structure (104) also describes first relationships (110) among the image (106) and the text (108). The first relationships (110) take the form of data that describes how the image (106) and the text (108) are related” (para. [0026]). “For example, the first data structure (104) may be an M by N matrix, where each instance of text is a feature that is described by rows of the matrix, and each instance of an image is a feature that is described by columns of the matrix. Thus, each cell in the matrix is a pair of values, such as “I,” representing the value of the corresponding image feature, and “T,” representing the value of the corresponding text feature. In this specific example, the relationship between I and T in the cell is not defined explicitly. However, because every image feature in the matrix is associated with every text feature in the matrix, the matrix can still be used to identify the relationships of texts to images when compared to another matrix that also relates texts to images” (para. [0027]). Therefore, the input comprises an image input, and there is an associated text description. The image feature, the text feature and the relationship can be embedded into a vector (matrix)); and
identifying one or more semantically similar images in the semantically searchable image database based on semantic similarity between the input vector and a plurality of vectors in the semantically searchable image database, wherein each of the plurality of vectors corresponds to a respective image that was previously vectorized for semantic search (Zhang FIG. 1A #122 being retrieved matching images; FIG. 2 #204; para. [0081] Step 204 includes comparing the first data structure to an index including a second data structure that defines second relationships among pre-determined texts and pre-determined images. The first and second data structures may be compared by a number of different techniques”; para. [0096] “Using the index includes converting a raw input to a first data structure that defines relationships among input images and input texts. The resulting data structure is compared to the index. Then, a subset of the images is returned. The subset is those images of the images that correspond to first entries in the index which satisfy a matching criterion when compared to second entries in the index”).
As per claim 17, dependent upon claim 15, Zhang in view of Amthor teaches the method further comprising:
accessing an input query comprising an input text (Zhang FIG. 4B #416, #418);
generating an input vector based on the input text (Zhang FIG. 4B #420; para. [0102] “Step 420 also includes embedding the keywords using a CLIP machine learning model. The output of the CLIP machine learning model is a vector which may be compared to the index (414) shown in FIG. 4A”); and
identifying one or more semantically similar images in the semantically searchable image database based on semantic similarity between the input vector and a plurality of vectors in the semantically searchable image database, wherein each of the plurality of vectors corresponds to a respective image that was previously vectorized for semantic search (Zhang FIG. 4B #428, #430 and #432 being retrieved images; para. [0047]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 and 21-23 are allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for identification of allowable subject matter.
Claim 1 recites a system comprising one or more processors to:
identify an image in an electronic document and identify a location of the extracted image in the electronic document;
recognize text in the image based on optical character recognition and store the recognized text in association with the image and the location of the image in the electronic document;
execute one or more document layout models to extract: an image header in the electronic document that labels the image, a figure description that provides descriptive context about the image, and document text that from the electronic document in a location other than the location of the image in the electronic document;
activate a multi-modal transformer-based Large Language Model (LLM), using the document text as an input to the multi-modal transformer-based LLM, to identify relevant text, from among the document text, that the multi-modal transformer-based LLM deems to be descriptive of the image;
generate an image description based on the image, the location, the image header, the figure description, and the relevant text; and
generate a vector for the image that is semantically searchable based on the image description.
The following prior art is considered related to the subject matter recited in claim 1.
Wells et al. (US 20240221411 A1) discloses a document evaluator comprising one or more of an OCR engine and one or more of an object detection engine (FIG. 3). When an image of a document is input into the document evaluator, the OCR engine detects text and textual characters, and the object detection engine detects other objects including holograms, seals, watermarks, laser perforations, etc. These objects includes images, such as the facial image 510 and ghost image 520 in FIG. 5. Bounding boxes associated with detected objects are generated and information describing the bounding boxes is derived (FIG. 6-7 showing bounding boxes for detected objects; FIG. 8 showing location information with respect to the bounding boxes; para. [0072], [0075], [0077]-[0078]).
Walker et al. (US 20120240039 A1) teaches using a layout model to extract layout information in a document image. The layout model segments the document image into various areas, such as paragraphs of words, photo or image captions, headers, headlines and title, tags or identifiers in charts or graphs, etc. (para. [0115]). The model then determinists a layout of the document (e.g., a positioning of each of the areas relative to one another and relative to any areas which do not include text, such as images, graphs, charts, etc.) and/or any aesthetic or layout characteristics of each area (e.g., font size, font style, font color, line numbering, line spacing, etc.) (FIG. 4; para. [0115]).
Zhang (US 20240256597 A1) discloses a multi-modal language model for generating image description based on an image and associated text (FIG. 1A, 4A; para. [0026]-[0029]).
Amthor et al. (US 20250102788 A1) discloses a transformer-based large language model (LLM) which comprises a text encoder for mapping image features to a point in the feature space, and an image encoder for mapping the images into the feature space (para. [0130]).
Either Wells, or Walker, or Zhang, or Amthor, or the combination, fails to disclose the limitations recited in claim 1. Claims 2-12 contain allowable subject matter by virtue of the dependency on claim 1.
Independent medium claim 21 recites similar limitations as recited in claim 1 and therefore is allowed for similar reasons.
Conclusion
Prior art searched but not cited is recorded in PTO-892.
Additional prior art Wilson et al. (US 20240419724 A1) discloses systems and methods to manage and search data generated during operation of a vehicle such as camera data generated by cameras. In an example, a system can obtain data associated with an input representing a query, extract an embedding representing one or more semantic elements, and compare the embedding to one or more predetermined embeddings. The system can select at least one predetermined embedding based on a degree of similarity between the predetermined embedding and the embedding extracted from the query. In examples, the data associated with an image corresponding to the predetermined embedding that was selected can be provided or included in a training dataset. See Abstract, FIG. 6, para. [0103-0114].
Contact
/XUEMEI G CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661