DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 2-13 are currently pending with claim 1 being previously cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 2, 6 and 10 recite “tracking an object within a range”. Applicant’s disclosure teaches an “imaging range” (see, ¶0016) of an imaging apparatus and an “object trackable range” (see, ¶0018). Paragraph [0018] further teaches the “object trackable range” being substantially expanded corresponding to controlling a zoom factor, a direction, a position, or the like of an imaging apparatus (i.e., an imaging range of the imaging apparatus). It is unclear if the claimed “range” is an imaging range of the imaging apparatus or an “object trackable range”. The dependent claims fail to correct the issue and are subsequently rejected based on their dependency upon the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 4-6, 8-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mentese et al. (US 20160171330 A1, hereinafter Mentese).
Concerning claims 2, 6, and 10, Mentese teaches a camera controlling apparatus comprising:
at least one memory storing instructions (¶0121); and
at least one processor (¶0121) configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising:
tracking an object within a range, wherein a size of the range is variable in a frame captured by a camera (fig. 4: any one of boundaries one, two, three, or four; ¶0068: tracking a target object within one or more boundary limitations in a frame); and
controlling the camera to pan or tilt to display the object at a center of the frame (¶0009; ¶0068: keeping the subject target towards the center of the user's camera frame), in response to detecting the object at a predetermined position within the range, wherein the predetermined position is more distant from a center of the range as the size of the range gets larger (¶0068: Parameters used to set one or more boundary limitations on the target object allow for more aggressive correction depending on how from the center the object is detected. Each boundary edge corresponds to a predetermined position and the predetermined position is more distant from the center as the boundary gets larger).
Concerning claims 4, 8, and 12, Mentese further teaches wherein the object includes a vehicle (¶0008: another car).
Concerning claims 5, 9, and 13, Mentese further teaches wherein the object includes a person (¶0008: person).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mentese et al. (US 20160171330 A1) in view of Iyer et al. (US 20200082555 A1, hereinafter Iyer).
Concerning claims 3, 7, and 11, Mentese teaches the limitations of claims 1, 6, and 10. Not explicitly taught is wherein the operations further comprise adjusting the size of the range based on an allocatable size of a resource for image processing.
Iyer, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches identifying an increase in the level of utilization of the resource and reducing the size of each of the one or more ROIs (regions of interest) (¶0013). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Iyer into the Mentese invention in order to avoid reaching a maximum resource utilization level (Iyer, ¶0013).
Conclusion
/James M Anderson II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425