DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election in the reply filed on February 27, 2026 is acknowledged. The Examiner agrees that all of the claims read on the elected species, and are therefore all considered in the present Office Action.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 16 each recite “a compound planetary gearset.” The phrase “compound planetary gearset” has multiple general definitions. US 2024/0167562 uses this term for two planetary gearsets that share a common carrier. US 2011/0231043 uses the term “compound planetary gear mechanism” to refer to two planetary gearsets that share a common/permanently interconnected ring gear. US 4,682,511 uses the term “compound planetary” to mean two planetary gear assemblies having common elements. US 2,944,441 defines a “compound planetary gear system as one having two power input members or elements. Compound planetary gearset has also been used to mean a planetary gearset with two sets of intermeshing planet gears, which is consistent with the disclosure. Paragraph [0061] uses the term “star” in relation to the compound planetary gearset, which is also consistent with the double planet gear definition. The issue with clarity revolves around whether the present definition is confined to a planetary gearset with one sun, one ring, and two planet gears, or instead can be broader including complex planetary gearsets with any intermeshing planet gears. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets this phrase consistent with the specification as meaning a planetary gearset with one sun gear, one ring gear, and two sets of intermeshing planet gears where one set meshes with the sun gear and the other set meshes with the ring gear.
Claim 2 recites “a sun gear” of the simple planetary gearset twice and “a carrier” of the compound planetary gearset twice. It is unclear if the second occurrences are intended to refer to the same sun gear/carrier previously recited.
Claim 4 recites “the output member rotates in the same direction as the input member.” It is unclear whether this condition must be satisfied under all gear ratios/modes or only one of the gear ratios/modes. For purposes of examination, and consistent with the elected embodiment, this is interpreted as being true under all modes/gear ratios.
Claim 9 recites “the coupling mechanism” and it is unclear to which of the three coupling mechanism this refers. In addition, claim 9 recites “wherein: the coupling mechanism connects the input member to the output member through at least one combination of components selected from the group consisting essentially of a ring gear of the simple planetary gearset with a planet carrier of the simple planetary gearset, the ring gear of the simple planetary gearset with a ring gear of the compound planetary gearset, the ring gear of the compound planetary gearset with a planet carrier the compound planetary gearset, a sun gear of the compound planetary gearset with the planet carrier the compound planetary gearset, the sun gear of the compound planetary gearset with the ring gear of the compound planetary gearset, a sun gear of the simple planetary gearset with the ring gear of the compound planetary gearset, or the sun gear of the simple planetary gearset with a planet carrier of the simple planetary gearset.” It is unclear if this means that the torque travels through the combination of elements or if the two components listed in each option must be integrally connected to rotate as one.
Claim 16 recites “the second coupling mechanism connects at least two of the rotatable components to connect the input member to the output member where in the output member rotates at the same speed and in the same direction as the input member” where the two rotatable components are of the compound planetary gearset. It is unclear if this means that the input and output rotate together always or are capable of operating together under some conditions/modes. For purposes of examination, this is interpreted as being always rotating at the same speed and direction when the second coupling mechanism is engaged. To provide compact prosecution, it is noted that US 5,692,988 discloses all of the features of claim 16 where under the condition that the second coupling mechanism CL3 in combination with either of CL1 or CL2 are engaged, the feature where the input and output rotations are the same speed and direction. However, this is not present when CL1 and CL2 are both disengaged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ramsel (US 3,347,113).
Claim 1
Ramsel discloses a power transmission system comprising:
a simple planetary gearset (32p);
a compound planetary gearset (34p);
a first coupling mechanism (32c) associated with the simple planetary gearset (32p); and
a second coupling mechanism (34c) associated with the compound planetary gearset (34p) wherein the first coupling mechanism (32c) selectively couples a component (176) of the simple planetary gearset to ground, and the second coupling mechanism (34c) selectively couples a component (182) of the compound planetary gearset to ground.
The term “compound planetary gearset” is interpreted consistent with the specification to mean a planetary gearset with one than one set of planet gears intermeshing with one another, one meshing with a ring gear and the other meshing with a sun gear. The term “simple planetary gearset” is interpreted consistent with the disclosure and general definition as a planetary gearset with only one sun gear, one ring gear, and one set of planet gears that each mesh with both the sun and ring gears.
Claim 2
Ramsel discloses wherein:
the simple planetary gearset (32p) includes a sun gear (150), a planet gear (164), a ring gear (176), and a planet carrier (portion of 168 holding 164), wherein the planet gear (164), ring gear (176), and sun gear (150) mesh;
the compound planetary gearset (34p) includes a sun gear (152), inner planet gears (180), outer planet gears (166), a ring gear (182), and a planet carrier (portion of 168 holding 166) supporting both the inner planet gears and the outer planet gears, wherein the sun gear (152) and inner planet gears (180) mesh, the ring gear (182) and outer planet gears (166) mesh, and the inner and outer planet gears (180, 166) mesh;
an input member (136) connected to [the] sun gear (150) of the simple planetary gearset; and
an output member (output shaft portion of 168) connected to [the] planetary carrier (portion of 168 at 166) of the compound planetary gearset.
Claim 9
Ramsel discloses wherein:
the simple planetary gearset (32p) includes a plurality of rotatable components (150, 164, 176);
the compound planetary gearset (34p) includes a plurality of rotatable components (152, 180, 166, 182); and
a third coupling mechanism (clutch between 136 and 160, which also is between 150 and 176) acts between at least two (176 and 150) of the rotatable components to connect an input member (136) to an output member (shaft portion of 168) wherein the output member rotates at the same speed and in the same direction as the input member.
Claim 10
Ramsel discloses wherein: the coupling mechanism (clutch between 136 and 160, which also is between (a) sun gears 150 and 152, and (b) the ring 176 and carrier 168) connects the input member to the output member through at least one combination of a sun gear of the compound planetary gearset with the planet carrier the compound planetary gearset.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Torii et al. (US 2020/0278011; hereinafter “Torii”).
Claim 1
Torii discloses a power transmission system comprising (FIG. 8):
a simple planetary gearset (26);
a compound planetary gearset (27);
a first coupling mechanism (B1 and/or F) associated with the simple planetary gearset (26); and
a second coupling mechanism (B2) associated with the compound planetary gearset (27) wherein the first coupling mechanism (B1 and/or F) selectively couples a component (26r) of the simple planetary gearset to ground, and the second coupling mechanism (B2) selectively couples a component (27c) of the compound planetary gearset to ground.
The term “compound planetary gearset” is interpreted consistent with the specification to mean a planetary gearset with one than one set of planet gears intermeshing with one another, one meshing with a ring gear and the other meshing with a sun gear. The term “simple planetary gearset” is interpreted consistent with the disclosure and general definition as a planetary gearset with only one sun gear, one ring gear, and one set of planet gears that each mesh with both the sun and ring gears.
Claim 6
Torii discloses wherein: the system operates in a first gear (B1 is engaged and/or F is operating in the engaged direction) when the first coupling mechanism (F and/or B1) connects a ring gear (26r) of the simple planetary gearset to ground; and the system operates in a second gear (B2 engaged) when the second coupling mechanism (B2) connects a planet carrier (27c) of the compound planetary gearset to ground (see FIG. 8).
Claim 11
Tori discloses a transmission comprising (see FIG. 6):
an input member (shaft of 11) capable of being rotated in a first direction and a second direction;
an output member (3 or 3a) capable of being rotated in the first direction and the second direction;
a simple planetary gearset (26) connected to the input member (shaft of 11);
a compound planetary gearset (27) connected to the input member (3 or 3a);
a first coupling mechanism (B1 and/or F) associated with the simple planetary gearset (26); and
a second coupling mechanism (B2) associated with the compound planetary gearset (27) wherein the first coupling mechanism (32c) couples a component (26r) of the simple planetary gearset to ground, and the second coupling mechanism (B2) couples a component (27c) of the compound planetary gearset to ground,
wherein the output member always rotates in the same direction as the input member (reverse is only achieved by reverse input from the motor).
The term “compound planetary gearset” is interpreted consistent with the specification to mean a planetary gearset with one than one set of planet gears intermeshing with one another, one meshing with a ring gear and the other meshing with a sun gear. The term “simple planetary gearset” is interpreted consistent with the disclosure and general definition as a planetary gearset with only one sun gear, one ring gear, and one set of planet gears that each mesh with both the sun and ring gears.
Claim 12
Tori discloses wherein: the first coupling mechanism (B1 and/or F) connects a ring gear (26r) of the simple planetary gearset to ground; and the second coupling mechanism (B2) connects a planet carrier (27c) of the compound planetary gearset to ground (see FIG. 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7, 8, 13-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With reference to claim 3, the prior art does not disclose the combination of features including “wherein: the first coupling mechanism includes a passive one-way clutch; and the second coupling mechanism includes a selectable one-way clutch.” In the prior art, the combination of the passive and selectable one-way clutches is not disclose with a transmission that includes both a simple and a compound planetary gearset as recited.
With reference to claim 4, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious the combination of features as recited including “wherein: the input member rotates in a first direction and a second direction; the output member rotates in the first direction and the second direction; and the output member [always] rotates in the same direction as the input member.”
With reference to claim 13, the prior art does not disclose the combination of features including “wherein: the first coupling mechanism includes a first one-way clutch associated with the first direction of rotation and a second one-way clutch associated with the second direction of rotation; and the second coupling mechanism includes a first one-way clutch associated with the first direction of rotation and a second one-way clutch associated with the second direction of rotation.” In the prior art, the combination of the one-way clutch and dual direction selective one-way clutch is not disclose with a transmission that includes both a simple and a compound planetary gearset as recited.
With reference to claim 14, the prior art does not disclose the combination of features including “wherein: the first coupling mechanism includes a passive one-way clutch; and the second coupling mechanism includes a selectable one-way clutch.”
With reference to claim 15, the prior art does not disclose the combination of features including “a third coupling mechanism that connects the input member to the output member wherein the output member rotates at the same speed and in the same direction as the input member.”
Claims 16-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
With reference to claim 16, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious a compound planetary gear, a first coupling mechanism connects a component of the compound gearset to a stationary member wherein when connected the output member always rotates in the same direction as the input member; and the second coupling mechanism connects at least two of the rotatable components to connect the input member to the output member wherein when the second coupling mechanism is connected the output member always rotates at the same speed and in the same direction as the input member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5,692,988 discloses compound and simple planetary gearsets, multiple brakes, a one-way clutch and a lockup clutch. US 5,853,345 discloses compound and simple planetary gearsets, multiple brakes, and lockup clutches.
/STACEY A FLUHART/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655