Status of Claims
Applicant’s submission filed 7/11/25 has been entered. Claims 1-12 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/11/25 and 6/10/26 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claims disclose the abstract idea of storing a value on a distributed ledger and later recalculate that value based on extra information attached to it.
STEP 1
Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
The claims are all directed to a statutory category (e.g., a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). The answer is YES.
STEP 2A. Prong 1
Exemplary claim 1 recites the following abstract concepts that are found to include “abstract idea”:
“storing, into a distributed ledger, transaction data indicating first value information that indicates a first value and to which attribute information of the first value is linked;
reading the first value information indicated in the transaction data stored in the distributed ledger;
performing a calculation process of calculating second value information indicating a second value, by performing, for the first value information that has been read, an operation in which the attribute information linked to the first value information is factored; and
outputting the second value information calculated in the calculation process..”
The remaining limitations are no more than computer elements (i.e., an information processing system, a ledger processor, one or more computers ) to be used as a tool to perform this abstract idea. (see claims 11, 12)
The recited limitations cover a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers subject matter viewed as a certain method of organizing human activity with the additional recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “by an information processing system” language, “storing reading, calculating” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually storing transaction data, reading a first value from the stored data, calculating a second value based on information from the first value..
The practice of storing reading, calculating” is a commercial or legal interaction long prevalent in our system of commerce. The claims recite the idea of performing various conceptual steps generically resulting in the output of a second value information. As determined earlier, none of these steps recites specific technological implementation details, but instead get to this result by receiving, selecting and determining data. Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea, specifically a certain method of organizing human activity. Alternately, this is an example of organizing and manipulating information through mathematical correlations (Digitech).
STEP 2A, Prong 2
Are there additional elements or a combination of elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception?
The claims recite that an information processing system,( or a ledger processor, or one or more computers) is used to perform the storing, reading and calculating steps.
The c information processing system ( or a ledger processor, or one or more computers) in the steps is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing data (storing, reading, calculating, by a computer system, transaction data). This generic processor limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
STEP 2B
The next issue is whether the claims provide an inventive concept because the additional elements recited in the claims provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception. Taking the claim elements separately, the function performed by the information processing system at each step of the process is purely conventional. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer/processor to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of Applicants' claims add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. The claimed invention does not focus on an improvement in computers as tools, but rather certain independently abstract ideas that use computers as tools. {Elec. Power, 830 F.3d at 1354). (Step 2B: NO).
There is no indication that indication that information processing system ( or a ledger processor, or one or more computers) is anything other than a generic, off-the-shelf computer component, and the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs. Court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Independent claims 11, 12 recite similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same rationale.
The dependent claims when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. The claims provide minimal technical structure or components for further consideration either individually or as ordered combinations with the independent claims. As such, additional recited limitations in the dependent claims only refine the identified abstract idea further. Further refinement of an abstract idea does not convert an abstract idea into something concrete.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOBAYASHI (WO 2020138512 A1).
Re-claim 1, KOBAYASHI teaches --An information processing method that is performed by an information processing system, the information processing method comprising:
storing, into a distributed ledger, transaction data indicating first value information that indicates a first value and to which attribute information of the first value is linked;
(see e.g. As shown in FIG. 2, for these tokens, first, a power trading token is issued according to the amount of generated power and a power generation method, and the power that can be sold is used as a power trading token equivalent to that power as a token trading platform. It is stored in the electricity trading token pool of and is traded through these token pools. -----As shown in FIG. 15, the power transaction token is associated with origin information such as the amount of power, the power generation method, the power generation location, and the power generation time when the power is generated, and further, as additional information, from the power transaction token. Related token information such as derived environmental value tokens, transaction history including transfer history due to buying and selling, etc. are also associated and held. Each accumulated token can be traded as an independent virtual currency.
--- The information described in each of the various tokens and the history of issuance, sale, and cancellation of the token are stored in the distributed ledger system in an unalterable state through the blockchain interface service provided by the guarantee system 6.)
reading the first value information indicated in the transaction data stored in the distributed ledger;
(see e.g. KOBAYASHI ---The memory 403 and the storage device 401 are devices that store data in a recording medium and read the stored data according to a request from each device.
The token issuing unit 24a is a module that issues various coin tokens to the user in response to the user's request. ----In the present embodiment, the token issuing unit 24a issues the environmental value token based on the amount of CO .sub.2 reduction by the power generation method or the amount of self-consumption included in the performance data. ---CO .sub.2 reduction table data that lists the correspondence with the amount of CO .sub.2 that is stored is stored, and the CO .sub.2 reduction table data is referenced based on the amount of power generation included in the actual data, and the value of the environmental value token and Determine the quantity and issue the environmental value token of the determined price or quantity.
--The environmental value token pool in the database 21a is searched. Then, the token issuing unit 24a extracts the corresponding environmental value tokens, distributes the input donation amount by the amount of the corresponding environmental value tokens, and obtains the environmental value tokens corresponding to the distributed amount.
--The value or quantity of the environmental value token is determined with reference to the reduction table data, and the environmental value token having the determined value or quantity is issued. The issued environmental value token is stored in the environmental value token pool as owned by the power generator included in the actual data.)
performing a calculation process of calculating second value information indicating a second value, by performing, for the first value information that has been read, [an operation in which the attribute information linked to the first value information is factored]; and outputting the second value information calculated in the calculation process.
(see e.g. KOBAYASHI --- The environmental value token is a token that is calculated and issued according to the degree of contribution to the environment, such as the amount of power consumed for personal consumption and the amount of CO .sub.2 reduction.
--Next, the user system on the power selling side sends a token issuance request to the intermediary server (S104). On the side of the intermediary server 2 that receives this token issuance request (S202), it analyzes the power generation data, storage data, and power consumption data included in the received token issuance request (S203), and is involved in various power generation methods in the market. Market information such as the purchase price and sale price of electric power is collected (S204).
Then, the power transaction token is generated, and the environmental value token and the DR token are issued as necessary (S205 and S206). Specifically, the token issuing unit 24a issues the environmental value token based on the amount of CO .sub.2 reduction by the power generation method or the amount of self-consumption included in the performance data. For example, in step S206, if the power generation method included in the performance data is the reusable energy such as solar power generation or wind power generation, the token issuing unit 24a determines the CO based on the power generation amount included in the performance data. .sub.(2 ) The value or quantity of the environmental value token is determined with reference to the reduction table data, and the environmental value token having the determined value or quantity is issued. The issued environmental value token is stored in the environmental value token pool as owned by the power generator included in the actual data.
(see also ----- the environmental value token can be converted into renewable energy tokens that can be transferred and traded for the amount of the financial resources.)
Further, the token issuing unit 24a according to the present embodiment acquires the amount of donation, converts the amount of the environmental amount token corresponding to the acquired amount into a renewable energy token, and the converted amount.
---Converted to renewable energy tokens, the converted renewable energy tokens are issued as those of the original environmental value token owner, and the issued renewable energy tokens are renewable energy as owned by the user who is the original environmental value token owner. It is accumulated in the token pool.
Specifically, as illustrated in FIG. 10, the mediation server 2 uses a random number generator or the like to generate a secret key SK3 associated with a public address unique to the token trading platform by a public key cryptosystem. -----The type of digital signature algorithm to be used is not limited to the elliptic curve DSA, and may be appropriately selected according to the embodiment.
The state in which electricity is stored according to the type of electricity with a high degree of contribution is extracted, and the amount of electricity and time zone are calculated to evaluate the value.)
*****The Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the attribute information linked to the first value information is factored into the calculation of the second value since KOBAYASHI teaches the environmental value token is issued based on the amount of CO .sub.2 reduction by the power generation method.
Re-claim 4, KOBAYASHI teaches -The information processing method according to claim 2, wherein
wherein the first value information is owned by a user, and
(see e.g. KOBAYASHI --- The issued environmental value token is stored in the environmental value token pool as owned by the user who consumed it at home included in the performance data.
the information processing method further comprises:
performing a transfer process of transferring the second value information calculated in the calculation process from a manager to the user.
(see e.g. KOBAYASHI --- Transfer the ownership by changing the owner of each right.
--The data updating unit 64d transfers the ownership of the token by acquiring the power information related to various tokens, adding the public address regarding the new token owner, and changing the token owner certified by the distributed ledger.
--The token transfer unit 24c is a module that controls transfer of tokens by rewriting the ownership of each token. In this embodiment, a blockchain interface service is used for this rewriting. The transfer of this token is performed based on a transfer request that directs the transfer. The transfer request is, for example, data input from the power transaction execution unit 25 when the token transaction is completed in the power transaction execution unit 25 or the like or directly input from the power control terminal 40 by an operation by each user. Includes the types of tokens that are subject to, account information regarding the transfer source and transfer destination, and the quantity thereof.)
Re-claim 5, KOBAYASHI teaches --The information processing method according to claim 4,wherein
the transfer process further includes: a process of storing, into the distributed ledger, transaction data indicating transfer of the first value information from the user to the manager or transaction data indicating deletion of the first value information.
(see e.g. In particular, when the input transfer request is a request to transfer an electric power transaction token or an environmental value token, the token transfer unit 24c sends the requested electric power transaction token when the transfer request target is an electric power transaction token. When the target of the transfer request is the environmental value token that has been transferred, the environmental value token related to the request is deleted by the token canceling unit 24b, and the information regarding the transfer included in the transferred request related to the deleted environmental value token is generated as the transfer history. It has a function. The transfer history relating to this canceled environmental value token is irrevocably recorded in the blockchain, which is a guarantee system, via the token trading platform.)
Re-claim 6, KOBAYASHI teaches --The information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the first value includes an environmental value of power generation from renewable energy, and the first value information includes an amount of electric power obtained by the power generation.
(see e.g. KOBAYASHI --- Further, the token issuing unit 24a according to the present embodiment acquires the amount of donation, converts the amount of the environmental amount token corresponding to the acquired amount into a renewable energy token, and the converted amount. It also functions as a renewable energy token issuing unit that erases the environmental value token of. Specifically, the amount of money such as a donation and the power generation method to be donated are input as search conditions to the token issuing unit 24a, and the environmental value token of the power generation method corresponding to this search condition is token-managed. The environmental value token pool in the database 21a is searched. Then, the token issuing unit 24a extracts the corresponding environmental value tokens, distributes the input donation amount by the amount of the corresponding environmental value tokens, and obtains the environmental value tokens corresponding to the distributed amount. Converted to renewable energy tokens, the converted renewable energy tokens are issued as those of the original environmental value token owner, and the issued renewable energy tokens are renewable energy as owned by the user who is the original environmental value token owner. It is accumulated in the token pool.)
Re-claim 9, KOBAYASHI teaches --The information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the first value information is a virtual currency or a token managed using the distributed ledger, and the second value information is legal tender or is a virtual currency or a token different from the virtual currency or the token that is the first value information.
(see e.g. KOBAYASHI -- On the other hand, each token accumulated in each token pool can be traded as an independent virtual currency with an aggregator, PPS, consumer, company or other trading market through a blockchain interface service. Also in this case, various tokens can be redeemed for cash, sold to another person, and can receive the consideration, and if the token is a power transaction token, it is linked to the power transaction token. It is possible to receive power from a power supply source.
---Further, in step S206, the token issuing unit 24a acquires the amount of donation, converts the amount corresponding to the acquired amount of the environmental value token into a renewable energy token that can be traded, and converts the environment of the converted amount.)
-- This renewable energy token can be permanently traded as a virtual currency having a value equivalent to the financial resources such as distributed donations. The value of this renewable energy token varies depending on the supply and demand balance of the buying and selling transactions on the token trading platform.)
Claims 11 and 12 recite similar limitations as claim 1 and are therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 2, 3, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOBAYASHI (WO 2020138512 A1), in further view of Mitchell et al. (US 20210192627 A1).
Re-claims 2, 3, KOBAYASHI does not teach the limitations as claimed.
However, Mitchell et al. teach --The information processing method according to claim 1, wherein --the attribute information includes a date and time of generation of the first value,
(see e.g. [0078] In some examples, observations collector 204 may be configured to parse weather observations data 202, to identify one or more elements of weather observation data 202 that may be useful for generating segmented weather data 218. In some examples, observations collector 204 may generate one or more identifiers for the identified elements of the (parsed) weather observations data 202. In some examples, the identifier(s) may include an observation date, a time as to when the weather observation was observed and/or a time-stamp indicating when a particular value/set of values was received.)
--in the calculating of the second value information, the second value information is calculated using a calculation algorithm for calculating the second value information by using, as input, a current date and time and the date and time of generation included in the attribute information linked to the first value information that has been read.
[Claim 3] The information processing method according to claim 2, wherein in the calculating of the second value information, the second value information indicating the second value that decreases with time since the date and time of generation included in the attribute information linked to the first value information that has been read is calculated.
(see e.g. [0314] In some examples, time series server 1204 may include one or more payout algorithms (not shown) for applying one or more price elements to an IS weather index (e.g., for converting IS weather index value(s) (determined by instrument-specific degree day algorithm(s) 1210) to at least one currency value. For example, the payout algorithm(s) may determine at least one price element to apply to the IS weather index value depending on a final settlement value for the IS weather index with respect to at least one predetermined time period (e.g., a day, a week, a month, a season, a year, etc.). The final settlement value is described further below. As one example, each IS weather index value over and under the final settlement price may be assigned a respective predefined price element. As another example, IS weather index values may be assigned to one or more tiers with respect to the final settlement value (e.g., a range of values within a first tier may be assigned a first price element (e.g., X dollars), a range of values in a second tier may be assigned a second price element (e.g., Y dollars), and the like). In some examples, the price element(s) that may be assigned may include an increasing (or decreasing) currency value as the IS weather index value increases over or under the final settlement value. In some examples, the currency value may increase (or decrease) according to a linear relationship, a non-linear relationship and/or an exponential relationship. In general, the payout algorithm(s) may include any suitable price element(s) for converting IS weather index value(s) to currency value(s).
claim 7-- The information processing method according to claim 6, wherein the attribute information includes a date and time of power generation when the power generation occurs, and in the calculating of the second value information, the second value information indicating the second value that decreases with time since the date and time of power generation included in the attribute information linked to the first value information that has been read is calculated.
(see e.g. [0314].
Furthermore, Mitchell et al. teach [0422] Component (Comp.) 2 represents a natural gas displacement from wind generation. Component 2 is a function of wind speed that may utilize a sigmoid curve, together with predefined wind weight and wind sigmoid flatness for each location (shown in Table 13). FIG. 14 is an example graph of wind power as a function of wind speed, according to an aspect of the present disclosure. In general, power generation from windmills grows in the shape of an S curve as wind speed grows from 0 to about 12 m/s. The wind weight may be derived from wind generation capacity in different regions and scaled to represent the amount of natural gas generation that can be displaced by wind in different regions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fuentes et al KOBAYASHI, and include the steps cited above, as taught by Mitchell et al., in order to determine at least one price element to apply to the IS weather index value depending on a final settlement value for the IS weather index with respect to at least one predetermined time period (see e.g. [0314]); and also to depict how weather forecasts (e.g., changing weather perceptions and/or anomalistic weather) may move commodity prices, in real-time. (see e.g. [0278]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOBAYASHI (WO 2020138512 A1), in further view of KOZAKURA (WO 2022249439 A1).
Re-claim 10, although KOBAYASHI teaches a contract
(see e.g. KOBAYASHI --- Contract data generation unit 25b.
The mediation server further includes a contract data generation unit that generates contract data for setting transfer of ownership of the power transaction token based on the sale data and the purchase data,
The power according to claim 1, wherein the cooperation unit records at least a part of data regarding transfer of ownership of the power transaction token set in the contract data in cooperation with the guarantee system. Trading system.
KOZAKURA explicitly teaches -- The information processing method according to claim 1, wherein in the performing of the calculation process, the calculation process is performed according to a smart contract by using the distributed ledger.
(see e.g. – KOZAKURA--The smart contract 51 automatically executes transaction contracts using blockchain. For example, when the smart contract 51 receives a total data volume transaction record that associates the electricity retailer identifier and the request identifier, the smart contract 51 performs the following processing. The smart contract 51 acquires tokens corresponding to the electricity retailer identifier and the request identifier stored in the aggregate result information 522 . The smart contract 51 then calculates a keyed hash value of the signature of the aggregate result using the acquired token as a key. Smart contract 51 then compares the hash value attached to the aggregate result indicated in the transaction record with the calculated hash value. Then, the smart contract 51 stores the total data amount transaction record in the blockchain platform 52 if the result of the comparison is the same. That is, the smart contract 51 validates the aggregate result of the total data volume transaction record.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fuentes et al KOBAYASHI, and include the steps cited above, as taught by KOZAKURA, in order to automatically execute transaction contracts (see e.g. KOZAKURA).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KOBAYASHI (WO 2020138512 A1), in further view of Walker et al. (US 20220012757 A1).
Re-claim 8, KOBAYASHI teaches -- The information processing method according to claim 6, wherein the attribute information includes a power generation location where the power generation occurs and a consumption location where the electric power obtained by the power generation is consumed,
(see e.g. KOBAYASHI -- As shown in FIG. 15, the power transaction token is associated with origin information such as the amount of power, the power generation method, the power generation location, and the power generation time when the power is generated, and further, as additional information, from the power transaction token.
---The environmental value token is a token that is calculated and issued according to the degree of contribution to the environment, such as the amount of power consumed for personal consumption and the amount of CO .sub.2 reduction.
By accessing this mediation server 2 from the power control terminal 40, it is possible to use various token transaction services according to power generation/storage/power consumption in each facility or facility. )
KOBAYASHI does not teach the following limitations as claimed.
However, Walker et al. teach in the calculating of the second value information, the second value information indicating the second value that decreases with an increase in a separation distance is calculated, the separation distance being a distance between the power generation location and the consumption location included in the attribute information linked to the first value information that has been read.
(see e.g. [0035] Next, line loss calculation engine 259 obtains consumer location data 215 as well as the location of the power generator 105 providing power to the consumer 103. Power generator 105 location data 229 may be stored in the database 205 and may be retrieved from publicly available geographic information systems (“GIS”). In some embodiments, distribution grid data 233 may also be accessed through GIS. Line loss calculation engine 259 may also obtain GIS data of the distribution grid 233 to plot the distance of transmission lines from the power generator 105 to the consumer 103. From this distance, line loss calculation engine 259, calculates approximate power loss from the generator 105 to the consumer 103 due to line loss. Final reduction value module 237 uses line loss value as a multiplier to calculate a final, refined reduction in KwH used by the device 111a-h. CO.sub.2 conversion engine 273 then obtains this final reduction value and converts it from KwH to a CO.sub.2 reduction value in kg based upon power generator fuel type data 231 associated with the power generator 105 related to the consumer 103.
[0036] Upon calculation of the final CO.sub.2 reduction value, the ACRAS 101 then calls aggregation engine 261 which sums the individual values final CO.sub.2 reduction value data 221 resulting in an aggregate CO.sub.2 value and this data 223 is also stored in the database 207.
[0053] For the case in which the ACRAS 101 generates an aggregated token 501, a distributed ledger 601 may be created by the ACRAS 101 for transacting the token 501 via a blockchain.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Fuentes et al KOBAYASHI, and include the steps cited above, as taught by Walker et al. , in order to calculate approximate power loss from the generator 105 to the consumer 103 due to line loss. (see e.g. [0035]).
Conclusion
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
July 28, 2026