DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazzucchelli (US 9,504,598) in view of Lepinoy (US 5,009,318) and further in view of Baker (US 2011/0139668).
17: Mazzucchelli teaches an article for packing an object (article 1 for packing an unclaimed object 100), comprising: a retaining element (retaining element comprising 20 and 40), including an air valve (valve 43); and wherein the retaining element includes a plurality of sections (section formed by 33, each section separated by 32, Figure 1b) including internally separated interior chambers (chambers within 33 and 32); wherein the internally separated interior chambers include a plurality of packing materials (beads/filler particles in the form of beads 31); wherein the internally separated interior chambers limiting the gravitational flow of the plurality of microbeads within the internally separated interior chambers (walls 32, limits the flow of the packing materials 31); wherein the air valve (43) is operable to release air from within the retaining element (43 is capable of releasing air from within 40).
Mazzucchelli teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Mazzucchelli further teaches that the packing elements are filler particles but does not explicitly teach that the packaging elements are microbeads.
Lepinoy teaches beads/balls, which are granular filling material, that are the size of one to two millimeters, col. 5, ll. 20-27.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mazzucchelli such that the packing element filler particles are of a beads in the size of one to two millimeters in order to provide and permit sufficient gripping pressure on an object that is to be packaged.
Mazzucchelli-Lepinoy teaches the claimed invention as discussed above except the internally separated interior chambers include one or more welds.
Baker teaches welds (9, 10, 11, 12 and 13) forming dividing portions along Figure 9.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mazzucchelli-Lepinoy such that the teaching of the internally separated interior chambers include one or more welds were applied since welding to attach elements or forming dividers in sheets were commonly known in the art to form fill pockets, cushions or dividers, as taught by Baker (paragraph 0029).
18: Mazzucchelli-Lepinoy-Baker teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 17 except that the plurality of microbeads are formed of polystyrene, expanded polyethylene, and/or polylactic acid.
Lepinoy teaches that the filler material are polystyrene balls, col. 1, ll. 60-66.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mazzucchelli such that the teaching of the plurality of microbeads are formed of polystyrene, expanded polyethylene, and/or polylactic acid were applied in order to provide sufficient shock absorbing property and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazzucchelli (US 9,504,598) in view of Lepinoy (US 5,009,318) and further in view of Baker (US 2011/0139668) and Dickinson (US 7,106,202).
19: Mazzucchelli-Lepinoy-Baker teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 17 except the one or more welds are circular, hexagonal, and/or diamond-shaped.
Dickinson teaches that welds where panels 81 and 83 are secured are a matrix of spot welds, which are circular (see Figures 10 and 11, col. 9, ll. 58 – col. 10, ll. 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mazzucchelli-Lepinoy-Baker such that the teaching of the one or more welds are circular, hexagonal, and/or diamond-shaped were applied since spot welds are common means of welding in the art creating a circular weld spot and furthermore, a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazzucchelli (US 9,504,598) in view of Lepinoy (US 5,009,318) and further in view of Baker (US 2011/0139668) and Judy (US 8,859,913).
20: Mazzucchelli-Lepinoy-Baker teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 17 except he retaining element includes at least one heat shield layer and/or at least one Faraday-shielding layer.
Judy teaches a Faraday-shielding layer (110) made of metalized fabric (col. 5, ll. 65-67) in combination with a protective layer (108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mazzucchelli-Lepinoy-Baker such that the teaching of a Faraday-shielding layer connected to the flexible bag and the Faraday-shielding layer is a textile layer formed from one or more metal materials were applied in order to protect stored electronic devices from electromagnetic interference, radiofrequency interference, and any other wireless signals (generally referred to as EMI) that may interfere with, modify, or otherwise, compromise information stored, received, or transmitted by the stored electronic device, as taught by Judy, col. 5, ll. 3-18.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,117,263. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions are directed to An article for packing an object, comprising: an exterior container shell; at least one retaining element attached to at least one interior surface of the exterior container shell, wherein the at least one retaining element includes an interior chamber; a plurality of tubes attached to an interior surface of the interior chamber of the at least one retaining element; and a plurality of packaging elements within the plurality of tubes within the interior chamber of the at least one retaining element; wherein the at least one retaining element includes at least one valve configured to allow or restrict air flow into and out of the at least one retaining element; and wherein each of the plurality of tubes are substantially parallel; except that the ends of the plurality of tubes are welded shut.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior patent such that omission of the plurality of tubes are welded shut were omitted since omission of an element and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired, In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Conclusion
/King M Chu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735