DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1–20 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1–21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,373,869.
The doctrine of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting is a judicially created doctrine intended to prevent an unjustified or improper timewise extension of patent rights by preventing claims in a second patent/application that are not patentably distinct from claims in a first patent.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, the presently claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in U.S. Patent No. 12,373,869.
Claim 1 recites: a method comprising using at least one hardware processor to:
Patented claim 1 likewise recites “a method comprising using at least one hardware processor to.”
Claim 1 recites: receive a code associated with an item;
Patented claim 1 expressly recites “receive the code associated with the item.”
Indeed, patented claim 1 additionally requires scanning a code on an item in a store, making the patented claim narrower in this respect.
Claim 1 further recites: display on a user interface information related to the product, the list price of the product, and a mechanism to allow a user to make a counter offer;
Patented claim 1 recites substantially identically: “display on a user interface information related to the product, the list price of the product, and a mechanism to allow a user to make a counter offer.”
Claim 1 recites: receive an offer via the mechanism that is less than the list price, but greater than a minimum negotiation price;
Patented claim 1 expressly recites the same limitation and additionally requires that the mechanism comprise a slider feature, movement of which is correlated with a price, with one end corresponding to the list price and the other end corresponding to the minimum negotiation price.
Claim 1 further requires: display the offer via the user interface; communicate the offer to a proprietor; and display via the user interface whether the offer was accepted, rejected or countered.
Each of these limitations is expressly recited in patented claim 1.
Accordingly, patented claim 1 encompasses the entire negotiation process presently recited in Claim 1 while additionally specifying code scanning and a particular slider implementation.
The omission from Claim 1 of the patented claim's code-scanning and slider limitations merely broadens the presently claimed method and does not establish patentable distinctness.
Claim 1 is therefore not patentably distinct from patented claim 1.
Claim 2 requires, upon acceptance, indicating acceptance through the UI and accessing payment information to automatically complete the transaction.
Patented claim 2 recites substantially the identical limitation.
Accordingly, Claim 2 is not patentably distinct from patented claims 1–2.
Claim 3 requires indicating acceptance, requesting payment information, receiving payment information, and processing that information to complete the transaction.
Patented claim 3 recites substantially the identical limitation. Accordingly, Claim 3 is not patentably distinct from patented claims 1 and 3.
Claim 4 requires indicating acceptance through the UI and instructing the user to proceed to a point-of-sale to complete the transaction. Patented claim 4 recites substantially the identical limitation. Accordingly, Claim 4 is not patentably distinct from patented claims 1 and 4.
Claim 5 requires the counter-offer mechanism to comprise a slider displayed on the UI, detecting movement of the slider, and correlating the slider position with a price. These limitations are expressly incorporated into patented independent claim 1 itself.
Accordingly, Claim 5 merely separately claims subject matter already expressly included within patented claim 1. Claim 5 is therefore not patentably distinct from patented claim 1.
Claim 6 requires one end of the slider to correspond to the list price and the other end to the minimum negotiation price. This limitation also appears verbatim in substance in patented claim 1.
Accordingly, Claim 6 is not patentably distinct from patented claim 1.
Current independent claim 7 recites a system comprising:
at least one hardware processor; and one or more software modules configured to execute the claimed negotiation functionality.
Patented independent claim 8 recites the same processor/software-module architecture.
Both claims require: receiving a code associated with an item; displaying product information; displaying the product's list price; displaying a mechanism allowing a counter offer; receiving an offer below list price but above a minimum negotiation price; displaying the offer; communicating the offer to a proprietor; and displaying whether the offer was accepted, rejected, or countered.
Patented claim 8 additionally requires: scanning the code on the item in the store;
a slider mechanism; detecting movement of the slider; correlating slider position with price; and slider endpoints corresponding respectively to list price and minimum negotiation price.
Thus, the substantive limitations of Current independent claim 7 are already contained in patented independent claim 8.
The removal of the additional limitations from the presently claimed system does not render the subject matter patentably distinct. Accordingly, Claim 7 is not patentably distinct from patented claim 8.
Claim 8 recites automatic transaction completion using accessed payment information following acceptance.
Patented claim 9 recites substantially identical functionality. Claim 8 is therefore not patentably distinct from patented claims 8–9.
The payment-request, receipt, and processing limitations of Claim 9 correspond substantially identically to patented claim 10. Accordingly, Claim 9 is not patentably distinct.
The POS-completion limitation of Claim 10 corresponds substantially identically to patented claim 11. Accordingly, Claim 10 is not patentably distinct.
Claim 11 requires the slider feature, detecting slider movement, and correlating slider position to a price.
Those limitations are already expressly contained within patented independent claim 8.
Accordingly, Claim 11 is not patentably distinct from patented claim 8.
Claim 12 requires the slider endpoints to correspond respectively to the list price and minimum negotiation price.
Again, patented independent claim 8 expressly requires that very arrangement.
Accordingly, Claim 12 is not patentably distinct.
Claim 13 — Patented Claim 15
Claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing processor-executable instructions for: receiving the item code; displaying product information and list price; providing a counter-offer mechanism; receiving an offer between the minimum negotiation price and list price; displaying the offer; communicating the offer to the proprietor; and displaying whether the offer was accepted, rejected, or countered.
Patented independent claim 15 recites all of these limitations in substantially the same computer-readable-medium form.
Patented claim 15 additionally requires: scanning the code; using the slider feature;
detecting movement of the slider; correlating slider location with price; and defining the slider endpoints by the list and minimum negotiation prices.
Accordingly, the presently claimed subject matter is broader than, but not patentably distinct from, patented claim 15. Claim 13 is therefore not patentably distinct from patented claim 15.
Claim 14's automatic payment functionality corresponds substantially identically to patented claim 16.
Accordingly, Claim 14 is not patentably distinct.
Claim 15's requesting, receiving, and processing of payment information corresponds substantially identically to patented claim 17. Accordingly, Claim 15 is not patentably distinct.
Claim 16's instruction to proceed to a POS corresponds substantially identically to patented claim 18. Accordingly, Claim 16 is not patentably distinct.
Claim 17 recites the slider feature, movement detection, and correlation between slider position and price. Those limitations are already expressly incorporated into patented independent claim 15. Accordingly, Claim 17 is not patentably distinct.
Claim 18 requires one slider endpoint to correspond to the list price and the other endpoint to the minimum negotiation price. That limitation likewise appears expressly in patented independent claim 15. Accordingly, Claim 18 is not patentably distinct.
Claim 19 requires receiving: the list price, minimum negotiation price, and floor price for the item. Patented claim 19 expressly recites: “receive the list price, minimum negotiation price, and floor price for the item.” The limitations are substantively identical. Accordingly, Claim 19 is not patentably distinct from patented claims 15 and 19.
Claim 20 requires receiving a counter offer and displaying the counter offer through the user interface. Patented claim 20 expressly recites the same functionality. Accordingly, Claim 20 is not patentably distinct from patented claims 15 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without reciting additional elements sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claims 1, 7, and 13 respectively recite method, system, and non-transitory computer-readable-medium embodiments of substantially the same underlying subject matter. The dependent claims further limit the manner in which the commercial negotiation and resulting transaction are performed.
Step 1 — Statutory Categories
Independent claim 1 recites a method and therefore falls within the statutory category of a process. Independent claim 7 recites a system comprising at least one hardware processor and therefore falls within the statutory category of a machine.
Independent claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium having processor-executable instructions stored therein and therefore falls within the statutory category of a manufacture.
Accordingly, claims 1, 7, and 13 satisfy Step 1 of the subject-matter-eligibility analysis.
The claims are therefore analyzed under Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo framework.
STEP 2A — PRONG ONE
Claim 1 recites, in pertinent part: receiving a code associated with an item;
displaying information related to the product and the list price of the product;
providing a mechanism allowing a user to make a counter offer; receiving an offer less than the list price but greater than a minimum negotiation price; displaying the offer;
communicating the offer to a proprietor; and displaying whether the offer was accepted, rejected, or countered.
These limitations, considered under their broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the concept of negotiating a purchase price for an item between a prospective purchaser and a proprietor/seller.
Specifically, a seller offers an item at a list price, the prospective purchaser proposes a lower price, the proposed price is communicated to the seller, and the seller accepts, rejects, or counters the proposed price.
Such activity constitutes a certain method of organizing human activity, specifically a commercial interaction, including sales activities or behaviors and business relations.
The claimed price negotiation is a commercial activity that has conventionally been performed between buyers and sellers. For example, a customer may observe an offered price, propose a lower price, communicate that offer to the proprietor, and receive the proprietor's acceptance, rejection, or counteroffer.
Accordingly, claim 1 recites an abstract idea under the enumerated grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity.
The recitations of comparing the proposed offer with a list price and minimum negotiation price further involve evaluation of numerical/commercial information that may be performed through observation and judgment. Nevertheless, the rejection principally characterizes the claimed exception as the commercial interaction of negotiating a purchase price and conducting the resulting sale, rather than relying upon the mental-process grouping.
Accordingly, claim 1 recites a judicial exception.
Independent Claim 7
Claim 7 recites substantially the same price-negotiation process in system form.
The claimed software modules: receive an item code; display product and pricing information; permit a user to submit a counteroffer; receive an offer within the permitted negotiation range; display and communicate the offer to the proprietor; and display whether the proprietor accepted, rejected, or countered the offer.
Thus, claim 7 likewise recites the abstract commercial interaction of negotiating the sales price of a product between a prospective purchaser and seller. Merely reciting the commercial interaction as operations performed by software modules executed by a hardware processor does not remove the recited commercial interaction from the abstract-idea grouping.
Accordingly, claim 7 recites a judicial exception.
Independent Claim 13
Claim 13 recites substantially the same commercial negotiation operations as claim 1, but embodies those operations as processor-executable instructions stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
The underlying operations remain receiving item information, presenting an asking price, receiving a counteroffer, communicating the offer to the proprietor, and communicating the proprietor's acceptance, rejection, or counteroffer.
Accordingly, claim 13 likewise recites the abstract idea of conducting a commercial price negotiation and sales interaction between a purchaser and proprietor. Accordingly, claim 13 recites a judicial exception.
STEP 2A — PRONG TWO
These claims are next evaluated to determine whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application.
Claim 1 — Additional Elements
The additional elements beyond the abstract commercial negotiation include:
at least one hardware processor; receiving a code associated with an item; and
a user interface used to display information, receive the offer, and display the negotiation result.
The hardware processor merely performs the claimed commercial negotiation electronically. The user interface merely serves as the technological environment through which the commercial information is presented and received. The interface displays product information, prices, offers, and the proprietor's response and receives the customer's counteroffer.
The claim does not recite a particular improvement to display technology, computer-interface operation, processor operation, data-storage architecture, networking technology, barcode technology, or another technological field.
Likewise, receiving a code associated with the item merely obtains information identifying the subject of the commercial transaction. The claim does not recite an improvement in the manner in which codes are generated, encoded, detected, transmitted, decoded, or otherwise technologically processed.
The processor and user interface therefore operate merely as tools for implementing the underlying buyer-seller negotiation.
The claim does not affect a particular transformation of an article into a different state or thing, nor does the claim apply the exception with a particular machine that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Rather, the claim uses generic computer functionality to automate and communicate the underlying sales negotiation. Accordingly, the additional elements, individually and in combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 1 is therefore directed to the judicial exception.
Claim 7 — Additional Elements
Claim 7 additionally recites: at least one hardware processor; and one or more software modules executed by the hardware processor.
These components merely automate the commercial negotiation recited by the claim.
The software modules are defined principally according to the business functions they perform—receiving product information, presenting an asking price, receiving a counteroffer, communicating the offer, and presenting the proprietor's response.
The claim does not recite a specific improvement in computer architecture, software operation, network communication, data structures, display operation, or another technology.
Accordingly, the processor and software modules merely implement the judicial exception on a computer and do not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Claim 7 is therefore directed to the judicial exception.
Claim 13 — Additional Elements
Claim 13 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium containing instructions executed by a processor. The computer-readable medium merely stores instructions for implementing the underlying commercial negotiation process. The storage of instructions on a computer-readable medium does not, without more, provide a technological improvement or otherwise meaningfully limit the abstract commercial interaction.
Accordingly, claim 13 does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and is directed to the judicial exception.
DEPENDENT CLAIMS — STEP 2A
Claim 2 additionally recites that, when the offer is accepted, the system accesses payment information and automatically completes the transaction.
Completing payment after a seller accepts a negotiated offer constitutes a further part of the underlying commercial interaction. Accessing payment information merely constitutes obtaining information necessary to complete the commercial transaction.
Accordingly, claim 2 does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Claim 3 additionally requires: requesting payment information;
receiving payment information; and processing payment information to complete the transaction.
These limitations constitute conventional steps in completing a purchase following agreement upon a price and are themselves integral to the commercial interaction.
The claim does not specify an improvement to electronic-payment technology or payment-processing computer functionality. Accordingly, claim 3 remains directed to the abstract idea.
Claim 4 requires instructing the user to proceed to a point-of-sale to complete the transaction. This limitation merely communicates instructions concerning where the customer should complete the commercial transaction.
The instruction does not improve computer functionality or another technological field and does not meaningfully limit the judicial exception. Accordingly, claim 4 remains directed to the abstract idea.
Claim 5 further requires: a slider feature displayed on the user interface;
detecting movement of the slider; and correlating the slider position with a price based upon its location.
The slider is an additional user-interface element used to receive the purchaser's proposed price. Although the slider constitutes a particular graphical input mechanism, the claim employs the slider merely to permit the user to select the amount of the counteroffer underlying the abstract commercial negotiation.
The claim does not recite an improvement to graphical-user-interface technology itself, such as an improved display technique, reduced computer-resource consumption, improved input detection, improved computer accessibility, or a technical solution to a computer-interface problem.
Rather, movement of the slider represents the user's selection of a commercial value—namely, the amount the purchaser proposes to pay.
Correlating the slider position to a price similarly converts the user's interface selection into the monetary value used in the negotiation.
Accordingly, the slider merely provides a particular computerized mechanism for performing the abstract commercial negotiation and does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
Claim 6 specifies that one endpoint of the slider represents the list price and the other endpoint represents the minimum negotiation price. The limitation defines the commercial values represented by the interface rather than improving the functioning of the interface or computer itself. The slider visually represents the permissible range of prices within which the purchaser may negotiate. Accordingly, claim 6 merely limits the manner in which the abstract commercial information is presented and does not integrate the exception into a practical application.
SYSTEM CLAIMS 8–12
Claims 8–10 correspond substantially to method claims 2–4.
Claim 8 recites accessing payment information and automatically completing the transaction.
Claim 9 recites requesting, receiving, and processing payment information.
Claim 10 recites instructing the customer to proceed to a POS.
For substantially the reasons provided with respect to claims 2–4, these limitations merely further implement the underlying commercial transaction and do not provide a technological improvement or other meaningful integration of the abstract idea.
Claims 11–12 correspond substantially to claims 5–6 and recite the slider interface, slider movement-to-price correlation, and list-price/minimum-price endpoints.
For substantially the reasons discussed regarding claims 5–6, these limitations merely provide a graphical mechanism for selecting and displaying the monetary amount used in the abstract negotiation.
Accordingly, claims 8–12 do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
COMPUTER-READABLE-MEDIUM CLAIMS 14–20
Claims 14–16 substantially correspond to claims 2–4 and merely implement the post-acceptance payment or POS-completion alternatives through processor-executable instructions.
Claims 17–18 recite the slider feature and price-range endpoints corresponding to claims 5–6. For the reasons discussed above, these limitations merely implement or facilitate the underlying commercial negotiation and transaction using generic computer functionality.
Claim 19 further requires receiving: the list price; the minimum negotiation price; and the floor price for the item.
These limitations merely receive additional commercial pricing information used to conduct the negotiation.
The list price, minimum negotiation price, and floor price represent business information defining permissible commercial terms. Receiving such information does not improve the operation of the computer or another technology. Accordingly, claim 19 remains directed to the judicial exception.
Claim 20 further requires: receiving a counteroffer; and displaying the counteroffer through the user interface. Receiving and communicating a counteroffer is itself part of the abstract buyer-seller negotiation identified above. Using a user interface to display the counteroffer merely communicates the commercial information electronically.
Accordingly, claim 20 does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
STEP 2B — INVENTIVE CONCEPT / SIGNIFICANTLY MORE
Because claims 1–20 are directed to the identified judicial exception, the claims are evaluated under Step 2B to determine whether the additional elements, individually and as an ordered combination, amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The additional computer-related elements include: at least one hardware processor;
one or more software modules; a user interface; a non-transitory computer-readable medium;
receiving an item code; displaying information; receiving information; communicating information; accessing and processing payment information; and a slider graphical-interface control.
Considered individually, these elements merely perform computer functions used to implement the underlying commercial negotiation.
The processor executes instructions.
The computer-readable medium stores instructions.
The user interface receives and displays information.
The software modules cause the processor to execute the recited business operations.
The item code supplies information identifying the product involved in the transaction.
The slider receives the purchaser's selected monetary value.
The payment-processing limitations complete the commercial transaction once the negotiated offer has been accepted.
These claims do not recite a particular technological implementation that improves the operation of the processor, computer-readable medium, display, payment system, code-reading technology, or graphical user interface.
Considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements likewise merely automate the sequence ordinarily associated with the underlying commercial interaction: identifying a product; presenting the asking price; receiving a purchaser's proposed price; communicating the proposal to the seller; receiving the seller's acceptance, rejection, or counteroffer; and
where appropriate, completing payment for the agreed transaction.
The use of computer components to increase the speed, convenience, or automation with which this commercial negotiation is performed does not, without an additional technological improvement or meaningful limitation, transform the abstract commercial interaction into patent-eligible subject matter.
The slider limitations likewise do not provide an inventive concept because, as claimed, the slider merely constitutes the mechanism by which the purchaser specifies the amount of the counteroffer. The claim does not require the slider to solve a technological problem concerning graphical interfaces or computer operation.
Thus, the additional elements, considered individually and as an ordered combination, do not transform the nature of the claims into patent-eligible applications of the judicial exception.
Thus Under Step 2A, Prong One, independent claims 1, 7, and 13 recite the abstract idea of negotiating a sales price between a purchaser and proprietor and conducting the resulting commercial transaction, which constitutes a certain method of organizing human activity, particularly a commercial interaction involving sales activities or behaviors and business relations.
Under Step 2A, Prong Two, the recited hardware processor, software modules, user interface, computer-readable medium, item code, payment processing, and slider interface merely provide technological tools for carrying out the commercial negotiation. The claims do not recite an improvement to computer functionality or another technology or technical field and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Under Step 2B, the additional elements, whether considered individually or as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the identified judicial exception.
The dependent claims merely further define commercial payment procedures, point-of-sale completion, commercial pricing information, counteroffer communications, or graphical mechanisms for selecting a proposed price, and do not add limitations sufficient to confer eligibility.
Accordingly, claims 1–20 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joshi et al., US 2003/0023537 A1 (“Joshi”), in view of US 2008/0313092 A1 (“Lanham”), and further in view of LaRocca et al., US 2016/0358414 A1 (“LaRocca”).
Regarding claim 1, Joshi teaches a method implemented using a computerized interactive system for negotiating the purchase price of an item between a prospective buyer and a seller (¶¶[0006]-[0014], [0018]).
“receive a code associated with an item;” Joshi teaches storing and receiving information identifying and describing an item being offered for sale in a database, including an item description and other information relevant to the particular item (¶¶[0018]-[0019]).
However, Joshi does not expressly teach that the item-identifying information is received in the form of a “code associated with an item.”
This limitation is therefore identified below as a limitation not expressly disclosed by the primary reference.
“display on a user interface information related to the product, the list price of the product, and a mechanism to allow a user to make a counter offer;”
Joshi teaches that the seller enters information describing the goods or services offered and that the description is displayed to potential buyers through the interactive computer/Web interface (¶¶[0006]-[0008], [0018]-[0020]).
Joshi teaches displaying an ask price 12 to the bidder. The ask price constitutes the initial seller offer and the maximum/start price from which price negotiation begins (¶[0020]).
Joshi further teaches an interface through which the bidder submits a bid responsive to the displayed asking price (¶¶[0018], [0024]).
“receive an offer via the mechanism that is less than the list price, but greater than a minimum negotiation price;”
Joshi teaches that the bidder submits bid 22 through the interactive computer system and expressly states that bid 22 is generally lower than ask price 12 (¶[0024]).
Joshi further teaches reserve price 16, which is the minimum price the seller will accept and below which bids will never be accepted (¶[0021]).
Thus, Joshi teaches an asking/list price defining the upper starting point of negotiation and a seller-established minimum/reserve price defining the lower permissible acceptance boundary (¶¶[0007], [0020]-[0021], [0024]).
“display the offer via the user interface;”
Joshi teaches an interactive computer/Web interface through which the bidder enters bids and receives negotiation information, with the bidder interacting with the computer system through the interface during the negotiation process (¶¶[0018], [0024]).
“communicate the offer to a proprietor;”
Joshi teaches that the automated system negotiates on behalf of the seller, using seller-provided pricing information, and accepts bids or produces counterbids according to criteria specified by the seller (¶¶[0008]-[0014], [0024], [0028]).
“display via the user interface whether the offer was accepted, rejected or countered.”
Joshi teaches determining whether bid 22 is acceptable; if the bid satisfies the calculated acceptance price, the bid is accepted and negotiations terminate; if the bid is unacceptable, the system supplies a counterbid and allows the bidder to bid again (¶¶[0008], [0024], [0028]).
Thus, Joshi teaches displaying/communicating the outcome of the negotiation, including acceptance or counterbid, through the interactive system.
Joshi does not expressly disclose: receiving an item code, as distinguished from receiving item-identifying/descriptive information; physically communicating the offer to a human proprietor rather than having the computerized system act as the seller's proxy; the particular graphical slider subsequently recited by dependent claims 5–6; expressly displaying three separately selectable statuses of “accepted, rejected or countered”; or the particular POS-completion embodiment subsequently recited in claim 4.
Lanham teaches a computerized interactive bargaining arrangement permitting a prospective purchaser to negotiate with a seller concerning the purchase of an identified product.
Lanham teaches presenting product information and seller pricing information to the purchaser through a computerized user interface, receiving a purchaser-entered offer/counteroffer, comparing the purchaser's offer against seller-controlled pricing information including a seller-established low price, and providing an acceptance or counteroffer as appropriate (abstract, paragraphs [0008] – [0012]).
Lanham therefore reinforces Joshi's teaching that a computer interface can mediate a direct buyer/seller negotiation rather than merely conducting a conventional highest-bid auction.
The combination of Joshi and Lanham teaches the claimed commercial sequence of displaying an identified product and its seller price, receiving a lower purchaser offer bounded by seller pricing constraints, communicating/processing that offer for the seller, and communicating the seller/system response to the purchaser.
LaRocca further teaches a server-based exchange application communicating with a user interface and permitting buyer/seller counteroffer exchanges (abstract, paragraphs [0010] –[0012]).
LaRocca teaches that a user submits a first counteroffer within a defined range relative to an original listed price; the seller is notified of the counteroffer; and the seller may accept, decline, or counteroffer (abstract, paragraphs [0010] –[0012]).
LaRocca further teaches displaying subsequent counteroffers to the opposing party and continuing the negotiation until the parties accept or decline (abstract, paragraphs [0010] –[0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Joshi's computerized price-negotiation system according to the interactive bargaining teachings of Lanham and LaRocca. Joshi expressly seeks to provide an automated interactive environment in which a purchaser may haggle over the seller's asking price while remaining above the seller's minimum acceptable price. Lanham similarly addresses computerized interactive buyer/seller negotiation. LaRocca teaches a concrete interactive mechanism for notifying the seller of a buyer counteroffer and permitting the seller to accept, decline, or return a counteroffer.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to employ these known interactive negotiation techniques in Joshi's system to provide the purchaser and seller with explicit presentation of offers and responses and thereby facilitate the price-negotiation process already contemplated by Joshi.
The modification amounts to combining known interactive electronic-commerce techniques according to their established functions to obtain the predictable result of a computer-mediated negotiation in which the purchaser submits an offer below the asking price but within the seller-permitted range and receives an acceptance, rejection, or counteroffer.
Such combination represents the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions and would have been obvious under KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Accordingly, claim 1 is unpatentable over Joshi in view of Lanham and LaRocca.
Claim 2 further requires: when the offer is accepted, indicating acceptance via the user interface; and accessing payment information to automatically complete the transaction.
Joshi teaches that when bid 22 is determined acceptable, the system accepts the bid on behalf of the seller, negotiations terminate, the auction listing is removed, and the bidder is billed for the amount of bid 22 (¶[0028]).
Joshi additionally teaches that the system may include a registration system containing contact and payment information for sellers and bidders.
Thus, Joshi teaches maintaining/accessing bidder payment information and automatically billing the bidder when the negotiated offer is accepted.
LaRocca likewise teaches that upon acceptance, the transaction is processed by debiting the accepted amount from the purchaser's account and crediting the seller's account, followed by updating ownership.
Accordingly, claim 2 is unpatentable over Joshi in view of Lanham and LaRocca.
Claim 3 further requires indicating acceptance and: requesting payment information;
receiving payment information; and processing the payment information to complete the transaction.
Joshi teaches maintaining bidder registration and payment information and billing the bidder when an acceptable negotiated price is reached (¶[0028]).
LaRocca expressly teaches user accounts containing funding information and, upon acceptance, processing the transaction by debiting the buyer's account and crediting the seller's account.
It would have been obvious to request and receive payment information where such information had not previously been stored in the purchaser's account, rather than require pre-registration of the payment credentials.
Accordingly, claim 3 is unpatentable.
Claim 4 requires, following acceptance: indicating acceptance via the user interface; and instructing the user to go to a point-of-sale to complete the transaction.
Joshi teaches communicating acceptance through its interactive system and completing the transaction after acceptance (¶¶[0008], [0028]).
Claim 5 requires: the mechanism is a slider feature displayed on the user interface;
detecting movement of a slider; and correlating the slider position with a price based upon the location of the slider.
Joshi does not expressly teach a slider.
Lanham teaches a computerized input mechanism for entering a purchaser's proposed negotiated price but is not relied upon for the specific slider implementation (abstract, paragraphs [0008] – [0012]).
LaRocca expressly teaches a quick-bid process 1900 in which a bidder submits a first counteroffer within a predetermined price range.
In the disclosed example: the seller lists the item for $1,000; the bidder selects a Counter Offer button and a “sliding scale” appears; the sliding scale presents a range from $600 to $999; and the bidder uses the sliding scale to enter a first counteroffer of $600.
LaRocca further teaches generating additional sliding scales during subsequent counteroffer iterations (abstract, paragraphs [0010] –[0012]).
Thus, LaRocca expressly teaches using the position selected on a graphical sliding-scale mechanism to designate a monetary counteroffer.
It would have been obvious to substitute LaRocca's known graphical sliding-scale price selector for the bid-entry interface of Joshi because both perform the same function—allowing the purchaser to specify a proposed negotiated price—while LaRocca's slider restricts and visually communicates the permitted negotiation range.
Accordingly, claim 5 is unpatentable over Joshi in view of Lanham and LaRocca.
Claim 6 further requires: one end of the slider corresponds to a list price and the other to the minimum negotiation price.
Joshi teaches the two commercial boundaries: ask price 12, representing the maximum/starting negotiation price (¶[0020]); and
reserve price 16, representing the minimum price the seller will accept (¶[0021]).
LaRocca expressly teaches a bounded sliding scale extending from a defined minimum bid to an amount immediately below the original listed price. In its example, the item is listed at $1,000 and the sliding scale extends from $600—the defined minimum bid—to $999.
It would have been obvious to configure LaRocca's slider endpoints using Joshi's expressly disclosed maximum/list price and minimum/reserve price because those values already define the upper and lower boundaries of Joshi's permissible negotiation range.
Such arrangement merely represents the graphical display of Joshi's existing negotiation boundaries using LaRocca's known bounded sliding-scale mechanism.
Accordingly, claim 6 is unpatentable.
Claim 7 recites substantially the subject matter of claim 1 in system form and requires:
at least one hardware processor; and one or more software modules configured, when executed by the processor, to perform the claimed negotiation operations.
Joshi teaches an interactive computer system comprising software implementing an automated Web-based negotiation forum, a database containing seller-entered information, an interface for receiving bidder input, and a database engine that processes seller information and bidder offers to negotiate a price on behalf of the seller (¶¶[0006]-[0018]).
Joshi further teaches: receiving item information (¶¶[0019]-[0020]);
displaying item information and ask price (¶¶[0019]-[0020]);
providing a bidder interface (¶¶[0018], [0024]);
receiving an offer below ask price (¶[0024]);
maintaining a minimum/reserve price (¶[0021]);
determining whether the bid is acceptable (¶¶[0024], [0028]);
accepting an adequate offer (¶[0028]); and
providing a counterbid when negotiation continues (¶[0008]).
Joshi does not expressly teach: receiving the item identification specifically as a code;
the claimed graphical slider; expressly presenting all three seller responses—accepted, rejected, or countered as claimed interface states; or the specific POS handoff of dependent claim 10.
Lanham supplies further computerized buyer/seller bargaining and UI functionality.
LaRocca teaches a server processing device communicating with a user interface and a quick-bid system in which buyer and seller exchange counteroffers, receive notifications, and select acceptance, decline, or further counteroffer (abstract, paragraphs [0010] –[0012]).
It would have been obvious to implement Joshi's automated price-negotiation functions using the processor/software/user-interface architecture and interactive offer-response techniques known from Lanham and LaRocca.
Joshi expressly contemplates software operating through an interactive computer/Web system. The additional implementation merely employs conventional programmed processing components to carry out the same negotiation operations, while LaRocca's offer-response interface provides a predictable way to present the negotiation states to users.
The combination therefore constitutes the application of known computerized negotiation-interface techniques to Joshi's known automated negotiation system to obtain the predictable result of a processor-executed system allowing buyer/seller price negotiation. KSR.
Accordingly, claim 7 is unpatentable over Joshi in view of Lanham and LaRocca.
Claim 8: Joshi teaches storing payment information and automatically billing the bidder upon acceptance (¶[0028]); LaRocca teaches automatically debiting the purchaser's account and crediting the seller after acceptance. Claim 8 is therefore unpatentable.
Claim 9: Joshi teaches payment information associated with registered bidders and billing after acceptance (¶[0028]). LaRocca teaches account/funding information and processing the accepted transaction. Requesting payment information when it has not previously been stored would have been an obvious implementation alternative. Claim 9 is unpatentable.
Claim 10: For the reasons discussed for claim 4, the cited combination teaches communicating acceptance and completing the transaction but does not expressly disclose instructing the purchaser to go to a point-of-sale. A POS-specific tertiary/quaternary reference is preferable for this limitation.
Claim 11: LaRocca expressly teaches displaying a sliding scale and receiving a counteroffer amount selected through that scale. Combining that slider with Joshi's bid-entry mechanism would have been obvious for the reasons stated for claim 5.
Claim 12: Joshi teaches upper and lower negotiation boundaries—ask price 12 and reserve price 16 (¶¶[0020]-[0021])while LaRocca teaches a sliding scale extending from a minimum permissible bid to immediately below the listed price. Claim 12 is therefore unpatentable.
Claim 13 recites the negotiation operations of claim 1 in the form of: a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored therein which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the recited operations.
Joshi teaches an automated negotiation forum implemented in software used in an interactive computer system, preferably through a Web site (¶[0018]).
Joshi teaches the substantive claimed operations of displaying item information and an asking price, receiving buyer bids, maintaining seller-defined minimum pricing criteria, determining whether a bid is acceptable, accepting an adequate bid, and generating a counterbid when the bid is unacceptable (¶¶[0019]-[0021], [0024], [0028]).
Joshi does not expressly disclose: a non-transitory computer-readable medium in the precise claimed formulation; receiving the item identifier specifically as a code; the slider mechanism subsequently recited by claims 17–18; or the POS instruction subsequently recited by claim 16.
LaRocca expressly describes implementations using non-transitory computer-readable storage media having computer-executable instructions, together with a processor, server/database, exchange application, and user interface (abstract, paragraphs [0010] –[0012]).
LaRocca further teaches the negotiation-interface functions discussed above, including counteroffers, acceptance/decline states, and the bounded sliding-scale interface (abstract, paragraphs [0010] –[0012]).
It would have been obvious to store Joshi's expressly disclosed negotiation software as processor-executable instructions on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium as taught by LaRocca.
Joshi already expressly implements the negotiation system in software, and LaRocca teaches the conventional computer-readable-medium implementation of substantially analogous electronic exchange/negotiation functionality.
One of ordinary skill would therefore have recognized storage of Joshi's software instructions on LaRocca's non-transitory computer-readable medium as a predictable implementation of Joshi's expressly contemplated software-based system, without altering the underlying negotiation functionality.
The combination merely uses a known storage implementation to execute known computerized negotiation functionality according to its established purpose and therefore would have been obvious under KSR. Accordingly, claim 13 is unpatentable over Joshi in view of Lanham and LaRocca.
Claim 14: Joshi teaches payment information for registered bidders and billing upon acceptance (¶[0028]); LaRocca teaches debiting the purchaser and crediting the seller when an offer is accepted. Claim 14 is unpatentable.
Claim 15: Joshi teaches bidder payment information and post-acceptance billing (¶[0028]). LaRocca teaches funding/account information and automatic transaction processing. Requesting and receiving payment information where not already stored would have been an obvious alternative. Claim 15 is unpatentable.
Claim 16: The cited references teach electronic transaction completion but do not expressly teach the narrower instruction to go to a point-of-sale. A POS-specific reference should be added for a stronger rejection.
Claim 17: LaRocca teaches displaying a sliding scale through which the purchaser enters the monetary amount of a counteroffer. Incorporating this graphical input into Joshi's negotiation interface would have been obvious for the reasons stated for claim 5.
Claim 18: Joshi teaches ask and reserve prices defining the upper and lower negotiation boundaries (¶¶[0020]-[0021]), and LaRocca teaches a bounded counteroffer sliding scale extending between a defined minimum bid and the listed-price boundary. Claim 18 is therefore unpatentable.
Claim 19 further requires receiving: the list price; minimum negotiation price; and
floor price for the item.
Joshi expressly teaches receiving seller-entered pricing variables including: ask price 12, representing the initial/maximum negotiation price (¶[0020]);
reserve price 16, representing the minimum price at which the seller will sell the item (¶[0021]); and
a real price, representing an intermediate price between the ask price and reserve price that represents the price the seller would reasonably like to obtain and is used to calculate an aim price for evaluating bids.
Thus, Joshi expressly teaches receiving multiple seller pricing thresholds including an asking/list price, a minimum acceptable/reserve price, and an additional internal target/real price.
To the extent “floor price” is construed as distinct from Joshi's reserve/minimum price, maintaining an additional seller pricing threshold would have been an obvious variation of Joshi's expressly disclosed multiple-threshold pricing architecture.
Accordingly, claim 19 is unpatentable.
Claim 20 requires: receiving a counteroffer; and displaying the counteroffer via the user interface.
Joshi expressly teaches supplying counterbids during the computerized negotiation and allowing the buyer to respond with subsequent bids (¶¶[0008], [0014]).
LaRocca even more expressly teaches: the seller receiving notification of the purchaser's counteroffer; the seller submitting a further counteroffer; the purchaser being notified of the seller's counteroffer; and the purchaser viewing/responding to that counteroffer through the graphical user interface. Accordingly, claim 20 is unpatentable over Joshi in view of Lanham and LaRocca.
Conclusion
/ROKIB MASUD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627