DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant’s claim to foreign priority of PRO 62/898,472 on 9/10/2019 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The applicant filed an IDS on 8/13/25. It has been annotated and considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “patient platform” (Note: This is most likely the table 38, but an explicit connection needs to be made) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Furthermore, the number 105 is used to describe both the adjustable arm support in Fig. 12 and the links in Fig. 21. As they are not the same part, a distinction needs to be made.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp. The claims of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of US Patents 1235704, 11234780 and 11771510. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims in the instant application are encompassed by the claims of US Patents 11234780 and 11771510 as mapped below:
Instant Application 19267349
US Patent12357405
US Patent11234780
US Patent 11771510
1, 10, 15
1, 10, 15
1, 12
1, 11
2
2
1, 12
3
3
3
3
4, 11
4, 11
4
4
5, 12
5, 12
5
5
6, 13, 16
6, 13, 16
7, 18
7, 18
8, 14, 17
8, 14, 17
9, 19
9, 19
20
20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 1 (and similarly 2, 10 and 15), the term “link” seems to lack written description. As described and labeled in the specification, there is no “link” which connects both to the adjustable arm support and a patient platform. As best understood, the Applicant may be referring to a bar or rail connector 111 as this is attached to the column of the patient platform and the adjustable arm support; even so, the column of the patient platform is technically different than the patient platform.
If this bar or rail connector 111 is construed to be the link, the claim further lacks written description because it does not seem to translate in the longitudinal direction relative to the patient platform. The bar or rail connector 107 moves longitudinally, but it does not connect to the patient platform.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowlin et al. (US 2011/0264112 hereinafter Nowlin) in view of Mirbagheri et al. (US 20160374771 hereinafter Mirbagheri).
Regarding claim 1 (and similarly 10 and 15), Nowlin teaches a robotic medical system, comprising:
an adjustable arm support;
a link coupled to the adjustable arm support and a patient platform;
a robotic arm coupled to the adjustable arm support, wherein the robotic arm is configured to be coupled to a medical tool that is configured to be delivered through a patient supported by the patient platform; and
a processor configured to translate the adjustable arm support in the longitudinal direction relative to the patient platform while maintaining a remote center of movement (RCM) of the medical tool (See at least: Fig. 1B; [0048] via “The robotic systems will often comprise telerobotic, telesurgical, and/or telepresence systems that include processors configured as master-slave controllers. By providing robotic systems employing processors appropriately configured to move manipulator assemblies with articulated linkages having relatively large numbers of degrees of freedom, the motion of the linkages can be tailored for work through a minimally invasive access site. The large number of degrees of freedom may also allow a processor to position the manipulators so as to inhibit interference or collisions between these moving structures, and the like.”; [0062] via “In use, a patient P is supported by a table T adjacent one or more manipulator support bases 302. Base 302 is generally supported from above, and may be ceiling mounted, supported by a wall of a room in which surgical station 300 is disposed, mounted to a surgical table…”; [0063] via “Surgical station 300 typically includes a plurality of robotic manipulators 304, often having three or more robotic manipulators, with the exemplary embodiment including four robotic manipulators supported by base 302.”).
but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the link is configured to translate the adjustable arm support in a longitudinal direction relative to the patient platform.
However, Mirbagheri teaches wherein the link is configured to translate the adjustable arm support in a longitudinal direction relative to the patient platform (See at least: Figs. 1B-1D; [0047] via “an adjustable arm support coupled to the patient platform for translating relative to the patient platform.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Nowlin in view of Mirbagheri to teach wherein the link is configured to translate the adjustable arm support in a longitudinal direction relative to the patient platform so that the adjustable arm can be positioned to optimally place a surgical tool to perform a surgical procedure on a patient.
Regarding claim 2, Nowlin in view of Mirbagheri teaches wherein the link comprises a first end coupled to the adjustable arm support and a second end coupled to the patient platform (Refer at least to claim 2 for reasoning and rationale.)
Regarding claim 3, Nowlin teaches wherein the medical tool comprises an end effector that is inserted through an incision or natural orifice of the patient while maintaining the RCM (See at least: Fig. 1C).Regarding claim 4 (and similarly 11), Nowlin teaches wherein the processor is configured to translate the adjustable arm support in the longitudinal direction relative to the patient platform while maintaining a position of the end effector of the medical tool coupled to the robotic arm (Refer at least to claim 1 for reasoning and rationale.).
Regarding claim 5 (and similarly 12), Nowlin teaches wherein the processor is configured to translate the adjustable arm support in the longitudinal direction relative to the patient platform while the medical tool is teleoperatively controlled by a clinician (See at least: [0016] via “FIG. 1A is a perspective view illustrating a master surgeon console or workstation for inputting surgical procedure commands, the console including a processor for generating manipulator command signals in response to the input commands.”).
Regarding claim 6 (and similarly 13 and 16), Nowlin fails to teach a second adjustable arm support and a second link, wherein the second link is coupled to the second adjustable arm support and the patient platform, wherein the second link is configured to translate the second adjustable arm support in the longitudinal direction relative to the patient platform.
However, Mirbagheri teaches teach a second adjustable arm support and a second link (See at least: Figs. 1B-1D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Nowlin in view of Mirbagheri to teach a second adjustable arm support and a second link, wherein the second link is coupled to the second adjustable arm support and the patient platform, wherein the second link is configured to translate the second adjustable arm support in the longitudinal direction relative to the patient platform so that multiple adjustable arms can be positioned to optimally place a surgical tool to perform a surgical procedure on a patient to complete tasks needing more than one tool to accomplish.
Regarding claim 7 (and similarly 18), Nowlin in view of Mirbagheri teaches a second robotic arm coupled to the second adjustable arm support (Refer at least to claim 6 for reasoning and rationale.)
Regarding claim 8 (and similarly 14 and 17), wherein the adjustable arm support is configured to translate in the longitudinal direction relative to a first side of the patient platform, and wherein the second adjustable arm support is configured to translate in the longitudinal direction relative to a second side of the patient platform, wherein the second side is opposite to the first side (Refer at least to claim 6 for reasoning and rationale.) Regarding claim 9 (and similarly 19), further comprising a second robotic arm coupled to the adjustable arm support (Refer at least to claim 6 for reasoning and rationale.)
Regarding claim 20, Nowlin teaches wherein the medical tool comprises an instrument or a camera (See at least: Figs. 1C and 3).
Conclusion
/HARRY Y OH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657