DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This office action is in response to Applicant's communications received on July 11, 2025. Claims 1-17 are pending, have been examined and currently stand rejected.
Priority
This application is a continuation-in-part of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/367,307, filed September 12, 2023. See MPEP §201.07. In accordance with MPEP §609.02 A.2 and MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), the Examiner has/will review and consider the prior art cited in the Parent Application(s). Also, in accordance with MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), all documents cited or considered ‘of record’ in the Parent Application(s) are now considered cited or ‘of record’ in this application. Additionally, Applicant(s) are reminded that a listing of the information cited or ‘of record’ in the Parent Application(s) need not be resubmitted in this application unless Applicant(s) desire the information to be printed on a patent issuing from this application. See MPEP §609.02 A.2.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on July 11, 2025, are acceptable.
Examiner Note
Claim 13, which is similar to claim 6, and claim 15, which is similar to claim 9, are currently dependent upon claim 11. While there is nothing wrong with these chains of dependency, it is unclear whether it was intentional to have these claims be dependent upon claim 11 or if they should be dependent upon independent claim 12.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 10, 15 and 17 are objected to for the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the blockchain ledger” as in “including retrieving and accessing the digitized receipt on the blockchain ledger.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As best understood, this limitation should recite “a blockchain ledger.”
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the blockchain ledger” as in “including viewing all digitized receipts on the blockchain ledger.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As best understood, this limitation should recite “a blockchain ledger.”
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the blockchain ledger” as in “including retrieving and accessing the digitized receipt on the blockchain ledger.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As best understood, this limitation should recite “a blockchain ledger.”
Claim 17 recites, in part, “allowing a predetermined attempts of capturing the QR code with a buyer's mobile device before expiring.” As best understood, “attempts” should be amended to recite “attempt” (as it does in claim 11, which recites a substantially similar limitation).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrido et al. (GB 2506421 A) (“Garrido”) in view of Shturma et al. (US 2022/0012975 A1) (“Shturma”).
Regarding Claim 1: Garrido discloses a method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt in a timed allotment comprising the steps of:
generating a Quick Response code for a receipt at point of purchase, the Quick Response Code having an embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator for a specific transaction (See at least Garrido p. 4 line 29 – p. 5 line 2; p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 17 lines 16-25; p. 19 lines 1-10; Fig. 4 step 320. Garrido discloses generating a Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) for a receipt (i.e., an electronic receipt) at point of purchase (i.e., at a terminal, e.g., a point of sale terminal), the Quick Response Code having an embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator (i.e., a link) for a specific transaction.);
presenting the Quick Response code on a point of purchase display (See at least Garrido p. 2 lines 24-26; p. 9 lines 22-30; p. 16 lines 1-4; p. 19 lines 8-10. Garrido discloses presenting the Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) on a point of purchase display (i.e., on a terminal display, e.g., on a point of sale terminal display).);
capturing the Quick Response code containing the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator on a buyer's mobile device (See at least Garrido p. 16 lines 1-4; p. 16 lines 12-14; p. 17 lines 31-33; p. 18 lines 1-10; Fig. 3 step 220.);
decoding the Quick Response code containing the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator using a software on the buyer's mobile device (See at least Garrido p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 18 lines 1-10; Fig. 3 step 230. Garrido discloses decoding (i.e., decoding/extracting) the Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) containing the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator (i.e., containing the link) using a software on the buyer's mobile device (i.e., on the mobile terminal of the customer).);
the embedded Uniform Response Locator is tokenized (See at least Garrido p. 4 line 29 – p. 5 line 2; p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 19 lines 1-6; Fig. 4 step 320. Garrido discloses where the Uniform Response Locator (i.e., link) is tokenized (i.e., included in a QR code).);
retrieving the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator on the buyer's mobile device software (See at least Garrido p. 4 line 29 – p. 5 line 2; p. 5 lines 21-22; p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 12 lines 6-11; p. 16 lines 12-14; p. 18 lines 1-10; Fig. 3; Garrido Claim 14. Garrido discloses retrieving the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator (i.e., the link in the QR code) on the buyer's mobile device software (i.e., application/software on the mobile terminal, e.g., on the mobile terminal of the customer).); and
accessing a digitized receipt from the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator of the specific transaction (See at least Garrido p. 4 line 29 – p. 5 line 2; p. 5 lines 21-22; p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 12 lines 6-11; p. 16 lines 12-14; p. 18 lines 1-10; Fig. 3; Garrido Claim 14. Garrido discloses accessing (i.e., acquiring/obtaining) a digitized receipt (i.e., an electronic receipt) from the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator (i.e., from the link in the QR code) of the specific transaction.).
As indicated above, Garrido discloses presenting the Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) on a point of purchase display (i.e., on a terminal display, e.g., on a point of sale terminal display). Garrido p. 2 lines 24-26; p. 9 lines 22-30; p. 16 lines 1-4; p. 19 lines 8-10. Garrido also discloses where the Uniform Response Locator (i.e., link) is tokenized (i.e., included in a QR code). Garrido p. 4 line 29 – p. 5 line 2; p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 19 lines 1-6; Fig. 4 step 320. Garrido differs from the claimed invention, in part, because Garrido does not explicitly disclose: the Quick Response code having a predetermined time to display on the point of purchase display before expiring; or where the Uniform Response Locator is tokenized to limit the time period that the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator can be decoded, the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator having a predetermined time to be decoded before expiring.
However, Shturma, who also uses QR codes as part of a transactional process, teaches:
the Quick Response code having a predetermined time to display on the point of purchase display before expiring (See at least Shturma [0053]. Shturma teaches the Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) having a predetermined time (i.e., preconfigured timeout) to display on the point of purchase display (i.e., on the display) before expiring.); and
where the Uniform Response Locator is tokenized to limit the time period that the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator can be decoded, the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator having a predetermined time to be decoded before expiring (See at least Shturma [0010]; [0053]; [0057-0058]. Shturma teaches where the Uniform Response Locator (i.e., URL) is tokenized to limit the time period that the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator can be decoded (i.e., by adding/encoding a time-based parameter into the URL), the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator (i.e., the URL in the QR code) having a predetermined time (i.e., having an expected range of values around the current time) to be decoded before expiring.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shturma into Garrido’s method of presenting a Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) which includes a tokenized URL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to allow a server to verify that a request associated with a URL is received within an expected time range (Shturma [0053]; [0057]).
Regarding Claim 2: The combination of Garrido and Shturma discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 1. Garrido further discloses connecting to the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator string on the buyer's mobile device software (See at least Garrido p. 4 line 29 – p. 5 line 2; p. 5 lines 21-22; p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 12 lines 6-11; p. 16 lines 12-14; p. 18 lines 1-10; Fig. 3; Garrido Claim 14. Garrido discloses connecting to the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator string (i.e., the link in the QR code) on the buyer's mobile device software (i.e., application/software on the mobile terminal, e.g., on the mobile terminal of the customer).).
Regarding Claim 6: The combination of Garrido and Shturma discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 1. Garrido further discloses wherein the digitized receipt includes transaction details (See at least Garrido p. 17 lines 16-20; p. 19 line 23 – p. 21 line 13. Garrido discloses wherein the digitized receipt (i.e., electronic receipt) includes transaction details (e.g., transaction amount, the merchant's identity, the goods or services provided, the time and date of the transaction and any other information).).
Regarding Claim 11: The combination of Garrido and Shturma discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 1. As indicated above, Garrido discloses presenting the Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) on a point of purchase display (i.e., on a terminal display, e.g., on a point of sale terminal display). Garrido p. 2 lines 24-26; p. 9 lines 22-30; p. 16 lines 1-4; p. 19 lines 8-10. However, Garrido does not explicitly disclose allowing a predetermined attempt of capturing the QR code with a buyers mobile device before expiring.
Shturma, on the other hand, further teaches allowing a predetermined attempt of capturing the QR code with a buyers mobile device before expiring (See at least Shturma [0032-0033]; [0053]; [0081]. Shturma teaches allowing a predetermined attempt of capturing the QR code (e.g., by allowing the QR code to be displayed for a preconfigured amount of time and/or for a single vending session) with a buyers mobile device before expiring.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shturma into Garrido’s method of presenting a Quick Response code (i.e., QR code). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to limit how long a particular QR code is displayed (Shturma [0033]; [0053]).
Regarding Claim 13: The combination of Garrido and Shturma discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 11. Garrido further discloses wherein the digitized receipt includes transaction details (See at least Garrido p. 17 lines 16-20; p. 19 line 23 – p. 21 line 13. Garrido discloses wherein the digitized receipt (i.e., electronic receipt) includes transaction details (e.g., transaction amount, the merchant's identity, the goods or services provided, the time and date of the transaction and any other information).).
Claims 3-5, 7-10, 12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garrido et al. (GB 2506421 A) (“Garrido”) in view of Shturma et al. (US 2022/0012975 A1) (“Shturma”) in view of Matheson et al. (US 2023/0079195 A1) (“Matheson”).
Regarding Claim 3: The combination of Garrido and Shturma discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 2. Garrido further discloses that data elements can be extracted from the QR code and placed into a pre-configured receipt layout format. Garrido p. 11 line 26 – p. 12 line 4. Garrido also explains that the electronic receipt data (i.e., digitized receipt) can be hashed (e.g., for authentication purposes). Garrido p. 8 lines 19-20; p. 10 lines 16-23; p. 18 lines 15-22. Additionally, Garrido indicates that a user/customer of the mobile application can enter preferences that dictate where the captured receipt data should be sent/stored. Garrido p. 11 lines 7-12; p. 18 lines 24-27. However, Garrido does not explicitly disclose minting the digitized receipt into a Non-Fungible Token.
Matheson, on the other hand, teaches minting the digitized receipt into a Non-Fungible Token (See at least Matheson [0059]; [0069-0070]; [0088]. Where the digitized receipt (e.g., the receipt and/or receipt data) is minted (i.e., minted/generated) into a Non-Fungible Token (i.e., into a purchase receipt token).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Matheson into Garrido’s method of placing data into a pre-configured receipt layout format and identifying where the data should be sent/stored. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to analyze NFTs in one or more customer wallets to track the purchasing behaviors of one or more customers and generate a transaction history or patterns for the customers, or trends for merchant products (Matheson [0075]).
Regarding Claim 4: The combination of Garrido, Shturma and Matheson discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 3. Garrido does not disclose, but Matheson further teaches storing the Non-Fungible Token on a blockchain ledger (See at least Matheson [0056-0059]; [0069-0070]; [0088]; Fig. 3B item 352. Where the Non-Fungible Token (i.e., purchase receipt token) is stored on a blockchain ledger (i.e., on blockchain 350).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Matheson into Garrido’s method of placing data into a pre-configured receipt layout format and identifying where the data should be sent/stored. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to analyze NFTs in one or more customer wallets to track the purchasing behaviors of one or more customers and generate a transaction history or patterns for the customers, or trends for merchant products (Matheson [0075]).
Regarding Claim 5: The combination of Garrido, Shturma and Matheson discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 4. Garrido further discloses wherein a seller generates the Quick Response code for a receipt at point of purchase (See at least Garrido p. 17 lines 16-29; p. 19 lines 1-10; Fig. 4 step 320. Garrido discloses wherein a seller (i.e., merchant, e.g., merchant system/server) generates the Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) for a receipt (i.e., an electronic receipt) at point of purchase (i.e., at a terminal, e.g., a point of sale terminal).).
Garrido does not explicitly disclose that the Quick Response code is generated for minting into the Non-Fungible Token, however this is merely a recited intended use/result of why the Quick Response code is generated. The fact that the Quick Response code may be generated for a particular purpose fails to have any impact on how the Quick Response code is generated. Accordingly, this phrase is given little to no patentable weight because it fails to add any meaning or purpose to the manipulative step(s). See MPEP 2103(I)(C) and 2111.04. Furthermore, the prior art of Matheson shows that it was known in the art to mint a receipt into a Non-Fungible Token. Matheson [0059]; [0069-0070]; [0088].
Regarding Claim 7: The combination of Garrido, Shturma and Matheson discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 5. Garrido further discloses wherein transaction details on the digitized receipt cannot be altered or changed (See at least Garrido p. 8 lines 13-24; p. 10 lines 16-32; p. 18 lines 13-24. Garrido discloses wherein transaction details on the digitized receipt cannot be altered or changed (i.e., indicated by the fact that the receipt data will not be authenticated if it is altered/changed).).
Regarding Claim 8: The combination of Garrido, Shturma and Matheson discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 5. Garrido further discloses wherein the digital receipt includes line item details or image details (See at least Garrido p. 17 lines 16-20; p. 19 line 23 – p. 21 line 13. Garrido discloses wherein the digital receipt (i.e., electronic receipt) includes line item details (e.g., the goods or services provided; a summary of goods purchased) or image details (e.g., a barcode for returns; a barcode for a discount or loyalty.).
Regarding Claim 9: The combination of Garrido and Shturma discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 1. Garrido further discloses that data elements can be extracted from the QR code and placed into a pre-configured receipt layout format. Garrido p. 11 line 26 – p. 12 line 4. Garrido also indicates that a user/customer of the mobile application can enter preferences that dictate where the captured receipt data should be sent/stored so that the user/customer has the receipt data for their future records. Garrido p. 2 lines 1-4; p. 11 lines 7-12; p. 18 lines 24-27. However, Garrido does not explicitly disclose retrieving and accessing the digitized receipt on the blockchain ledger.
Matheson, on the other hand, teaches retrieving and accessing the digitized receipt on the blockchain ledger (See at least Matheson [0016]; [0059]; [0069-0070]; [0075-0076]; Fig. 3B item 352. Matheson teaches where the digitized receipt (e.g., the receipt and/or receipt data) is retrieved and accessed on the blockchain ledger (e.g., when the platform server evaluates the data of the purchase receipt tokens associated with the customer).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Matheson into Garrido’s method of placing data into a pre-configured receipt layout format and identifying where the data should be sent/stored. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to determine common purchasing patterns based on similarities in data fields of the various types of data, such as the event type (e.g., concert, sporting event), genre (e.g., pop, rock, football, hockey), performers (e.g., artist, team), venue, or geolocation (e.g., city, metropolitan area), among other data fields (Matheson [0076]).
Regarding Claim 10: The combination of Garrido and Shturma discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 1. Garrido further discloses that data elements can be extracted from the QR code and placed into a pre-configured receipt layout format. Garrido p. 11 line 26 – p. 12 line 4. Garrido also indicates that a user/customer of the mobile application can enter preferences that dictate where the captured receipt data should be sent/stored so that the user/customer has the receipt data for their future records. Garrido p. 2 lines 1-4; p. 11 lines 7-12; p. 18 lines 24-27. However, Garrido does not explicitly disclose viewing all digitized receipts on the blockchain ledger.
Matheson, on the other hand, teaches viewing all digitized receipts on the blockchain ledger (See at least Matheson [0016]; [0059]; [0069-0070]; [0075-0076]; Fig. 3B item 352. Matheson teaches where all digitized receipts (e.g., the receipt and/or receipt data of a customer’s receipt tokens) are viewed on the blockchain ledger (e.g., when the platform server evaluates the data of the purchase receipt tokens associated with the customer).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Matheson into Garrido’s method of placing data into a pre-configured receipt layout format and identifying where the data should be sent/stored. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to determine common purchasing patterns based on similarities in data fields of the various types of data, such as the event type (e.g., concert, sporting event), genre (e.g., pop, rock, football, hockey), performers (e.g., artist, team), venue, or geolocation (e.g., city, metropolitan area), among other data fields (Matheson [0076]).
Regarding Claim 12: Garrido discloses a method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt in a timed allotment comprising the steps of:
generating a Quick Response code for a receipt at point of purchase, the Quick Response Code having an embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator for a specific transaction (See at least Garrido p. 4 line 29 – p. 5 line 2; p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 17 lines 16-25; p. 19 lines 1-10; Fig. 4 step 320. Garrido discloses generating a Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) for a receipt (i.e., an electronic receipt) at point of purchase (i.e., at a terminal, e.g., a point of sale terminal), the Quick Response Code having an embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator (i.e., a link) for a specific transaction.);
presenting the Quick Response code on a point of purchase display (See at least Garrido p. 2 lines 24-26; p. 9 lines 22-30; p. 16 lines 1-4; p. 19 lines 8-10. Garrido discloses presenting the Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) on a point of purchase display (i.e., on a terminal display, e.g., on a point of sale terminal display).);
capturing the Quick Response code containing the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator on a buyer's mobile device (See at least Garrido p. 16 lines 1-4; p. 16 lines 12-14; p. 17 lines 31-33; p. 18 lines 1-10; Fig. 3 step 220.);
decoding the Quick Response code containing the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator using a software on the buyer's mobile device (See at least Garrido p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 18 lines 1-10; Fig. 3 step 230. Garrido discloses decoding (i.e., decoding/extracting) the Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) containing the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator (i.e., containing the link) using a software on the buyer's mobile device (i.e., on the mobile terminal of the customer).);
the embedded Uniform Response Locator is tokenized (See at least Garrido p. 4 line 29 – p. 5 line 2; p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 19 lines 1-6; Fig. 4 step 320. Garrido discloses where the Uniform Response Locator (i.e., link) is tokenized (i.e., included in a QR code).);
retrieving the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator on the buyer's mobile device software (See at least Garrido p. 4 line 29 – p. 5 line 2; p. 5 lines 21-22; p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 12 lines 6-11; p. 16 lines 12-14; p. 18 lines 1-10; Fig. 3; Garrido Claim 14. Garrido discloses retrieving the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator (i.e., the link in the QR code) on the buyer's mobile device software (i.e., application/software on the mobile terminal, e.g., on the mobile terminal of the customer).);
accessing a digitized receipt from the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator of the specific transaction (See at least Garrido p. 4 line 29 – p. 5 line 2; p. 5 lines 21-22; p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 12 lines 6-11; p. 16 lines 12-14; p. 18 lines 1-10; Fig. 3; Garrido Claim 14. Garrido discloses accessing (i.e., acquiring/obtaining) a digitized receipt (i.e., an electronic receipt) from the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator (i.e., from the link in the QR code) of the specific transaction.); and
connecting to the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator string on the buyer's mobile device software (See at least Garrido p. 4 line 29 – p. 5 line 2; p. 5 lines 21-22; p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 12 lines 6-11; p. 16 lines 12-14; p. 18 lines 1-10; Fig. 3; Garrido Claim 14. Garrido discloses connecting to the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator string (i.e., the link in the QR code) on the buyer's mobile device software (i.e., application/software on the mobile terminal, e.g., on the mobile terminal of the customer).).
As indicated above, Garrido discloses presenting the Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) on a point of purchase display (i.e., on a terminal display, e.g., on a point of sale terminal display). Garrido p. 2 lines 24-26; p. 9 lines 22-30; p. 16 lines 1-4; p. 19 lines 8-10. Garrido also discloses where the Uniform Response Locator (i.e., link) is tokenized (i.e., included in a QR code). Garrido p. 4 line 29 – p. 5 line 2; p. 6 lines 11-15; p. 19 lines 1-6; Fig. 4 step 320. Garrido differs from the claimed invention, in part, because Garrido does not explicitly disclose: the Quick Response code having a predetermined time to display on the point of purchase display before expiring; or where the Uniform Response Locator is tokenized to limit the time period that the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator can be decoded, the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator having a predetermined time to be decoded before expiring.
However, Shturma, who also uses QR codes as part of a transactional process, teaches:
the Quick Response code having a predetermined time to display on the point of purchase display before expiring (See at least Shturma [0053]. Shturma teaches the Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) having a predetermined time (i.e., preconfigured timeout) to display on the point of purchase display (i.e., on the display) before expiring.); and
where the Uniform Response Locator is tokenized to limit the time period that the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator can be decoded, the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator having a predetermined time to be decoded before expiring (See at least Shturma [0010]; [0053]; [0057-0058]. Shturma teaches where the Uniform Response Locator (i.e., URL) is tokenized to limit the time period that the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator can be decoded (i.e., by adding/encoding a time-based parameter into the URL), the embedded tokenized Uniform Resource Locator (i.e., the URL in the QR code) having a predetermined time (i.e., having an expected range of values around the current time) to be decoded before expiring.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shturma into Garrido’s method of presenting a Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) which includes a tokenized URL. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to allow a server to verify that a request associated with a URL is received within an expected time range (Shturma [0053]; [0057]).
Garrido further discloses that data elements can be extracted from the QR code and placed into a pre-configured receipt layout format. Garrido p. 11 line 26 – p. 12 line 4. Garrido also explains that the electronic receipt data (i.e., digitized receipt) can be hashed (e.g., for authentication purposes). Garrido p. 8 lines 19-20; p. 10 lines 16-23; p. 18 lines 15-22. Additionally, Garrido indicates that a user/customer of the mobile application can enter preferences that dictate where the captured receipt data should be sent/stored. Garrido p. 11 lines 7-12; p. 18 lines 24-27. However, Garrido does not explicitly disclose minting the digitized receipt into a Non-Fungible Token, or storing the Non-Fungible Token on a blockchain ledger.
Matheson, on the other hand, teaches:
minting the digitized receipt into a Non-Fungible Token (See at least Matheson [0059]; [0069-0070]; [0088]. Where the digitized receipt (e.g., the receipt and/or receipt data) is minted (i.e., minted/generated) into a Non-Fungible Token (i.e., into a purchase receipt token).); and
storing the Non-Fungible Token on a blockchain ledger (See at least Matheson [0056-0059]; [0069-0070]; [0088]; Fig. 3B item 352. Where the Non-Fungible Token (i.e., purchase receipt token) is stored on a blockchain ledger (i.e., on blockchain 350).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Matheson into Garrido’s method of placing data into a pre-configured receipt layout format and identifying where the data should be sent/stored. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to analyze NFTs in one or more customer wallets to track the purchasing behaviors of one or more customers and generate a transaction history or patterns for the customers, or trends for merchant products (Matheson [0075]).
Regarding Claim 14: The combination of Garrido, Shturma and Matheson discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 12. Garrido further discloses wherein transaction details on the digitized receipt cannot be altered or changed (See at least Garrido p. 8 lines 13-24; p. 10 lines 16-32; p. 18 lines 13-24. Garrido discloses wherein transaction details on the digitized receipt cannot be altered or changed (i.e., indicated by the fact that the receipt data will not be authenticated if it is altered/changed).).
Regarding Claim 15: The combination of Garrido and Shturma discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 11. Garrido further discloses that data elements can be extracted from the QR code and placed into a pre-configured receipt layout format. Garrido p. 11 line 26 – p. 12 line 4. Garrido also indicates that a user/customer of the mobile application can enter preferences that dictate where the captured receipt data should be sent/stored so that the user/customer has the receipt data for their future records. Garrido p. 2 lines 1-4; p. 11 lines 7-12; p. 18 lines 24-27. However, Garrido does not explicitly disclose retrieving and accessing the digitized receipt on the blockchain ledger.
Matheson, on the other hand, teaches retrieving and accessing the digitized receipt on the blockchain ledger (See at least Matheson [0016]; [0059]; [0069-0070]; [0075-0076]; Fig. 3B item 352. Matheson teaches where the digitized receipt (e.g., the receipt and/or receipt data) is retrieved and accessed on the blockchain ledger (e.g., when the platform server evaluates the data of the purchase receipt tokens associated with the customer).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Matheson into Garrido’s method of placing data into a pre-configured receipt layout format and identifying where the data should be sent/stored. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to determine common purchasing patterns based on similarities in data fields of the various types of data, such as the event type (e.g., concert, sporting event), genre (e.g., pop, rock, football, hockey), performers (e.g., artist, team), venue, or geolocation (e.g., city, metropolitan area), among other data fields (Matheson [0076]).
Regarding Claim 16: The combination of Garrido, Shturma and Matheson discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 12. Garrido further discloses that data elements can be extracted from the QR code and placed into a pre-configured receipt layout format. Garrido p. 11 line 26 – p. 12 line 4. Garrido also indicates that a user/customer of the mobile application can enter preferences that dictate where the captured receipt data should be sent/stored so that the user/customer has the receipt data for their future records. Garrido p. 2 lines 1-4; p. 11 lines 7-12; p. 18 lines 24-27. However, Garrido does not explicitly disclose viewing all digitized receipts on the blockchain ledger.
Matheson, on the other hand, teaches viewing all digitized receipts on the blockchain ledger (See at least Matheson [0016]; [0059]; [0069-0070]; [0075-0076]; Fig. 3B item 352. Matheson teaches where all digitized receipts (e.g., the receipt and/or receipt data of a customer’s receipt tokens) are viewed on the blockchain ledger (e.g., when the platform server evaluates the data of the purchase receipt tokens associated with the customer).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Matheson into Garrido’s method of placing data into a pre-configured receipt layout format and identifying where the data should be sent/stored. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to determine common purchasing patterns based on similarities in data fields of the various types of data, such as the event type (e.g., concert, sporting event), genre (e.g., pop, rock, football, hockey), performers (e.g., artist, team), venue, or geolocation (e.g., city, metropolitan area), among other data fields (Matheson [0076]).
Regarding Claim 17: The combination of Garrido, Shturma and Matheson discloses the method of minting a Non-Fungible Token from a transactional Quick Response code generator for a payment receipt of Claim 12. As indicated above, Garrido discloses presenting the Quick Response code (i.e., QR code) on a point of purchase display (i.e., on a terminal display, e.g., on a point of sale terminal display). Garrido p. 2 lines 24-26; p. 9 lines 22-30; p. 16 lines 1-4; p. 19 lines 8-10. However, Garrido does not explicitly disclose allowing a predetermined attempts of capturing the QR code with a buyers mobile device before expiring.
Shturma, on the other hand, further teaches allowing a predetermined attempts of capturing the QR code with a buyers mobile device before expiring (See at least Shturma [0032-0033]; [0053]; [0081]. Shturma teaches allowing a predetermined attempts of capturing the QR code (e.g., by allowing the QR code to be displayed for a preconfigured amount of time and/or for a single vending session) with a buyers mobile device before expiring.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shturma into Garrido’s method of presenting a Quick Response code (i.e., QR code). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include such features in order to limit how long a particular QR code is displayed (Shturma [0033]; [0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure is cited in the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892). The additional cited art further establishes the state of the art prior to the effective filling date of Applicant’s claimed invention.
Liu et al. (US 2019/0066079 A1) discloses a method and system for routing receipts to customers by merchants using a computing platform which includes generating a scan-able code by a merchant point of sale (POS) device for capturing by a mobile device of a customer to receive a virtual receipt of the transaction. Liu Abstract. Liu also describes the use of the blockchain to store receipt data. Liu [0057].
Solana Lopez (US 2024/0420111 A1) discloses where a digital receipt may be embedded or encoded in a displayable code, such as a QR code, for display and scanning or capture by user device 140 to process and receive the receipt. Solana Lopez [0037]; [0066].
Pene (US 2023/0334472 A1) discloses where a non-fungible token (NFT) is generated automatically based on transaction information. The NFT is generated in response to verifying an online transaction for a selected item. Pene [0023].
/J.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698