DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to non-provisional patent application filed on 7/11/25 and IDS filed on 6/17/26. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 6/17/26. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement was considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202310591075.0, filed on 5/23/23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. (Step 1) The claims 1-12 and 16-20 recite a process (claims 1-12), an apparatus (claims 16-20). For the purposes of this analysis, representative claim 16 is addressed (from claims 1 and 16). (Step 2A, prong 1) Abstract ideas are in bold below, and represent organizing human activity as a method of authorizing a party to a financial transaction through a biological feature of the party (see FIG.s 1-24 and abstract), as are all a form of commercial or legal interactions and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people.
An interactive device of service processing, comprising processing circuitry configured to,
obtain a configuration information set of a target merchant;
execute embedded general-purpose code with one or more configuration fields being set according to one or more configuration field values from the configuration information set;
display a service main page based on the configuration information set;
obtain target biological information of a target object by using a collection apparatus of the interactive device in response to an information collection prompt on the service main page; and
when a biological recognition service is not enabled on a target object account of the target object and in response to a notification indicative of an authorized enabling operation on a target user terminal that is logged in the target object account, display a service enabling page that indicates the biological recognition service is enabled, the biological recognition service supporting a service based on a biological information recognition result.
(Step 2A prong 2) The additional elements are as follows:
“An interactive device of service processing, comprising processing circuitry configured”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they are no more than “apply it” because they are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“execute embedded general-purpose code”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they are no more than “apply it” because they are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“display a service main page”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they are no more than “apply it” because they are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“[obtain …] using a collection apparatus of the interactive device in response to an information collection prompt on the service main page”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they are no more than “apply it” because they are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Furthermore, “using a collection apparatus of the interactive device” does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as it is no more than “apply it” because the claim fails to recite the technological details of how biologically identifying information is obtained using the collection apparatus, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(1).
“when a biological recognition service is not enabled “…” an authorized enabling operation on a target user terminal that is logged in […], display a service enabling page that indicates the biological recognition service is enabled, the biological recognition service supporting a service […]”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they are no more than “apply it” because they are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
(Step 2B) The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements do no more than provide mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using “a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), and/or the claim fails to recite the technological details of “how a solution to a problem is accomplished”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(1). Therefore, the claim elements when considered separately and in an ordered combination, do not add significantly more than implementing the abstract idea of authorizing a party to a financial transaction through a biological feature of the party.
Furthermore, claims 13-15 recite another process. For the purposes of this analysis, representative claim 13 is addressed. (Step 2A, prong 1) Abstract ideas are in bold below, and represent organizing human activity as a method of authorizing a party to a financial transaction through a biological feature of the party (see FIG.s 1-24 and abstract), as are all a form of commercial or legal interactions and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people.
obtaining, by a terminal device and in response to a configuration operation, a configuration information set of a target merchant, the target merchant having a target merchant identifier; and
transmitting the configuration information set and the target merchant identifier to a server to cause the server to store the configuration information set of the target merchant identifier;
wherein when an interactive device obtains the configuration information set of the target merchant, the interactive device:
executes embedded general-purpose code with one or more configuration fields being set according to one or more configuration field values from the configuration information set,
displays a service main page based on the configuration information set,
obtains target biological information of a target object in response to an information collection prompt on the service main page, and
when a biological recognition service is not enabled on a target object account of the target object and in response to a notification indicative of an authorized enabling operation on a target user terminal that is logged in the target object account, display a service enabling page that indicates the biological recognition service is enabled, the biological recognition service supporting a service based on a biological information recognition result
(Step 2A prong 2) The additional elements are as follows:
“[obtaining], by a terminal device and in response to a configuration operation”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they are no more than “apply it” because they are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“transmitting … to a server to cause the server to store []”. Transmitting and storing information do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they are no more than “apply it” because they are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“wherein when an interactive device obtains […]”. Obtaining information does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as it is no more than “apply it” because it is mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“execute embedded general-purpose code”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they are no more than “apply it” because they are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“display a service main page”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they are no more than “apply it” because they are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
“[obtain …] using a collection apparatus of the interactive device in response to an information collection prompt on the service main page”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they are no more than “apply it” because they are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Furthermore, “using a collection apparatus of the interactive device” does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as it is no more than “apply it” because the claim fails to recite the technological details of how biologically identifying information is obtained using the collection apparatus, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(1).
“when a biological recognition service is not enabled “…” an authorized enabling operation on a target user terminal that is logged in […], display a service enabling page that indicates the biological recognition service is enabled, the biological recognition service supporting a service […]”. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they are no more than “apply it” because they are mere “[u]se of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
(Step 2B) The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements do no more than provide mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using “a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2), and/or the claim fails to recite the technological details of “how a solution to a problem is accomplished”, see MPEP 2106.05(f)(1). Therefore, the claim elements when considered separately and in an ordered combination, do not add significantly more than implementing the abstract idea of authorizing a party to a financial transaction through a biological feature of the party.
Analysis of dependent claims 2-12, 14-15 and 17-20 recited additional details which only further narrow the abstract idea and do not add any additional features, alone or in combination, that would provide a practical application or provide significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 115222388 A (Wang).
As to claims 1 and 16,
Wang teaches,
obtaining, by an interactive device to be configured for a target merchant, a configuration information set of the target merchant (para. 142 “when the merchant starts the payment task, such as selecting the payment option on the terminal screen of the payment terminal or clicking the payment button on the physical keyboard, the biological payment task is generated”, FIG. 4, para. 148, “one or more switches are displayed on the setting page 401 in the application, and the one or more switches include the face recognition switch 4011”);
executing embedded general-purpose code with one or more configuration fields being set according to one or more configuration field values from the configuration information set (para. 130 “The payment terminal 101 may run a face recognition application, and the face recognition application may include: a face recognition module”);
displaying a service main page based on the configuration information set (para. 148 “displaying a prompt message prompting the user to activate the face payment function on the terminal screen of the payment terminal”);
obtaining target biological information of a target object by using a collection apparatus of the interactive device in response to an information collection prompt on the service main page (FIG. 1a, item 101, para. 130 “face recognition module: call the camera of the payment terminal to collect the face data of the user on the payment terminal side”, para. 142 “the payment terminal can respond to the biometric payment task and call the camera of the payment terminal to silently collect the biometric features of the user on the payment terminal side, such as facial features”); and
when a biological recognition service is not enabled on a target object account of the target object and in response to a notification indicative of an authorized enabling operation on a target user terminal that is logged in the target object account, displaying a service enabling page that indicates the biological recognition service is enabled, the biological recognition service supporting a service based on a biological information recognition result (para. 148 “When the execution of the biometric payment task based on the user's biometric features fails, that is, when the user's identity verification fails, the embodiment of the present application supports displaying a prompt message prompting the user to activate the face payment function on the terminal screen of the payment terminal, so as to notify the user At present, the face payment function is not activated. Only after the user successfully activates the face payment function, the biometric payment task can be successfully performed based on the user's biometric characteristics”).
Additionally, with respect to claim 16,
Wang teaches,
An interactive device of service processing, comprising processing circuitry configured (FIG. 1a, item 101, para. 127 “a payment terminal”) to
As to claim 13,
Wang teaches,
obtaining, by a terminal device and in response to a configuration operation, a configuration information set of a target merchant, the target merchant having a target merchant identifier (para. 142);
transmitting the configuration information set and the target merchant identifier to a server to cause the server to store the configuration information set of the target merchant identifier (FIG. 4, para. 148);
wherein when an interactive device obtains the configuration information set of the target merchant (para. 142, FIG. 4, para 148), the interactive device (para. 142):
executes embedded general-purpose code with one or more configuration fields being set according to one or more configuration field values from the configuration information set (para. 130),
displays a service main page based on the configuration information set (para. 148),
obtains target biological information of a target object in response to an information collection prompt on the service main page (FIG. 1a, item 101, para. 130, 142),
when a biological recognition service is not enabled on a target object account of the target object and in response to a notification indicative of an authorized enabling operation on a target user terminal that is logged in the target object account, display a service enabling page that indicates the biological recognition service is enabled, the biological recognition service supporting a service based on a biological information recognition result (para. 148).
As to claims 2 and 17,
Wang teaches,
wherein the displaying the service main page (FIG. 4, items 401, 402, para. 148, “setting page … face collection page”) comprises:
obtaining a main title text from the configuration information set (FIG. 4, item 401, para. 148 “setting page”);
displaying, in a copywriting area of the service main page, a main title corresponding to the main title text (FIG. 4, item 402, para. 148 “face collection page”);
when the configuration information set comprises a subtitle text, displaying, in the copywriting area of the service main page, a subtitle corresponding to the subtitle text (FIG. 4, items 401, 402, para. 148);
when the configuration information set comprises an icon link, displaying, in an icon area of the service main page, an icon corresponding to the icon link (FIG. 4, items 401, 402, para. 148 “face image”);
when the configuration information set comprises a dynamic effect image link, displaying, on the service main page, a dynamic effect image corresponding to the dynamic effect image link (FIG. 4, items 401, 402, para. 148 );
when the configuration information set comprises color code, displaying, on the service main page, a background color corresponding to the color code (FIG. 4, items 401, 402, para. 148 “face image”).
As to claims 3 and 18,
Wang teaches,
wherein the displaying the service enabling page (FIG. 4, item 401, para. 148) comprises:
displaying a code scanning enabling page (para. 144 “scanning code payment”) when the biological recognition service is not enabled on the target object account (FIG. 4, items 401, 402, para. 148), the code scanning enabling page providing a child application code; and
displaying, the service enabling page when the notification indicates that the child application code is scanned (para. 144) by the target user terminal and the authorized enabling operation is triggered on the target user terminal (para. 144).
As to claim 4,
Wang teaches,
wherein: the obtaining the target biological information (para. 148) comprises:
obtaining an enabling information code that is provided by the target user terminal (para. 148);
obtaining the target biological information of the target object by using the collection apparatus of the interactive device when the enabling information code is authenticated (para. 148);
the displaying the service enabling page (para. 148) comprises:
displaying a code scanning enabling page when the biological recognition service is not enabled on the target object account (para. 144, 148), the code scanning enabling page providing a child application code (para. 144);
displaying, the service enabling page when the notification indicates that the child application code is scanned by the target user terminal (para. 144) and the authorized enabling operation is triggered by using the target user terminal (para. 148).
As to claims 5 and 20,
Wang teaches,
when the target biological information is successfully recognized, displaying the service enabling page (para. 148);
when the target biological information fails to be recognized, displaying a recognition denial pop-up window, the recognition denial pop-up window indicating a failure of biological information recognition (para. 148).
As to claim 6,
Wang teaches,
when the configuration information set comprises a poster link, displaying a poster picture corresponding to the poster link (FIG. 4, items 401, 402, para. 148);
when the configuration information set comprises an audio link, playing an audio file corresponding to the audio link (para. 145 “video frames”).
As to claim 7,
Wang teaches,
when the target biological information is successfully recognized, displaying service feedback information based on the configuration information set when the biological recognition service is enabled on the target object account (para. 148);
when the biological information recognition result indicates that the target biological information fails to be recognized, displaying a recognition denial pop-up window that indicates a failure of biological information recognition (para. 148).
As to claim 8,
Wang teaches,
wherein the displaying the service feedback information (FIG. 4, para. 148) comprises:
transmitting payment information to a server of the target merchant when the configuration information set comprises a payment type identifier, the payment information indicating to deduct a payment amount from a transaction account of the target object account (para. 148-149);
displaying a payment inquiry page, the payment inquiry page indicating whether the payment amount is successfully deducted (FIG. 4, para. 148-149).
As to claim 9,
Wang teaches,
wherein the displaying the service feedback information (FIG. 4, para. 148) comprises:
transmitting information of the target object account to a server when the configuration information set comprises an access control type identifier, the information of the target object account being used to determine a target object identifier that uniquely represents the target object in an organization, and the target object identifier having a binding relationship with the target object account (para. 148-149);
displaying an access control pass page when the target object identifier transmitted by the server is received, the access control pass page indicating that an access control device is opened (para. 148-149).
As to claim 10,
Wang teaches,
obtaining, in response to a version update request of a biological recognition algorithm, a current version number of the biological recognition algorithm (para. 145 “a face recognition module deployed in the payment terminal or a face recognition module provided by an application”);
obtaining, when the current version number is inconsistent with a latest version number of the biological recognition algorithm, algorithm configuration information of the latest version number (para. 145);
updating the biological recognition algorithm based on the algorithm configuration information (para. 145).
As to claim 11,
Wang teaches,
wherein the obtaining the configuration information set (para. 142, 148) comprises:
receiving a first configuration information subset that is transmitted by a server of the target merchant, the first configuration information subset comprising M pieces of configuration information, and M being an integer greater than or equal to 1 (para. 130, 142, 148);
transmitting an information pulling request to the server to cause the server to obtain a second configuration information subset based on the information pulling request, the second configuration information subset comprising N pieces of configuration information, and N being an integer greater than or equal to 1 (para. 130, 142, 148);
receiving the second configuration information subset transmitted by the server, the second configuration information subset and the first configuration information subset being combined into the configuration information set (para. 130, 142, 148)
As to claim 12,
Wang teaches,
the receiving the first configuration information subset (para. 142, 148) comprises:
receiving the first configuration information subset that is transmitted by a cloud server, the first configuration information subset belonging to a target device shadow in the cloud server, the target device shadow uniquely corresponding to the interactive device (para. 130, 142, 148);
the transmitting the information pulling request (para. 130, 142, 148) comprises:
transmitting the information pulling request to the cloud server to cause the cloud server to obtain the second configuration information subset of the target device shadow based on the information pulling request, the second configuration information subset of the target device shadow being transmitted to the cloud server by the server of the target merchant (para. 130, 142, 148);
the receiving the second configuration information subset (para. 130, 142, 148) comprises:
receiving the second configuration information subset that is transmitted by the cloud server (para. 130, 142, 148).
As to claim 14,
Wang teaches,
wherein the obtaining the configuration information set (FIG. 4, para. 148) comprises at least one of:
obtaining a main title text in response to an input operation on a main title input box, the configuration information set including the main title text (FIG. 4, para. 148);
obtaining a subtitle text in response to an input operation on a subtitle input box, the configuration information set including the subtitle text (FIG. 4, para. 148);
obtaining an icon link in response to an uploading operation of an icon, the configuration information set including the icon link, and the icon link indicating a storage address of the icon (FIG. 4, para. 148);
obtaining a dynamic effect image link in response to an upload operation of a dynamic effect image, the configuration information set including the dynamic effect image link, and the dynamic effect image link indicating a storage address of the dynamic effect image (FIG. 4, para. 148); and/or
obtaining a color code in response to a selection operation of a background color, the configuration information set including the color code, and the color code indicating the background color (FIG. 4, para. 148).
As to claim 15,
Wang teaches,
wherein the obtaining the configuration information set comprises (para. 142, 148) at least one of:
obtaining a poster link in response to an upload operation of a poster picture, the configuration information set including the poster link, and the poster link indicating a storage address of the poster picture (FIG. 4, items 401, 402, para. 148); and/or
obtaining an audio link in response to an upload operation of an audio file, the configuration information set including the audio link, and the audio link indicating a storage address of the audio file (para. 145).
Conclusion
Reference made of record, not relied upon, pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure, includes NPL: Sampiao, Rodrigo, Backend Driven Content: why we developed a Server Driven UI framework at Nubank, https://building.nubank.com/server-driven-ui-framework-at-nubank/, 01/20/2023 (Rodrigo) that teaches server provided UI.
/BROCK E TURK/Examiner, Art Unit 3692 /DAVID P SHARVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3692