DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant states that this application is a continuation or divisional application of the prior-filed application. A continuation or divisional application cannot include new matter. Applicant is required to delete the benefit claim or change the relationship (continuation or divisional application) to continuation-in-part because this application contains the following matter not disclosed in the prior-filed application: Claim 1, 11 each recite “the first arm and the second arm form a tubular corridor when in a closed position” which was not disclosed in the original specification in the parent. As seen in Fig 140-144, the arms #922 #924 do not form a tubular corridor.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the first arm and the second arm form a tubular corridor when in a closed position” (in claim 1, 11) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. See 112 rejection below as well.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claims 1, 11 each recites “the first arm and the second arm form a tubular corridor when in a closed position” which was not disclosed in the original specification nor in the specifications in the parents. See 112 rejection below as well.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “actuation assembly” in claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claims 12-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The preambles of Claims 12-20 does not match with the preamble of claim 11, which is directed to a method. The preambles of claims 12-20 should be consistent with that of parent claim 11.
Claim 13 line 2 should recite: "[[the]] a proximal end."
Claim 15 line 2 should recite: "[[the]] a proximal end."
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, 11 each recite “the first arm and the second arm form a tubular corridor when in a closed position” which was not disclosed in the original specification in the parent. As seen in Fig 140-144, the arms #922 #924 do not form a tubular corridor. As such it is not clear how the arms can form a tubular corridor. The examiner will treat with art as best understood.
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The limitation of claim 2 is already recited in claim 1 (see claim 1 line 4). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wing US 2010/0081885.
Regarding Claim 1, Wing discloses minimally invasive surgical retractor (Fig 4) comprising:
a first arm extending from a proximal end thereof to a distal end thereof along a first longitudinal axis (see Fig below);
a second arm configured to couple to the first arm (coupled via rack #218, see Fig 4), the second arm extending from a proximal end thereof to a distal end thereof along a second longitudinal axis that is parallel to the first longitudinal axis (see Fig below);
an actuation assembly (see Fig below where the assembly includes #213 and #216) configured to move at least one of the first arm and the second arm (paragraph 45);
a first retractor blade configured to couple to the distal end of the first arm (see Fig below); and
a second retractor blade configured to couple to the distal end of the second arm (see Fig below),
wherein the first arm and the second arm form a tubular corridor when in a closed position (Fig 4, paragraph 40 where when brought together, the arms along with the retractor blades form a tubular corridor).
Regarding Claim 2, Wing discloses the second arm is configured to be coupled to the first arm (as seen in Fig 4, coupled via rack #218).
Regarding Claim 3, Wing discloses the first arm comprises a first central portion between the proximal end of the first arm and the distal end of the first arm (see Fig below).
Regarding Claim 4, Wing discloses the first central portion is configured to receive the first retractor blade (see Fig in claim 13 and Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Wing discloses the second arm comprises a second central portion between the proximal end of the second arm and the distal end of the second arm (paragraph 48, Fig 4-5 where the second arm is a mirror image of the first arm and would also have a central portion similar to what is shown in annotated Fig 5 in claim 13 above).
Regarding Claim 6, Wing discloses the second central portion is configured to receive the second retractor blade (Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Wing discloses the first central portion includes an aperture to receive the first retractor blade (see annotated Fig 5 above in claim 13, Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 8, Wing discloses the actuator assembly is configured to rotate to move the at least one of the first arm and the second arm (paragraph 45).
Regarding Claim 9, Wing disclose the actuator assembly is configured to move both of the first arm and the second arm (paragraph 45).
Regarding Claim 10, Wing disclose the actuator assembly further comprises an actuator including a head (#213 and/or #216) configured to be actuated by a drive tool (it is noted that a drive tool is functionally recited and a drive tool in the form forceps can clamp onto the head and rotated).
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wing US 2010/0081885.
Regarding Claim 11, Wing discloses a method comprising:
providing a split-tube surgical retractor (Fig 4) comprising:
a first arm extending along a first longitudinal axis (see Fig below),
a second arm extending along a second longitudinal axis that is parallel to the first longitudinal axis (see Fig below),
an actuation assembly (see Fig below, where the assembly includes #213, #216),
a first retractor blade (see Fig below), and
a second retractor blade (see Fig below);
coupling the first retractor blade to a distal end of the first arm (see Fig below);
coupling the second retractor blade to a distal end of the second arm (see Fig below);
actuating the actuation assembly, thereby causing movement of at least one of the first arm and the second arm (paragraph 45),
wherein the first arm and the second arm form a tubular corridor when in a closed position (Fig 4, paragraph 40 where when brought together, the arms along with the retractor blades form a tubular corridor).
Regarding Claim 12, Wing discloses the second arm is configured to be coupled to the first arm (as seen in Fig 4, coupled via rack #218).
Regarding Claim 13, Wing discloses the first arm comprises a first central portion between the proximal end of the first arm and the distal end of the first arm (see Fig below).
Regarding Claim 14, Wing discloses the first central portion is configured to receive the first retractor blade (see Fig in claim 13 and Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 15, Wing discloses the second arm comprises a second central portion between the proximal end of the second arm and the distal end of the second arm (paragraph 48, Fig 4-5 where the second arm is a mirror image of the first arm and would also have a central portion similar to what is shown in annotated Fig 5 in claim 13 above).
Regarding Claim 16, Wing discloses the second central portion is configured to receive the second retractor blade (Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 17, Wing discloses the first central portion includes an aperture to receive the first retractor blade (see annotated Fig 5 above in claim 13, Fig 4).
Regarding Claim 18, Wing discloses the actuator assembly is configured to rotate to move the at least one of the first arm and the second arm (paragraph 45).
Regarding Claim 19, Wing disclose the actuator assembly is configured to move both of the first arm and the second arm (paragraph 45).
Regarding Claim 20, Wing disclose the actuator assembly further comprises an actuator including a head (#213 and/or #216) configured to be actuated by a drive tool (it is noted that a drive tool is functionally recited and a drive tool in the form forceps can clamp onto the head and rotated).
Conclusion
See PTO-892 for art of cited interest, in particular other retractors.
/JAN CHRISTOPHER L MERENE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773