DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to amendments filed for No. 19/267,853 on August 31, 2026. Please note Claims 1-19 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 7-11 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. ( US 2017/0287992 A1 ) in view of Jeong et al. ( US 2018/0308903 A1 ).
Kwak teaches in Claim 1:
A touch display device ( Figure 9B, [0179] disclose a touchscreen panel ), comprising:
a substrate including an active area where images are displayed ( Figure 10E, [0187] discloses a polymer layer 722 (read as a substrate and please note the materials included, indicative of a substrate) which includes a TFT array 724 ), and a non-active area surrounding the active area, ( [0005] discloses an active area that displays an image and an inactive area that is located at an edge portion of the active area, but which does not display the image, i.e. a bezel. Figure 8, [0175] discloses first and second areas, both within the active area and a camera device 800 is within the second area (read as a function performing area). Figure 9A shows a better view of this ), wherein at least one hole in which a camera module is disposed is formed in the substrate, and the at least one hold is disposed in the active area ( Figures 10A/10E, [0138]-[0140] disclose an opening 810 (read as a hole) in which camera 800 is disposed. Please note the gap in polymer layer 722 )
a light emitting element disposed on the active area of the substrate ( Figure 10E, [0186] discloses a light emitting layer 726, disposed on polymer 722 );
an encapsulation layer disposed on the light emitting element ( Figure 10E, [0190], [0215] discloses a TFE layer 728 disposed on 726, to prevent moisture from penetrating into the display panel );
a touch sensor including a plurality of touch electrodes disposed on the encapsulation layer and surrounding the at least one hole in the active area ( Figures 10E/10A, [0219] discloses a touchscreen panel 720 on top of the TFE layer 728 ); but
Kwak may not explicitly teach of “an insulating layer disposed on the touch sensor”.
However, insulating layers are well known in the art. To emphasize, in the same field of endeavor, touch panels, Jeong teaches of an akin input sensing unit ISU, ( Jeong, Figure 9, [0254] ). Notably, Jeong teaches of a multiple conductive layers, layered on top by insulating layers. In particular, please note IS-IL2, a second insulating layer overlaid on IS-CL2. As combined with Kwak, an insulation means can be provided.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the insulating layer on top of the touch sensor, as taught by Jeong, with the motivation that it is well known to do so and it provides insulation/electrical protection to the sensitive touch elements below.
Kwak teaches in Claim 2:
The touch display device of claim 1, wherein the encapsulation layer comprises:
a first protective layer disposed in at least a portion of an area surrounding the at least one hole; a second protective layer disposed in at least a portion of the area surrounding the at least one hole and on the first protective layer; and a third protective layer disposed in at least a portion of the area surrounding the at least one hole and on the second protective layer ( Figures 10A/10E, [0215] disclose the TFE layer 728 includes an organic layer, inorganic layer, organic metal layer which covers the light emitting layer 726 (read as first, second and third protective layers). As Figures 10A/10E shows, these are disposed in an area surrounding the opening ),
wherein the first protective layer and the third protective layer extend toward the at least one hole and contact each other in a region adjacent to the at least one hole.
Kwak teaches in Claim 3:
The touch display device of claim 1, wherein the at least one hole has a non-square shape. ( Figures 8 and 16 shows a circular shape and other figures, such as 10B, show more of a rectangular shape. Respectfully, this is a design choice issue in any case. Furthermore, Figures 10A/10E shows a non-square shape as well )
Kwak and Jeong teach in Claim 7:
The touch display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of touch electrodes includes a metal mesh form surrounding the at least a portion of the at least one hole. ( Jeong, Figure 9, [0254] discloses the conductive layer may include a metal layer and [0016] discloses the sensing electrodes may have a mesh shape. Respectfully, these are well known materials and design for a matrix of electrodes )
Kwak and Jeong teach in Claim 8:
The touch display device of claim 1, wherein the insulating layer extends to the at least one hole and overlaps the at least one hole. ( The combination teaches to have the insulating layer of Jeong with Kwak’s touch areas. Given the area is within the active area, it would cover over the camera module, for the display aspects )
Kwak and Jeong teach in Claim 9:
The touch display device of claim 1, wherein the insulating layer is in contact with the plurality of touch electrodes. ( Jeong, Figure 9 teaches to have IS-IL1 and IS-IL2 overlap and in contact with the touch layers IS-CL1 and IS-CL2 )
Kwak and Jeong teach in Claim 10:
The touch display device of claim 1, further comprising: a color filter layer including a plurality of color filters and a black matrix on the insulating layer, wherein the color filter layer is disposed over the touch sensor and has an open area around the at least one hole. ( Jeong, Figure 23A, [0364] discloses a black matrix BM and color filters CF, which are disposed on the second insulating layer IS-IL2. Please note a color filter CF s has a plurality of units, as shown )
Kwak and Jeong teach in Claim 11:
The touch display device of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one dam is disposed in the non-active area of the substrate ( Jeong, Figure 40B, [0484] disclose a dam part DPP, for example ); a pad disposed in the non-active area of the substrate and outside the at least one dam ( Figures 40B and 41/A/41B, [0489] disclose a pad part DL-P ); a touch buffer layer is disposed on the encapsulation layer ( Jeong, [0496] disclose a buffer layer BFL. Please note Kwak also teaches of buffer layer aspects. As for the pad and this buffer layer: Figure 10A, [0184] discloses PAD on the edge of the area and [0190] discloses a buffer layer 728a may be additionally provided as well, on top of 728, as shown. Please note the pad meets elements at the edge ); and a touch insulating layer disposed on the touch buffer layer ( Jeong, Figure 9, [0254] disclose of multiple insulating layers ), wherein the touch sensor comprises: a first touch metal layer is disposed between the touch buffer layer and the touch insulating layer; and a second touch metal layer disposed between the touch insulating layer and the insulating layer, wherein the touch buffer layer and the touch insulating layer extend from the active area into the non-active area, over the at least one dam, and to at least a portion of an area in which the pad is disposed. ( Respectfully, Kwak teaches of a touch sensor, which is well known to have metal conductive aspects and Examiner asserts Official Notice to this being well known )
Kwak and Jeong teach in Claim 17:
The touch display device of claim 1, wherein at least one touch electrode among the plurality of touch electrodes disposed in a corner region of the active area has a rounded edge. ( Both Kwak and Jeong teach of touch aspects and as for the location and shape, please note this is a design choice issue and not a patentable distinction )
Kwak and Jeong teach in Claim 18:
The touch display device of claim 1, further comprising at least one dam disposed between the at least one hole and the touch sensor. ( Jeong, Figure 40B, [0484] disclose a dam part DPP, for example. Respectfully, please note the combination with Kwak’s opening and touch aspects )
Kwak and Jeong teach in Claim 19:
The touch display device of claim 18, further comprising at least one protective layer disposed below the touch sensor, wherein the at least one dam is disposed in an area surrounding the at least one hole; and the at least one protective layer extends towards the at least one hole and over the at least one dam. ( Kwak teaches of a TFE layer 728 over the light emitting layer. Jeong, Figures 10A/10E, [0215] disclose the TFE layer 728 includes an organic layer, inorganic layer, organic metal layer which covers the light emitting layer 726 (read as first, second and third protective layers). As Figures 10A/10E shows, these are disposed in an area surrounding the opening ),
6. Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al.
( US 2017/0287992 A1 ) in view of Jeong et al. ( US 2018/0308903 A1 ), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Choi et al. ( US 2017/0235398 A1 ).
As per Claim 4:
Kwak does not explicitly teach “wherein a touch electrode closest to the at least one hole among the plurality of touch electrodes has a planar shape where the plane of other touch electrodes in a same row is cut.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, touch panels with a cut out for a camera module, Choi teaches of a view of a touch screen 3010 and camera device 1001 from a top, ( Choi, Figures 30A-30C, [0222] ). Notably, the touch electrodes 3001 have a normal shape and some have a cut shape. However, the shapes can vary as shown in Figures 30A-30C and respectfully, it is a design choice issue considering Choi teaches of adjusting the shapes of touch electrodes to accommodate the camera module.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the shape of the surrounding electrodes, as taught by Choi, with the motivation that Choi teaches the pattern of electrodes can be different from each other, ( Choi, [0224]+ ), with the key point being they can be any/of a shape such that a cut out can be achieved so as to not overlap with the camera device.
As per Claim 5:
Kwak does not explicitly teach “wherein an area of a touch electrode closest to the at least one hole among the plurality of touch electrodes smaller than an area of other touch electrodes in a same row.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, touch panels with a cut out for a camera module, Choi teaches of a view of a touch screen 3010 and camera device 1001 from a top, ( Choi, Figures 30A-30C, [0222] ). Notably, the touch electrodes 3001 have a normal shape and some have a cut shape. However, the shapes can vary as shown in Figures 30A-30C and respectfully, it is a design choice issue considering Choi teaches of adjusting the shapes of touch electrodes to accommodate the camera module. Furthermore, the electrode closest to the camera module has a smaller area than the other electrodes in that same row, as shown.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the shape of the surrounding electrodes, as taught by Choi, with the motivation that Choi teaches the pattern of electrodes can be different from each other, ( Choi, [0224]+ ), with the key point being they can be any/of a shape such that a cut out can be achieved so as to not overlap with the camera device.
As per Claim 6:
Kwak does not explicitly teach “wherein a touch electrode closest to the at least one hole among the plurality of touch electrodes surrounds at least a portion of the at least one function performing area.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, touch panels with a cut out for a camera module, Choi teaches of a view of a touch screen 3010 and camera device 1001 from a top, ( Choi, Figures 30A-30C, [0222] ). Notably, the touch electrodes 3001 have a normal shape and some have a cut shape. However, the shapes can vary as shown in Figures 30A-30C and respectfully, it is a design choice issue considering Choi teaches of adjusting the shapes of touch electrodes to accommodate the camera module. Furthermore, Choi shows the electrodes surrounding the camera module are at least covering a portion of the camera module, i.e .the sides.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the shape of the surrounding electrodes, as taught by Choi, with the motivation that Choi teaches the pattern of electrodes can be different from each other, ( Choi, [0224]+ ), with the key point being they can be any/of a shape such that a cut out can be achieved so as to not overlap with the camera device.
7. Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. ( US 2017/0287992 A1 ) in view of Jeong et al. ( US 2018/0308903 A1 ), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Kim et al. ( US 2019/0058027 A1 ).
As per Claim 12:
Kwak does not explicitly teach of “further comprising: a source/drain electrode connected to the light emitting element, wherein the pad includes a same material as the source/drain electrode.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, display panels, Kim teaches of a display device with an output pad, along with transistor aspects, ( Kim, Figures 2 and 3, [0079] ). Notably, the output pads may include the same material as that of the source electrode 161 and the drain electrode 162 of the thin film transistor TT, for example, metal such as Ti or Al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the same material for these elements, as taught by Kim, with the motivation that by using the same material, notably a metal, defects can be minimized during a manufacturing process, ( Kim, [0003] ).
Kim teaches in Claim 13:
The touch display device of claim 12, wherein the pad is disposed on the same layer as the source/drain electrode. ( Kim, [0079] discloses the output pads may be arranged in a same layer as the source and drain electrodes of the transistor )
8. Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak et al. ( US 2017/0287992 A1 ) in view of Jeong et al. ( US 2018/0308903 A1 ), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Li et al. ( US 2019/0034011 A1 ).
As per Claim 14:
Kwak does not explicitly teach of “at least one connecting pattern located outside the at least one hole, the connecting pattern connecting two touch electrodes among the plurality of touch electrodes forming rows or columns around the at least one hole, the two touch electrodes being separated by the at least one hole.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, touch panels with an integrated camera, Li teaches of a display panel 100 which includes a camera module 103, ( Li, Figure 1, [0038] ). In particular, Figure 2 shows being able to connect adjacent portions through the camera module 103 (similar to Applicant’s concepts) and it uses a plurality of data connection touch lines 102 (read as a connecting pattern), which recede into a recess and then again recede within camera module 103. Similar to Kwak, Li teaches to have a camera module instead of/in place of touch sensor elements and the lines 102 provide a connection bypassing this area. As shown in Figure 2, this touch line 102 can connect adjacent regions of the camera module 103 and as combined with Kwak, adjacent touch sensors groups are connected as the module 1001 is positioned between these sensors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the connection line, as taught by Li, with the motivation that display and touch sensing capabilities can be ensured at both sides of the camera module 103, important when the camera is integrated in the middle of the display region, ( Li, [0047] ).
Li teaches in Claim 15:
The touch display device of claim 14, wherein the at least one connecting pattern includes: a first connecting pattern disposed on the first layer and configured to electrically connect two touch electrodes, which are separated by the hole among a plurality of touch electrodes forming rows around the at least one hole. ( Li, Figure 1 shows a plurality of rows and Figure 2 shows the connection between two sides of each row and how it is connected through the separation of the camera module, as combined with Kwak )
Kwak and Li teach in Claim 16:
The touch display device of claim 15, wherein the at least one connecting pattern includes: a second connecting pattern disposed under the first layer and configured to electrically connect two touch electrodes, which are separated by the hole among a plurality of touch electrodes forming columns around the at least one hole. ( To clarify, the combination teaches that there are two sensor groups, as taught by Kwak, each with its own sensor connection lines, i.e. a second connecting pattern as combined with Li. The combination with Li teaches to have the data connection touch lines 102 disposed in a different layer for connecting the lines of one group together around the camera module and one of ordinary skill in the art would realize the same concept is applied to the other touch sensor grouping of Kwak as well. As for the non-linear recessed portion, please note Li’s Figure 2 and the reasoning provided above )
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments.
Kwak teaches of an opening in which the camera 800 is placed and as shown, this is a gap in the polymer/substrate area. Kwak also teaches of touch aspects, as does Jeong.
As for the encapsulation layer, Kwak teaches of a TFE layer which can comprise multiple layers. Jeong also teaches of encapsulation aspects as well.
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621