DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 8 are pending.
Claim 1 is independent.
This office action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 5 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bahgsorkhi (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0045927).
As per claim 1, Bahgsorkhi teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
generating computer executable code as one or more code portions [compiler parses source and divides it into a sequence of atomic transactions, each a basic block; coalesces them into coarser transactions, Fig. 3, blocks 302 – 306, 314, 0042 – 0043, 0047, 0054];
detecting a number of processing operations required to reach one or more predetermined stages [transaction ends with a commit function, 0046: the compiler computing device 102 may insert a call to a commit function at the end of each fine-grained transaction. Committing the transaction makes changes to volatile memory 146 variables persistent by writing the changes to a shadow copy of the volatile data 146 that is stored in the non-volatile memory 148.] in execution of each code portion [0043, 0047: in some embodiments, each fine-grained transaction may include four to five machine instructions. The compiler computing device 102 may use any technique to identify the fine-grained transactions. In some embodiments, in block 306 the compiler computing device 102 may identify the basic blocks of the computer program 202. Each fine-grained transaction may include a single basic block; in some embodiments the compiler computing device 102 may generate medium-grained transactions including about 50 machine instructions each as well as coarse-grained transactions including about 200 machine instructions each ]; and
associating with each code portion one or more progress indicators, each representing a respective execution stage of the one or more predetermined stages within execution of that code portion [compiler inserts a commit_X call at the end of each transaction, 0046, 0056; the target computing device 104 updates a commit status flag to “in-progress” and once the commit status flag has successfully been changed to “in-progress,” then the target computing device 104 may resume the commit phase of the transaction after a power failure. The target computing device 104 may log the bookkeeping flags (including the commit status flag) to allow for recovery in the event of a power failure while updating the commit status, 0063 ].
As per claim 5, Bahgsorkhi The method of claim 1, in which the generating step comprises compiling computer source code into two or more code portions [0042 – 0043: the compiler compiles C/C++ code source and forms multiple transactions, 0047 - 0049].
As per claim 6 Bahgsorkhi teaches the method of claim 5, comprising: providing, as a final processing stage of at least some of the code portions, checkpoint data storage code configured to store at least one or more data values generated by that code portion [commit_X at the end of each transaction persists the volatile log to an non-volatile shadow copy, 0046, 0062 – 0065, fig. 10]; and providing, as an initial processing stage of at least some of the code portions, checkpoint data retrieval code configured to retrieve at least one or more data values generated by a preceding code portion [retrieval happens in a recovery routine run on reboot 0022, 0073 - 0075].
As per claim 7, Bahgsorkhi teaches the method of claim 1, in which a progress indicator of the one or more progress indicators represents a respective execution stage within execution of that code portion after which a processor executing that code portion should save a current state in response to an interruption of power supply to the processor [restartPC marks commit start/end positions used to decide what is restored, 0078, 0082, figs. 10 and 11.
As per claim 8, Bahgsorkhi teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium which stores computer software which, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform the method of claim 1 [0020, 0083: in some embodiments, the methods 300, 600, and/or 700 may be embodied as various instructions stored on a computer-readable media, which may be executed by the processors 120, 140, a peripheral device 130, and/or other components of the compiler computing device 102 and/or the target computing device 104 to cause the corresponding compiler computing device 102 and/or target computing device 104 to perform the corresponding method 300, 600, and/or 700].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bahgsorkhi (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0045927).B , in view of Courousse et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0257805 A1, hereinafter “Courousse”).
As per claim 2, Bahgsorkhi teaches the method of claim 1. However, Bahgsorkhi does not teach “… in which a progress indicator of the one or more progress indicators represents a respective execution stage within execution of that code portion as a number of processing operations already executed during execution of that code portion…”.
Courousse is cited to teach a compiler that, for each basic block, counts the instructions inserted in the block an associates a resulting expected value with the block [0124 – 0126]. That value represents the number of instructions executed by the end of the block. Both Bahgsorkhi and Courousse are directed to marking/annotating instructions.
As per claim 2, Courousse is cited to teach … in which a progress indicator of the one or more progress indicators represents a respective execution stage within execution of that code portion as a number of processing operations already executed during execution of that code portion [counter is initialized at block start and incremented as each protected instruction executes; at block end, it’s value is saved (cnt_prec) and must equal the compile time expected value 0110, 0128, 0135, 0209].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Courousse with Bahgsorkhi, as Courousse provides improvements by detecting faults and checks so corrupted transactions are caught before committing to non-volatile memory.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jayakumar; Hrishikesh et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0343987 A1) “Microcontroller Energy Management System” is cited to teach a microcontroller system which employs an intermediate approach in hybrid FRAM-SRAM that involves memory mapping of program sections to retain the reliability benefits provided by FRAM while performing almost as efficiently as an SRAM-based system. The system utilizes an energy-aware memory mapping method which maps different program sections to the hybrid FRAM-SRAM MCU such that energy consumption is minimized without sacrificing reliability.
Seth, Anil et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0014742) “Technique For Compiling Computer Code To Reduce Energy Consumption While Executing The Code” is cited to teach a technique for reducing power consumption during execution of computer code including power-down instructions, while satisfying user-specified real-time constraints on a microprocessor. In one example embodiment, this is accomplished by identifying one or more potential locations in the computer code where the power-down instructions can be inserted. The identified potential locations are then analyzed to select the locations to insert the power-down instructions based on user-specified real-time constraints so that the inserted power-down instructions reduces power consumption without significantly increasing the execution time of the computer code.
/TERRELL S JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176