DETAILED ACTION
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a filed document or remarks of a filed response (see MPEP 502.03 II):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is Christopher.Legendre@uspto.gov.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Singapore on 15 July 2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 10202402077Y application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “404” (Figure 4B).
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, line 1, “a” should be changed to --the-- (to imbue proper antecedent basis practice - see claim 10, 2nd line from bottom).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
There are no limitations deemed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 3, and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for failing the written description requirement.
In claim 2, the limitation recited as “a gap at a second end of the pump shaft, wherein the gap is configured to allow at least one of the plurality of impellers to float when one or more stage deflections exceed a shaft lift” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that Applicant, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. According to MPEP 2163 (I)(A), issues of adequate written description may arise even for original claims, for example, when an aspect of the claimed invention has not been described with sufficient particularity such that one skilled in the art would recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. In the instant case, the originally filed disclosure depicts the claimed “gap” / gap 504 in Figure 5C - however, the gap 504 is disposed in a distal end of the shaft such that it is remote from all of the impellers 506 and/or such that a diffuser 102 interposes the gap 504 and the closest impeller 506 and, thus, is incapable of cooperating with any of the impellers 506 - i.e., the originally filed disclosure does not sufficiently describe how “the gap is configured to allow at least one of the plurality of impellers to float when one or more stage deflections exceed a shaft lift”. Due to similar issues/instances (i.e., “a clearance… at a top end of the pump shaft configured to allow limited impeller movement during stage deflection” - claim 10; “a clearance… at the other end of the pump shaft to allow for impeller float during deflection” - claim 18), this rejection also applies to claims 10, 11, 13, 18, and 19. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 12, 14-17, and 20.
In claim 3, the limitation recited as “a spring at a second end of the pump shaft, wherein the spring is configured to secure the plurality of impellers” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that Applicant, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. According to MPEP 2163 (I)(A), issues of adequate written description may arise even for original claims, for example, when an aspect of the claimed invention has not been described with sufficient particularity such that one skilled in the art would recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. In the instant case, the originally filed disclosure depicts the claimed “spring” / spring 404 in Figure 4B - however, the spring 404 is disposed in a distal end of the shaft such that it is remote from all of the impellers 104 and/or such that a diffuser 102 interposes the spring 404 and the closest impeller 104 and, thus, is incapable of cooperating with any of the impellers 404 - i.e., the originally filed disclosure does not sufficiently describe how “the spring is configured to secure the plurality of impellers”. Due to similar instances (i.e., “[a] spring at a top end of the pump shaft configured to allow limited impeller movement during stage deflection” - claim 10; “[a] spring… at the other end of the pump shaft to allow for impeller float during deflection” - claim 18), this rejection also applies to claims 10, 12, and 18. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 11, 13-17, 19, and 20.
In claim 9, the limitation recited as “the bottom of the pump shaft or an impeller hub comprises a two-piece ring held in place with a spacer and a retaining ring” (emphasis added) was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that Applicant, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. According to MPEP 2163 (I)(A), issues of adequate written description may arise even for original claims, for example, when an aspect of the claimed invention has not been described with sufficient particularity such that one skilled in the art would recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. In the instant case, the originally filed disclosure depicts (see Figures 6 7) the two-piece ring 606, the spacer 604, and the retaining ring 602 as separate/distinct from an impeller hub and/or far removed from an end of the shaft and, thus, does not sufficiently describe how the instant claimed structural relationships are realized.
Claims 2, 7, 9-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the limitation recited as “one or more stage deflections” renders the claim indefinite since there is no antecedent basis for “stage” and/or since it is unclear what it is intended to represent (note: since the “diffusers” are fixed, there can be no “stage deflection” - only deflection of the “impellers” is possible). Due to a similar issue/instance (i.e., “stage deflection”), this rejection also applies to claim 10. Due to dependency, this rejection also applies to claims 11-17.
In claim 7, the limitation recited as “a deflection exceeds a shaft lift” renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear what “deflection” is intended to describe - i.e., a deflection of what element/component? To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests adding --of at least one of the impellers-- after “deflection”. Due to an identical instance/issue, this rejection also applies to claim 15.
In claim 7, the limitation recited as “the stages” / “the stages where the deflection” renders the claim indefinite since there is no antecedent basis for “stage” (see MPEP 2173.05(e)). Furthermore, there can be no deflection of a “stage” since any such stage would include a “diffuser”, which is fixed. To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests changing “stages” to --the at least one of the impellers-- (note: see the preceding rejection/suggestion). Due to a similar instance/issue, this rejection also applies to claim 15.
In claim 9, the limitation recited as “the bottom of the pump shaft or an impeller hub comprises a two-piece ring held in place with a spacer and a retaining ring” (emphasis added) renders the claim indefinite. According to MPEP 2173.03, a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In the instant case, contrary to the instant limitations, the originally filed disclosure depicts (see Figures 6 7) the two-piece ring 606, the spacer 604, and the retaining ring 602 as separate/distinct from an impeller hub and/or far removed from an end of the shaft.
In claim 11, the limitation recited as “a gap at a second end of the pump shaft” renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if it is referring to the antecedent limitation “a clearance… at a top end of the pump shaft” or introducing a new limitation (note: “gap” is a synonym of “clearance”; par. [0046] states “gap 704 (e.g., clearance gap)”). Due to similar issues/instances, this rejection also applies to claims 13 and 19.
In claim 11, the limitation recited as “a second end of the pump shaft” renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if it is referring to the antecedent limitation “a top end of the pump shaft” or introducing a new limitation
In claim 12, the limitation recited as “a spring at a second of the pump shaft” renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if it is referring to the antecedent limitation “a spring at a top end of the pump shaft” or introducing a new limitation
In claim 12, the limitation recited as “a second of the pump shaft” renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if it is referring to the antecedent limitation “a top end of the pump shaft” or introducing a new limitation
In claim 20, the limitation recited as “a deflection exceeds a shaft lift” renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear what “deflection” is intended to describe - i.e., a deflection of what element/component? To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests adding --one of the impellers-- after “deflection”.
In claim 20, the limitation recited as “only one stage” renders the claim indefinite since “stage” lacks antecedent basis (see MPEP 2173.05(e)). To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests changing “only one stage” to --only the one of the impellers-- (note: see preceding rejection/suggestion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 11,242,856 - hereafter referred to as Smith).
In reference to claim 1
Smith discloses:
A pump for pumping fluid, the pump comprising:
a plurality of impellers (63) stacked on top of each other via a pump shaft (29);
a diffuser (49) corresponding to each impeller;
a body (23) housing the plurality of impellers, each diffuser corresponding to each impeller, and the pump shaft; and
a protector thrust bearing (75) at a first end (i.e., bottom end) of the pump shaft.
In reference to claim 2 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Smith discloses:
The pump of claim 1, further comprising a gap (i.e., a circumferential-radial gap/clearance between the splines at splined end 35 - Figure 2A) at a second end (35) of the pump shaft (29), wherein the gap is configured to allow at least one of the plurality of impellers (63) to float when one or more stage deflections exceed a shaft lift.
In reference to claim 3
Smith discloses:
The pump of claim 1, further comprising a spring (77) at a second end (i.e., top end) of the pump shaft (29), wherein the spring is configured to secure (see col.5:ll.19-27) the plurality of impellers (63).
In reference to claim 4
Smith discloses:
The pump of claim 1, wherein the plurality of impellers (63) are stacked hub-to-hub (see col.4:ll.47-54,62-65).
In reference to claim 5
Smith discloses:
The pump of claim 1, wherein the plurality of impellers (63) are configured to move along the shaft (29) in an upward direction (see col.4:ll.65-67 and col.5:ll.24-25).
In reference to claim 6
Smith discloses:
The pump of claim 1, wherein a downthrust generated by the plurality of impellers (63) is configured to be transferred (see col.5:ll.4-6) to the protector thrust bearing (75) through the shaft (29).
In reference to claim 7 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Smith discloses:
The pump of claim 1, wherein the pump is configured to limit a transfer of a thrust load such that when a deflection (i.e., a deflection of an impeller) exceeds a shaft lift, the thrust load from the stages where the deflection exceeds the shaft lift stage is transferred to an adjacent diffuser (note: each impeller 63 engages with the adjacent diffuser 49 at balance ring 69 and, thus, is capable of transferring thrust load thereto - see col.4:ll.40-43).
In reference to claim 8 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Smith discloses:
The pump of claim 1, wherein the pump is part of an electric submersible pump (ESP) system (see col.3:ll.16-18).
In reference to claim 10 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Smith discloses:
An electrical submersible pump (ESP), the ESP comprising:
a plurality of impellers (63);
a plurality of diffusers (49) corresponding to each of the plurality of impellers;
a pump shaft (29) connecting the plurality of impellers;
a protector thrust bearing (75) at a bottom end of the pump shaft; and
a clearance (i.e., the axially-extending gap, which is occupied by spring 77, between hub 73 and ring 29) or spring (77) at a top end of the pump shaft configured to allow limited impeller movement (see col.5:ll.19-27) during stage deflection in order to reduce thrust transfer.
In reference to claim 11 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Smith discloses:
The ESP of claim 10, further comprising a gap (i.e., the axially-extending gap, which is occupied by spring 77, between hub 73 and ring 29) at a second end (i.e., top end) of the pump shaft (29), wherein the gap is configured to allow at least one of the plurality of impellers (63) to float when one or more stage deflections exceed a shaft lift.
In reference to claim 12 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Smith discloses:
The ESP of claim 10, further comprising a spring (77) at a second end (i.e., top end) of the pump shaft (29), wherein the spring is configured to secure the plurality of impellers (63).
In reference to claim 13 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Smith discloses:
The ESP of claim 10, wherein the plurality of impellers (63) is configured to float at a top end of the pump shaft (29) via a gap (i.e., the axially-extending gap, which is occupied by spring 77, between hub 73 and ring 29).
In reference to claim 14
Smith discloses:
The ESP of claim 10, wherein a downthrust generated by one or more of the plurality of impellers (63) is configured to be transferred to the protector thrust bearing (75) through the shaft (29).
In reference to claim 15 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Smith discloses:
The ESP of claim 10, wherein the ESP is configured to limit a transfer of a thrust load such that when a deflection (i.e., a deflection of an impeller) exceeds a shaft lift, the thrust load from the stages where the deflection exceeds the shaft lift stage is transferred to an adjacent diffuser (note: each impeller 63 engages with the adjacent diffuser 49 at balance ring 69 and, thus, is capable of transferring thrust load thereto - see col.4:ll.40-43).
In reference to claim 18
Smith discloses:
A method of reducing wear in a pump, the method comprising:
stacking a plurality of impellers (63) on a pump shaft (29);
providing a diffuser (49) corresponding to each impeller;
housing the plurality of impellers, each corresponding diffuser, and the pump shaft in a body (23);
providing a protector thrust bearing (75) at one end of the pump shaft; and
providing a clearance (i.e., the axially-extending gap, which is occupied by spring 77, between hub 73 and ring 29) or spring (77) at the other end of the pump shaft to allow for impeller float (see col.5:ll.19-27) during deflection.
In reference to claim 19 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Smith discloses:
The method of claim 18, further comprising allowing one or more of the plurality of impellers (63) to float (see col.4:ll.65-67 and col.5:ll.24-25), via a gap (i.e., the axially-extending gap, which is occupied by spring 77, between hub 73 and ring 29) when one or more stage deflections exceed a shaft lift.
In reference to claim 20 (as far as it is clear and definite)
Smith discloses:
The method of claim 18, further comprising limiting a transfer of a thrust load such that when a deflection (i.e., a deflection of an impeller) exceeds a shaft lift, the thrust load from only one stage is transferred to an adjacent diffuser (note: each impeller 63 engages with the adjacent diffuser 49 at balance ring 69 and, thus, is capable of transferring thrust load thereto - see col.4:ll.40-43).
Examiner’s Comment / Allowable Subject Matter
Although claims 16 and 17 are not rejected over prior art, patentability cannot be determined in light of the 35 U.S.C. 112 issues described above. However, it is noted that the limitations of claims 16 and 17, in combination with the antecedent limitations, are not found in the prior art.
Citations of Pertinent Art
The following art is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Camacho et al. (WO 2017176283 A1) discloses a multistage pump comprising a thrust bearing system.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER R LEGENDRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745