Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mohamed (US 2009/0089334).
receiving a structured query associated with an in-memory dataset;
Mohamed [0045] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of a method 900 for determining whether to adopt a lazy partitioning/updating scheme in a database management. Database intelligence is collected in act 910. Such intelligence originates in statistics reflecting the usage of a database; e.g., query workload; insert/update timing, search and delete timing, sizes of lazy partitions and indexes; rate of access to indexes depending on record type, originating table, and so on.
identifying, based on the structured query, a plurality of tables included in the in-
memory dataset;
Mohamed [0045] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of a method 900 for determining whether to adopt a lazy partitioning/updating scheme in a database management. Database intelligence is collected in act 910. Such intelligence originates in statistics reflecting the usage of a database; e.g., query workload; insert/update timing, search and delete timing, sizes of lazy partitions and indexes; rate of access to indexes depending on record type, originating table, and so on.
generating index data that classifies records in at least one table of the plurality
of tables as responsive or unresponsive to the structured query; and
Mohamed claim 15, further comprising inferring a maximum allowable size for a partition of an index associated with a record in the table, the size based on query statistics regarding access of the index.
executing the structured query using the index data to generate a result set of
records.
Mohamed [0026] (iii) Update component 145 maintains updated indexes to present a consistent view to any queries that might be received by server 120 after an IUD 110 request has been resolved, e.g. a new record is created.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Fox (US 2024/0144337).
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the structured query references multiple datasets associated with different domains. However, Fox discloses:
Fox [0014] In the modern technological environment, where commercial marketing and sales transactions are both instant and ubiquitous, manufacturers may create video advertisements of products as they are launched to the public. Such video advertisements may demonstrate the use of a showcased product and the manufacturer may also create instructional videos to explain how the product's functionality should be used. These videos may be published in the public domain in a digital form, such as a video on a public web site, perhaps featured on the front page of the site to showcase the new product, or alternatively may be broadcasted on television as an advertisement during a popular program to a targeted audience. One difficulty of creating video advertisement is that such videos are usually a snapshot of a product at a particular time, meaning that it may be impossible to capture multiple models, or feature sets, of the product, e.g., the different trims of an automobile model, or changes to the product over a period of time. In the case of multiple versions of a product, new features may be added to the product and old features removed from the product, either because of hardware changes or, more commonly, with software updates that change the functionality of a product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Fox for the purpose of automatically generate product videos based on requested feature sets in stored data, see abstract.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Fox
Mohamed in view of Fox discloses: wherein the in-memory dataset comprises data structures derived from a snapshot and a delta file associated with different versions of a source dataset.
Fox [0014] In the modern technological environment, where commercial marketing and sales transactions are both instant and ubiquitous, manufacturers may create video advertisements of products as they are launched to the public. Such video advertisements may demonstrate the use of a showcased product and the manufacturer may also create instructional videos to explain how the product's functionality should be used. These videos may be published in the public domain in a digital form, such as a video on a public web site, perhaps featured on the front page of the site to showcase the new product, or alternatively may be broadcasted on television as an advertisement during a popular program to a targeted audience. One difficulty of creating video advertisement is that such videos are usually a snapshot of a product at a particular time, meaning that it may be impossible to capture multiple models, or feature sets, of the product, e.g., the different trims of an automobile model, or changes to the product over a period of time. In the case of multiple versions of a product, new features may be added to the product and old features removed from the product, either because of hardware changes or, more commonly, with software updates that change the functionality of a product.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Ghare (US 2019/0081876).
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose
wherein executing the structured query comprises identifying records included in a first version of a dataset and excluded from a second version of the dataset. However, Ghare discloses:
Ghare [0061] If data records are identified for removal, then as indicated at 850, a version of the anomaly detection model that excludes the data record(s) may be generated.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Ghare for the purpose of detecting real-time anomalies in a data stream.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Chand (US 2010/0114908).
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose further comprising storing a representation of the structured query for subsequent execution. However, Chand discloses:
Chand [0045] As mentioned, this relevancy may be determined in a number of ways, including performing a lookup in a database for a normalized version of the user inputted query and from the stored query that best matches the normalized query, identifying a set of suggested refinement links that are associated with the stored query. This association may have been algorithmically determined by, for example, determining a relevancy of particular search categories and subcategories to the stored queries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Chand for the purpose of determining relevant search categories and subcategories to return to a user upon receiving a user submitted query, see [0017].
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Meron (US 2023/0078312).
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein executing the structured query comprises traversing at least two levels of linked tables, wherein each table includes records that reference other records in a different table. However, Meron discloses:
Meron [0063] The search for the new event, relative to operation 340, would be repeated one or more times for other reduced feature tables. Simply searching one reduced feature table might not give a sufficiently good match, so multiple table could be searched until a confidence level is reached. For example, for a new event, all the feature tables listed above (F1+F2 key value pair, F1+F3 key value pair, etc.) can be searched, with a cluster weighting assigned to each intermediate search result. At the end of the process—or when a given cluster gets a sufficiently high weighted result—the new event can be assigned to a cluster as part of the online rapid clustering algorithm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Meron for the purpose of performing offline data processing that allows a faster online lookup in response to an event, see [0012]
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of
Vuskovic (US 2023/0259537).
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein generating the index data comprises generating a first index containing a first list of ordinals identifying records classified as being responsive to the structured query and a second index
containing a second list of ordinals identifying records classified as being unresponsive
to the structured query. However, Vuskovic discloses:
Vuskovic [0008] In some implementations, generating a set of two subqueries from the query includes identifying a list of items in the query, generating the first query from the portion of the query up to and including a first item of the list, and generating the second query from the portion of the query before the first item of the list and including a second item of the list. In certain aspects, generating a set of two subqueries from the query includes determining that a phrase in the query can be used as a third subquery that results in the list of items and replacing the phrase in the query with the list of items.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Vuskovic for the purpose of generating subqueries from a query, see abstract.
Examiner Note: Interpretation per specification [0167]
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of
Vuskovic in view of Pisczak (US 2024/0071374).
Mohamed in view of Vuskovic discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose applying an aggregating operation based on at least one of a count, a sum, an average, a minimum, or a maximum, wherein the aggregating operation is applied across records identified in the first index. However, Pisczak discloses:
Pisczak [0034] The intelligence device 120 can analyze and rate or score some or each VI data factor. The intelligence device 120 can generate an overall VI index of the user by combining, aggregating, averaging, weighted average, mean, or each individual scoring of the data factors, e.g. energy, words, inflection, tone, rate, and/or the like.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed in view of Vuskovic to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Pisczak for the purpose of a user enrolling or subscribing for verbal language analysis or analytics, see abstract.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Liu (US 2024/0119032).
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose retrieving a
schema associated with a type of record included in the in-memory dataset, wherein the schema defines a hierarchical structure with nested field references. However, Liu discloses:
Liu [0089] In some examples, the schema inference module 420 determines that the first column of a first number of records is successfully associated with a first schema type in the first level 510 and that the first column of a second number of records is unsuccessfully associated with the first schema type in the first level 510. Namely, some of the data in the first column of the sample of records is successfully associated with a first schema type and another portion of the data of the first column of a remaining portion of the sample of records is successfully associated with a second schema type or a schema type in another level of the hierarchy 500. In such cases, the schema inference module 420 calculates how many records are successfully associated with the first schema type and how many records are unsuccessfully associated with the first schema type. The records that are unsuccessfully associated with the first schema type can be referred to as outliers. In some cases, the records that are associated with the minority schema are defined as the outliers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Liu for the purpose of inferring a schema for a text file, see abstract.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Liu.
Mohamed in view of Liu discloses wherein validating the structured query comprises comparing at least one field referenced in the structured query to field names specified in the schema and rejecting the structured query in response to detecting a mismatch.
Liu [0089] In some examples, the schema inference module 420 determines that the first column of a first number of records is successfully associated with a first schema type in the first level 510 and that the first column of a second number of records is unsuccessfully associated with the first schema type in the first level 510. Namely, some of the data in the first column of the sample of records is successfully associated with a first schema type and another portion of the data of the first column of a remaining portion of the sample of records is successfully associated with a second schema type or a schema type in another level of the hierarchy 500. In such cases, the schema inference module 420 calculates how many records are successfully associated with the first schema type and how many records are unsuccessfully associated with the first schema type. The records that are unsuccessfully associated with the first schema type can be referred to as outliers. In some cases, the records that are associated with the minority schema are defined as the outliers.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mohamed.
receiving a structured query associated with an in-memory dataset;
Mohamed [0045] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of a method 900 for determining whether to adopt a lazy partitioning/updating scheme in a database management. Database intelligence is collected in act 910. Such intelligence originates in statistics reflecting the usage of a database; e.g., query workload; insert/update timing, search and delete timing, sizes of lazy partitions and indexes; rate of access to indexes depending on record type, originating table, and so on.
identifying, based on the structured query, a plurality of tables included in the in-
memory dataset;
Mohamed [0045] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of a method 900 for determining whether to adopt a lazy partitioning/updating scheme in a database management. Database intelligence is collected in act 910. Such intelligence originates in statistics reflecting the usage of a database; e.g., query workload; insert/update timing, search and delete timing, sizes of lazy partitions and indexes; rate of access to indexes depending on record type, originating table, and so on.
generating index data that classifies records in at least one table of the plurality
of tables as responsive or unresponsive to the structured query; and
Mohamed claim 15, further comprising inferring a maximum allowable size for a partition of an index associated with a record in the table, the size based on query statistics regarding access of the index.
executing the structured query using the index data to generate a result set of
records.
Mohamed [0026] (iii) Update component 145 maintains updated indexes to present a consistent view to any queries that might be received by server 120 after an IUD 110 request has been resolved, e.g. a new record is created.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Fox
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein
the operations further include: loading a first in-memory dataset and a second in-memory dataset corresponding to different source domains; and executing different portions of the structured query against each dataset. However, Fox discloses:
Fox [0014] In the modern technological environment, where commercial marketing and sales transactions are both instant and ubiquitous, manufacturers may create video advertisements of products as they are launched to the public. Such video advertisements may demonstrate the use of a showcased product and the manufacturer may also create instructional videos to explain how the product's functionality should be used. These videos may be published in the public domain in a digital form, such as a video on a public web site, perhaps featured on the front page of the site to showcase the new product, or alternatively may be broadcasted on television as an advertisement during a popular program to a targeted audience. One difficulty of creating video advertisement is that such videos are usually a snapshot of a product at a particular time, meaning that it may be impossible to capture multiple models, or feature sets, of the product, e.g., the different trims of an automobile model, or changes to the product over a period of time. In the case of multiple versions of a product, new features may be added to the product and old features removed from the product, either because of hardware changes or, more commonly, with software updates that change the functionality of a product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Fox for the purpose of automatically generate product videos based on requested feature sets in stored data, see abstract.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Ou (US 2024/0070135)
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein
the operations further include: storing the index data generated during execution of the structured query; and referencing the stored index data when executing a subsequent structured query against the in-memory dataset. However, Ou discloses:
Ou [0005] The one or more processors are further configured to direct the storage of the compact index in the cache memory, receive a point query, and identify data responsive to the point query by referencing the compact index stored in the cache memory. The one or more processors are also configured to retrieve the data responsive to the point query from the database.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Ou for the purpose of providing improved point querying of a database, see abstract.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Lee (US 2023/0129099).
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose
wherein executing the structured query comprises identifying records that differ between two
versions of a source dataset. However, Lee discloses:
Lee [0137] Although the DML statements and commit operations are shown as being sent in separate communications 816, 826, 842, in other cases, two or more of these statements and operations can be grouped into a single communication. As explained above, while the protocol 800 includes less overhead, it can result in database read operations seeing different data versions depending on whether the query is processed by the source node 804 or the replica node 808. In particular, at time T.sub.1, the transaction T1 has committed at the source node 804, and so a query will see the versions of Table 1 and Table 2 having the changes of T1. In contrast, a query executed by the replica node 808 at time T.sub.1 will see a version of Table 1 and Table 2 without the changes of T1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Lee for the purpose of enhancing performance by creating a replica of a source table, see [0040].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Fox.
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein
the operations further include: storing the structured query as a stored structured query; and
re-executing the stored structured query using a version of the in-memory dataset generated by applying one or more delta files to a stored snapshot of a source dataset. However, Fox discloses:
Fox [0014] In the modern technological environment, where commercial marketing and sales transactions are both instant and ubiquitous, manufacturers may create video advertisements of products as they are launched to the public. Such video advertisements may demonstrate the use of a showcased product and the manufacturer may also create instructional videos to explain how the product's functionality should be used. These videos may be published in the public domain in a digital form, such as a video on a public web site, perhaps featured on the front page of the site to showcase the new product, or alternatively may be broadcasted on television as an advertisement during a popular program to a targeted audience. One difficulty of creating video advertisement is that such videos are usually a snapshot of a product at a particular time, meaning that it may be impossible to capture multiple models, or feature sets, of the product, e.g., the different trims of an automobile model, or changes to the product over a period of time. In the case of multiple versions of a product, new features may be added to the product and old features removed from the product, either because of hardware changes or, more commonly, with software updates that change the functionality of a product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Fox for the purpose of automatically generate product videos based on requested feature sets in stored data, see abstract.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of George (US 2012/0191732).
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose
wherein the operations further include: retrieving a schema comprising a set of metadata fields and data types associated with a record type in the in-memory dataset; and
validating each field referenced in the structured query against the set of metadata fields. However, George discloses:
George [0044] The query complier 62 accesses the metadata fields for query resolution and validation. The input and output fields can be either fixed or variable fields.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of George for the purpose of providing a query complier to access metadata fields for query resolution and validation
Claims 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Fox
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the operations further include: retrieving a delta file specifying a set of changes to a source dataset; applying the delta file to a stored snapshot to generate a modified snapshot; and
loading the modified snapshot into memory as the in-memory dataset.
However, Fox discloses:
Fox [0014] In the modern technological environment, where commercial marketing and sales transactions are both instant and ubiquitous, manufacturers may create video advertisements of products as they are launched to the public. Such video advertisements may demonstrate the use of a showcased product and the manufacturer may also create instructional videos to explain how the product's functionality should be used. These videos may be published in the public domain in a digital form, such as a video on a public web site, perhaps featured on the front page of the site to showcase the new product, or alternatively may be broadcasted on television as an advertisement during a popular program to a targeted audience. One difficulty of creating video advertisement is that such videos are usually a snapshot of a product at a particular time, meaning that it may be impossible to capture multiple models, or feature sets, of the product, e.g., the different trims of an automobile model, or changes to the product over a period of time. In the case of multiple versions of a product, new features may be added to the product and old features removed from the product, either because of hardware changes or, more commonly, with software updates that change the functionality of a product.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Fox for the purpose of automatically generate product videos based on requested feature sets in stored data, see abstract.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mohamed
Mohamed discloses one or more memories that include instructions; and
one or more processors that are coupled to the one or more memories and,
when executing the instructions, are configured to execute structured
queries on in-memory datasets using index data, by performing the
operations of:
Mohamed [0019]
receiving a structured query associated with an in-memory dataset;
Mohamed [0045] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of a method 900 for determining whether to adopt a lazy partitioning/updating scheme in a database management. Database intelligence is collected in act 910. Such intelligence originates in statistics reflecting the usage of a database; e.g., query workload; insert/update timing, search and delete timing, sizes of lazy partitions and indexes; rate of access to indexes depending on record type, originating table, and so on.
identifying, based on the structured query, a plurality of tables included in the in-
memory dataset;
Mohamed [0045] FIG. 9 is a flowchart of a method 900 for determining whether to adopt a lazy partitioning/updating scheme in a database management. Database intelligence is collected in act 910. Such intelligence originates in statistics reflecting the usage of a database; e.g., query workload; insert/update timing, search and delete timing, sizes of lazy partitions and indexes; rate of access to indexes depending on record type, originating table, and so on.
generating index data that classifies records in at least one table of the plurality
of tables as responsive or unresponsive to the structured query; and
Mohamed claim 15, further comprising inferring a maximum allowable size for a partition of an index associated with a record in the table, the size based on query statistics regarding access of the index.
executing the structured query using the index data to generate a result set of
records.
Mohamed [0026] (iii) Update component 145 maintains updated indexes to present a consistent view to any queries that might be received by server 120 after an IUD 110 request has been resolved, e.g. a new record is created.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of George (US 2012/0191732).
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose
wherein the operations further include: retrieving a schema comprising a set of metadata fields and data types associated with a record type in the in-memory dataset; and
validating each field referenced in the structured query against the set of metadata fields. However, George discloses:
George [0044] The query complier 62 accesses the metadata fields for query resolution and validation. The input and output fields can be either fixed or variable fields.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of George for the purpose of providing a query complier to access metadata fields for query resolution and validation
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohamed in view of Parker (US 10,990,318).
Mohamed discloses elements of the claimed invention as noted but does not disclose wherein the operations further include constructing a first index comprising a first bitset identifying responsive records and a second index comprising a second bitset identifying unresponsive records, wherein each bit in the first bitset and each bit in the second bitset corresponds to an ordinal value identifying a record in the in-memory dataset. However, Parker discloses:
Parker col 11 lines 45-55 In an alternative configuration, the local server 34 is configured to allocate the data packets to sequentially fill up the memory segments of each memory block based on the order they arrive, but records or stores ordinal value associated with each received data packet against the location or address of the memory segment into which it is stored, for example in an index file. This enables the data packets to later be read-out in the correct order from their respective memory segment in the memory blocks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mohamed to obtain above limitation based on the teachings of Parker for the purpose of providing an improved method and system for receiving and/or accessing data files over the internet or other data network on an electronic device, or to at least provide the public with a useful choice, see col 1 lines 60-65.
/ETIENNE P LEROUX/Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2161