Claims 21-40 are active in this application as a result of the cancellation of claims 1-20.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/2025 and 12/01/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner's Note
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicants in preparing responses, to fully consider the entirety of the references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention.
It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including non-preferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123).
The Examiner has cited particular locations in the reference(s) as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, typically other passages and figures will apply as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bill (US 2020/0026532).
Regarding claims 21, 28, and 35, Bill discloses a method, a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising one or more sequences of instructions, and a computing system comprising a processor and a memory having programming instructions stored thereon (Figure 24), comprising:
receiving, by a computing system via a graphical user interface, a selection of a data transformation to be applied during a data mapping ([0044], “Using the Data Mapping GUI disclosed herein, a user can select data fields, map fields, and define transformation rules for mappings between data fields of two data schemas. The transformation rule of a mapping establishes the logical conditions under which one field, for example, object, entity, or group, of a mapping can be derived from another field of the mapping. The same or a similar transformation rule of a first mapping can be used for other mappings to create similar mappings based on the first mapping”);
generating, by the computing system, a preview of the selected data transformation by processing a sample of dataset records according to parameters for the selected data transformation (Figure 7, [0097]-[0100], “The transformation rule editor 720 is a GUI that enables the user to view the current transformation rule, data fields involved in the transformation, and the specific data transformed for the current data record. The transformation rule editor 720 can also enable the user to modify the transformation rule. [0098] For example, when a user clicks on a pill, for example, pill 702, the GUI can open the transformation rule editor 720. The transformation rule editor 720 has a transformation editor 704, a display 706 of the current data transformations between a field of the Data Source Schema 708 on the left side of the Data Mapping GUI and the mapped field of the Canonical Data Model 710 on the right side of the Data Mapping GUI, and a transformation preview window 722 with a sample of the data transformed”);
rendering, by the computing system, the preview within an overlay window in the graphical user interface (Figure 7 and corresponding text);
receiving, by the computing system via the overlay window, one or more user-specified transformation parameters ([0099]-[0100] and [0164]);
updating, by the computing system, the preview in real time or near real-time by reprocessing the sample according to the one or more user-specified transformation parameters ([0097]-[0100] and [0115]-[0117]); and
responsive to receiving a user confirmation, applying, by the computing system, the selected data transformation with the one or more user-specified transformation parameters to the dataset record during execution of the data mapping ([0100]-[0104] and [0164]).
Regarding claims 22, 29, and 36, Bill discloses wherein generating, by the computing system, the preview of the selected data transformation comprises: sampling the dataset records using one of a random sampling technique or a criteria-based sampling technique selected to ensure responsiveness for large datasets (Figure 10A, [0098], [0116]-[0117]).
Regarding claims 23, 30, and 37, Bill discloses receiving, by the computing system, adjustments in real-time or near real-time, the adjustments affecting the preview shown in the overlay window ([0132]).
Regarding claims 24, 31, and 38, Bill discloses wherein the overlay window includes action controls comprising one or more of: a preview button to trigger generation of the preview on the sample of the dataset record; an apply button to commit the selected data transformation with the one or more user- specified parameters; a pause button to pause processing of the preview; a duplicate button to replicate current settings for further modification; or a remove button to remove the selected data transformation. Please see [0126], [0150], [0156]-[0159].
Regarding claims 25, 32, and 39, Bill discloses wherein updating, by the computing system, the preview in real time or near real-time by reprocessing the sample of the dataset record according to the one or more user-specified transformation parameters occurs while the computing system continues to ingest streaming data from a real-time source, and the selected data transformation is applied to subsequent streaming data records ([0097]-[0100] and [0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claims 26, 33, and 40, Bill discloses prior to applying the selected data transformation to the dataset records, validating, by the computing system, the one or more user-specified transformation parameters for consistency and presenting an in-interface notification if a parameter is inconsistent with a data type or a missing dependency ([0097]-[0098], [0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claims 27, and 34, Bill discloses wherein the preview is presented as at least one of a tabular table or a chart that visually represents effects of the selected data transformation on the sampled dataset (Figure 7 and corresponding text).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mellen (US 20210097684) discloses systems and methods for identifying morphological patterns in tissue samples.
/MERILYN P NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153
August 5, 2026