DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . All the claims have been examined on the basis of the merit of the claims.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. CONTINUING DATA: This application is a CON of 18/763,654 07/03/2024 PAT 12386466. 18/763,654 is a CON of 18/334,951 06/14/2023 PAT 12067198. 18/334,951 is a CON of 17/538,767 11/30/2021 PAT 11714511. 17/538,767 is a CON of 17/010,609 09/02/2020 PAT 11262875. 17/010,609 is a CON of 15/839,033 12/12/2017 PAT 10809817. 15/839,033 is a CON of PCT/JP2015/071994 08/03/2015.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 08/07/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 10809817 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see page 6, filed 08/07/2026, with respect to double patenting rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The DP rejection of the last office action has been withdrawn.
Applicants’ arguments, see pages 6-8, filed 08/07/2026, with respect to rejection of claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner presents paragraph 0024, fig.2, each frame may include a synchronization signal (or beacon) and a train of data defining a plurality of parameters, e.g. pressure, hover or tip, button status, identification and error protection scheme. So, two different schemes/codes can be used to transmit at least two different signals.
Further, see paragraph 0027, optionally, the data transmitted by the stylus is divided into sub-frames and each sub-frame or slot includes data using both Code 1 and Code 2. For example, two different synchronization signals may be transmitted during Sub-Frame 1, two different pressure signals may be transmitted during Sub-Frame 2 and two different stylus ID signals may be transmitted during Sub-Frame 2. This series may be repeated for each frame.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. So, the rejection is sustained and made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gur et al. (US-20160195943-A1, hereinafter as Gur).
In regard to claims 1, 10 and 19, Gur discloses “and reception circuitry, which, in operation, controls receiving, from the stylus, a stylus signal in response to the trigger signal which is used to synchronize the stylus with the sensor controller (para 0017, digitizer circuitry 25 typically includes a stylus detection engine 27 for synchronizing with stylus 120, for processing input received by stylus 120 and/or for tracking coordinates of stylus 120.);”
Gur does not expressly disclose “a sensor controller, comprising transmission circuitry, which, in operation, controls transmitting, to a stylus, a trigger signal using a first modulation scheme; wherein the transmission circuitry, in operation, controls transmitting, to the stylus, a command signal different from the trigger signal using a second modulation scheme different from the first modulation scheme” but makes these limitations obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Gur discloses at paragraph 0024, fig.2, each frame may include a synchronization signal (or beacon) and a train of data defining a plurality of parameters, e.g. pressure, hover or tip, button status, identification and error protection scheme. So, two different schemes/codes can be used to transmit at least two different signals. Further, see paragraph 0027, optionally, the data transmitted by the stylus is divided into sub-frames and each sub-frame or slot includes data using both Code 1 and Code 2. For example, two different synchronization signals may be transmitted during Sub-Frame 1, two different pressure signals may be transmitted during Sub-Frame 2 and two different stylus ID signals may be transmitted during Sub-Frame 2. This series may be repeated for each frame.
The claimed subject matter differs in that that the claimed first and the second signals are transmitted to the stylus from the “sensor controller.” In comparison, the first signal and the second signal in the reference of Gur are transmitted from a handheld device (stylus 120) to the touch computing device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the invention, to use Gur’s teaching to design transceiver to be disposed on the touch screen to essentially perform the same functions and transmit first and second signals to a stylus. The motivation to do so would have been to synchronize using a first modulation process and detect stylus location/pressure or coordinate data employing a second modulation process.
In regard to claim 2, Gur discloses the sensor controller according to claim 1, wherein the transmission circuitry, after the reception circuitry receives the stylus signal, transitions from using the first modulation scheme to using the second modulation scheme (para 0025, in some exemplary embodiments, a stylus transmits data using two different codes, e.g. Code 1 and Code 2. Typically, Code 1 and Code 2 transmit the same information using different modulation, frequency or both. Optionally, Code 1 uses analog based encoding and Code 2 uses digital based encoding. Analog encoding may include for example using frequency modulation (FM) or a specific frequency for different pressure levels or for identification. Digital encoding may include frequency shift keying (FSK), phase shift keying (PSK), or amplitude shift keying (ASK).).
In regard to claim 3, Gur discloses the sensor controller according to claim 1, wherein the command signal includes content, based on which the stylus performs defined processing (para 0028, a stylus identity may include a plurality of symbols transmitted over a plurality of frames).
In regard to claim 4, Gur discloses the sensor controller according to claim 3, wherein the reception circuitry, in operation, controls receiving, from the stylus, a data signal in response to the command signal, wherein the data signal includes at least a stylus ID data or a stylus pressure data (only one limitation of ID is read. However, Gur discloses both the limitations. Para 0028, a stylus identity may include a plurality of symbols transmitted over a plurality of frames. Para 0027, for pressure).
In regard to claim 5, Gur discloses the sensor controller according to claim 1, wherein the first modulation scheme is used to synchronize the stylus with the sensor controller, and the second modulation scheme is used to transmit the command signal after the stylus and the sensor controller are synchronized using the first modulation scheme (fig.2, para 0025, a stylus transmits data using two different codes, e.g. Code 1 and Code 2. Typically, Code 1 and Code 2 transmit the same information using different modulation, frequency or both. Optionally, Code 1 uses analog based encoding and Code 2 uses digital based encoding. Analog encoding may include for example using frequency modulation (FM) or a specific frequency for different pressure levels or for identification. Digital encoding may include frequency shift keying (FSK), phase shift keying (PSK), or amplitude shift keying (ASK).).
In regard to claim 6, Gur discloses the sensor controller according to claim 1, wherein the trigger signal causes the stylus, which is using the first modulation scheme to transmit the stylus signal, to transition using the second modulation scheme to receive the command signal (para 0024, Each frame may include a synchronization signal (or beacon) and a train of data defining a plurality of parameters, e.g. pressure, hover or tip, button status, identification and error protection scheme. In some exemplary embodiments, the computing device synchronizes with the stylus frame based on detection of the synchronization signal. Typically, the computing device also used the synchronization signal for position detection.).
In regard to claim 7, Gur discloses the sensor controller according to claim 1, wherein the transmission of the trigger signal using the first modulation scheme and the transmission of the command signal using the second modulation scheme occur at different times (fig.2, sub-frames as sown for synchronization and transmitting data like pressure occur at two different frames, para 0024-0025. Additionally, para 0027, data transmitted by stylus is divided into sub-frames.).
In regard to claim 8, Gur discloses the sensor controller according to claim 1, wherein the transmission circuitry, in operation, repeatedly transmits the trigger signal until the reception circuitry receives the stylus signal (para 0027, the series may be repeated for each frame and synchronizes with stylus frame based on detection of the synchronization signal as per para 0024).
In regard to claim 9, Gur discloses the sensor controller according to claim 1, wherein the transmission circuitry, after the reception circuitry receives the stylus signal, controls transmitting the command signal using the second modulation scheme (para 0025, in some exemplary embodiments, a stylus transmits data using two different codes, e.g. Code 1 and Code 2. Typically, Code 1 and Code 2 transmit the same information using different modulation, frequency or both. Optionally, Code 1 uses analog based encoding and Code 2 uses digital based encoding. Analog encoding may include for example using frequency modulation (FM) or a specific frequency for different pressure levels or for identification. Digital encoding may include frequency shift keying (FSK), phase shift keying (PSK), or amplitude shift keying (ASK).).
In regard to claim 11, Gur discloses the method according to claim 10, comprising: after receiving the stylus signal, transitioning from using the first modulation scheme to using the second modulation scheme (para 0025, in some exemplary embodiments, a stylus transmits data using two different codes, e.g. Code 1 and Code 2. Typically, Code 1 and Code 2 transmit the same information using different modulation, frequency or both. Optionally, Code 1 uses analog based encoding and Code 2 uses digital based encoding. Analog encoding may include for example using frequency modulation (FM) or a specific frequency for different pressure levels or for identification. Digital encoding may include frequency shift keying (FSK), phase shift keying (PSK), or amplitude shift keying (ASK).).
In regard to claim 12, Gur discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the command signal includes content, based on which the stylus performs defined processing (para 0028, a stylus identity may include a plurality of symbols transmitted over a plurality of frames).
In regard to claim 13, Gur discloses the method according to claim 12, comprising: receiving, from the stylus, a data signal in response to the command signal, wherein the data signal includes at least a stylus ID data or a stylus pressure data (only one limitation of ID is read. However, Gur discloses both the limitations. Para 0028, a stylus identity may include a plurality of symbols transmitted over a plurality of frames. Para 0027, for pressure).
In regard to claim 14, Gur discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the first modulation scheme is used to synchronize the stylus with the sensor controller, and the second modulation scheme is used to transmit the command signal after the stylus and the sensor controller are synchronized using the first modulation scheme (fig.2, para 0025, a stylus transmits data using two different codes, e.g. Code 1 and Code 2. Typically, Code 1 and Code 2 transmit the same information using different modulation, frequency or both. Optionally, Code 1 uses analog based encoding and Code 2 uses digital based encoding. Analog encoding may include for example using frequency modulation (FM) or a specific frequency for different pressure levels or for identification. Digital encoding may include frequency shift keying (FSK), phase shift keying (PSK), or amplitude shift keying (ASK).).
In regard to claim 15, Gur discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the trigger signal causes the stylus, which is using the first modulation scheme to transmit the stylus signal, to transition to using the second modulation scheme to receive the command signal (para 0024, Each frame may include a synchronization signal (or beacon) and a train of data defining a plurality of parameters, e.g. pressure, hover or tip, button status, identification and error protection scheme. In some exemplary embodiments, the computing device synchronizes with the stylus frame based on detection of the synchronization signal. Typically, the computing device also used the synchronization signal for position detection.).
In regard to claim 16, Gur discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the transmission of the trigger signal using the first modulation scheme and the transmission of the command signal using the second modulation scheme occur at different times (fig.2, sub-frames as shown for synchronization and transmitting data like pressure occur at two different frames, para 0024-0025. Additionally, para 0027, data transmitted by stylus is divided into sub-frames.).
In regard to claim 17, Gur discloses the method according to claim 10, comprising: repeatedly transmitting the trigger signal until the stylus signal is received (para 0027, the series may be repeated for each frame and synchronizes with stylus frame based on detection of the synchronization signal as per para 0024).
In regard to claim 18, Gur discloses the method according to claim 10, comprising: after the stylus signal is received, transmitting the command signal using the second modulation scheme (para 0025, in some exemplary embodiments, a stylus transmits data using two different codes, e.g. Code 1 and Code 2. Typically, Code 1 and Code 2 transmit the same information using different modulation, frequency or both. Optionally, Code 1 uses analog based encoding and Code 2 uses digital based encoding. Analog encoding may include for example using frequency modulation (FM) or a specific frequency for different pressure levels or for identification. Digital encoding may include frequency shift keying (FSK), phase shift keying (PSK), or amplitude shift keying (ASK).).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEEPROSE SUBEDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627