Claim Objections
Claims 2-4, 10, and 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “SSID” needs further clarification and needs to be spell out. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Independent claims 1, 11 and 19:
Claims 1 is drawn to “apparatus”, claim 11 is drawn to “method”, and claim 19 is drawn to “apparatus”, therefore each of these claim groups falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter).
Claims 1, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1, 11 and 19 recite detecting an issue that prevents the STA from onboarding with an access point (AP); and securely transmitting, after detecting the issue, diagnostic data from the STA to the AP, wherein the diagnostic data is encrypted using a key. The limitation steps under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind then it falls within the mental process/human activity grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claims 1 and 19 recite the additional elements of “one or more memories” and “one or more processors” as recited in the claims. However, one or more processors and one or more memories are recited at a high level of generality and are generic computer components such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Considering the claims as a whole, looking at the elements individually and in an ordered combination, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application using the considerations set forth above.
The claims does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of the processor and the memory including computer program codes are recited at a high level of generality and are generic computer components such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claimed elements, either individually, or in the ordered combination do not add significantly more to the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2-10, 12-18 and 20 further clarify the concept recited in independent claims, however this clarification still falls under the concept recited in the independent claims and do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10-12, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Swaminathan (2012/0182877).
For claim 1, Swaminathan teaches a station (STA) (Swaminathan teaches the wireless station devices as Swaminathan teaches in par.38) comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to, individually or collectively (Swaminathan teaches personal digital assistants (PDAs), personal computers, hand held computers, notebook computers, mobile phones, digital audio players, digital video players or any other type of handheld or personal wireless electronic device from which it may be desired to communicate with another device or another computer network as Swaminathan teaches in par.73), perform operations comprising: detecting an issue that prevents the STA from onboarding with an access point (AP) (Swaminathan teaches for detecting a problem in a wireless communication network while a wireless device is newly added to the wireless communication network such that The Probe Request Management Frame is sent to get more information about an access point/Wi-Fi router that it wants to connect to as Swaminathan teaches in par.4 and 34); and securely transmitting (Swaminathan teaches transmitting the embedded information over the wireless communication network to a diagnostic tool using the communication protocol as Swaminathan teaches in par.6), after detecting the issue (Swaminathan teaches embedding information associated with the newly added wireless device into a communication protocol, the embedded information including information about the errors encountered by the wireless device while the wireless device is newly added to the wireless communication network as Swaminathan teaches in par.5), diagnostic data from the STA to the AP (Swaminathan teaches the diagnostic tool resides on one of the wireless devices connected to the wireless communication network or on an access point or on a router as Swaminathan teaches in par 6 and par.12), wherein the diagnostic data is encrypted using a key (Swaminathan teaches using a unique key and encrypting the information associated with the newly added wireless device and embedding the encrypted information into the communication protocol as Swaminathan teaches in par.12-13).
For claims 2 and 12, Swaminathan further teaches wherein the key is provided to the STA at least one of: when provisioning the STA to connect to a SSID associated with the AP, or when the STA previously connected to the SSID (Swaminathan teaches Probe Request Management Frame is used by a station to find an access point and get information about its capabilities. The frame body of a Probe Request Management frame contains the Secure Set Identifier (SSID) of the Basic Service Set of interest and the supported transmission rates as Swaminathan teaches in par.22).
For claims 5 and 15, Swaminathan further teaches wherein a lifetime of the key is not tied to a lifetime of a session between the STA and the AP (Swaminathan teaches the connectivity settings are manually set by the user on the wireless device and hence could be prone to typographical errors. These kinds of errors can be captured by sending the user set values to the diagnostic tool by embedding them in the Probe Request Management frame. This is where encrypting the information in the Probe Request Management frame could be useful as it will prevent eavesdropper from getting access to sensitive information like security key such that the unique key is derived from at least one of, a user defined password, a biometric, a tag as Swaminathan teaches in par.14-16 and 32).
For claims 6 and 17, Swaminathan further teaches wherein the diagnostic data is included in a deauthentication or deassociation frame (Swaminathan teaches initially it is both unauthenticated and unassociated as Swaminathan teaches in par.22).
For claims 7 and 18, Swaminathan further teaches wherein the operation further comprises: receiving a request at the STA from the AP for diagnostic information while the STA is not associated with the AP (Swaminathan teaches for detecting a problem in a wireless communication network while a wireless device is newly added to the wireless communication network such that The Probe Request Management Frame is sent to get more information about an access point/Wi-Fi router that it wants to connect to as Swaminathan teaches in par.4 and 34); and transmitting the diagnostic information to the AP, wherein the diagnostic information is encrypted using the key (Swaminathan teaches transmitting the embedded information over the wireless communication network to a diagnostic tool using the communication protocol, the diagnostic tool resides on one of the wireless devices connected to the wireless communication network or on an access point or on a router and transmitting the embedded information over the wireless communication network to a diagnostic tool using the communication protocol by using a unique key and encrypting the information associated with the newly added wireless device and embedding the encrypted information into the communication protocol as Swaminathan teaches in par.6, 12-13).
For claim 8, Swaminathan further teaches wherein the diagnostic data is formatted in a diagnostic element that indicates a phase of onboarding where the issue was encountered and a sub-category associated with the phase (Swaminathan teaches the modified Probe Request Management Frame is analyzed to determine the cause of the problem and the associated solution. The modified Probe Request Management Frame comprises information associated with the impaired wireless device. Analyzing the information can help in proper diagnosis of the problem and in finding a solution to the diagnosed problem Swaminathan teaches in par.6, 12-13).
For claims 10, Swaminathan further teaches wherein the key is SSID-wide key that is used by every STA that sends diagnostic information to a SSID associated with the AP (Swaminathan teaches in case of Wi-Fi (e.g. IEEE 802.11x), a few of these parameters could be Service Set Identifier (SSID), Channel Number and Security Key or Passphrase. If the configuration of the wireless connectivity parameters of the wireless device 150-k is incorrect, then the wireless device may not be able to join the wireless communication network 100 and perform its normal operation. The newly added wireless could also face connectivity problems due to the settings of the wireless network infrastructure nodes (like MAC filtering enabled on the router) or due to the composition of the wireless network (e.g., already too many devices in the wireless network or unauthorized access of the wireless network by rogue elements such that everytime by every STA that sends diagnostic information to a SSID associated with the AP as Swaminathan teaches in par.77-79).
For claim 11, Swaminathan teaches A method (abstract) comprising: providing a key to a station (STA) (Swaminathan teaches to add a wireless device into a wireless communication network user has to set correct values for the wireless connectivity parameters associated with the wireless device. As an illustrative example, in case of Wi-Fi (e.g. IEEE 802.11x), a few of these parameters could be Service Set Identifier (SSID), Channel Number and Security Key or Passphrase as Swaminathan teaches in par.8); detecting, at the STA, an issue that prevents the STA from onboarding with an access point (AP(Swaminathan teaches for detecting a problem in a wireless communication network while a wireless device is newly added to the wireless communication network such that The Probe Request Management Frame is sent to get more information about an access point/Wi-Fi router that it wants to connect to as Swaminathan teaches in par.4 and 34); and securely transmitting (Swaminathan teaches transmitting the embedded information over the wireless communication network to a diagnostic tool using the communication protocol as Swaminathan teaches in par.6), after detecting the issue (Swaminathan teaches embedding information associated with the newly added wireless device into a communication protocol, the embedded information including information about the errors encountered by the wireless device while the wireless device is newly added to the wireless communication network as Swaminathan teaches in par.5), diagnostic data from the STA to the AP (Swaminathan teaches the diagnostic tool resides on one of the wireless devices connected to the wireless communication network or on an access point or on a router as Swaminathan teaches in par.12), wherein the diagnostic data is encrypted using the key (Swaminathan teaches using a unique key and encrypting the information associated with the newly added wireless device and embedding the encrypted information into the communication protocol as Swaminathan teaches in par.13).
For claim 19, Swaminathan teaches An access point (AP) (Swaminathan teaches an access point/Wi-Fi router that it wants to connect to as Swaminathan teaches in par.4 and 34) comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories, wherein the one or more processors are configured to, individually or collectively (Swaminathan teaches personal digital assistants (PDAs), personal computers, hand held computers, notebook computers, mobile phones, digital audio players, digital video players or any other type of handheld or personal wireless electronic device from which it may be desired to communicate with another device or another computer network as Swaminathan teaches in par.73), perform operations comprising: determining that a STA is attempting to onboard to the AP (Swaminathan teaches for detecting a problem in a wireless communication network while a wireless device is newly added to the wireless communication network such that The Probe Request Management Frame is sent to get more information about an access point/Wi-Fi router that it wants to connect to as Swaminathan teaches in par.4 and 34); and receiving, before the STA has on boarded to the AP (Swaminathan teaches embedding information associated with the newly added wireless device into a communication protocol, the embedded information including information about the errors encountered by the wireless device while the wireless device is newly added to the wireless communication network as Swaminathan teaches in par.5), diagnostic data from the STA indicating that an issue has prevented the STA from onboarding (Swaminathan teaches the diagnostic tool resides on one of the wireless devices connected to the wireless communication network or on an access point or on a router as Swaminathan teaches in par.12), wherein the diagnostic data is encrypted using a key (Swaminathan teaches using a unique key and encrypting the information associated with the newly added wireless device and embedding the encrypted information into the communication protocol as Swaminathan teaches in par.13).
For claims 20, Swaminathan further teaches wherein operation further comprises: transmitting the key to the STA when the STA previously successfully on boarded to the AP (Swaminathan teaches that to add a wireless device into a wireless communication network user has to set correct values for the wireless connectivity parameters associated with the wireless device and the customer enters wireless parameters like SSID, Channel Number, Security Key, notifying the user edited information to the diagnostic tool could be used to verify that they are indeed correct. Since it is assumed that the diagnostic tool is running on a wireless device that already has established wireless connectivity, it follows that the diagnostic tool will have the correct set of these network parameters against which it can check the parameter set sent by the impaired wireless device, so if the parameter configuration already correct parameters then there will be no issue as Swaminathan teaches in par.8 and 36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 9, 13-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swaminathan (2012/0182877) in views of Vu et al (7636338).
For claims 3 and 13, Swaminathan teaches all the limitations as previously set forth except for wherein the operation further comprises: receiving the key from at least one AP associated with the SSID when the STA previously connected to the SSID.
Vu teaches, similar system, receiving the key from at least one AP associated with the SSID when the STA previously connected to the SSID (Vu teaches that A user responds to a question presented by the set-up wizard by entering an input that is received at the client 14 (112). The client 14 uses an algorithm to generate (114) a unique service set identifier (SSID) (e.g., using SSID generator 42) and secure key (e.g., using key generator 44 in the client 14). A SSID is a sequence of characters that uniquely names a wireless local area network (WLAN). This name allows clients to connect to a desired network when multiple independent networks operate in the same physical area, The client's response generated in step 112, is transmitted to the AP 12. The AP 12 uses the same algorithm to generate (116) the SSID and secure key (e.g., using the SSID generator 42 and key generator 44 in the AP 12). In a particular example, the algorithm combines or hashes the input with some other information, such an AP media access control (MAC) address, One of the AP or the client signals that the key generation process is complete by transmitting a challenge message to the other (e.g., using the verification engine 43), and the client 14 sends (118) a challenge text to the AP 12 (e.g., using verification engine 43) and the AP 12 encrypts (120) the challenge text (e.g., using the secure key and verification engine 43). The AP 12 sends the encrypted challenge text to the client 14 as Vu teaches in col.6, lines 1-30). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Swaminathan to include receiving the key from at least one AP associated with the SSID when the STA previously connected to the SSID as taught and suggested by Vu for the purpose of avoiding usage of complex manual configuration utilities and provides security to prevent security compromises such as unwanted snooping and rogue client access (Vu, col.2, lines 5-10).
For claims 4 and 14, Swaminathan teaches all the limitations as previously set forth except for wherein the operation further comprises: generating the key at the STA; and transmitting the key to at least one AP associated with the SSID when the STA previously connected to the SSID.
Vu further teaches that wherein the operation further comprises: generating the key at the STA (Vu teaches that The access point includes a receiver to receive a client input from the proximately located client, an engine to generate a unique service set identifier (SSID) and a secure key from the client input and a verification engine to verify a client text encrypted by the client with the secure key. The verification engine can, alternatively, encrypt challenge text for verification by the client as Vu teaches in col.44-50); and transmitting the key to at least one AP associated with the SSID when the STA previously connected to the SSID (Vu teaches that The client's response generated in step 112, is transmitted to the AP 12. The AP 12 uses the same algorithm to generate (116) the SSID and secure key (e.g., using the SSID generator 42 and key generator 44 in the AP 12). In a particular example, the algorithm combines or hashes the input with some other information, such an AP media access control (MAC) address, One of the AP or the client signals that the key generation process is complete by transmitting a challenge message to the other (e.g., using the verification engine 43), and the client 14 sends (118) a challenge text to the AP 12 (e.g., using verification engine 43) and the AP 12 encrypts (120) the challenge text (e.g., using the secure key and verification engine 43). The AP 12 sends the encrypted challenge text to the client 14 as Vu teaches in col.6, lines 1-30). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Swaminathan to generating the key at the STA; and transmitting the key to at least one AP associated with the SSID when the STA previously connected to the SSID as taught and suggested by Vu for the purpose of avoiding usage of complex manual configuration utilities and provides security to prevent security compromises such as unwanted snooping and rogue client access (Vu, col.2, lines 5-10).
For claim 9, Swaminathan teaches all the limitations as previously set forth and Swaminathan further teaches that wherein the operation further comprises, before detecting the issue: detecting, at the STA, another issue that prevents the STA from onboarding with the AP (Swaminathan teaches for detecting a problem in a wireless communication network while a wireless device is newly added to the wireless communication network such that The Probe Request Management Frame is sent to get more information about an access point/Wi-Fi router that it wants to connect to as Swaminathan teaches in par.4 and 34); and transmitting, in response to detecting the issue, additional diagnostic data from the STA to the AP (Swaminathan teaches transmitting the embedded information over the wireless communication network to a diagnostic tool using the communication protocol, the diagnostic tool resides on one of the wireless devices connected to the wireless communication network or on an access point or on a router and transmitting the embedded information over the wireless communication network to a diagnostic tool using the communication protocol by using a unique key and encrypting the information associated with the newly added wireless device and embedding the encrypted information into the communication protocol as Swaminathan teaches in par.6, 12-13).
Swaminathan fails to teach that wherein the additional diagnostic data is unencrypted.
Vu further teaches that wherein the additional diagnostic data is unencrypted (Vu teaches that verification engine 43 includes encryption and decryption services (not shown) for encrypting or decrypting communications with the client as Vu teaches in col.3, lines 25-30). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Swaminathan to data is unencrypted as taught and suggested by Vu for the purpose of avoiding usage of complex manual configuration utilities and provides security to prevent security compromises such as unwanted snooping and rogue client access (Vu, col.2, lines 5-10).
For claims 16, Swaminathan teaches all the limitations as previously set forth except for determining a lifetime of the key is going to expire; and providing a new key to the STA after the STA successfully associates with the AP.
Vu further teaches that determining a lifetime of the key is going to expire; and providing a new key to the STA after the STA successfully associates with the AP (Vu teaches that Multicasting can be continuous or for a predetermined period of time as VU teaches in col.5, lines 25-42). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before effective filling date to modify Swaminathan to the key is going to expire as taught and suggested by Vu for the purpose of avoiding usage of complex manual configuration utilities and provides security to prevent security compromises such as unwanted snooping and rogue client access (Vu, col.2, lines 5-10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/AYUB A MAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2436 /MOEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436