DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koskan US 2020/0319333 in view of Kramer et al US 2020/0314388(hereinafter Kramer).
Regarding claim1,Koskan teaches a spotlight and night vision device mounting system for a vehicle, the system (fig. 1, 4)comprising: an actuating bar connected to the vehicle and having a first end internal to the vehicle and a second end external to the vehicle, wherein the actuating bar acts as a coaxial shaft to provide a voltage(fig. 1, [0015], rotatable arm, fig. 4 ); a handle located on the first end of the actuating bar, wherein the handle includes a user interface to receive commands from a user and a first processor to provide signals based on the received commands( fig. 4 element 420, 422 ); an enclosure located on the second end of the actuating bar, wherein the enclosure is to house a spotlight(fig. 4 spotlight 100), a second processor and a communications interface(fig. 4 the communication system comprises a microprocessor 402, [0031]), wherein the second processor is to receive the signals from the first processor and control operation of the spotlight based thereon ([0034], the microprocessor 402 is operatively coupled, via wired or wireless interconnect 104, to the communication device 420 for processing of radar data and orientation data by a software application 422 associated therewith); and a means for providing power to the handle(fig. 4 spotlight on/off 418) but does not teach and Kramer teaches the enclosure includes night vision device([0054], spotlight of the vehicle includes night vision system), wherein the night vision device is to detect thermal radiation from one or more objects located in line of sight of the vehicle and create a video stream from the detected thermal radiation from the one or more objects ([0037], [0050], night vision device comprising an IR detector for detecting thermal radiation from one or more objects), and wherein the communications interface is to transmit the video stream to a display device located within an interior of the vehicle for viewing by a driver of the vehicle([0037], the generated video transmitted to the display device 104, fig.5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include night vision device in a spotlight as in Kramer in order to track objects in a low visibility environment efficiently.
Regarding claim2, Koskan in view Kramer teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the night vision device includes a far wave infrared thermal detector for detecting thermal radiation from the one or more objects (Kramer: [0037], [0050], night vision device comprising an IR detector for detecting thermal radiation from one or more objects).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
Regarding claim3, Koskan in view Kramer teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the far wave infrared thermal detector is a microbolometer (Kramer: [0037], the IR detector is Micro-bolometer).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Koskan in view Kramer teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the enclosure further comprises a memory configured to store the generated video stream for later retrieval (Kramer:[0039], the generated video stream is storable in the memory unit 102e for later retrieval).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
Regarding claim5, Koskan in view Kramer teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the enclosure is configured to replace portions of a frame of the spotlight in order to secure the night vision camera, the second processor and the communications interface to the spotlight (Kramer: [0054], the night vision device 102 is mounted over the spotlight 902 of the vehicle 200. The night vision device 102 is mountable over the spotlight 902 using a mount 904. In an example, the mount 904 may be fixedly configured over the body of the spotlight 902 (during the manufacturing of the spotlights) and the device 102 can then simply be plugged or screwed on the mount 904).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
Regarding claim6, Koskan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the means for providing power to the handle includes a cable connecting to a power source for the vehicle (see fig. 4 pwr car battery 416).
Regarding claim7, Koskan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the user can select the display device from the following: a smart phone, a laptop computer, tablet computer, heads up display, a monitor installed in the vehicle or an infotainment system of the vehicle (fig. 4 , [0031], he vehicular communication device 420 may comprise a laptop, a vehicular radio, a smart phone, a body wearable device, or independent device located within the vehicle).
Regarding claim8, Koskan in view Kramer teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the display device is mounted inside the vehicle (Kramer: [0037], display 206, fig. 5).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
Regarding claim9, Koskan in view Kramer teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the display device is mounted to one of a dashboard, a window, a roof, a rear-view mirror or a support member of the vehicle (Kramer: [0037], display 206, fig. 5).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
Regarding claim10 Koskan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the user interface is a button, a switch, or a touch device ([0031], the vehicular communication device 420 may comprises a laptop, vehicular radio, a smart phone or independent device located within the vehicle).
Regarding claim11, Koskan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the user interface provides an indicator regarding operational mode of the system ([0046], an alert may displayed at the communication device indicative of a direction of origin of a threat relative to the vehicle based on spotlight orientation relative to the vehicle. Alerts of a threat can be communicated to the occupant of the vehicle in a readily understandable manner by taking, for example, a clockwise view of the vehicle. Radar detection information which is not considered to be interest at 510 is ignored and no alert need be generated).
Regarding claim12, Koskan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operation of the spotlight includes on, off and different operational modes (fig. 4 spotlight on/off 418).
Regarding claim13, Koskan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operation of the night vision device includes on and off (fig. 4 spotlight on/off 418).
Regarding claim14, Koskan in view Kramer teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first processor provides signals by adjusting the voltage(Kramer:[0048], According to the embodiment, the battery voltage is continuously monitored, and when the alternator brings the voltage above a threshold level then that voltage is taken up for switching on the night vision device 102 and when the voltage drops below a specified threshold for a given time, the night vision device 102 is turned off).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
Regarding claim15, Koskan in view Kramer teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first processor adds the signals to the voltage provided(Kramer:[0048], According to the embodiment, the battery voltage is continuously monitored, and when the alternator brings the voltage above a threshold level then that voltage is taken up for switching on the night vision device 102 and when the voltage drops below a specified threshold for a given time, the night vision device 102 is turned off).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
Regarding claim16, Koskan in view Kramer teaches the system of claim 14, wherein the signals are added by pulse width modulation(Kramer:[0048], According to the embodiment, the battery voltage is continuously monitored, and when the alternator brings the voltage above a threshold level then that voltage is taken up for switching on the night vision device 102 and when the voltage drops below a specified threshold for a given time, the night vision device 102 is turned off).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
Regarding claim17, Koskan teaches a spotlight and night vision mounting system for a vehicle, the system comprising: an actuating bar connected to the vehicle and having a first end internal to the vehicle and a second end external to the vehicle, wherein the actuating bar acts as a coaxial shaft to provide a voltage(fig. 1, [0015], rotatable arm, fig. 4 pwr car battery 416); a handle located on the first end of the actuating bar, wherein the handle includes a user interface to receive commands from a user(( fig. 4 element 420, 422 ); and a first processor to provide signals based on the received commands( fig. 4 element 420, 422 , [0035]); an enclosure located on the second end of the actuating bar, wherein the enclosure includes a spotlight to provide light to illuminate an area around the vehicle(fig. 4 spotlight 100); a second processor to receive the signals from the first processor and control operation of the spotlight based thereon(fig. 4 the communication system comprises a microprocessor 402, [0031], [0034], the microprocessor 402 is operatively coupled, via wired or wireless interconnect 104, to the communication device 420 for processing of radar data and orientation data by a software application 422 associated therewith) fig. 4 spotlight on/off 418); and a means for providing power to the handle(fig. 4 spotlight on/off 418) but does not teach and Kramer teaches the enclosure to house a spotlight, a night vision device([0054], spotlight of the vehicle includes night vision system), wherein the night vision device is to detect thermal radiation from one or more objects located in line of sight of the vehicle and create a video stream from the detected thermal radiation from the one or more objects ([0037], [0050], night vision device comprising an IR detector for detecting thermal radiation from one or more objects), and wherein the communications interface is to transmit the video stream to a display device located within an interior of the vehicle for viewing by a driver of the vehicle([0037], the generated video transmitted to the display device 104, fig.5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include night vision device in a spotlight as in Kramer in order to track objects in a low visibility environment efficiently.
Regarding claim18, Koskan teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the user interface is a button, a switch, or a touch device ([0031], the vehicular communication device 420 may comprises a laptop, vehicular radio, a smart phone or independent device located within the vehicle).
Regarding claim19, Koskan in view Kramer teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the first processor provides signals by adjusting the voltage (Kramer: [0048], According to the embodiment, the battery voltage is continuously monitored, and when the alternator brings the voltage above a threshold level then that voltage is taken up for switching on the night vision device 102 and when the voltage drops below a specified threshold for a given time, the night vision device 102 is turned off).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
Regarding claim20, Koskan in view Kramer teaches the system of claim 17, wherein the first processor pulse width modulates the signals onto the voltage (Kramer: [0048], According to the embodiment, the battery voltage is continuously monitored, and when the alternator brings the voltage above a threshold level then that voltage is taken up for switching on the night vision device 102 and when the voltage drops below a specified threshold for a given time, the night vision device 102 is turned off).
The motivation for combining the prior arts discussed in claim1 above.
GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2484
/GIRUMSEW WENDMAGEGN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484