DETAILED ACTION
A power of attorney was received for this application on 7/14/2025.
A pre-amendment of 2/5/2026 was received. The pre-amendment cancelled claims 1-106 and includes new claims 107-126.
Note that claims 121-126 receive the effective filing date of 7/14/2025 as claim 121 recites limitations not found in the parent application 18/110,110/US 12,357,052 as set forth under the Specification heading.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim 121 recites wherein said face covering lower end outwardly extends beyond said face covering upper end.
Claim Objections
Claims 121 and 124 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 121: the claim should recite a face covering, as the preamble currently recites a face covering functionally. Please add “a face covering” after “comprising”,
Claim 124: “said support member distances said face covering from said face..” should be revised to recite the intended function of the support member as follows: “said support member is configured to distance said face covering from said face”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 107-120 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 107 recites conflicting language regarding the face covering and its relationship to the support member. The face covering is originally set forth in a functional manner relative to the support member in “said face covering configured to couple to said support member; said face covering comprising a nose bridge having a triangular shape;” and then in a structural manner “wherein said nose bridge disposes above said support member;”. It’s unclear whether the face covering is intended to be recited as combined with the support member or whether the face covering is functionally related to the support member. The claim is interpreted to recite the face covering combined with the support member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 121-126 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietrich (U.S. in view of Bernstein et al. (U.S. 11,400,323). Dietrich discloses the invention substantially as claimed.
For claim 121, Dietrich teaches a system for spacing a face covering from a face of a wearer, comprising: said face covering 112 extending between face covering right and left sides; said face covering right side coupled to a first attachment point 110; said face covering left side coupled to a second attachment point 110 (on left side); said face covering 112 outwardly and downwardly extending from said first and second attachment points (shield frame sides 120 extend outwardly from rivets at attachment points 110 to face covering 112 extending downwardly): wherein said first and second attachment points 110 are configured to releasably couple said face covering to eyewear 202 and/or headwear; said face covering 112 extending between face covering upper and lower ends; wherein when said face covering 112 is worn in front of said face of said wearer, said face covering disposes in front of said face of said wearer without contacting said face (“a protective cover attached to the frame and extending freely to hang in front of the nose and mouth of the user” Abstract). However, Dietrich doesn’t teach wherein said face covering lower end outwardly extends beyond said face covering upper end. Bernstein teaches a face covering with a lower end that outwardly extends beyond said face covering upper end as in Figure 1B. Dietrich’s face covering is disclosed as be malleable to adapt to the curvature of shield frame 108 and to fit over the nose of the user and bend with any adjustments made to frame 108 and therefore the lower end of the face covering could be manipulated such that it outwardly extends beyond the face covering upper end in order to create a desired aesthetic or adjust to a particular facial profile. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dietrich’s face covering lower end such that it outwardly extends beyond the face covering upper end as taught by Bernstein, particularly as Dietrich’s face covering is malleable and may be configured such that the lower end outwardly extends beyond the face covering upper end for aesthetic reasons or to fit a particular facial profile of a wearer.
For claim 122, Dietrich teaches the system of claim 121, further comprising a shape-retaining support member (combined 122,124) which supports said face covering 112.
For claim 123, Dietrich teaches the system of claim 122, said support member 124 comprising a convex curve which outwardly and downwardly extends from said first and second attachment points (Figure shows at least 124 formed in a convex curve).
For claim 124, Dietrich teaches the system of claim 122, wherein said support member 122,124 distances said face covering 112 from said face of said wearer to create a space therebetween (see Abstract “protective cover…extending freely to hang in front of the nose and mouth of the user”).
For claim 125, Dietrich doesn’t teach the eyewear 202 is goggles or sunglasses. Bernstein et al. teaches different types of protective eyewear may be worn with a mask 10 attached to the eyewear, including eyeglasses, sunglasses, and goggles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dietrich such that the eyewear comprises goggles or sunglasses, as Bernstein teaches different types of protective eyewear are known in the art and have different functions such that the specific type of eyewear may be configured to releasably couple to the face covering.
For claim 126, Dietrich teaches the system of claim 121, wherein said face covering 112 comprises a rigid material, a semi-rigid material, or a flexible material as the face covering 112 is formed from thin plastic and could be malleable to adapt to the curvature of shield frame 108 and to fit over the nose of the user and bend with any adjustments made to frame 108.
Allowable Subject Matter
There is no prior art applied against claims 107-120 at this time (see objections and rejections above). Independent claim 107 recites a system for spacing a face covering from a face of a wearer, comprising: a shape-retaining support member extending between support member first and second ends;
said support member first end coupled to a first attachment point; said support member second end coupled to a second attachment point; said support member comprising a convex curve which outwardly and downwardly extends from said first and second attachment points;
wherein said first and second attachment points are configured to releasably couple said support member to eyewear and/or headwear; and said face covering configured to couple to said support member; said face covering comprising a nose bridge having a triangular shape; wherein said nose bridge disposes above said support member; wherein said support member outwardly extends beyond said nose bridge; and wherein when said support member and said face covering are worn in front of said face of said wearer: said support member disposes in front of said face of said wearer without contacting said face; and said nose bridge contours about a nose of said wearer to bridge said nose.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications should be directed to Primary Examiner Katherine Moran at (571) 272-4990 (phone). Please note that any internet communication directed to katherine.moran@uspto.gov requires prior submission of an Authorization for Internet Communications form (PTO/SB/439). The examiner can be reached on Monday-Thursday from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, and alternating Fridays.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Khoa Huynh, may be reached at (571) 272-4888. The official and after final fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is (571) 273-8300. General information regarding this application and
questions directed to matters of form and procedures may be directed to the PTO Contact
Center/Inventors Assistance Center at (800) 786-9199/571-272-1000. Information regarding the status
of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system.
Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For questions on
access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-
free).
/KATHERINE M MORAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732