DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 11, 14, and 16 – 18 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0292454, “Brunner,” in view of US 2019/0285071, “Webster.”
Regarding Claim 1: Brunner discloses a downhole centrifugal pump (12) (Figures 1 – 4) comprising: impellers (20) ; a rotational shaft (29) passing through the impellers to impart rotation to the impellers ([0016], “a shaft 29 (shown in phantom) that extends axially through the pump”); diffusers (21) housing the impellers ([0016], “One or more diffusers 21 (e.g., two shown, and hundreds may be used) are co-axially positioned within housing 27 and have an inner portion with a bore 31 through which shaft 29 extends”), each of the diffusers comprising a radial sidewall defining a radially outer portion of each of the diffusers (Generally interpreted as the cylindrical outside surface of the diffuser which also forms shoulders 65 and 67; Figures 3 and 4; [0020] – [0021], “diffuser 21 comprises a cylindrical body”); and one or more coupling protrusions (41) defined on a first axial end of the radial sidewall of a first diffuser of the diffusers (As shown in at least Figures 2 – 4; [0020], “diffuser 21 comprises a cylindrical body having at least one lug 41 (e.g., three) extending therefrom in an axial direction”), the one or more coupling protrusions being received in a corresponding recess (43) defined in a second axial end of the radial sidewall of a second diffuser of the diffusers (As shown in at least Figures 2 – 4; [0020], “complementary recess 43 is formed in the cylindrical body extending in the axial direction opposite the lug 41”), the one or more coupling protrusions configured to at least partially prevent the first diffuser from rotating relative to the second diffuser ([0021], “complementary recesses 43 receive and nest respective lugs 41 on axially adjacent diffusers 21 to form an interlocked stack that prevents relative rotation between the diffusers 21 and the housing 27”); however, Brunner fails to explicitly disclose the one or more coupling protrusions and the corresponding recess being spaced from and positioned radially inward of an outer radial extent of both the radial sidewall of the first diffuser and the radial sidewall of the second diffuser. Bruner discloses the protrusions and recesses aligned with the outer radial extent.
Webster teaches an arrangement of a downhole centrifugal pump (Figures 1A and 1B) similar in arrangement to that of Brunner, comprising diffusers (100) having a male register (105) forming an interface with the adjacent diffuser and being spaced from and positioned radially inward of an outer radial extent of both the radial sidewall of the first diffuser and the radial sidewall of the second diffuser.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the location of the shoulders of Brunner from the radial outer extent to be spaced inwards from the radial outer extent, as taught by the male registers of Webster, with the predicted results that location the Sholders radially inward from the radial outer extent will work equally as well as a coupling mechanism between adjacent diffusers. Such a modification is viewed as a simple rearrangement of existing working parts of the diffuser of Brunner. Such a rearrangement would have been obvious since, an express suggestion to rearrange the parts which would not have modified operation of the device is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Regarding Claim 2: Brunner, in view of Webster, teaches the downhole centrifugal pump of claim 1; Brunner further discloses wherein the first diffuser and the second diffuser each comprise a stepped surface on the first axial end and the second axial end (Shown in at least Figures 2 – 4; A first stepped surface formed between radially recessed inner surface 47 and shoulder 53 and a second stepped surface formed at the opposing end via shoulder 67), the stepped surface of the first diffuser and the second diffuser interlocking with one another ([0021], “However, in one embodiment, the recesses 43 and lugs 41 do not make axial contact with each other (see small axial gaps therebetween illustrated in FIG. 2), but only prevent rotation via contact between lateral shoulders 61, 63 (compare FIGS. 3 and 4) on lugs 41 and in recesses 43, respectively. In addition, the radial outermost shoulders 65, 67 also do not make axial contact with each other as shown by the small axial gaps therebetween in FIG. 2;” [0022], “Each diffuser 21 also has a pair of axially opposed upper and lower shoulders 51, 53 upon which the assembled diffusers make axial contact and seat. In the embodiment shown, shoulder 51 is formed adjacent the radially recessed inner surface 47 axially opposite lugs 41, while shoulder 53 is located on an exterior of diffuser 21, both axially and radially positioned between vanes 23 and recess 49.”).
Regarding Claim 3: Brunner discloses, in view of Webster, teaches the downhole centrifugal pump of claim 2; Brunner further discloses wherein the one or more coupling protrusions are defined on the stepped surface of the first diffuser and the corresponding recess is defined on the stepped surface of the second diffuser (As shown in at least Figures 3 and 4; The stepped surface is interpreted as the surface formed by the change in diameter of the outer or inner radial surface of the diffuser, this change in diameter creates the step, the coupling protrusions and the corresponding recesses are shown formed with at least one wall of each respective element coplanar with at least one wall of each respective step, such that a broadest reasonable interpretation of their arrangement reads on them being defined on the step).
Claim(s) 1 – 9, and 11 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,438,329, “Fuller,” in view of US 2008/0292454, “Brunner.”
Regarding Claim 1: Fuller discloses a downhole centrifugal pump (Figures 1 – 9) comprising: impellers (22); a rotational shaft (23) passing through the impellers to impart rotation to the impellers (As shown in at least Figure 1; Cl. 2, ln. 45); diffusers (30, 32) housing the impellers, each of the diffusers comprising a radial sidewall defining a radially outer portion of each of the diffusers (The outermost radial surface as shown in at least Figures 3 and 5). Fuller discloses a single protrusion extending from a stepped surface on a first axial end of each diffuser, and a corresponding recess defined in a second, opposite, end of each diffuser arranged to receive the protrusion; however, Fuller fails to explicitly disclose coupling protrusions arranged to prevent rotation relative to adjacent diffusers and as such fails to explicitly disclose one or more coupling protrusions defined on a first axial end of the radial sidewall of a first diffuser of the diffusers, the one or more coupling protrusions being received in a corresponding recess defined in a second axial end of the radial sidewall of a second diffuser of the diffusers, the one or more coupling protrusions configured to at least partially prevent the first diffuser from rotating relative to the second diffuser, the one or more coupling protrusions and the corresponding recess being spaced from and positioned radially inward of an outer radial extent of both the radial sidewall of the first diffuser and the radial sidewall of the second diffuser.
Brunner teaches a downhole centrifugal pump (12) (Figures 1 – 4) comprising: impellers (20); a rotational shaft (29) passing through the impellers to impart rotation to the impellers ([0016], “a shaft 29 (shown in phantom) that extends axially through the pump”); diffusers (21) housing the impellers ([0016], “One or more diffusers 21 (e.g., two shown, and hundreds may be used) are co-axially positioned within housing 27 and have an inner portion with a bore 31 through which shaft 29 extends”), each of the diffusers comprising a radial sidewall defining a radially outer portion of each of the diffusers (Generally interpreted as the cylindrical outside surface of the diffuser which also forms shoulders 65 and 67; Figures 3 and 4; [0020] – [0021], “diffuser 21 comprises a cylindrical body”); and one or more coupling protrusions (41) defined on a first axial end of the radial sidewall of a first diffuser of the diffusers (As shown in at least Figures 2 – 4; [0020], “diffuser 21 comprises a cylindrical body having at least one lug 41 (e.g., three) extending therefrom in an axial direction”), the one or more coupling protrusions being received in a corresponding recess (43) defined in a second axial end of the radial sidewall of a second diffuser of the diffusers (As shown in at least Figures 2 – 4; [0020], “complementary recess 43 is formed in the cylindrical body extending in the axial direction opposite the lug 41”), the one or more coupling protrusions configured to at least partially prevent the first diffuser from rotating relative to the second diffuser ([0021], “complementary recesses 43 receive and nest respective lugs 41 on axially adjacent diffusers 21 to form an interlocked stack that prevents relative rotation between the diffusers 21 and the housing 27”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the single protrusion of Fuller to further have a plurality of coupling protrusions extending therefrom on a first axial end, and to incorporate a plurality of corresponding recess defined in a second axial end, as taught by Brunner, with the predicted results that such an arrangement will fix each diffuser relative to the adjacent diffuser thereby preventing rotation between adjacent diffusers in a manner well known in the art (Brunner, at least [0021]).
Once the coupling protrusions of Brunner are combined with the margin, m, forming the male registers and corresponding female registers, of Fuller, Fuller makes obvious the arrangement wherein the combined one or more coupling protrusions are placed such that the one or more coupling protrusions and the corresponding recess being spaced from and positioned radially inward of an outer radial extent of both the radial sidewall of the first diffuser and the radial sidewall of the second diffuser.
Regarding Claim 2: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the downhole centrifugal pump of claim 1; once combined, Fuller further discloses wherein the first diffuser and the second diffuser each comprise a stepped surface on the first axial end and the second axial end (As shown in at least Figures 1 – 5; Generally indicated as M on the first axial end (i.e. the top), and as M’ on the second axial end (i.e. the bottom)), the stepped surface of the first diffuser and the second diffuser interlocking with one another (As shown in at least Figures 1 and 3).
Regarding Claim 3: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the downhole centrifugal pump of claim 2; once combined, Fuller, in view of Brunner, further teaches wherein the one or more coupling protrusions are defined on the stepped surface of the first diffuser and the corresponding recess is defined on the stepped surface of the second diffuser (As discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 1, the coupling protrusions of Brunner are incorporated onto the axially extending lip or flange portion, forming the axially extending wall of the stepped surface, such that the coupling protrusions are interepted as being defined on the stepped surface, as such, the corresponding recess for each coupling protrusion is interpreted as being formed on the opposing stepped surface of the adjacent diffuser).
Regarding Claim 4: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the downhole centrifugal pump of claim 3; once combined, Fuller, in view of Brunner, further teaches wherein the one or more coupling protrusions (Added to the extending lip or flange portion of Fuller as discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 1) extend radially inward from an axially extending wall of the stepped surface of the first diffuser (As shown in at least Figures 3 and 5 of Fuller; The coupling protrusions, once added to the extending lip or flange of Fuller will act as an extension of the axially extending surface of the step at the outer diameter and will maintain the inner diameter of the inner surface 46 of wall 40, as such the diffusers comprise a thickness in the radial direction which extends inward towards the axial center of the diffuser such that it is broadly interepted as extending inward in the radial direction), and wherein the corresponding recess is defined in an axially extending wall of the stepped surface of the second diffuser (As previously discussed, the corresponding recess for each coupling protrusion is interpreted as being formed on the opposing stepped surface of the adjacent diffuser, such that the corresponding recess will be necessarily arranged in the axially extending wall of the stepped surface of the opposing diffuser). It is noted that the arrangement of Fuller, in view of Brunner, combines to provide an arrangement equivalent to that of the tabs and flanges as shown in at least Figures 8 and 9 of the instant application.
Regarding Claim 5: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the downhole centrifugal pump of claim 4; once combined, Brunner further teaches wherein the one or more coupling protrusions extend axially along only a portion of the axially extending wall of the stepped surface of the first diffuser, and wherein the corresponding recess extends axially along only a portion of the axially extending wall of the stepped surface of the second diffuser (As shown in at least Figures 3 and 4 of Brunner; The coupling protrusions and the corresponding recesses are shown extending along only a portion of the circumference of each axial end of the diffuser such that they are formed as discrete elements extending from or receding into the diffuser, once combined to the arrangement of Fuller, the coupling protrusions and the corresponding recesses will extend axially only along a portion of the circumference of the axially extending walls in the same manner). It is noted that the arrangement of Fuller, in view of Brunner, combines to provide an arrangement equivalent to that of the tabs and flanges as shown in at least Figures 8 and 9 of the instant application.
Regarding Claim 6: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the downhole centrifugal pump of claim 1; once combined, Fuller further discloses wherein an end diffuser of the diffusers (Interpreted as the bottommost diffuser 30 as shown in at least Figure 1) is coupled to an adjacent component (31, 15) to at least partially transfer a rotational force applied to the one or more of the diffusers through the diffusers to the adjacent component (As shown in at least Figure 1; The bottom diffuser cap 31 is shown arranged with bracket 15 such that they clamp the diffusers in the casing or shell 12 between the bottom diffuser cap and the discharge head as further discussed in at least Cl. 2, ln. 39, “the stationary elements thereof in stacked engagement and clamped in assembly between the bracket 15 and discharge head 14.” As such, the adjacent component of 31, 15, is interepted as being arranged to partially transfer rotational forces from the diffusers to the adjacent component through a clamping force).
Regarding Claim 7: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the downhole centrifugal pump of claim 6; once combined, Fuller further discloses wherein the adjacent component comprises a pump base (15) of the downhole centrifugal pump (As shown in at least Figure 1, and as further discussed in at least Cl. 2, ln. 25 - 42, the adjacent component 15 forms the base of the diffuser stack such that it is broadly interpreted as forming a pump base).
Regarding Claim 8: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the downhole centrifugal pump of claim 7; however, once combined, Fuller fails to explicitly disclose wherein one or more protrusions couple the end diffuser to the pump base in order to anchor the end diffuser to the pump base. Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches an arrangement comprising coupling protrusions between adjacent diffusers. It is noted that the arrangement of the end diffuser and the adjacent component is arranged with equivalent stepped structures as that of each adjacent one of the stacked diffusers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the adjacent component to incorporate coupling protrusions in the same manner as the diffusers, as combined by Fuller, in view of Brunner, with the predicted results that such an arrangement will further act to prevent rotation between the adjacent components in a manner equivalent to that of the stacked diffusers and in a manner well known in the art (Brunner, at least [0021]).
Regarding Claim 9: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the downhole centrifugal pump of claim 8; however, once combined, Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the placement of the tabs and/or castellations of Brunner on the adjacent component and being received by corresponding recesses in the end diffuser such that Fuller, in view of Brunner, as combined does not explicitly disclose the opposing arrangement wherein the one or more protrusions each comprise one or more tabs and/or castellations defined on the end diffuser. However, it is noted that such an arrangement amounts to the opposing placement of the tabs and recesses, such that each is moved to the opposing element. It is noted that such a modification is viewed as a mere rearrangement of parts. Such a rearrangement would have been obvious since, an express suggestion to rearrange the parts which would not have modified operation of the device is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
Regarding Claim 11: Fuller discloses a centrifugal pump (Figures 1 – 9) comprising: impellers (22); a rotational shaft (23) passing through the impellers to impart rotation to the impellers (As shown in at least Figure 1; Cl. 2, ln. 45); a stack of diffusers (30, 32) housing the impellers, the stack of diffusers comprising sidewalls defining a radially outer portion of the stack of diffusers (The outermost radial surface as shown in at least Figures 3 and 5), at least some diffusers of the stack of diffusers including interlocking stepped surfaces that extend radially inward from the sidewalls to an interior of the diffusers (As shown in at least Figures 1 – 5; the margin M of Fuller is shown forming an interlocking stepped surface which extends from the diffuser at a location spaced away from the radially exterior surface such that they extend radially inward from the sidewalls to an interior of the diffusers). Fuller discloses a single protrusion extending from a stepped surface on a first axial end of each diffuser, and a corresponding recess defined in a second, opposite, end of each diffuser arranged to receive the protrusion; however, Fuller fails to explicitly disclose coupling protrusions arranged to prevent rotation relative to adjacent diffusers and as such fails to explicitly disclose coupling members, each coupling member at least partially securing one diffuser of the stack of diffusers to an adjacent diffuser of the stack of diffusers, the coupling members configured to at least partially transfer rotational forces applied to one or more diffusers of the stack of diffusers to a remaining portion of the stack of diffusers.
Brunner teaches a downhole centrifugal pump (12) (Figures 1 – 4) comprising: impellers (20); a rotational shaft (29) passing through the impellers to impart rotation to the impellers ([0016], “a shaft 29 (shown in phantom) that extends axially through the pump”); diffusers (21) housing the impellers ([0016], “One or more diffusers 21 (e.g., two shown, and hundreds may be used) are co-axially positioned within housing 27 and have an inner portion with a bore 31 through which shaft 29 extends”), each of the diffusers comprising a radial sidewall defining a radially outer portion of each of the diffusers (Generally interpreted as the cylindrical outside surface of the diffuser which also forms shoulders 65 and 67; Figures 3 and 4; [0020] – [0021], “diffuser 21 comprises a cylindrical body”); and one or more coupling protrusions (41) defined on a first axial end of the radial sidewall of a first diffuser of the diffusers (As shown in at least Figures 2 – 4; [0020], “diffuser 21 comprises a cylindrical body having at least one lug 41 (e.g., three) extending therefrom in an axial direction”), the one or more coupling protrusions being received in a corresponding recess (43) defined in a second axial end of the radial sidewall of a second diffuser of the diffusers (As shown in at least Figures 2 – 4; [0020], “complementary recess 43 is formed in the cylindrical body extending in the axial direction opposite the lug 41”), the one or more coupling protrusions configured to at least partially prevent the first diffuser from rotating relative to the second diffuser ([0021], “complementary recesses 43 receive and nest respective lugs 41 on axially adjacent diffusers 21 to form an interlocked stack that prevents relative rotation between the diffusers 21 and the housing 27”). Brunner fails to explicitly teach wherein the coupling members being defined on an interior portion of the stepped surfaces of the stack of diffusers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the single protrusion of Fuller to further have a plurality of coupling members extending therefrom on a first axial end, and to incorporate a plurality of corresponding recess defined in a second axial end, as taught by Brunner, with the predicted results that such an arrangement will fix each diffuser relative to the adjacent diffuser thereby preventing rotation between adjacent diffusers in a manner well known in the art (Brunner, at least [0021]).
Once combined, Fuller, in view of Brunner, makes obvious an arrangement further comprising coupling members, each coupling member at least partially securing one diffuser of the stack of diffusers to an adjacent diffuser of the stack of diffusers, the coupling members configured to at least partially transfer rotational forces applied to one or more diffusers of the stack of diffusers to a remaining portion of the stack of diffusers.
Once the coupling protrusions of Brunner are combined with the margin, m, forming the male registers and corresponding female registers, of Fuller, Fuller makes obvious the arrangement wherein the combined one or more coupling protrusions are placed such that the coupling members being defined on an interior portion of the stepped surfaces of the stack of diffusers.
Regarding Claim 12: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the centrifugal pump of claim 11; once combined, Brunner further teaches wherein the coupling members comprise integrally defined tabs extending from the sidewalls of the one or more diffusers of the stack of diffusers (As discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 11, the coupling members of Brunner are incorporated onto the axially extending lip or flange portion of the diffuser of Fuller, the coupling members of Brunner are taught as being integrally formed with the diffuser as shown in at least Figures 1 – 4, such that the combined apparatus would incorporate such integrally defined tabs extending from the sidewalls of the diffusers of Fuller).
Regarding Claim 13: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the centrifugal pump of claim 12; once combined, Brunner further teaches wherein the integrally defined tabs are configured to be received in recesses integrally defined in the sidewalls of the stack of diffusers (As discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 11, the recesses of Brunner are incorporated onto the axially extending lip or flange portion of the diffusers of Fuller, the recesses of Brunner are taught as being integrally formed with the diffuser as shown in at least Figures 1 – 4, such that the combined apparatus would incorporate such integrally defined recesses defined in the sidewalls of the diffusers of Fuller).
Regarding Claim 14: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the centrifugal pump of claim 13; once combined, Brunner further teaches wherein the integrally defined tabs and the recesses are integrally defined in the interior portion of the stepped surface of the sidewalls of the stack of diffusers (As discussed in the aforesaid rejection of claim 11, the coupling protrusions of Brunner are incorporated onto the axially extending lip or flange portion, forming the axially extending wall of the stepped surface, such that the coupling protrusions are interepted as being defined on the stepped surface, as such, the corresponding recess for each coupling protrusion is interpreted as being formed on the opposing stepped surface of the adjacent diffuser).
Regarding Claim 15: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the centrifugal pump of claim 11; once combined, Fuller further discloses further comprising an anchoring end diffuser (Interpreted as the bottommost diffuser 30 as shown in at least Figure 1) configured to transfer the rotational forces applied to the one or more diffusers of the stack of diffusers to a pump base (31, 15) (As shown in at least Figure 1; The bottom diffuser cap 31 is shown arranged with bracket 15 such that they clamp the diffusers in the casing or shell 12 between the bottom diffuser cap and the discharge head as further discussed in at least Cl. 2, ln. 39, “the stationary elements thereof in stacked engagement and clamped in assembly between the bracket 15 and discharge head 14.” As such, the adjacent component of 31, 15, is interepted as being arranged to partially transfer rotational forces from the diffusers to the adjacent component through a clamping force).
Claim(s) 10, and 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,438,329, “Fuller,” in view of US 2008/0292454, “Brunner,” and US 2013/0340245, “Watson.”
Regarding Claim 10: Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the downhole centrifugal pump of claim 8; however, once combined, Fuller, in view of Brunner, fails to explicitly disclose or teach wherein the one or more protrusions each comprise a removable pin. Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches an arrangement utilizing coupling protrusion in the form of lugs, tabs, or castellations.
Watson teaches an electrical submersible pumping (ESP) system (Figure 1), similarly arranged to that of Brunner, and further teaches and arrangement of coupling adjacent components of the ESP to prevent rotation through the use of an anti-rotation feature comprising a pin ([0023], “To prevent spinning and unscrewing, factory joints can be locked welded or otherwise secured and field joints can utilize pins, lugs, castellations, or other suitable anti-rotation mechanisms”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling protrusion, comprising a lug, of Fuller, in view of Brunner, to be in the form of a removable pin, as taught by Watson, with the predicted results that a removable pin will be just as effective an anti-rotation feature as a lug (Watson, [0023]). It is further noted that the modification change from a lug to a pin is viewed as a simple substitution of one known anti-rotation feature for that of another. Such a substitution would have been obvious since, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claim 16: Claim 16 is directed towards a method of operating a centrifugal pump, the centrifugal pump of claim 16 interpreted as directed towards the pump of either of claims 1 or 11. Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the pump of claims 1 and 11, as such, Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the method of claim 16 . Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. (MPEP 2112.02) However, Fuller, in view of Brunner, fails to explicitly disclose anchoring an end diffuser of the plurality of diffusers coupled to an adjacent component of the centrifugal pump using a coupling method that is different from the tabs connecting the at least some of the plurality of diffusers.
Watson teaches Watson teaches an electrical submersible pumping (ESP) system (Figure 1), similarly arranged to that of Brunner, and further teaches and arrangement of coupling adjacent components of the ESP to prevent rotation through the use of an anti-rotation feature comprising a pin ([0023], “To prevent spinning and unscrewing, factory joints can be locked welded or otherwise secured and field joints can utilize pins, lugs, castellations, or other suitable anti-rotation mechanisms”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling protrusion, comprising a lug, of Fuller, in view of Brunner, to be in the form of a removable pin, as taught by Watson, with the predicted results that a removable pin will be just as effective an anti-rotation feature as a lug (Watson, [0023]). It is further noted that the modification change from a lug to a pin is viewed as a simple substitution of one known anti-rotation feature for that of another. Such a substitution would have been obvious since, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding Claim 17: Claim 17 is directed towards a method of operating a centrifugal pump, the centrifugal pump of claim 17 interpreted as directed towards the pump of either of claims 8 or 15. Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the pump of claims 8 and 15, as such, Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the method of claim 17. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. (MPEP 2112.02)
Regarding Claim 18: Claim 18 is directed towards a method of operating a centrifugal pump, the centrifugal pump of claim 18 interpreted as directed towards the pump of claim 10. Fuller, in view of Brunner, and Watson, teaches the pump of claim 10, as such, Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the method of claim 18. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. (MPEP 2112.02)
Regarding Claim 19: Claim 19 is directed towards a method of operating a centrifugal pump, the centrifugal pump of claim 18 interpreted as directed towards the pump of claim 10 (It is noted that claim 10 is dependent from claims 8 and 7 which previously recite the elements of a pump base). Fuller, in view of Brunner, and Watson, teaches the pump of claim 10, as such, Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the method of claim 19. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. (MPEP 2112.02)
Regarding Claim 20: Claim 20 is directed towards a method of operating a centrifugal pump, the centrifugal pump of claim 20 interpreted as directed towards the pump of at least claim 6. Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the pump of at least claim 6, as such, Fuller, in view of Brunner, teaches the method of claim 20. Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. (MPEP 2112.02)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 3, over Brunner, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 2026.04.08 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages 2 and 3 of their Remarks, with respect to at least Independent claims 1 and 11, that Fuller in view of Brunner fail to teach or disclose the claimed arrangement having “the corresponding recess being spaced from and positioned radially inward of an outer radial extent.” Applicants’ arguments appear to rely on combining the male register of Brunner to the diffuser of Fuller and not combining the locking tabs of Brunner to the existing male register location of Fuller. In response to applicant's argument that Fuller in view of Brunner fail to make obvious the claimed arrangement, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference, or combination of references, applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746 2026.05.16
/MARK A LAURENZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746 5/20/2026