DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Amendment filed 09/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Amendment to claims 1, 16, and 20, filed 09/23/2026, has been fully considered and overcome the rejection of claims 1-5 and 7-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101. Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Amendment to claims 1, 16, and 20, filed 09/23/2026, has been fully considered and overcome the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 16, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new amendment to the claims is directed to subject matter that has not previously disclosed in Ferguson et al. (US 2015/0266472 A1) or Xie et al. (US 2021/0199443 A1) and the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferguson et al. (US 2015/0266472 A1), in view of Xie et al. (US 2021/0199443 A1), and further in view of Kakkar et al. (US 2024/0147888 A1) and Pickett et al. (US 2008/0177449 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ferguson teaches:
A guidance system for controlling operation of an agricultural vehicle ([0070] “the automobile 200 could represent ... a farm vehicle”), comprising:
at least one processor ([0065] “processor 113”); and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the guidance system ([0081] “In this regard, each block may represent a module, a segment, or a portion of program code, which includes one or more instructions executable by a processor for implementing specific logical functions or steps in the process. The program code may be stored on any type of computer readable medium or memory, for example, such as a storage device including a disk or hard drive. The computer readable medium may include a non-transitory computer readable medium”), during an agricultural process, to:
receive image data from an image sensor ([0047] “The camera 134 may be any camera (e.g., a still camera, a video camera, etc.) configured to capture images of the environment in which the automobile 100 is located.”);
analyze the image data to identify and classify one or more traffic markers depicted within the image data ([0055] “The computer vision system 146 may be any system configured to process and analyze images captured by the camera 134 in order to identify objects and/or features in the environment in which the automobile 100 is located, including, for example, lane information, traffic signals and obstacles.”; [0095] “As another example, the computing device may be configured to identify, using image recognition techniques known in the art, construction zone objects (e.g., the construction zone cone(s) 406, the construction zone barrel(s) 408, the construction zone signs 412A-B, the construction equipment 410A-B, or any other construction zone indicators) depicted in images captured by the image-capture device.”);
receive GNSS location data indicating a location of the agricultural vehicle ([0087] “As an example, the traffic information may be received from Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) devices coupled to the vehicles 414 A-B. GPS information received from a respective GPS device may be indicative of a position of a respective vehicle including the respective GPS device with respect to the Earth, based on satellite-based positioning data.”);
responsive to identifying and classifying one or more traffic markers, log location data indicating locations of the one or more traffic markers ([0084] “The image-based information, for example, may be indicative of location of one or more static objects with respect to the road such as construction zone cone(s) 406 , construction zone barrel(s) 408, construction equipment 410 A-B, construction zone signs 412 A-B, etc”);
based at least partially on the image data and the logged location data, generate a ... map indicating locations of the one or more traffic markers on the ... map ([0098] “Accordingly, the computing device may assign a respective likelihood that the candidate construction zone sign is associated with a construction zone. In an example, the computing device may be configured to update the map information to include respective sign information associated with the candidate construction zone sign and the likelihood of the existence of the construction zone on the road”).
Ferguson does not explicitly teach the map is a geospatial map.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xie teaches:
a geospatial map ([0035] “The HD geospatial database 122 can store HD maps and related data of the streets upon which the AV 102 travels. In some embodiments, the HD maps and related data can comprise multiple layers, such as an areas layer, a lanes and boundaries layer, an intersections layer, a traffic controls layer, and so forth ... The traffic controls lane can include geospatial information of traffic signal lights, traffic signs, and other road objects and related attributes.”; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generated map of Ferguson as a geospatial map, as taught by Xie. Such modification provides various geospatial data for the vehicle to determine the next set of actions it may take for a given situation.
Neither Ferguson nor Xie specifically teaches generate a geofence around the location of each of the one or more traffic markers within the geospatial map; and responsive to determining that a path of travel of the agricultural vehicle will intersect the geofence or come within a given distance of the geofence, automatically, without operator input, adjust operation of an implement coupled to the agricultural vehicle by at least one of disengaging a power take-off (PTO) control of the implement or actuating one or more hydraulic valves to change a position or orientation of the implement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kakkar teaches:
generate a geofence around (a physical structure) within the geospatial map (Fig. 4; [0048] “Environment 400 may include one or more boundaries 410 ... In some embodiments, boundaries 410 are the same, or function in a similar manner as, geofence boundaries.”; [0049] “boundary 410 - 2 may be a restricted or hazardous region in environment 400 within which activities are not to take place and/or vehicles are not to enter.”; [0063] “boundary 510-2 may be defined for a fence, wall, post, sprinkler head, or other similar physical structure”; [0068] “In some embodiments, user terminal 608 is configured to receive one or more geofence boundaries, such as boundaries 410 described above. For example, user terminal 608 may output one or more GUIs configured to receive operator inputs to create and/or edit geofence boundaries by specifying one or more geographic coordinates.”); and
responsive to determining that a path of travel (Fig. 4; [0055] “path 412”) of the agricultural vehicle will intersect the geofence or come within a given distance of the geofence ([0056] “Comparing two-dimensional projection footprint 416 with boundaries 410, it may be determined whether, when, and/or where two-dimensional projection footprint 416, and therefore vehicle 404 and/or implement 408 , will intersect with boundaries 410. For example, as illustrated, it may be determined that after traveling the distance of path 412 from current position and orientation 420-1 to future position and orientation 420-3 , implement 408 will intersect with boundary 410-1 at point 432 unless evasive, or precautionary, actions are taken.”), automatically, without operator input ([0048] “FIG. 4 illustrates an exemplary environment 400 in which an autonomously driven vehicle may be controlled to avoid boundaries.”), adjust operation of an implement coupled to the agricultural vehicle by actuating ... to change a position or orientation of the implement ([0060] “Additionally, or alternatively, precautionary actions may include adjusting the relative orientation of implements with respect to the vehicle. For example, an attachment point for implement 408 may adjust the relative angle of implement 408 with respect to vehicle 404 prior to vehicle 404 reaching future position and orientation 420-3. As another example, an extendable implement may be retracted prior to any intersection with boundaries.” – Even though Kakkar discloses an example of modifying the position or orientation of the implement when determining that the path of travel of the agricultural vehicle intersects the geofence 414-1, the same method can be performed when determining that the path of travel intersects geofence 410-2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, to generate a geofence, and responsive to determining that a path of travel of the agricultural vehicle will intersect the geofence or come within a given distance of the geofence, automatically, without operator input, adjust operation of an implement coupled to the agricultural vehicle by actuating to change a position or orientation of the implement, as taught by Kakkar. Such modification prevents the vehicle from entering the geofence.
Kakkar does not explicitly generate the geofence around the location of each of the one or more traffic markers within the geospatial map.
However, Kakkar teaches a user terminal for receiving operator inputs to create and/or edit geofence ([0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ferguson, in view of Xie and Kakkar to generate the geofence around the location of each of the one or more traffic markers, since applying such known technique of generating a geofence by having a user inputting geographic coordinates as taught by Kakkar to the traffic markers as taught by Ferguson would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The combination of Ferguson, Xie, and Kakkar does not specifically teach actuating one or more hydraulic valves to change a position or orientation of the implement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pickett teaches actuating one or more hydraulic valves to change a position or orientation of the implement ([0029] “As shown in FIG. 2, the signals from the devices 62 and 64 are connected via lines 62a and 64a to a control unit 86, which is connected to a electro hydraulic valve structure 67 to control hydraulic fluid flow to and from one or two lift cylinders 68 connected between the feederhouse 18 and the frame 12 to operate the lift system 60 to maintain the header 16 within a desirable operating height range.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuation of the implement of Ferguson, in view of Xie and Kakkar, to include hydraulic values for actuating to change a position or orientation of the implement, as taught by Pickett, in order to maintain the implement at desirable operating position.
Regarding claim 2, Ferguson further teaches:
wherein the image sensor comprises at least a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) camera ([0036] “a laser rangefinder and/or light detection and ranging (LIDAR) unit 132”).
Regarding claim 3, Ferguson further teaches:
wherein the guidance system comprises at least one additional image sensor comprising at least a near infrared (NIR) camera ([0047] “the camera may be configured to detect visible light, or may be configured to detect light from other portions of the spectrum, such as infrared or ultraviolet light.”).
Regarding claim 4, Ferguson further teaches:
wherein analyzing the image data comprises utilizing one or more machine learning models ([0105] “Example classification algorithms may include Linear classifiers (e.g., Fisher's linear discriminant, logistic regression, naive Bayes, and perceptron), Support vector machines (e.g., least squares support vector machines), quadratic classifiers, kernel estimation (e.g., k-nearest neighbor), boosting, decision trees (e.g., random forests), neural networks, Gene Expression Programming, Bayesian networks, hidden Markov models, and learning vector quantization. Other example classifiers are also possible.”) to identify and classify one or more traffic markers depicted within the image data ([0131] “The computing device may be configured to process the features (e.g., color, shape, etc.) or parameters representative of the features of the object through a classifier to determine whether the features of the object match typical features of the typical construction zone sign. The classifier can map input information (e.g., the features of the object) to a class (e.g., the object represents a construction zone sign). Examples of classifiers, training data, and classification algorithms are described above with regard to block 304 of the method 300 illustrated in FIG. 3.”).
Regarding claim 6, Ferguson further teaches:
wherein the instructions further cause the guidance system to modify the path of travel of the agricultural vehicle ... (Fig. 4; [0078]; [0118] “In one example, the computing device may have determined a high likelihood that a construction zone exists on the road 404 on which the vehicle 402 is travelling. In this example, the computing device may be configured to take into account lane boundary indicated by the lane markers 418 on the road 404 as a soft constraint (i.e., the lane boundary can be violated if a safer path is determined) when determining the desired path. The computing device thus may be configured to determine a number and locations of the construction zone cone(s) 406 that may form a modified lane boundary; and may be configured to adhere to the modified lane boundary instead of the lane boundary indicated by the lane markers 418.”).
Ferguson, Xie, and Pickett do not specifically teach wherein the instructions further cause the guidance system to modify the path of travel of the agricultural vehicle to avoid the geofence.
However, Kakkar teaches:
wherein the instructions further cause the guidance system to modify the path of travel of the agricultural vehicle to avoid the geofence ([0060] “In some embodiments, the evasive, or precautionary, actions include adjusting the current steering state of vehicle 404. For example, the current steering state or motion of vehicle 404 may be adjusted at the least possible distance before future position and orientation 420-3 that will allow vehicle 404 and/or implement 408 to avoid intersection with boundary 410-1.” – Adjusting the current steering state of the vehicle indicates a different heading of the vehicle, thus changing the path of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett, to modify the path of travel of the agricultural vehicle to avoid the geofence, as taught by Kakkar, in order to avoid entering the geofence.
Regarding claim 7, Ferguson does not explicitly teach wherein generating a geospatial map indicating locations of the one or more traffic markers on the geospatial map comprises generating a three-dimensional geospatial map.
However, Xie teaches:
wherein generating a geospatial map indicating locations of the one or more traffic markers on the geospatial map comprises generating a three-dimensional geospatial map ([0035] “The HD geospatial database 122 can store HD maps and related data of the streets upon which the AV 102 travels. In some embodiments, the HD maps and related data can comprise multiple layers, such as an areas layer, a lanes and boundaries layer, an intersections layer, a traffic controls layer, and so forth ... The lanes and boundaries layer can also include 3D attributes related to lanes (e.g., slope, elevation, curvature, etc.).”; [0048] “For example, the HD base layer services 222 can obtain a 3D LIDAR point cloud scan, including range and surface reflectance data, and corresponding pose information for the scan.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett, to generate a three-dimensional geospatial map, as taught by Xie, in order to display the map to users and enable the users to view, query, label, edit, and otherwise interact with the data.
Regarding claim 8, Ferguson further teaches:
when executed by the at least one processor, cause the guidance system to display (images) on an input/output device of the guidance system ([0028] “The computing device 111 may be configured to generate a display of images on and receive inputs from the user interface 112.”).
Ferguson does not explicitly teach display the generated map.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the input/output device of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett, to display the generated map, in order to allow a driver to navigate using the generated map. Furthermore, the content of information to be displayed does not affect the fundamental operation of the guidance system. Therefore, the information to be displayed is an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art and merely serves as descriptive non-functional information to provide visual information to drivers.
Regarding claim 11, Ferguson further teaches:
wherein receiving image data comprises receiving LIDAR image data ([0085] “In another example, the information relating to the detection of the construction zone may include LIDAR-based information received from a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor (e.g., the LIDAR unit 132 in FIG. 1) coupled to the vehicle 402 and in communication with the computing device.”).
Regarding claim 16, Ferguson teaches:
A method of guiding operation of an agricultural vehicle during an agricultural process ([0070] “the automobile 200 could represent ... a farm vehicle”), the method comprising:
receiving, at a guidance system ([0028] “computing device 111”), image data from an image sensor ([0047] “The camera 134 may be any camera (e.g., a still camera, a video camera, etc.) configured to capture images of the environment in which the automobile 100 is located.”);
based at least partially on the received image data, identifying and classifying objects depicted within the image data ([0055] “The computer vision system 146 may be any system configured to process and analyze images captured by the camera 134 in order to identify objects and/or features in the environment in which the automobile 100 is located, including, for example, lane information, traffic signals and obstacles.”; [0095] “As another example, the computing device may be configured to identify, using image recognition techniques known in the art, construction zone objects (e.g., the construction zone cone(s) 406, the construction zone barrel(s) 408, the construction zone signs 412A-B, the construction equipment 410A-B, or any other construction zone indicators) depicted in images captured by the image-capture device.”);
receive GNSS location data indicating a location of the agricultural vehicle ([0087] “As an example, the traffic information may be received from Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) devices coupled to the vehicles 414 A-B. GPS information received from a respective GPS device may be indicative of a position of a respective vehicle including the respective GPS device with respect to the Earth, based on satellite-based positioning data.”);
responsive to identifying and classifying a traffic marker, logging location data indicating a location of the identified and classified traffic marker ([0084] “The image-based information, for example, may be indicative of location of one or more static objects with respect to the road such as construction zone cone(s) 406 , construction zone barrel(s) 408, construction equipment 410 A-B, construction zone signs 412 A-B, etc”); and
based at least partially on the image data and the logged location data, generate a map indicating locations of the one or more traffic markers on the map ([0098] “Accordingly, the computing device may assign a respective likelihood that the candidate construction zone sign is associated with a construction zone. In an example, the computing device may be configured to update the map information to include respective sign information associated with the candidate construction zone sign and the likelihood of the existence of the construction zone on the road”).
Ferguson does not explicitly teach the map is a geospatial map.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xie teaches:
a geospatial map ([0035] “The HD geospatial database 122 can store HD maps and related data of the streets upon which the AV 102 travels. In some embodiments, the HD maps and related data can comprise multiple layers, such as an areas layer, a lanes and boundaries layer, an intersections layer, a traffic controls layer, and so forth ... The traffic controls lane can include geospatial information of traffic signal lights, traffic signs, and other road objects and related attributes.”; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generated map of Ferguson as a geospatial map, as taught by Xie. Such modification provides various geospatial data for the vehicle to determine the next set of actions it may take for a given situation.
Neither Ferguson nor Xie specifically teaches generate a geofence around the location of each of the one or more traffic markers within the geospatial map; and responsive to determining that a path of travel of the agricultural vehicle will intersect the geofence or come within a given distance of the geofence, automatically, without operator input, adjust operation of an implement coupled to the agricultural vehicle by at least one of disengaging a power take-off (PTO) control of the implement or actuating one or more hydraulic valves to change a position or orientation of the implement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kakkar teaches:
generate a geofence around (a physical structure) within the geospatial map (Fig. 4; [0048] “Environment 400 may include one or more boundaries 410 ... In some embodiments, boundaries 410 are the same, or function in a similar manner as, geofence boundaries.”; [0049] “boundary 410 - 2 may be a restricted or hazardous region in environment 400 within which activities are not to take place and/or vehicles are not to enter.”; [0063] “boundary 510-2 may be defined for a fence, wall, post, sprinkler head, or other similar physical structure”; [0068] “In some embodiments, user terminal 608 is configured to receive one or more geofence boundaries, such as boundaries 410 described above. For example, user terminal 608 may output one or more GUIs configured to receive operator inputs to create and/or edit geofence boundaries by specifying one or more geographic coordinates.”); and
responsive to determining that a path of travel (Fig. 4; [0055] “path 412”) of the agricultural vehicle will intersect the geofence or come within a given distance of the geofence ([0056] “Comparing two-dimensional projection footprint 416 with boundaries 410, it may be determined whether, when, and/or where two-dimensional projection footprint 416, and therefore vehicle 404 and/or implement 408 , will intersect with boundaries 410. For example, as illustrated, it may be determined that after traveling the distance of path 412 from current position and orientation 420-1 to future position and orientation 420-3 , implement 408 will intersect with boundary 410-1 at point 432 unless evasive, or precautionary, actions are taken.”), automatically, without operator input, adjust operation of an implement coupled to the agricultural vehicle by actuating ... to change a position or orientation of the implement ([0060] “Additionally, or alternatively, precautionary actions may include adjusting the relative orientation of implements with respect to the vehicle. For example, an attachment point for implement 408 may adjust the relative angle of implement 408 with respect to vehicle 404 prior to vehicle 404 reaching future position and orientation 420-3. As another example, an extendable implement may be retracted prior to any intersection with boundaries.” – Even though Kakkar discloses an example of modifying the position or orientation of the implement when determining that the path of travel of the agricultural vehicle intersects the geofence 414-1, the same method can be performed when determining that the path of travel intersects geofence 410-2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, to generate a geofence, and responsive to determining that a path of travel of the agricultural vehicle will intersect the geofence or come within a given distance of the geofence, automatically, without operator input, adjust operation of an implement coupled to the agricultural vehicle by actuating to change a position or orientation of the implement, as taught by Kakkar. Such modification prevents the vehicle from entering the geofence.
Kakkar does not explicitly generate the geofence around the location of each of the one or more traffic markers within the geospatial map.
However, Kakkar teaches a user terminal for receiving operator inputs to create and/or edit geofence ([0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ferguson, in view of Xie and Kakkar to generate the geofence around the location of each of the one or more traffic markers, since applying such known technique of generating a geofence by having a user inputting geographic coordinates as taught by Kakkar to the traffic markers as taught by Ferguson would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The combination of Ferguson, Xie, and Kakkar does not specifically teach actuating one or more hydraulic valves to change a position or orientation of the implement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pickett teaches actuating one or more hydraulic valves to change a position or orientation of the implement ([0029] “As shown in FIG. 2, the signals from the devices 62 and 64 are connected via lines 62a and 64a to a control unit 86, which is connected to a electro hydraulic valve structure 67 to control hydraulic fluid flow to and from one or two lift cylinders 68 connected between the feederhouse 18 and the frame 12 to operate the lift system 60 to maintain the header 16 within a desirable operating height range.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuation of the implement of Ferguson, in view of Xie and Kakkar, to include hydraulic values for actuating to change a position or orientation of the implement, as taught by Pickett, in order to maintain the implement at desirable operating position.
Regarding claim 20, Ferguson teaches:
An agricultural vehicle ([0070] “the automobile 200 could represent ... a farm vehicle”), comprising:
a guidance system ([0028] “computing device 111”) for controlling operation of the agricultural vehicle and comprising:
at least one processor ([0065] “processor 113”); and
at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the guidance system ([0081] “In this regard, each block may represent a module, a segment, or a portion of program code, which includes one or more instructions executable by a processor for implementing specific logical functions or steps in the process. The program code may be stored on any type of computer readable medium or memory, for example, such as a storage device including a disk or hard drive. The computer readable medium may include a non-transitory computer readable medium”), during an agricultural process, to:
receive image data from an image sensor ([0047] “The camera 134 may be any camera (e.g., a still camera, a video camera, etc.) configured to capture images of the environment in which the automobile 100 is located.”);
based at least partially on the received image data, identify and classify objects depicted within the image data ([0055] “The computer vision system 146 may be any system configured to process and analyze images captured by the camera 134 in order to identify objects and/or features in the environment in which the automobile 100 is located, including, for example, lane information, traffic signals and obstacles.”; [0095] “As another example, the computing device may be configured to identify, using image recognition techniques known in the art, construction zone objects (e.g., the construction zone cone(s) 406, the construction zone barrel(s) 408, the construction zone signs 412A-B, the construction equipment 410A-B, or any other construction zone indicators) depicted in images captured by the image-capture device.”);
receive GNSS location data indicating a location of the agricultural vehicle ([0087] “As an example, the traffic information may be received from Global Positioning Satellite (GPS) devices coupled to the vehicles 414 A-B. GPS information received from a respective GPS device may be indicative of a position of a respective vehicle including the respective GPS device with respect to the Earth, based on satellite-based positioning data.”);
responsive to identifying and classifying a traffic marker, log location data indicating locations of the identified and classified traffic marker ([0084] “The image-based information, for example, may be indicative of location of one or more static objects with respect to the road such as construction zone cone(s) 406 , construction zone barrel(s) 408, construction equipment 410 A-B, construction zone signs 412 A-B, etc”);
based at least partially on the image data and the logged location data, generate a map indicating locations of the one or more traffic markers on the map ([0098] “Accordingly, the computing device may assign a respective likelihood that the candidate construction zone sign is associated with a construction zone. In an example, the computing device may be configured to update the map information to include respective sign information associated with the candidate construction zone sign and the likelihood of the existence of the construction zone on the road”).
Ferguson does not explicitly teach the map is a geospatial map.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Xie teaches:
a geospatial map ([0035] “The HD geospatial database 122 can store HD maps and related data of the streets upon which the AV 102 travels. In some embodiments, the HD maps and related data can comprise multiple layers, such as an areas layer, a lanes and boundaries layer, an intersections layer, a traffic controls layer, and so forth ... The traffic controls lane can include geospatial information of traffic signal lights, traffic signs, and other road objects and related attributes.”; Fig. 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generated map of Ferguson as a geospatial map, as taught by Xie. Such modification provides various geospatial data for the vehicle to determine the next set of actions it may take for a given situation.
Neither Ferguson nor Xie specifically teaches generate a geofence around the location of each of the one or more traffic markers within the geospatial map; and responsive to determining that a path of travel of the agricultural vehicle will intersect the geofence or come within a given distance of the geofence, automatically, without operator input, adjust operation of an implement coupled to the agricultural vehicle by at least one of disengaging a power take-off (PTO) control of the implement or actuating one or more hydraulic valves to change a position or orientation of the implement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kakkar teaches:
generate a geofence around a location of (a physical structure) within the geospatial map (Fig. 4; [0048] “Environment 400 may include one or more boundaries 410 ... In some embodiments, boundaries 410 are the same, or function in a similar manner as, geofence boundaries.”; [0049] “boundary 410 - 2 may be a restricted or hazardous region in environment 400 within which activities are not to take place and/or vehicles are not to enter.”; [0063] “boundary 510-2 may be defined for a fence, wall, post, sprinkler head, or other similar physical structure”; [0068] “In some embodiments, user terminal 608 is configured to receive one or more geofence boundaries, such as boundaries 410 described above. For example, user terminal 608 may output one or more GUIs configured to receive operator inputs to create and/or edit geofence boundaries by specifying one or more geographic coordinates.”); and
responsive to determining that a path of travel (Fig. 4; [0055] “path 412”) of the agricultural vehicle will intersect the geofence or come within a given distance of the geofence ([0056] “Comparing two-dimensional projection footprint 416 with boundaries 410, it may be determined whether, when, and/or where two-dimensional projection footprint 416, and therefore vehicle 404 and/or implement 408 , will intersect with boundaries 410. For example, as illustrated, it may be determined that after traveling the distance of path 412 from current position and orientation 420-1 to future position and orientation 420-3 , implement 408 will intersect with boundary 410-1 at point 432 unless evasive, or precautionary, actions are taken.”), automatically, without operator input, adjust operation of an implement coupled to the agricultural vehicle by actuating ... to change a position or orientation of the implement ([0060] “Additionally, or alternatively, precautionary actions may include adjusting the relative orientation of implements with respect to the vehicle. For example, an attachment point for implement 408 may adjust the relative angle of implement 408 with respect to vehicle 404 prior to vehicle 404 reaching future position and orientation 420-3. As another example, an extendable implement may be retracted prior to any intersection with boundaries.” – Even though Kakkar discloses an example of modifying the position or orientation of the implement when determining that the path of travel of the agricultural vehicle intersects the geofence 414-1, the same method can be performed when determining that the path of travel intersects geofence 410-2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, to generate a geofence, and responsive to determining that a path of travel of the agricultural vehicle will intersect the geofence or come within a given distance of the geofence, automatically, without operator input, adjust operation of an implement coupled to the agricultural vehicle by actuating to change a position or orientation of the implement, as taught by Kakkar. Such modification prevents the vehicle from entering the geofence.
Kakkar does not explicitly generate the geofence around the location of each of the one or more traffic markers within the geospatial map.
However, Kakkar teaches a user terminal for receiving operator inputs to create and/or edit geofence ([0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ferguson, in view of Xie and Kakkar to generate the geofence around the location of each of the one or more traffic markers, since applying such known technique of generating a geofence by having a user inputting geographic coordinates as taught by Kakkar to the traffic markers as taught by Ferguson would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The combination of Ferguson, Xie, and Kakkar does not specifically teach actuating one or more hydraulic valves to change a position or orientation of the implement.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pickett teaches actuating one or more hydraulic valves to change a position or orientation of the implement ([0029] “As shown in FIG. 2, the signals from the devices 62 and 64 are connected via lines 62a and 64a to a control unit 86, which is connected to a electro hydraulic valve structure 67 to control hydraulic fluid flow to and from one or two lift cylinders 68 connected between the feederhouse 18 and the frame 12 to operate the lift system 60 to maintain the header 16 within a desirable operating height range.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuation of the implement of Ferguson, in view of Xie and Kakkar, to include hydraulic values for actuating to change a position or orientation of the implement, as taught by Pickett, in order to maintain the implement at desirable operating position.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferguson et al. (US 2015/0266472 A1), in view of Xie et al. (US 2021/0199443 A1), Kakkar et al. (US 2024/0147888 A1) and Pickett et al. (US 2008/0177449 A1), and further in view of Lei (US 2022/0191389 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ferguson, Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett does not specifically teach wherein analyzing the image data comprises analyzing one or more heat signatures depicted within the image data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lei teaches:
wherein analyzing the image data comprises analyzing one or more heat signatures depicted within the image data ([0115] “Step 121. Control the infrared camera to acquire an initial infrared image including the target object.”; 0118] “Step 122. Extract a heat signature of the target object from the initial infrared image according to the initial location.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett, to analyze one or more heat signatures depicted within the image data, as taught by Lei, in order to accurately perform object recognition.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferguson et al. (US 2015/0266472 A1), in view of Xie et al. (US 2021/0199443 A1), Kakkar et al. (US 2024/0147888 A1) and Pickett et al. (US 2008/0177449 A1), and further in view of Kinoshita (US 2020/0282980 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ferguson, Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett does not specifically teach wherein displaying the generated map on the input/output device of the guidance system comprises displaying the generated map on a display within the agricultural vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kinoshita teaches:
wherein displaying the generated map on the input/output device of the guidance system comprises displaying the generated map on a display within the vehicle ([0061] “The navigation system 226 may render the map information on a display screen (not shown) inside the vehicle 102.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett, to display the generated map on a display within the vehicle, as taught by Kinoshita, in order to allow the driver to navigate using the generated map.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ferguson, Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett does not specifically teach wherein displaying the generated map on the input/output device of the guidance system comprises displaying the generated map on a display of a remote device.
However, Kinoshita teaches:
wherein displaying the generated map on the input/output device of the guidance system comprises displaying the generated map on a display of a remote device ([0087] “As shown in FIG. 4, the first display screen 406A may display the map information received from the navigation server 108. The map information may indicate the route followed by the vehicle 102 with respect to the current journey.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett, to display the generated map on a display of a remote device, as taught by Kinoshita, in order to allow a teleoperator to control the vehicle remotely.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferguson et al. (US 2015/0266472 A1), in view of Xie et al. (US 2021/0199443 A1), Kakkar et al. (US 2024/0147888 A1) and Pickett et al. (US 2008/0177449 A1), and further in view of Mordechai et al. (US 2021/0174528 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ferguson, Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett does not specifically teach wherein receiving image data comprises receiving image data representing different polarization states.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mordechai teaches:
wherein receiving image data comprises receiving image data representing different polarization states ([0036] “A polarimetric imaging camera may provide light polarization states in addition to the conventional light color (RGB). The light polarization state may be processed to ascertain some information of the imaged surfaces orientations. The presently disclosed system and methodology is configured to generate real-time video of dense 3D point clouds using a polarization camera without using an active illumination.”; [0046] “ the processor 340 may be operative to receive the raw polarization data (I0, I45, I90, and I135) from each of four color quadrants of the common color filter array from the polarimetric camera 320.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar and Pickett, to receive image data representing different polarization states, as taught by Mordechai. Such modification allows the system to ascertain information of the imaged surfaces orientations in order to generate point cloud data for use by a drive assistance system equipped vehicle.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferguson et al. (US 2015/0266472 A1), in view of Xie et al. (US 2021/0199443 A1), Kakkar et al. (US 2024/0147888 A1) and Pickett et al. (US 2008/0177449 A1), and further in view of Wu et al. (US 10,255,670 B1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ferguson, Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett does not specifically teach wherein the image sensor is mounted to an extendable arm member attached to the agricultural vehicle.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches:
wherein the image sensor is mounted to an extendable arm member attached to the agricultural vehicle (Fig. 2; Col. 4 lines 51-53 “The image sensor units 50 are mounted on a portable platform 52 (e.g. rod 52 ...)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett, to arrange the image sensor on an extendable arm member attached to the agricultural vehicle, as taught by Wu. Such modification allows the agricultural vehicle to monitor individual plants and crop row.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ferguson, Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett does not specifically teach wherein the image sensor is mounted to an extendable arm member attached to an implement.
However, Wu teaches:
wherein the image sensor is mounted to an extendable arm member attached to the implement (Fig. 13, Col. 27 lines 60-63 “In FIG. 13, the imaging sensor units 50 are mounted on top of the front plate 142 of the black plate of the header or another front plate (e.g. draper) of the combine 140.”; Col. 28 lines 21023 “Example mounting location of the image sensor units 50 includes the upper rear beam that runs the length of a header or draper.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar and Pickett, to arrange the image sensor on an extendable arm member attached to an implement, as taught by Wu. Such modification allows the agricultural vehicle to monitor individual plants and crop row.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferguson et al. (US 2015/0266472 A1), in view of Xie et al. (US 2021/0199443 A1), Kakkar et al. (US 2024/0147888 A1) and Pickett et al. (US 2008/0177449 A1), and further in view of Oba (US 2018/0151066 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ferguson, Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett does not specifically teach when executed by the at least one processor, cause the guidance system to provide captured image data depicting the identified one or more traffic markers and the logged location data to a remote device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Oba teaches:
when executed by the at least one processor, cause the guidance system to provide captured image data depicting the identified one or more traffic markers ([0067] “ difference information relative to the basic map data and the temporary change map data is uploaded, for a mixed repair road and a road during repair construction work, with respect to detection coordinate error information for the basic map data DE1 , DE1′ and the temporary change map data DE2 or the like. Also, the difference information is uploaded for the state of the lane marker on the road surface, or when disappearance, breakage, or the like of the landmark occurs to generate a difference from the acquired information.”) and the logged location data to a remote device ([0085] “As described above, a vehicle that travels a road of a town or the like uploads as appropriate the difference information relative to the map such as the traveling lane and the observable lane, so that highly accurate latest traveling environment information can always be supplied from the local server in a road having a traffic amount of to a certain frequency.”; [0103] “ Also, the vehicle 11 includes position and quality information of an observable white line, for example information indicating occurrence of degradation of the white line and an image of degraded white line, into the difference information. Note that the image may be transmitted in response to a request from the local server 122.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar and Pickett, to provide captured image data depicting the identified one or more traffic markers and logged location data to a remote device, as taught by Oba. Such modifications allows the remote device to update map information with logged location of the identified markers.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferguson et al. (US 2015/0266472 A1), in view of Xie et al. (US 2021/0199443 A1), Kakkar et al. (US 2024/0147888 A1) and Pickett et al. (US 2008/0177449 A1), and further in view of Iwai (US 2020/0080945 A1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Ferguson, Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett does not specifically teach analyzing the received image data to determine a condition of the identified traffic marker.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Iwai teaches:
analyzing the received image data to determine a condition of the identified traffic marker ([0034] “reflection intensity data D indicating reflection intensity measured by receiving reflected light from a white line W1 and a white line W2 (an example of “feature”) of light L emitted by Lidar 205 itself in a vehicle V on which the Lidar 205 is mounted together with the on-vehicle terminal 200”; [0035] “The server apparatus 100 identifies a degraded feature based on a plurality of pieces of the reflection intensity data D received from each of a plurality of the on-vehicle terminals 200 . Specifically, the degraded feature is identified by statistically processing a plurality of the reflection intensity data D.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar and Pickett, to analyze the received image data to determine a condition of the identified traffic marker, as taught by Iwai. Such modification allows the system to quickly and efficiently maintain an actual feature, and stable automatic driving becomes possible, as stated by Iwai in [0030].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ferguson, Xie, Kakkar, and Pickett does not specifically teach logging condition data indicating a determined condition of the identified traffic marker.
However, Iwai teaches:
logging condition data indicating a determined condition of the identified traffic marker ([0038] “The storage unit 202 is configured with, for example, a hard disk drive (HDD), a solid state drive (SSD), or the like, and stores an operating system (OS), ... map data, the reflection intensity data D, various pieces of data, and the like. Map position information indicating a position of a feature (a white line in the present embodiment) to be subjected to degradation determination, and a feature ID for distinguishing the feature from other features are described in the map data (since the map position information and the feature ID are information linked to one feature, the feature ID can be deemed as one piece of position information indicating a position of the one feature) ... Further, map data (map data in which map position information and a feature ID are described for each feature) similar to the map data stored in the storage unit 202 is also stored in a storage unit 102 of the server apparatus 100.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar and Pickett, to log condition data indicating a determined condition of the identified marker, as taught by Iwai. Such modification allows the system to quickly and efficiently maintain an actual feature, and stable automatic driving becomes possible, as stated by Iwai in [0030].
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ferguson, Xie, Kakkar, Pickett and Oba does not specifically teach do not specifically teach wherein analyzing the received image data to determine a condition of the identified traffic marker comprises determining a reflectiveness of the traffic marker.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Iwai teaches:
wherein analyzing the received image data to determine a condition of the identified traffic marker comprises determining a reflectiveness of the traffic marker ([0034] “the on-vehicle terminal 200 transmits, to the server apparatus 100, reflection intensity data D indicating reflection intensity measured by receiving reflected light from a white line W1 and a white line W2 (an example of “feature”) of light L emitted by Lidar 205 itself in a vehicle V on which the Lidar 205 is mounted together with the on-vehicle terminal 200.”; [0035] “The server apparatus 100 identifies a degraded feature based on a plurality of pieces of the reflection intensity data D received from each of a plurality of the on-vehicle terminals 200 . Specifically, the degraded feature is identified by statistically processing a plurality of the reflection intensity data D. For example, as shown in FIG. 3(A), as for a white line that is not degraded, the reflection intensity at each point in the white line has a high value and a uniform value. For this reason, as shown in FIG. 3(B), an average value μ calculated based on a plurality of reflection intensities becomes smaller, or the standard deviation σ becomes larger. On the other hand, as shown in FIG. 4(A), as for a white line that is degraded, the reflection intensity at each point in the white line has a low value or an uneven value. For this reason, as shown in FIG. 4(B), the average value μ calculated based on a plurality of reflection intensities becomes smaller, or the standard deviation σ becomes larger. In view of the above, the server apparatus 100 compares the average value μ and the standard deviation σ calculated based on a plurality of reflection intensities with a threshold, so as to determine whether or not a feature is degraded, and identify a degraded feature.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ferguson, in view of Xie, Kakkar, Pickett, and Oba, to determine a reflectiveness of the traffic marker, as taught by Iwai. Such modification allows the system to quickly and efficiently maintain an actual feature, and stable automatic driving becomes possible, as stated by Iwai in [0030].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NHI Q BUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656