This action is in response to the amendment filed on 7/22/26.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
The indicated allowability of claims 9-12 and 18-20 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Elly, Roberts and Kelleher. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elly (2015/0059531) in view of Roberts et al. (7,644,783).
Regarding claim 1, Elly discloses a ratchet, comprising: a motor (30; Fig. 2) disposed in a motor housing (Fig. 1); a transmission (32; Fig. 2) disposed in a transmission housing and configured to be driven by the motor; an output ratchet drive mechanism (16); and a clutch assembly (40) selectively operatively coupling the transmission and the output ratchet drive mechanism (Fig. 2), but does not disclose the specific components of the clutch assembly such as a pressing plate and a detent disposed inside the transmission housing and configured to engage a component of the transmission, and a torque selector disposed outside the transmission housing and configured to engage the pressing plate, wherein movement of the torque selector changes a position of the pressing plate to provide for selection of a maximum output torque of the output ratchet drive mechanism. Roberts discloses an adjustable torque-limiting clutch for a power tool comprising a pressing plate (165; Fig. 5) and a detent (156) disposed inside the transmission housing and configured to engage a component of the transmission (157; Fig. 3), and a torque selector (100) disposed outside the transmission housing and configured to engage the pressing plate (via tangs 167), wherein movement of the torque selector changes a position of the pressing plate to provide for selection of a maximum output torque of the output ratchet drive mechanism (col. 8, lines 19-42). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided Elly’s clutch assembly with these features as taught by Roberts in order to permit a user to select a maximum output torque and limit transmission of torque to the ratchet output when the selected torque is exceeded.
Regarding claim 2, Roberts discloses wherein the clutch assembly includes an arm (167; Fig. 5) extending through the transmission housing to couple the torque selector to the pressing plate (col. 8, lines 31-35).
Regarding claim 3, Roberts discloses wherein the torque selector includes a collar (100) operable for rotation to a plurality of positions corresponding to a plurality of torque settings.
Regarding claims 5-6, Roberts discloses wherein the clutch assembly further includes a spring (108) that biases the detent against the component of the transmission; wherein movement of the torque selector (100) causes axial movement of the pressing plate (165) and the detent (156) toward or away from the component of the transmission.
Regarding claim 13, Elly discloses a ratchet, comprising: a housing, a motor, a transmission driven by the motor, an output ratchet drive mechanism and a clutch assembly (Figs. 1-2), but fails to disclose a torque selector disposed outside the housing and including a collar rotatable among a plurality of positions corresponding to a plurality of torque settings to facilitate selection of a maximum output torque of the output ratchet drive mechanism; and a clutch assembly disposed inside the housing to selectively couple the motor and the output drive mechanism, the clutch assembly comprising a slip clutch that selectively engages and disengages the output ratchet drive mechanism from the motor based on the selected maximum output torque of the torque selector so as to slip upon an applied torque that exceeds the selected maximum output torque, the clutch assembly including a pressing plate with at least one arm, and
wherein the collar is configured to engage the at least one arm such that rotation of the collar changes a position of the pressing plate to adjust the selected maximum output torque. Roberts discloses a torque selector (100) disposed outside the housing and including a collar (100) rotatable among a plurality of positions corresponding to a plurality of torque settings to facilitate selection of a maximum output torque of an output drive mechanism; and a clutch assembly disposed inside the housing to selectively couple a motor and the output drive mechanism, the clutch assembly comprising a slip clutch that selectively engages and disengages the output drive mechanism from the motor based on the selected maximum output torque of the torque selector so as to slip upon an applied torque that exceeds the selected maximum output torque, the clutch assembly including a pressing plate (165) with at least one arm (167), and wherein the collar (100) is configured to engage the at least one arm (167) such that rotation of the collar changes a position of the pressing plate to adjust the selected maximum output torque (col. 8, lines 27-42). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided Elly’s clutch assembly with these features as taught by Roberts in order to permit a user to select a maximum output torque and limit transmission of torque to the ratchet output when the selected torque is exceeded.
Regarding claim 14, Roberts also discloses a planetary gear set coupled
to an output shaft of the motor (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Roberts also discloses a ring gear (70) having an inner
circumferential surface to selectively engage the planetary gear set (64).
Regarding claims 16-17, Roberts discloses wherein the ring gear (70) remains fixed and in an engaged state with the planetary gear set when the output torque is less than or equal to the selected maximum output torque; wherein the ring gear is rotatable when the output torque is greater than the selected maximum output torque (col. 6, lines 33-45).
Regarding claims 18-20, Roberts also discloses wherein the collar (100) includes a stepped portion extending circumferentially along an inner circumferential surface thereof and a ramped surface arranged along the stepped portion via (140; Fig. 4); wherein the ramped surface having a contour with a plurality of ramps respectively corresponding to the plurality of torque settings (Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elly (2015/0059531) in view of Roberts et al. (7,644,783), as applied above in claim 1, and further in view of Kelleher (EP 2777891 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the modified invention of Elly discloses the clutch assembly as modified by Roberts, including a planetary transmission with a ring gear (70; as taught by Roberts) having a ramped surface (Roberts’ Fig. 5) that is the component of the transmission engaged by the detent 156 via a trust plate (157). Thus, Roberts comprises an additional component (trust plate 157) and fails to disclose wherein the detent engages the ramped surface of the gear ring. Kelleher discloses a transmission comprising a ring gear (124) having a ramped surface (222, 224) that is the component of the transmission engaged by detents (304) for the purposes of interrupting output torque transmission of when a selected torque is exceeded. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have provided the modified clutch assembly of Elly, eliminating the intervening trust plate of Roberts and providing the detent engaging the ramped surface of the ring gear as taught by Kelleher in order to reduce the number of clutch components, simplify the clutch construction and assembly and provide direct torque-limiting engagement between the detent and the ring gear, while retaining the same known clutch function.
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elly (2015/0059531) in view of Roberts (7,644,783), and further in view of Kelleher (EP 2777891 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Elly discloses a ratchet, comprising: a housing, a motor , a transmission driven by the motor, an output ratchet drive mechanism and a clutch assembly (Figs. 1-2), but fails to disclose wherein the clutch assembly includes a ramped surface on an end portion of a component of the transmission; a pin cage having an opening formed therein; a clutch washer; and a clutch pin received in the opening in the pin cage for contact with the ramped surface, the pin having a first end in contact with a first side of the clutch washer, and a second end in contact with the end portion of the component of the transmission for movement guided by the ramped surface. Roberts discloses a power tool transmission comprising a clutch assembly that includes a ramped surface (71; Fig. 5) on an end portion of a component (70) of the transmission; a pin cage (58) having an opening formed therein; a clutch washer (1653); and a clutch pin (156) received in the opening in the pin cage (par. 42) for contact with a trust plate (157), the pin having a first end in contact with a first side of the clutch washer (165), and a second end in contact with the end portion of the component of the transmission via the trust plate (157). Kelleher teaches the concept of a clutch detent (304) having a second end in contact with the ramped surface (224) of a transmission component. The combination of Roberts and Kelleher with result in the claimed arrangement of a pin cage having an opening, a clutch washer, and a clutch pin disposed in the opening with a first end contacting the clutch washer and a second end contacting the ramped surface of the transmission component for the purposes of permitting the transmission component to overcome the spring biased pins and slip when a predetermined torque is exceeded. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art to have provided Elly’s clutch assembly modified by Roberts and Kelleher by providing the transmission component with the ramped clutch surface taught by Roberts and arranging the clutch pins of Kelleher to engage the ramped surface, thereby permitting the transmission component to overcome the spring biased pins and slip when a predetermined torque is exceeded. The modification would have provided a known and predictable manner of implementing the torque limiting function of Roberts while maintaining Roberts’ pin arrangement for transferring and guiding the clutch force.
Regarding claim 8, Roberts discloses a torque selector including a collar (100) that is rotatable to a plurality of positions corresponding to a plurality of torque settings.
Regarding claims 9 and 12, Roberts discloses a pressing plate (165) and a detent (156) that engages a component of the transmission; wherein movement of the torque selector (100) causes axial movement of the pressing plate (165).
Regarding claim 10, Roberts discloses an arm (167) to couple the torque selector (100) to the pressing plate (165).
Regarding claim 11, Kelleher discloses a spring (308) having a first end received in a spring cage (310), and a second end that positions the clutch washer (306) between the spring (308) and the clutch pin (304).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 7 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE LOPEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731