Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention.
The instant invention is anticipated by Ritter (US20180117230A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ritter teaches a container for concentrate (See the Abstract and Claim 1 in Fig. 1-2), comprising:
a main body for containing concentrate and having a longitudinal axis(See the container body 1, i.e., a main body, in [0018] in Fig. 1-4),
a connection portion having an end surface and configured to connect the container for concentrate to a blood treatment device (See how the bottom lid 3, i.e., a connection portion, has a flat end surface and forms a connecting portion for connecting the dialysis concentrate container to the dialysis machine, i.e., a blood treatment device, in [0023] in Fig. 1-4),
two attachment elements configured to reversibly attach the container for concentrate to two corresponding attachment elements present on a blood treatment device (See the plate element 13, i.e., two attachment elements, in [0023]-[0026] in Fig. 1-4), and
two connection elements each comprising an opening at the end surface of the connection portion and configured to interact with two respective connection elements present on a blood treatment device to fluidically couple the container for concentrate with the blood treatment device by insertion of the connection elements present on the blood treatment device into the connection elements of the container for concentrate (See the dialysis concentrate container can be connected to a dialysis machine, i.e. a blood treatment device, by means of the connecting portion formed from the plate elements 13 and the lid 3, wherein the pipe sockets 31, i.e. two connection elements, are inserted into corresponding connection openings of a connection block of the dialysis machine in [0034] in Fig. 1-4),
wherein the two connection elements project in a direction that is oriented essentially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the main body (See the plate element 13, i.e., two attachment elements, that are in a horizontal direction, i.e., a first direction, in Fig. 1; Also, see the pipe sockets 31, i.e., two connection elements, that are in a vertical direction, i.e., a second direction, in Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim(s) 2-3, Ritter teaches the container limitations of claim 1.
Ritter further teaches a container for concentrate (See the Abstract and Claim 1 in Fig. 1-2), wherein each of the two connection elements is in the form of a hollow cylinder that is open at the end surface of the connection portion (See the pipe sockets 31, i.e. two connection elements, that are in a vertical direction, i.e. a second direction, is also oriented parallel to the container body 1, i.e. a main body, illustrated in Fig. 1-4);
wherein the attachment elements are each formed as a hook or as a hollow cylinder (See how the bottom lid 3 that is connected to the plate element 13, i.e. two attachment elements, has a roof-shaped formation 36, i.e. a hook, to form a support point adapted to the connection block of the dialysis machine, and the pin 37, i.e. a hollow cylinder, on the underside of the bottom lid to activate a sensor button on the connection block of the dialysis machine, so that it detects that a dialysis concentrate container has been coupled in [0030]-[0031] in Fig. 1-4).
Please note what is discussed in MPEP § 2144 IV. A. concerning changes in the size or portions of a claimed invention. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. The current claims regarding the shape of the connection and attachment elements would not change the function of the container in comparison to the prior art. Thus, Ritter still reads on the attachment elements of instant claim(s) 2-3.
Regarding Claim(s) 5-8, Ritter teaches the container limitations of claim 1.
Ritter further teaches a container for concentrate (See the Abstract and Claim 1 in Fig. 1-2), wherein the container for concentrate comprises two attachment elements that are formed of different sizes and/or of different geometrical configurations, relative to one another, to allow attachment of the container for concentrate to a blood treatment device in only one defined mounting position (See how the plate element 13, i.e. two attachment elements, has a roof-shaped formation 36, i.e. a hook, to form a support point adapted to the connection block of the dialysis machine, and the pin 37, i.e. a hollow cylinder, on the underside of the bottom lid to activate a sensor button on the connection block of the dialysis machine, so that it detects that a dialysis concentrate container has been coupled in [0030]-[0031] in Fig. 1-4), and/or
wherein the container for concentrate comprises two connection elements that are formed of different sizes and/or of different geometrical configurations, relative to one another, to allow fluidical coupling of the container for concentrate to a blood treatment device in only one defined mounting position (See how the pipe sockets 31, i.e., two connection elements, of the container are cylindrical in shape and are inserted into corresponding connection openings of a connection block of the dialysis machine in [0034] in Fig. 1-4);
wherein the end surface is flat (See how the bottom lid 3, i.e., a connection portion, has a flat end surface and forms a connecting portion for connecting the dialysis concentrate container to the dialysis machine, i.e., a blood treatment device, in [0023] in Fig. 1-4);
wherein the two attachment elements are arranged at two opposing sides of the connection portion (See the plate element 13, i.e., two attachment elements, in [0023]-[0026] in Fig. 1-4);
wherein the direction that is oriented essentially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the main body is a second direction, the two attachment elements project in a first direction and the two connection elements project in the second direction that is oriented essentially at a right angle to the first direction (See the pipe sockets 31, i.e. two connection elements, that are in a vertical direction, i.e. a second direction, is also oriented parallel to the container body 1, i.e. a main body, illustrated in Fig. 1-4).
Please note what is discussed in MPEP § 2144 IV. A. concerning changes in the size or portions of a claimed invention. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. The current claims regarding the shape of the connection and attachment elements would not change the function of the container in comparison to the prior art. Thus, Ritter still reads on the attachment elements of instant claim(s) 5-6.
Also, note in MPEP § 2144 VI. concerning the rearrangement of parts of a claimed invention in comparison to the prior art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). The current claims regarding the directional arrangement of the connection and attachment elements would not change the function of the container in comparison to the prior art. Thus, Ritter still reads on the first and second positions of instant claim(s) 7-8.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention.
The instant invention is anticipated by Paraluppi et al. (US20170209635A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Paraluppi et al. teaches a blood treatment device (See the Abstract and the blood treatment apparatus 1 in [0078] in Fig 1,4-5), comprising: a device main body having a side surface (See the combination of the fluid preparation apparatus and the support structure 101, i.e., a main body, in [0068] in Fig. 1-2A),
two attachment elements to which corresponding attachment elements of a container for concentrate, are configured to be attached (See how the movable members 220 and 220', i.e., two attachment elements, attach to container 240 in [0073]-[0075] in Fig. 4-6)
wherein the two attachment elements are movable relative to the device main body in a direction that projects essentially at a right angle from the side surface of the device main body (See how the movable members 220 and 220', i.e., two attachment elements, can move relative to the support structure 101 that may be a front or a side panel of a main body of the apparatus 1 and the fluid preparation apparatus, i.e., a main body, in [0079],[0032]-[0149] in Fig. 4-6).
two connection elements configured to fluidically couple the blood treatment device to a container for concentrate (See how the coupling ports 221 and 223, i.e., two connection elements, are configured to fluidically connect to the inlet and outlet ports 241 and 242 of container 240, in [0101]-[0104] in Fig. 5-6).
Regarding Claim 10, Paraluppi et al. teaches the device limitations of claim 9.
Paraluppi et al. further teaches a blood treatment device (See the Abstract and the blood treatment apparatus 1 in [0078] in Fig 1,4-5), wherein each of the two attachment elements is in the form of a stud projecting outwardly from the side surface of the device main body (See how the movable members 220 and 220', i.e. two attachment elements, forms a projection from the side of the combination of the fluid preparation apparatus and the support structure 101, i.e. a main body, in [0100],[0107] in Fig. 2-2B,5-6) and each of the two connection elements is in the form of a spout that projects in a direction essentially parallel to the side surface of the device main body (Illustrated in Fig. 2-6).
Regarding Claim(s) 12-13, Paraluppi et al. teaches the device limitations of claim 9.
Paraluppi et al. further teaches a blood treatment device (See the Abstract and the blood treatment apparatus 1 in [0078] in Fig 1,4-5), wherein the device main body further has a bottom surface, and the two connection elements are movable in a direction essentially parallel to the side surface of the device main body of the blood treatment device and are movable in a direction toward the bottom surface of the device main body (See how the movable members 220 and 220', i.e. two attachment elements, are movable in a direction essentially parallel to a side surface of the combination of the fluid preparation apparatus and the support structure 101, i.e. a main body, in [0100],[0103],[0107],[0110],[0112] and to the blood treatment apparatus 1 in Fig. 2-6);
wherein the two attachment elements are formed of different sizes and/or of different geometrical configurations, relative to one another, to allow attachment of a container for concentrate to the blood treatment device in only one defined mounting position (See how the movable members 220 and 220', i.e. two attachment elements, can change configurations to accommodate the container 240 to the blood treatment apparatus 1 in [0100],[0103],[0107],[0110],[0112] and in Fig. 2-2B,5-6; Also, see how the coupling ports 221 and 223, i.e., two connection elements, are geometrically configured to fluidically connect to the inlet and outlet ports 241 and 242 of container 240, in [0101]-[0104] in Fig. 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritter (US20180117230A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brehm et al. (US20030168120A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Ritter teaches the container limitations of claim 1.
Ritter further teaches a container for concentrate (See the Abstract and Claim 1 in Fig. 1-2), wherein the two connection elements are sealed by a lid (See the dialysis concentrate container can be connected to a dialysis machine, i.e. a blood treatment device, by means of the connecting portion formed from the plate elements 13 and the lid 3, wherein the pipe sockets 31, i.e. two connection elements, are inserted into corresponding connection openings of a connection block of the dialysis machine in [0034] in Fig. 1-4).
Ritter does not explicitly teach wherein the two connection elements are sealed by a lid in the form of a flexible film removably attached to the flat end surface of the connection portion and wherein the flexible film can be peeled off the flat end surface of the connection portion.
However, in the analogous art of mating containers for containers and fluid preparation devices, Brehm et al. teaches a container (See the container 30 in [0029] In Fig. 4), wherein the two connection elements are sealed by a lid in the form of a flexible film removably attached to the flat end surface of the connection portion and wherein the flexible film can be peeled off the flat end surface of the connection portion (See how the connector 1 has the mounting means 2 an 4 and the first and second orifices 3 and 5, i.e. two connection elements, that are sealed by the flexible sheet 18 or seal 27, i.e. a flexible film, in [0018],[0028]-[0030] in Fig. 1-4,8; See how seal 27 is removable in by peeling it off in [0030] in Fig. 8).
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lid of Ritter with a removable flexible film (as taught by Brehm et al.) for the benefit of reducing sample contamination or leakage when connecting the container to a device.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paraluppi et al. (US20170209635A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Carlsson et al. (US6036858A).
Regarding Claim 11, Paraluppi et al. teaches the device limitations of claim 9.
Paraluppi et al. further teaches a blood treatment device (See the Abstract and the blood treatment apparatus 1 in [0078] in Fig 1,4-5), wherein the two attachment elements are mounted onto a movable guiding element (See how the movable members 220 and 220', i.e., two attachment elements, are in the coupling configuration CC and OC' and are mounted on the support structure 101, i.e., a movable guide element, that can be manually controlled by a user in [0101]-[0103] in Fig. 5-6).
Paraluppi et al. fails to teach a device, wherein the two attachment elements are mounted onto a movable and/or motorized guiding element that is movable in both a vertical direction and a horizontal direction and that comprises a cavity, the movable and/or motorized guiding element is configured to be moved between a first position and a second position, in the first position, the two connection elements for fluidically connecting the blood treatment device to a container for concentrate, are received in the cavity, thereby allowing the blood treatment device to be rinsed, and in the second position, the two connection elements are fluidically connectable or connected to a container for concentrate, which is attached to the two attachment elements of the blood treatment device.
However, in the analogous art of devices in dialysis machines, Carlsson et al. teaches a blood treatment device (See the dialysis machine 10, i.e. a blood treatment device, in [Col. 2 lines 48-62] in Fig. 1), wherein the two attachment elements are mounted onto a movable and/or motorized guiding element (See how a holder comprises the jaws 12 and 14, i.e. two attachment elements, that are mounted onto an operating member 63 that is connected to an arm 65 and the lever 65 that can engage the guide 13, i.e. a moveable guiding element, in [Col. 6 lines 57-67]-[Col. 7 lines 1-17] in Fig. 15-18'; Also see how in step 801, the current configuration of the movable member is detected and one or more sensors (e.g. a reed switch) can be connected to a control unit in [0152] in Fig. 8),
that is movable in both a vertical direction and a horizontal direction and that comprises a cavity, the movable and/or motorized guiding element is configured to be moved between a first position and a second position, in the first position, the two connection elements for fluidically connecting the blood treatment device to a container for concentrate, are received in the cavity, thereby allowing the blood treatment device to be rinsed (See how the combination of the lids 57 and 57' with the opening 58 creates a cavity illustrated in Fig. 17, that is movable in a vertical and horizontal direction so that the lid 57 and 57', i.e. two connection elements, can fluidically connect to the dialysis machine 10, i.e. a blood treatment device, via the inlet and outlet 56 and the hose 68 in [Col. 6 lines 57-67]-[Col. 7 lines 1-17] in Fig. 13-18), and
in the second position, the two connection elements are fluidically connectable or connected to a container for concentrate, which is attached to the two attachment elements of the blood treatment device (See Fig. 13-18).
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the blood treatment device of Paraluppi et al. by incorporating a movable and/or motorized guiding element comprising a cavity (as taught by Carlsson et al. ) for the benefit of connecting a concentrate container with a blood treatment device with improved hygiene.
Claim(s) 14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritter (US20180117230A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Paraluppi et al. (US20170209635A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Ritter teaches the container limitations of claim 1.
Ritter further teaches a container for concentrate (See the Abstract and Claim 1 in Fig. 1-2), comprising: a main body (See the container body 1, i.e. a main body, in [0018] in Fig. 1-4), two attachment elements (See the plate element 13, i.e. two attachment elements, in [0023]-[0026] in Fig. 1-4), and two connection elements (See the dialysis concentrate container can be connected to a dialysis machine, i.e. a blood treatment device, by means of the connecting portion formed from the plate elements 13 and the lid 3, wherein the pipe sockets 31, i.e. two connection elements, are inserted into corresponding connection openings of a connection block of the dialysis machine in [0034] in Fig. 1-4).
Ritter fails to teach a system comprising a blood treatment device, the blood treatment device comprising a device main body, two device attachment elements, and two device connection elements to which the two attachment elements of the container for concentrate are respectively attachable, wherein the device main body has a side surface, the two device attachment elements are movable relative to the device main body in a direction that projects essentially at a right angle from the side surface of the device main body, the two device connection elements are configured to fluidically couple the blood treatment device to the container for concentrate, and the container for concentrate is reversibly attached to the blood treatment device by (i) means of the two attachment elements of the container for concentrate interacting with the two device attachment elements of the blood treatment device, and/or (ii) by means of the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device interacting with the two connection elements of the container for concentrate to fluidically couple the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device with the two connection elements of the container for concentrate.
However, in the analogous art of medical apparatuses for the preparation of medical fluid, Paraluppi et al. teaches a system comprising at least one container and at least one blood treatment device having a main body (See the container 240, the blood treatment apparatus 1, and the combination of the fluid preparation apparatus and the support structure 101, i.e., a main body, in [0068] in Fig. 1-2A), and
two device connection elements to which the two attachment elements of the container for concentrate are respectively attachable (See how the movable members 220 and 220', i.e., two attachment elements, attach to container 240 in [0073]-[0075] in Fig. 4-6),
wherein the device main body has a side surface, the two device attachment elements are movable relative to the device main body in a direction that projects essentially at a right angle from the side surface of the device main body (See how the movable members 220 and 220', i.e., two attachment elements, can move relative to the support structure 101 that may be a front or a side panel of a main body of the apparatus 1 and the fluid preparation apparatus, i.e., a main body, in [0079],[0032]-[0149] in Fig. 4-6) by
the two device connection elements are configured to fluidically couple the blood treatment device to the container for concentrate, and the container for concentrate is reversibly attached to the blood treatment device (See how the coupling ports 221 and 223, i.e., two connection elements, are configured to fluidically connect to the inlet and outlet ports 241 and 242 of container 240, in [0101]-[0104] in Fig. 5-6),
(i) means of the two attachment elements of the container for concentrate interacting with the two device attachment elements of the blood treatment device, and/or (ii) by means of the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device interacting with the two connection elements of the container for concentrate to fluidically couple the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device with the two connection elements of the container for concentrate (See how the container 240 can be reversibly attached to the movable members 220 and 220', i.e., two attachment elements, present on the blood treatment apparatus 1 in [0073]-[0075] in Fig. 4-6l Also, see how the coupling ports 221 and 223, i.e. two connection elements, are configured to fluidically connect to the inlet and outlet ports 241 and 242 of container 240, in [0101]-[0104] in Fig. 5-6; Also see how the fluid preparation apparatus 200 of the blood treatment apparatus 1 comprises the inlet line 211, the outlet line 213, the fluid line 19, and a coupling system for a container 240 in [0093] in Fig. 1).
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ritter by incorporating a system comprising a container and a blood treatment device that are fluidically connected via attachment and connector elements (as taught by Paraluppi et al. ) for the benefit of connecting a concentrate container with a blood treatment device with improved hygiene.
Regarding Claim 15, Ritter teaches the container limitations of claim 1.
Ritter further teaches a container for concentrate (See the Abstract and Claim 1 in Fig. 1-2), comprising: a main body for containing concentrate (See the container body 1, i.e. a main body, in [0018] in Fig. 1-4), two attachment elements (See the plate element 13, i.e. two attachment elements, in [0023]-[0026] in Fig. 1-4), and two connection elements (See the dialysis concentrate container can be connected to a dialysis machine, i.e. a blood treatment device, by means of the connecting portion formed from the plate elements 13 and the lid 3, wherein the pipe sockets 31, i.e. two connection elements, are inserted into corresponding connection openings of a connection block of the dialysis machine in [0034] in Fig. 1-4).
Ritter fails to explicitly teach a method for connecting a container for concentrate to a blood treatment device, the blood treatment device having a device main body, two device attachment elements to which the corresponding attachment elements of the container for concentrate are attachable, and two device connection elements, wherein the device main body has a side surface, the two device attachment elements are movable relative to the device main body in a direction that projects essentially at a right angle from the side surface of the device main body, the two device connection elements are configured to fluidically couple the blood treatment device to the container for concentrate, and the method comprises the steps of: reversibly attaching the container for concentrate to the blood treatment device by coupling the two attachment elements of the container for concentrate with the two device attachment elements of the blood treatment device; moving the container for concentrate in a direction that is essentially at a right angle to the side surface of the device main body of the blood treatment device, toward the device main body of the blood treatment device; and moving the container for concentrate and/or the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device in a direction that is essentially parallel to the side surface of the device main body of the blood treatment device, thereby inserting the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device into the two connection elements of the container for concentrate to fluidically couple the container for concentrate to the blood treatment device.
However, in the analogous art of medical apparatuses for the preparation of medical fluid, Paraluppi et al. teaches a method for connecting a container for concentrate to a blood treatment device (See the Abstract, Claims 50-52, in [0150]-[0151] in Fig. 7), the blood treatment device having a device main body (See the container 240, the blood treatment apparatus 1, and the combination of the fluid preparation apparatus and the support structure 101, i.e. a main body, in [0068] in Fig. 1-2A),
two device attachment elements to which the corresponding attachment elements of the container for concentrate are attachable, and two device connection elements (See how the movable members 220 and 220', i.e., two attachment elements, can move relative to the support structure 101 that may be a front or a side panel of a main body of the apparatus 1 and the fluid preparation apparatus, i.e., a main body, in [0079],[0032]-[0149] in Fig. 4-6),
wherein the device main body has a side surface, the two device attachment elements are movable relative to the device main body in a direction that projects essentially at a right angle from the side surface of the device main body (See how the container 240 can be reversibly attached to the movable members 220 and 220', i.e., two attachment elements, present on the blood treatment apparatus 1 in [0073]-[0075] in Fig. 4-6),
the two device connection elements are configured to fluidically couple the blood treatment device to the container for concentrate (See how the coupling ports 221 and 223, i.e. two connection elements, are configured to fluidically connect to the inlet and outlet ports 241 and 242 of container 240, in [0101]-[0104] in Fig. 5-6; Also see how the fluid preparation apparatus 200 of the blood treatment apparatus 1 comprises the inlet line 211, the outlet line 213, the fluid line 19, and a coupling system for a container 240 in [0093] in Fig. 1), and the method comprises the steps of:
reversibly attaching the container for concentrate to the blood treatment device by coupling the two attachment elements of the container for concentrate with the two device attachment elements of the blood treatment device (See step(s) 701-705 in [0150] in Fig. 5-7);
moving the container for concentrate in a direction that is essentially at a right angle to the side surface of the device main body of the blood treatment device, toward the device main body of the blood treatment device (See step(s) 701-705 in [0150] in Fig. 5-7);
moving the container for concentrate and/or the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device in a direction that is essentially parallel to the side surface of the device main body of the blood treatment device, thereby inserting the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device into the two connection elements of the container for concentrate to fluidically couple the container for concentrate to the blood treatment device (See step(s) 701-705 in [0150] in Fig. 5-7).
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ritter by incorporating a method comprising a container and a blood treatment device that are fluidically connected via attachment and connector elements (as taught by Paraluppi et al. ) for the benefit of connecting a concentrate container with a blood treatment device with improved hygiene.
Regarding Claim 16, The combination of Ritter and Paraluppi et al. teaches the method limitations of claim 15.
Ritter fails to explicitly teach a method for connecting a container for concentrate to a blood treatment device, further comprising the steps of: moving the container for concentrate and/or the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device in a direction that is essentially parallel to the side surface of the device main body of the blood treatment device, thereby removing the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device that had been inserted into the two connection elements of the container for concentrate, from the two connection elements of the container for concentrate; and pausing the movement of the container for concentrate in a position where at the two connection elements of the container for concentrate and the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device are at least partially aligned in a direction that is essentially parallel to the side surface of the device main body of the blood treatment so that any liquid dripping from the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device is received by the two connection elements of the container for concentrate.
However, in the analogous art of medical apparatuses for the preparation of medical fluid, Paraluppi et al. teaches a method for connecting a container for concentrate to a blood treatment device (See the Abstract, Claims 50-52, in [0150]-[0151] in Fig. 7), further comprising the steps of: moving the container for concentrate and/or the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device in a direction that is essentially parallel to the side surface of the device main body of the blood treatment device, thereby removing the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device that had been inserted into the two connection elements of the container for concentrate, from the two connection elements of the container for concentrate (See step(s) 701-706 in [0150] in Fig. 5-7; Also see claims 50-52 and Fig. 2-6); and
pausing the movement of the container for concentrate in a position where at the two connection elements of the container for concentrate and the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device are at least partially aligned in a direction that is essentially parallel to the side surface of the device main body of the blood treatment so that any liquid dripping from the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device is received by the two connection elements of the container for concentrate (See step(s) 701-706 in [0150] in Fig. 5-7; Also see claims 50-52).
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ritter by incorporating a method comprising a container and a blood treatment device that are fluidically connected via attachment and connector elements (as taught by Paraluppi et al. ) for the benefit of connecting a concentrate container with a blood treatment device with improved hygiene.
Regarding Claim 18, The combination of Ritter and Paraluppi et al. teaches the method limitations of claim 15.
Ritter fails to explicitly teach a method for connecting a container for concentrate to a blood treatment device, wherein all of the method steps, apart from the step of reversibly attaching the container for concentrate to the blood treatment device by means of the two attachment elements of the container for concentrate and the two device attachment elements of the blood treatment device, are automatically performed by the blood treatment device.
However, in the analogous art of medical apparatuses for the preparation of medical fluid, Paraluppi et al. teaches a method for connecting a container for concentrate to a blood treatment device (See the Abstract, Claims 50-52, in [0150]-[0151] in Fig. 7), wherein all method steps apart from the step of reversibly attaching the container to the blood treatment device by means of the two attachment elements present on the container (See step(s) 701-709 in [0150] in Fig. 5-7; Also see claims 50-52 and step(s) 801-802 in [0150]-[0151] in Fig. 8 can be connected to a control unit in [0152] in Fig. 8) and
the two attachment elements present on the blood treatment device are automatically performed by the blood treatment device (See how in step 801, the current configuration of the movable member is detected and one or more sensors (e.g., a reed switch and see step(s) 801-802 in [0150]-[0151] in Fig. 8).
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ritter by incorporating a method comprising a container and a blood treatment device that are fluidically connected via attachment, connector elements, and a control unit (as taught by Paraluppi et al. ) for the benefit of connecting a concentrate container with a blood treatment device with improved hygiene that can run automatically.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritter (US20180117230A1) and Paraluppi et al. (US20170209635A1) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Carlsson et al. (US6036858A).
Regarding Claim 17, The combination of Ritter and Paraluppi et al. teaches the method limitations of claim 15.
Ritter fails to explicitly teach a method for connecting a container for concentrate to a blood treatment device, wherein the blood treatment device comprises a movable and/or motorized guiding element comprising the two device attachment elements of the blood treatment device and further comprising a cavity configured to receive the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device, and the method further comprises the step of moving the guiding element into a rinsing position whereat the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device are received in the cavity thereby fluidically sealing the blood treatment device from the outside and enabling rinsing of the blood treatment device.
However, in the analogous art of medical apparatuses for the preparation of medical fluid, Paraluppi et al. teaches a method for connecting a container for concentrate to a blood treatment device (See the Abstract, Claims 50-52, in [0150]-[0151] in Fig. 7), wherein the blood treatment device comprises a movable and/ or motorized guiding element (See step(s) 701-706 in [0150] in Fig. 5-7; Also see claims 50-52 and step(s) 801-802 in [0150]-[0151] in Fig. 8; To add, see how the movable members 220 and 220', i.e. two attachment elements, are in the coupling configuration CC and OC' and are mounted on the support structure 101, i.e. a movable guide element, that can be manually controlled by a user in [0101]-[0103] in Fig. 5-6), and a rinsing position ( See how the fluid lines of the apparatus require priming and/or cleaning, disinfection, etc. in [0010]-[0011], [0128],[0151]).
The combination of Ritter and Paraluppi et al. does not explicitly teach the method comprising the two device attachment elements of the blood treatment device and further comprising a cavity configured to receive the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device, and the method further comprises the step of moving the guiding element into a rinsing position whereat the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device are received in the cavity thereby fluidically sealing the blood treatment device from the outside and enabling rinsing of the blood treatment device.
However, in the analogous art of devices in dialysis machines, Carlsson et al. teaches a blood treatment device and method (See the dialysis machine 10, i.e. a blood treatment device, in [Col. 2 lines 48-62] in Fig. 1; Also, see the Abstract), wherein the two attachment elements are mounted onto a movable and/or motorized guiding element (See how a holder comprises the jaws 12 and 14, i.e. two attachment elements, that are mounted onto an operating member 63 that is connected to an arm 65 and the lever 65 that can engage the guide 13, i.e. a moveable guiding element, in [Col. 6 lines 57-67]-[Col. 7 lines 1-17] in Fig. 15-18; Also see how in step 801, the current configuration of the movable member is detected and one or more sensors (e.g. a reed switch) can be connected to a control unit in [0152] in Fig. 8),
the two device attachment elements of the blood treatment device and further comprising a cavity configured to receive the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device (See how the combination of the lids 57 and 57' with the opening 58 creates a cavity illustrated in Fig. 17, that is movable in a vertical and horizontal direction so that the lid 57 and 57', i.e. two connection elements, can fluidically connect to the dialysis machine 10, i.e. a blood treatment device, via the inlet and outlet 56 and the hose 68 in [Col. 6 lines 57-67]-[Col. 7 lines 1-17] in Fig. 13-18), and the method further comprises the step of
moving the guiding element into a rinsing position whereat the two device connection elements of the blood treatment device are received in the cavity thereby fluidically sealing the blood treatment device from the outside and enabling rinsing of the blood treatment device (See [Col. 1 lines 39-67] illustrated in Fig. 13-18).
Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined method of Paraluppi et al. by incorporating step to move the guiding element into a rinsing position where the two connection elements of the blood treatment device are received into a cavity (as taught by Carlsson et al.) for the benefit of fluidically connecting a concentrate container with a blood treatment device with improved hygiene.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art teaches similar devices and methods: BREHIM et al. (US20220355007A1) and BREHIM et al. (US20210077697A1).
/BRITNEY N. WASHINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797