DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-26 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/15/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12384029. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims contain substantially similar limitations, anticipating the pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8, 15-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolluri US (2021/0362328)
Regarding claim 1:
Kolluri teaches A method for robotic skill learning, said method comprising:
providing a robot controlled by a robot controller (see at least Fig. 1), the robot being configured to perform an operation where the robot moves a first part into a goal position (multiple exemplary tasks meet this limitation, see at least ¶0009, ¶0011, ¶0171-0172);
providing a reinforcement learning controller in communication with the robot controller and the robot, said reinforcement learning controller having a neural network which defines a policy for determining an action in response to state data received as feedback from the robot (see at least Fig. 2C, base control policy generated using reinforcement learning techniques, see at least ¶0050, ¶0089-0097);
pre-training the reinforcement learning controller, including using a human demonstration dataset to train the neural network in the reinforcement learning controller to cause the policy to maximize reward data received as feedback from the robot (¶0050);
operating the robot to perform the operation with the reinforcement learning controller in a self-learning mode, where the reinforcement learning controller provides the action as input to the robot controller, and the state data and the reward data received as feedback from the robot are used to continuously train the neural network in the reinforcement learning controller (¶0084-0097).
Regarding claim 2:
Kolluri further teaches periodically operating the robot to perform the operation with the reinforcement learning controller in a co-training mode, where a human demonstrator provides supplemental input to the robot controller to control the robot to perform the operation (¶0095-0097).
Regarding claim 5:
Kolluri further teaches wherein the state data includes robot positions and velocities each including three translational and three rotational components, and contact forces and torques each in three directions (see at least ¶0080,¶0231).
Regarding claim 8 and 20:
Kolluri further teaches wherein the human demonstration dataset includes action, state and reward data captured for multiple human demonstrations of the operation, and pre-training the reinforcement learning controller includes using the human demonstration dataset for training with no interaction between the reinforcement learning controller and the robot (see at least ¶0051-0055).
Regarding claims 15-16, Kolluri teaches a robotic skill learning system comprising a robot and controller to perform the method as in claims 1-2 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 4 13-14, 17, 18, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolluri.
Regarding claims 3 and 17:
Kolluri further teaches3. The method according to Claim 2 wherein the co-training mode includes using human demonstration by teleoperation (see at least ¶0047), and action data from the teleoperation along with the state data and the reward data received as feedback from the robot in the co-training mode are used to further train the neural network in the reinforcement learning controller (¶0095-0097).
Kolluri does further teach automatically determining when a task or subtask requires further training/demonstration learning, but does not explicitly teach the demonstration being invoked when a robot success performance metric drops below a predefined threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention that the robotic demonstration learning system and method would need to utilize some metric for determining when the demonstration learning is necessary, including some threshold metric in order for the system to make the determination as taught by Kolluri.
Regarding claims 4 and 18:
Kolluri teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Kolluri further teaches a plurality of exemplary tasks, including insertion tasks (see at least ¶0064-0069) as well as the robot having multiple degrees of freedom (see at least ¶0255).
Kolluri is silent as to the specifics of the insertion task.
However, it would have been at least obvious if not inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention, that in implementing the exemplary tasks as taught by Kolluri, particular translations and rotations, as well as target positions and motion limits would be taken into account as is conventional in at least an insertion task.
Regarding claim 13 and 25:
Kolluri teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Kolluri further teaches controlling the robot utilizing different controllers operating at different frequencies.
Kolluri does not explicitly teach the distribution of frequencies as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to modify the robotic demonstration learning system and method as taught by Kolluri, including multiple controllers running at different frequencies, by implementing any configuration of clock relationships to ensure the data is processed in the various operation and training steps allowing the robot to learn a task as demonstration data becomes available.
Regarding claim 14 and 26:
Kolluri further teaches wherein the robot controller and the reinforcement learning controller are both executed on a controller device which provides joint motion commands to the robot and receives the state data as feedback from the robot (see at least ¶0262-0269).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolluri in view of De Magistris et al. (US 2019/0137954).
Regarding claims 6 and 19:
Kolluri teaches the limitations as in claim 1, 5, and 15 above.
Kolluri teaches reinforcement learning, which deals with rewards based on performance of a task.
Kolluri does not explicitly teach positive and negative rewards based on successful task completion.
De Magistris teaches a system and method of robotic reinforcement learning including wherein the reward data includes a positive value when the operation is successfully completed and a negative value when the operation is not successfully completed, and the positive value has a magnitude greater than the negative value (see at least abstract, ¶0020, ¶0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the robotic reinforcement learning system and method as taught by Kolluri with the technique of utilizing positive and negative rewards based on task success or failure as taught by De Magistris in order to allow the robotic system to learn from random actions, and slowly reduces exploration and increases exploitation (¶0058).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 9-12, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolluri as applied to claim 1 above in view of Straele et al. (US 2023/0081738).
Regarding claim 7:
Kolluri teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Kolluri is silent as to the policy being defined by a statistical distribution.
Straele teaches a system and method of training a control strategy for a robot manipulator including wherein the policy defined by the neural network in the reinforcement learning controller is a statistical distribution of actions relative to states, where the statistical distribution is defined by parameters including a mean and a standard deviation (see at least abstract, ¶0008-0020, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robotic reinforcement learning system and method as taught by Kolluri with the technique of utilizing a statistical distribution in the policy as taught by Straele in order to enable efficient, non-adversarial learning from observations and enable the training of a successful control strategy with high data efficiency
Regarding claims 9 and 21:
Straele further teaches wherein pre-training the reinforcement learning controller includes an offline reinforcement learning technique using a Kullback–Leibler divergence calculation in a loss function which penalizes deviation of the policy learned by the neural network from a policy based on the human demonstration dataset (see at least ¶0054-0069, ¶0021).
Regarding claim 10 and 22:
Straele further teaches wherein the reinforcement learning controller has an actor module including the neural network and a critic module including a second neural network, where the actor module provides the action as input to the robot controller and the critic module updates parameters of the policy of the actor module based on a critic function (see at least ¶0063-0069).
Regarding claim 11 and 23:
Straele further teaches wherein training of the actor module by the critic module includes using an optimization computation which determines desired actions which maximize the reward calculated by the critic function, and adjusting the parameters of the policy in the actor module based on the desired actions (see at least ¶0063-0069).
Regarding claim 12 and 24, the Examiner notes that the recited limitations are conventional features of an actor critic learning algorithm, wherein a critic estimates a future reward therefore, it would have been at least obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing of the invention to optimize for expected future rewards in the actor-critic learning in order to accurately train the policy for the desired goal (see at least ¶0063-0069).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619